DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 28 April 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: At claim 1, line 18, “targe” should be changed to “target”. Claims 2-11 are objected to since they depend from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1, 3, 10, 12, 14-15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2019/0241044 A1) in view of Tamaki et al. (US 2019/0120513 A1).
As per claims 1, 12, and 19, Ito et al. disclose an air conditioner (and corresponding control method and non-transitory computer-readable storage media) comprising: a compressor 21 configured to compress a refrigerant; an indoor heat exchanger 15 in which heat exchange between indoor air and the refrigerant is performed; a discharge temperature sensor configured to measure a discharge temperature of air at which the heat exchange is completed (para. 0060, lines 14-17; etc.);; an inputter configured to receive a target temperature from a user (para. 0063; etc.); memory storing one or more computer programs (para. 0062; etc.); and one or more processors (CPU - para. 0062; etc.) communicatively coupled the compressor, the indoor heat exchanger, the discharge temperature sensor, the inputter, and the memory (via ECU 39), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to: adjust an operating frequency of the compressor by comparing the discharge temperature and a reference (i.e., target) temperature (paras. 0071, 0075, 0084). Ito et al. do not teach the air conditioner also comprising an intake temperature sensor configured to measure an intake temperature of the indoor air drawn into the indoor heat exchanger or controlling the compressor to reduce the operating frequency in response to the discharge temperature reaching a reference temperature. Tamaki et al. teach the concept of an intake temperature sensor 51 configured to measure an intake temperature of the indoor air drawn into the indoor heat exchanger 13 and controlling the compressor to reduce the operating frequency in response to the discharge temperature reaching a reference temperature (see para. 0138 re. controlling compressor frequency based on an upstream air target temperature; note that depending on the direction of the temperature to the target value, the compressor frequency would either be reduced or increased at the target value, and thus reads on the concept of reducing the frequency). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to additionally control the compressor of Ito et al. for the purpose of maintaining a desired amount of cooling or heating while optimizing energy consumption (para. 0008; etc.). Note that, as recited, the intake temperature controls and discharge temperature controls are performed separately. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could have easily made this combination to provide both of these control capabilities as control alternatives, without the controls interfering with each other.
As per claims 3 and 14, Ito et al. do not explicitly state wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to maintain the operating frequency at a second operating frequency reduced from a first operating frequency in response to the discharge temperature reaching the reference temperature. However, similarly to discussed above, note that depending on the direction of the initial temperature to the target value in paras. 0071, 0075, 0084, the compressor frequency would either be reduced or increased from a first, initial, frequency to a second frequency at the reference value, and thus implicitly reads on the concept of reducing the frequency).
As per claim 10, Ito et al. do not teach wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to: control the compressor to increase the operating frequency to the first operating frequency in response to start of a cooling operation or heating operation; and maintain the first operating frequency in response to the intake temperature reaching the target temperature. Tamaki et al. teach controlling compressor frequency based on driving intake temperature toward a target value (para. 0138). While Tamaki et al. do not explicitly teach the controls being initiated at the start of cooling or heating, such considered an obvious matter that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose of optimized efficiency achieved by beginning the controls as soon as the system begins operation.
As per claim 15, Ito et al. do not teach wherein the reference temperature is determined based on at least one of a size of the indoor heat exchanger and a blowing capacity of the air conditioner. However, official notice is taken that the scaling of operating parameters based on the size and capacity of system components is considered a common operation conducted through routine experimentation and that this is simply a particular example of this basic concept that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose determining optimal operating conditions based on the particular scale of the components being used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-9, 11, 13, 16-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claims 2, 13, and 20, there is no teaching or suggestion to further modify the system of Ito et al. wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to adjust the operating frequency of the compressor or stop the compressor based on the intake temperature, and wherein, in response to the discharge temperature reaching the reference temperature after the intake temperature reaches the target temperature, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to control the compressor to reduce the operating frequency instead of stopping the compressor.
As per claims 4 and 16 (and clams 5-6 and 17 which depend therefrom, respectively) there is no teaching or suggestion to further modify the system of Ito et al. wherein, in response to the discharge temperature increasing in a section, in which the compressor is operated at the second operating frequency, and reaching a predetermined first temperature, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to maintain a third operating frequency increased from the second operating frequency.
As per claim 7 (and clams 8-9 which depend therefrom) there is no teaching or suggestion to further modify the system of Ito et al. wherein, in response to the discharge temperature decreasing in a section, in which the compressor is operated at the second operating frequency, and reaching a predetermined second temperature, the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to maintain a fourth operating frequency increased from the second operating frequency.
As per claim 11, there is no teaching or suggestion to further modify the system of Ito et al. wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the air conditioner to control the operating frequency based on a predetermined fuzzy table in a section in which the operating frequency is increased to the first operating frequency.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0072550 A1) teach an air conditioning control arrangement comprising compressor frequency controls based on a target outlet air temperature (para. 0057; etc.).
Yamaguchi et al. (US 2020/0086713 A1) teach an air conditioning control arrangement comprising compressor frequency controls based on a target outlet air temperature (para. 0055; etc.)
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763