DETAILED ACTION
The Information Disclosure Statement, filed 04 June 2026 has been fully considered by the examiner. A signed copy is attached.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected, grounds follow.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that instant application is a Continuation-in-Part of Application 18/499,674 (now US patent #12,111,631) and has been accorded the benefit of the original priority date, except where new matter has been added to the claims or specification not present in the parent application.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 6-8 and 10 be found allowable, claims 15-18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the at least one manufacturing operation" in Claim 1 line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In particular it is not clear if this is the same or different feature than the “at least one operation” of e.g. Claim 1 line 2, line 14, line 15.
Regarding Claims 2-10, these claims inherit the deficiencies of their parent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 11-12, 14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvey, et al., US Pg-Pub 2022/0155749 in view of Srivastava et al., US Pg-Pub 2019/0391562.
Regarding Claim 1, Garvey teaches:
A system comprising: a computer operated device (see fig. 7, manufacturing device) comprising at least one tool (fig. 7 “Machining or deposition tool 710”) operable to perform at least a first manufacturing operation (see [0025] “shaping a piece of stock material” “deposits material in a controlled manner”, etc.) within a working area; (see [0025] “The three-dimensional volume within which the tool can be moved is referred to as the work envelope.”)
a scanner (fig. 7, Metrology Sensor 702) configured to obtain scan data corresponding to at least a portion of the working area; ([0054] “The sensor 702 performs a measurement scan of the part during traversal along the sensor path and collects measured inspection data 704 for the manufactured part based on the measurement.”)
and a processor (see fig. 3, Processor(s) 318) configured to: configure scan-specific controls (see fig. 11A, 1102 and [0089] “preliminary sensor path instructions are generated that define a sensor path for a metrology sensor for scanning and measuring”) […] for scanning the portion of the working area; ([0089] “The sensor path is designed to collect these measurements while the unit of stock material is in place within the machining work cell.”)
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of the portion of the working area; (“sensor path generation component 306, measurement processing component 308, inspection component 310, … can be executed by a single processor 318” see also [0054])
generate a digital model ([0089] “the metrology sensor is operated in accordance with the preliminary sensor path instructions generated at step 1102 to capture 3D image data for the unit of stock material.”) of one or more materials (ibid. “stock material”) within the working area ([0089] “…while the unit of stock material is in place within the machining work cell.”) based on the scan data; ([0054] “the measured inspection data 704 obtained by the sensor 702 may collectively yield a 3D image, a point cloud, a 3D faceted model, or another type of 3D representation of the part's surfaces”)
configure setup parameters for the computer operated device […] for the at least one tool (e.g. timing and choice of additive and/or subtractive tooling operations, see [0026] “Tool path programming 110 also defines the timings of tooling operations (e.g., machining or deposition operations) to be performed as the tool 104 traverses these defined paths (e.g., drilling operations, cutting operations, etc.).”)
generate at least one tool path (see fig. 11B, step 1112) for the at least one tool to perform the at least one operation ([0091] “remove detected defects from the unit of stock material”) within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters; ([0091] “step 1112, where preliminary tooling path instructions are generated based on the analysis results. The preliminary tooling path instructions define a machining tool path estimated to remove the detected defects from the unit of stock material via subtractive or hybrid machining of the stock material.”)
operate the computer operated device to perform the at least one operation according to the at least one tool path; ([0091] “At 1114, the machining tool is operated in accordance with the preliminary tooling path instructions to facilitate removing the defects from the unit of stock material via additive and/or subtractive machining.”)
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of the modified materials within the working area; ([0091] “at 1116… figs 10A-10B is initiated”, fig. 10A, 1004, [0083] “At 1004, sensor path instructions are generated defining a sensor path for a metrology sensor, where the sensor path is designed to capture 3D image data for the part.” See also figures 4 and 10B).
and verify the at least one manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the second modified workpiece. ([0088] “When the corrected image data is found to be within tolerance of the digital model (YES at step 1012), the methodology proceeds to step 1018, where a determination is made as to whether more tooling stages are necessary to complete the part. … When all tooling stages have been completed (NO at step 1018), the part is accepted at step 1022 and the methodology ends.”)
