DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 18-20, 22-26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roumeliotis et al. (US 2011/0269452).
For Claims 1 and 18, Roumeliotis teaches a method performed by a wireless fingerprint reporting device and a wireless fingerprint reporting device, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (see paragraphs 8, 17), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to perform a method, the method comprising:
obtaining, in response to a scan of a location tag by a scanning device, wireless fingerprint information associated with one or more signals transmitted by the scanning device or received by the scanning device (see paragraphs 41, 42); and
reporting the wireless fingerprint information to a network component (see paragraph 42).
For Claims 11 and 28, Roumeliotis teaches a method performed by a wireless fingerprint measurement device, and a wireless fingerprint measurement device, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (see paragraphs 8, 17), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to perform a method, the method comprising:
measuring wireless fingerprint information associated with one or more signals transmitted by a scanning device or received by the scanning device (see paragraphs 41, 42); and
sharing, with one or more devices, the wireless fingerprint information in response to a scan of a location tag by the scanning device (see paragraphs 41, 42).
For Claims 2 and 19, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the wireless fingerprint reporting device corresponds to the scanning device (see paragraphs 41-42), or wherein the wireless fingerprint reporting device corresponds to the location tag, or wherein the wireless fingerprint reporting device corresponds to a wireless device that is separate from the scanning device and the location tag.
For Claims 3 and 20, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the location tag is associated with a known location (see paragraph 33).
For Claims 5, 12, 22, and 29, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the wireless fingerprint information is measured by a wireless fingerprint measuring device in response to the scan of the location tag by the scanning device (see paragraph 42), or wherein the wireless fingerprint information is measured by the wireless fingerprint measuring device within a threshold amount of time prior to the scan of the location tag by the scanning device.
For Claims 6 and 23, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the scanning device is a user equipment (UE) or a wearable device or a combination thereof (see paragraph 17).
For Claims 7 and 24, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the location tag is encoded with or comprises a link to: location information characterizing a location of the location tag (see paragraph 33), or
a location tag identifier, or one or more identifiers or one or more wireless transmission devices that are proximate to the location tag, or one or more identifiers or one or more wireless reception devices that are proximate to the location tag, or one or more configured links on which to transmit the one or more wireless signals for measurement by the one or more wireless reception devices, or one or more configured links on which to receive the one or more wireless signals for measurement by the scanning device, or an identifier associated with the network component, or any combination thereof.
For Claims 8 and 25, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the wireless fingerprint reporting device corresponds to a wireless fingerprint measurement device that measures the one or more signals (see paragraph 41-42).
For Claims 9, 16, 26, and 30, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the wireless fingerprint information comprises one or more received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements associated with the one or more signals (see paragraph 22, claim 6).
For Claims 13 and 30, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the wireless fingerprint measurement device corresponds to the scanning device (see paragraph 41-42), or
wherein the wireless fingerprint measurement device corresponds to a wireless reception device that is proximate to the location tag.
For Claims 14 and 30, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the sharing comprises transmission of the wireless fingerprint information to a network component or the location tag (see paragraph 42).
For Claims 15 and 30, Roumeliotis teaches the method, further comprising: receiving a request to measure the wireless fingerprint information in response to the scan of the location tag by the scanning device, wherein the measuring is performed in response to the request (see paragraphs 41-42: measuring; Figure 4 items 414 and 416: requests, scanning).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roumeliotis et al. (US 2011/0269452) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0220715).
For Claims 4 and 21, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the location tag comprises a barcode (see paragraphs 33, 41), or wherein the location tag is associated with or proximate to an electronic shelf label (ESL), or a combination thereof.
Roumeliotis is not explicit as to the barcode being a quick response (QR) code, but Park teaches using a QR code as a location tag (see paragraphs 73, 80, 97).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a QR code as in Park when implementing the barcode location tag as in Roumeliotis. One of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of providing a tag that can be read with mobile devices.
Claim(s) 10, 17, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roumeliotis et al. (US 2011/0269452) as applied to claims 1, 11, 18, and 28 above, and further in view of Hirzallah et al. (US 2023/0179953).
For Claims 10, 17, 27, and 30, Roumeliotis teaches the method, wherein the wireless fingerprint information corresponds to training data for the location service (see paragraph 40).
Roumeliotis as applied above Is not explicit as to, but Hirzallah teaches using RF fingerprinting for training an artificial intelligence machine learning (AIML) model for positioning (see paragraph 156).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to train an ML model as in Hirzallah with the training collected as in Roumeliotis. The motivation would be to provide the data necessary to improve the location capacity of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tiwari et al. (US 2021/0258392) teaches a system for using tags to identify locations and associate a tag location with an RF fingerprint. Pasricha et al. (US 2021/0092611) teaches a system for associating an RSSI fingerprint with a location and training a neural network with the fingerprint data.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 6/4/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466