Garvey differs from the claimed invention in that:
Garvey does not clearly articulate [the scan parameters] including at least one scan specific parameter
Nor does Garvey clearly articulate [the setup parameters] including at least one tool specific parameter
However, Srivastava teaches a computer operated manufacturing device including a scanner (fig. 2, Scanner 240) which receives scan parameters (fig. 2 “scan parameters 260”) which includes at least one scan specific parameter (such as resolution, see [0022] “set various scan configurations (e.g., captured data resolution”) as well as providing CAM setup parameters ([0028] “Such milling positions may be specified in the CAM setup 220”) including at least one tool specific parameter ([0018] “The CAM setup 220 may include… parameters for any number of finishing operations to perform on the part” nb., tools such as milling, blasting, deburring, grinding, tools, etc. see [0009]).
Garvey and Srivastava is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and other references of computer aided manufacturing devices.
Accordingly, examiner finds 1) the prior art contained a “base” device (method, or product) upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” – the teachings of a hybrid additive and subtractive CAM device of Garvey, upon which the use of scan specific and setup specific parameters can be seen as an improvement. 2) the prior art contained a “comparable” device (method, or product that is not the same as the base device) that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention – the teachings of a subtractive CAM device of Srivastava, which has been improved in the same way of using scan specific and setup tool specific parameters. 3) one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have applied the known “improvement” technique in the same way to the “base” device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; at least because Srivastava teaches that this improvement can be a time-saving feature and applies the improvement directly to a CAM system with integrated scanner to realize that time-saving feature. ([0044] “compared to brute force techniques that may require increased time and computing resources to (unnecessarily or inefficiently) collect and/or process 3D scan data of a physical part. Brute force scanning and processing of physical parts may be time-consuming and expensive, and the toolpath adjustment features described herein may, in comparison, require lesser amounts of processing resources and increase the speed at which toolpath adjustments are determined.”) and accordingly the improvement would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application (See MPEP 2143.I.C)
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, these claims recite substantively the same subject matter discussed with respect to claim 1, except embodied as a method and an alternative system, respectively; Garvey also teaches the additional features of the integrated scanner (Garvey [0053] “it is assumed that the tool 710 and metrology sensor 702 are attached to the same operating arm 708”) and obtaining scan data of the material in the working area [from] the integrated scanner ([0089] “The sensor path is designed to collect these measurements while the unit of stock material is in place within the machining work cell.”). Accordingly, Mutatis mutandis these claims are likewise obvious over Garvey in view of Srivastava for the same reasons articulated with respect to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 2, and 12 Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 1 and 11 respectively;
Garvey further teaches:
(Claim 2 representative) wherein the at least one operation comprises one of an additive operation, a subtractive operation, or a hybrid operation. (see e.g. [0034] “System 302 may be a control system for substantially any type of additive, subtractive, or hybrid (additive and subtractive) manufacturing system”)
Regarding Claims 4, and 14, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 1, and 11, respectively,
Garvey further teaches:
(Claim 4 representative) wherein the computer operated device comprises a moveable arm, (Fig. 7, “operating arm 708” [0025] “Some tools 104 may be attached to robotic operating arms that can be articulated over multiple independently controllable axes of motion”)
and wherein the at least one tool is configured to be coupled to a working portion of the moveable arm. (fig. 7 Machining or Deposition tool 710 and [0025] “Some tools 104 may be attached to robotic operating arms that can be articulated over multiple independently controllable axes of motion” see also [0053])
Regarding Claim 5, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claim 4;
Garvey further teaches:
wherein the scanner is configured to be coupled to the moveable arm of the computer aided manufacturing device. ([0053] “In the example depicted in FIG. 7 it is assumed that the tool 710 and metrology sensor 702 are attached to the same operating arm 708”)
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 1 and 1, respectively;
Garvey further teaches:
wherein the at least one operation comprises a multi-step process comprising at least one first process and at least one second process. (see fig. 10B and [0088] “the next tooling stage is selected at step 1020, and the methodology returns to step 1002. Steps 1002-1018 are repeated for each stage of the tooling process until all required tooling stages have been completed”)
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 7 and 16,
Garvey further teaches:
(Claim 8 representative) wherein the at least one first process comprises at least one of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process. ([0025] “The morphic manufacturing approach is also applicable to hybrid manufacturing systems that perform both additive and subtractive processes to form a finished part or workpiece. See also [0026] “Tool path programming 110 also defines the timings of tooling operations (e.g., machining or deposition operations)”)
Regarding Claim 20, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claim 19,
Garvey further teaches:
wherein the computer aided manufacturing device comprises a moveable arm (Fig. 7, “operating arm 708” [0025] “Some tools 104 may be attached to robotic operating arms that can be articulated over multiple independently controllable axes of motion”) configured to be selectively coupled to the at least one tool and the integrated scanner. ([0048] “In some embodiments, the sensor may be attached to the same spindle, or otherwise attached to the same articulating mechanism (e.g., robotic operating arm or another articulating structure) as the machining tool.”)
Claim(s) 3, 10, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvey in view of Srivastava, further in view of Tracy et al., US Pg-Pub 2024/0085350.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 1 and 11, respectively;
Garvey in view of Srivastava does not appear to clearly articulate:
(claim 3 representative) wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer operated device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least the portion of the working area.
However, Tracy teaches a hybrid manufacturing system (e.g. a system that performs both additive, see Tracy [0034], and subtractive, see Tracy [0040], manufacturing on the same workpiece) which utilizes a fixed position scanning device (see fig. 1, Scanning device 28, which may be a computed tomography system, see [0042]) in order to scan the object (see [0054] “The scanning device 28 of FIG. 1, for example, scans the first object 80 of FIG. 7 to map one or more exterior characteristics of the first object 80 and/or one or more interior characteristic of the first object 80.”) which is in the field of the working area. (see fig. 1, and Tracy [0035] “The component support 32 is located within an internal chamber 40 of the manufacturing system 20. This component support 32 is configured to support the component 22 within the internal chamber 40; e.g., a build chamber.”)
Tracy is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and other references of computer-aided manufacturing systems, and contains overlapping structural and functional similarities. Each images the working area in order to improve the accuracy of machining. Each modifies tool paths based on the imaging.
Accordingly, Examiner finds 1) the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) – the manufacturing system and method as taught by Garvey – which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components – the fixed position scanner of the claim for the arm mounted scanner of Garvey. 2) the substituted components and their functions were known in the art, as exemplified by the fixed position scanner of Tracy; 3) One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable at least because Tracy teaches that such scanner is suitable for imaging a workpiece to compare to a digital model to devise toolpaths for correcting the deviation of the workpiece from the model (see Tracy [0048] “The scanning device 28 then provides substrate scan data to the controller 30 indicative of the one or more mapped substrate characteristics. The scan data may be in the form of a computer aided design (CAD) model file; e.g., a CATIA™ model file. [0049] In step 408, the substrate scan data is processed to provide additive manufacturing (AM) data.”) and accordingly the substitution would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application.
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 1 and 1, respectively;
Garvey differs from the claimed invention in that:
while Garvey discloses multiple tool passes, it is not clearly articulated that the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool,
nor wherein the first tool path comprises a first tool sub-path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool sub-path corresponding to the second tool.
However, Tracy teaches a hybrid manufacturing system (e.g. a system that performs both additive, see Tracy [0034], and subtractive, see Tracy [0040], manufacturing on the same workpiece) which utilizes multiple tools to perform multiple different manufacturing processes (see [0056] “The machining device 26 of FIG. 3, for example, selectively removes material from the first object 80 to form the second object 84. This first object material is removed based on/according to the machining data; e.g., command(s) provided by the controller 30. The first object material may thereby be selectively removed to at least partially restore or otherwise place the component 22 into the like new (or new) condition. The material removed from the first object 80 may include some of the fused additive manufacturing material 82 and/or some of the substrate material. This material may be removed by the machining device 26 through drilling, cutting, grinding, milling, polishing, sanding and/or otherwise.”) and generates, based on the scan of the workpiece (see e.g. [0049] “the controller 30 may generate a solid model of the scanned substrate 44 to compare to a solid model of the design space component… thereby evaluat[ing] the state/condition of the substrate) tool paths for each of the first tool ([0049] “determine where to deposit the additive manufacturing material, determine path(s) to follow for the depositing of the additive manufacturing material”) and the second tool ([0055] “The controller 30 may thereby evaluate the current state/condition of the first object 80, and determine what subtractive operations may be performed (e.g., amounts of material to be removed, where to remove the material, path(s) for the machining tool 68 to follow, etc.) for a combined deposition and machining process.
Tracy is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and other references of computer-aided manufacturing systems, and contains overlapping structural and functional similarities. Each images the working area in order to improve the accuracy of machining. Each modifies tool paths based on the imaging
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have modified the teachings of Garvey to use a hybrid deposition and machining tool process, as taught by Tracy.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have made this modification because Garvey teaches that it is applicable to hybrid manufacturing systems (see e.g. Garvey [0034] “System 302 may be a control system for substantially any type of additive, subtractive, or hybrid (additive and subtractive) manufacturing system”) such as the system of Tracy (see Tracy [0041] “the additive manufacturing device 24 and the machining device 26 are described above as operating on the component 22 in a common internal chamber 40 of the manufacturing system 20”)
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvey in view Srivastava, further in view of Kaku, WIPO Patent Application Publication WO 2023-286639. (Citations to furnished machine translation courtesy Espacenet.)
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claims 1 and 1, respectively;
Garvey in view of Srivastava differs from the claimed invention in that:
Neither reference clearly articulates: (claim 6 representative) wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
However, Kaku teaches a machining system (see fig. 5) including a scanner (measuring device) (scanner 9, see page 13 with glyph translations) which measures the at least one tool (Page 2, 4th paragraph “A mounting tool that compares the mounting tool information with the mounting tool information based on the position of the tool newly measured by the measuring device and the shape of the tool, and checks whether the desired tool is mounted on the tool rest. A check unit may be provided.” )
Kaku is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and other references of computer-aided manufacturing systems, and contains overlapping structural and functional similarities. Each images the working area in order to improve the accuracy of machining. Each modifies tool paths based on the imaging.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have modified the teachings of Garvey to include a scanning system capable of imaging the tool head itself, as suggested by Kaku.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have been motivated to make this modification in order to “confirm whether or not the type of the tool and the mounting position of the tool are correct” as suggested by Kaku (see Kaku Page 2, 5th paragraph.)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garvey in view Srivastava, further in view of Coates et al., US Pg-Pub 2017/0129180.
Regarding Claim 9, Garvey in view of Srivastava teaches all of the limitations of parent claim 1,
Garvey differs from the claimed invention in that:
Garvey does not clearly articulate wherein the computer aided manufacturing device includes a tool storage area,
nor wherein the scanner is positionable, at least partially, within the tool storage area.
However, Coates teaches a manufacturing system (see figs. 1-5) including at least one tool storage area ([0240] first and second tool changers 22, 24, see fig. 1) where a scanner tool head may be stored (see e.g. [0015] “Additionally the second tool changer may contain heads may be any one or more of the following: an image recording apparatus; … touch probes; 3D surface (including laser and structured light varieties) and volumetric scanners, including confocal, focus variation, interferometry and structured light scanners; photogrammetry systems”)
Coates is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and other references of computer-aided manufacturing systems, and contains overlapping structural and functional similarities. Each images the working area in order to improve the accuracy of machining. Each modifies tool paths based on the imaging.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have modified the teachings of Garvey to include storing scanning heads when not in use as suggested by Coates.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application could have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent the scanners from being contaminated from the work piece and allow a larger range of motion for the in use tool head. ([0017] “Such storage of the heads in a remote location from the work piece … prevents them from becoming contaminated from the work piece. Additionally as only the “in use” head is attached there is a greater range of movement available to the head relative to the work piece.”)
Double Patenting
In the interest of Clarity, examiners notes that there are two independent double patenting rejections, over each of copending application 18/824,318 and issued parent patent US 12,111,631; individually.
Claims 1-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-2, 4-13, and 15-20 of Application No. 18/824,318. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4-13, and 15-20 of copending Application No. 18/824,318 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as illustrated in the table below, the reference application discloses the claims at issue in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Reference Application 18/824,318
1. A system comprising:
1. A system comprising:
a computer operated device comprising at least one tool operable to perform at least one operation within a working area;
a computer aided manufacturing device comprising at least one tool operable to perform at least a first manufacturing operation within a working area;
a scanner configured to obtain scan data corresponding to at least a portion of the working area; and
a scanner configured to obtain scan data corresponding to at least a portion of the working area; and
a processor configured to:
a processor configured to:
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning the portion of the working area;
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning the portion of the working area;
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of the portion of the working area;
operate the scanner to obtain scan data including the portion of the working area;
generate a digital model of one or more materials within the working area based on the scan data;
generate a digital model based at least in part on the scan data;
configure setup parameters for the computer operated device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
configure setup parameters for the computer aided manufacturing device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
generate at least one tool path for the at least one tool to perform the at least one operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
generate a first tool path for the at least one tool to perform a first manufacturing operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
operate the computer operated device to perform the at least one operation according to the at least one tool path;
operate the computer aided manufacturing system to perform the first manufacturing operation according to the first tool path to generate a modified workpiece;
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of one or more modified materials within the working area; and
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of the modified workpiece;
verify the at least one manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the modified materials.
verify the first manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the modified workpiece.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation comprises one of an additive operation, a subtractive operation, or a hybrid operation.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises a subtractive manufacturing operation. 4. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises an additive manufacturing operation.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer operated device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least the portion of the working area.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer aided manufacturing device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least the portion of the working area.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer operated device comprises a moveable arm, and wherein the at least one tool is configured to be coupled to a working portion of the moveable arm.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer aided manufacturing device comprises a moveable arm, and wherein the at least one tool is configured to be coupled to a working portion of the moveable arm.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the scanner is configured to be coupled to the moveable arm of the computer operated device.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the scanner is configured to be coupled to the moveable arm of the computer aided manufacturing device.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation comprises a multi-step process comprising at least one first process and at least one second process.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises at least two of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the at least one first process comprises at least one of an additive process, a subtractive process, or a hybrid process.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises at least two of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer operated device includes a tool storage area, and wherein the scanner is positionable, at least partially, within the tool storage area.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer aided manufacturing device includes a tool storage area, and wherein the scanner is positionable, at least partially, within the tool storage area.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the at least one tool path comprises a first tool path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool path corresponding to the second tool.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the first tool path comprises a first tool sub-path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool sub-path corresponding to the second tool.
11. A method of operating a computer operated device, comprising:
12. A method of operating a computer aided manufacturing device, comprising:
configuring, by a processor, a scanner integrated with a computer-operated device based on scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning a portion of a working area of the computer operated device;
configuring scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning at least a portion of a working area;
obtaining, by the scanner integrated with the computer operated device, scan data of the working area;
obtaining, by a scanner integrated with the computer aided manufacturing device, scan data including the portion of the working area;
generating, by the processor, a digital model of one or more materials within the working area;
generating, by a processor, a digital model based at least in part on the scan data;
configuring, by the processor, setup parameters for the computer operated device including at least one tool specific parameter for at least one tool;
configuring, by the processor, setup parameters for the computer aided manufacturing device including at least one tool specific parameter for at least one tool of the computer aided manufacturing device;
generating, by the processor, at least one tool path for the at least one tool of the computer operated device, wherein the at least one tool path is generated based, at least in part, on the digital model and the setup parameters;
generating, by the processor, a first tool path for the at least one tool of the computer aided manufacturing device, wherein the first tool path is generated based, at least in part, on the digital model and the setup parameters;
operating, by the processor, the computer operated device to perform at least one operation according to the at least one tool path;
operating the computer aided manufacturing system to perform a first manufacturing operation according to the first tool path to generate a modified workpiece;
generating, by the scanner, scan data of one or more modified materials within the working area; and
obtaining, by the scanner, scan data of the modified workpiece;
verifying, by the processor, the at least one operation based on the scan data of the modified materials.
verifying, by the processor, the first manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the modified workpiece.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one operation comprises one of an additive operation, a subtractive operation, or a hybrid operation.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises a subtractive manufacturing operation.15. The method of claim 12, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises an additive manufacturing operation.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer operated device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least a portion of the working area.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer aided manufacturing device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least the portion of the working area.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein operating the computer operated device comprises: coupling the at least one tool to a moveable arm; and operating the moveable arm to cause the at least one tool to move according to the at least one tool path.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the computer aided manufacturing device comprises a moveable arm, and wherein the at least one tool is configured to be coupled to a working portion of the moveable arm.
15. The system of claim 1, comprising generating, by the scanner, scan data of the at least one tool.
19. The method of claim 12, wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation comprises a multi-step process comprising at least one first process and at least one second process.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises at least two of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the at least one first process comprises at least one of an additive process, a subtractive process, or a hybrid process.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises at least two of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the at least one tool path comprises a first tool path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool path corresponding to the second tool
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the first tool path comprises a first tool sub-path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool sub-path corresponding to the second tool.
19. A system, comprising:
20. A system, comprising:
a computer operated device comprising:
a computer aided manufacturing device comprising:
at least one tool operable to perform at least one operation within a working area;
at least one tool operable to perform at least a first manufacturing operation within a working area defined by the computer aided manufacturing device;
an integrated scanner comprising a field of view including at least a portion of the working area; and
an integrated scanner comprising a field of view including at least a portion of the working area; and
a processor configured to:
a processor configured to:
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning the portion of the working area;
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning the portion of the working area;
obtain scan data of one or more materials within the working area, wherein the scan data is obtained from the integrated scanner;
operate the integrated scanner to obtain scan data including the portion of the working area;
generate a digital model of the one or more materials based on the scan data of the one or more materials;
generate a digital model based at least in part on the scan data;
configure setup parameters for the computer operated device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
configure setup parameters for the computer aided manufacturing device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
generate at least one tool path to perform the at least one operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
generate a first tool path for the at least one tool to perform a first manufacturing operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
transmit instructions to the computer operated device to cause the computer operated device to perform the at least one operation according to the at least one tool path;
operate the computer aided manufacturing system to perform the first manufacturing operation according to the first tool path to generate a modified workpiece;
operate the integrated scanner to obtain scan data of one or more modified materials within the working area; and
operate the integrated scanner to obtain scan data of the modified workpiece; and
verify the at least one operation based on the scan data of the one or more modified materials.
verify the first manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the modified workpiece.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the computer operated device comprises a moveable arm configured to be selectively coupled to the at least one tool and the integrated scanner.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the scanner is configured to be coupled to the moveable arm of the computer aided manufacturing device.
Claims 1-20 are also separately rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,111,631. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as illustrated in the table below, the reference patent discloses the claims at issue in the instant application.
Instant Application
Reference US 12,111,631
1. A system comprising:
1. A system comprising:
a computer operated device comprising at least one tool operable to perform at least one operation within a working area;
a computer aided manufacturing device comprising at least one tool operable to perform at least a first manufacturing operation within a working area;
a scanner configured to obtain scan data corresponding to at least a portion of the working area; and
a scanner configured to obtain scan data corresponding to at least a portion of the working area; and
a processor configured to:
a processor configured to:
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning the portion of the working area;
configure scan-specific controls including a least one scan-specific parameter for scanning a workpiece positioned within the working area; …
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of the portion of the working area;
…operate the scanner to obtain scan data including the workpiece positioned within the working area;
generate a digital model of one or more materials within the working area based on the scan data;
generate a digital model of the workpiece based on the scan data of the workpiece;
configure setup parameters for the computer operated device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
configure setup parameters for the computer aided manufacturing device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
generate at least one tool path for the at least one tool to perform the at least one operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
generate a first tool path for the at least one tool to perform the first manufacturing operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
operate the computer operated device to perform the at least one operation according to the at least one tool path;
operate the computer aided manufacturing system to perform a portion of the first manufacturing operation according to the first tool path to generate a first modified workpiece;
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of one or more modified materials within the working area; and
operate the scanner to obtain scan data of the first modified workpiece;…
verify the at least one manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the modified materials.
…verify the first manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the second modified workpiece.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation comprises one of an additive operation, a subtractive operation, or a hybrid operation.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises one of an additive manufacturing operation, a subtractive manufacturing operation, or a hybrid manufacturing operation.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer operated device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least the portion of the working area.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer aided manufacturing device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least the portion of the working area.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer operated device comprises a moveable arm, and wherein the at least one tool is configured to be coupled to a working portion of the moveable arm.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer aided manufacturing device comprises a moveable arm, and wherein the at least one tool is configured to be coupled to a working portion of the moveable arm.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the scanner is configured to be coupled to the moveable arm of the computer operated device.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the scanner is configured to be coupled to the moveable arm of the computer aided manufacturing device.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation comprises a multi-step process comprising at least one first process and at least one second process.
(claim 1… generate a second tool path to perform a second manufacturing operation within the work area, wherein the second tool path is generated based at least in part on the scan data of the first modified workpiece, and wherein the second manufacturing operation is distinct from the first manufacturing operation;… see also claim 8)
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the at least one first process comprises at least one of an additive process, a subtractive process, or a hybrid process.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises at least two of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer operated device includes a tool storage area, and wherein the scanner is positionable, at least partially, within the tool storage area.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer aided manufacturing device includes a tool storage area, and wherein the scanner is positionable, at least partially, within the tool storage area.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the at least one tool path comprises a first tool path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool path corresponding to the second tool.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the first tool path comprises a first tool sub-path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool sub-path corresponding to the second tool.
11. A method of operating a computer operated device, comprising:
12. A method of operating a computer aided manufacturing device, comprising:
configuring, by a processor, a scanner integrated with a computer-operated device based on scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning a portion of a working area of the computer operated device;
configuring scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning a workpiece positioned within a working area;…
obtaining, by the scanner integrated with the computer operated device, scan data of the working area;
…obtaining, by a scanner integrated with the computer aided manufacturing device, scan data including the workpiece positioned within the working area of the computer aided manufacturing device;
generating, by the processor, a digital model of one or more materials within the working area;
generating, by a processor, a digital model of the workpiece from the scan data;
configuring, by the processor, setup parameters for the computer operated device including at least one tool specific parameter for at least one tool;
configuring, by the processor, setup parameters for the computer aided manufacturing device including at least one tool specific parameter for at least one tool of the computer aided manufacturing device;
generating, by the processor, at least one tool path for the at least one tool of the computer operated device, wherein the at least one tool path is generated based, at least in part, on the digital model and the setup parameters;
generating, by the processor, a first tool path for the at least one tool of the computer aided manufacturing device, wherein the first tool path is generated based, at least in part, on the digital model and the setup parameters;
operating, by the processor, the computer operated device to perform at least one operation according to the at least one tool path;
operating, by the processor, the computer aided manufacturing system to perform a portion of a first manufacturing operation according to at least a first portion of the first tool path to generate a first modified workpiece;
generating, by the scanner, scan data of one or more modified materials within the working area; and
obtaining, by the scanner, scan data of the first modified workpiece;…
verifying, by the processor, the at least one operation based on the scan data of the modified materials.
…verifying, by the processor, the first manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the second modified workpiece.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one operation comprises one of an additive operation, a subtractive operation, or a hybrid operation.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises one of an additive manufacturing operation, a subtractive manufacturing operation, or a hybrid manufacturing operation.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer operated device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least a portion of the working area.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the scanner is integrated with the computer aided manufacturing device at a fixed location, and wherein the scanner includes a field of view comprising at least a portion of the working area.
14. The method of claim 11, wherein operating the computer operated device comprises: coupling the at least one tool to a moveable arm; and operating the moveable arm to cause the at least one tool to move according to the at least one tool path.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein operating the computer aided manufacturing device comprises: coupling the at least one tool to a moveable arm; and operating the moveable arm to cause the at least one tool to move according to the first tool path to perform the first manufacturing operation.
15. The system of claim 1, comprising generating, by the scanner, scan data of the at least one tool.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the scanner is configured to obtain scan data of the at least one tool.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation comprises a multi-step process comprising at least one first process and at least one second process.
(claim 1… generate a second tool path to perform a second manufacturing operation within the work area, wherein the second tool path is generated based at least in part on the scan data of the first modified workpiece, and wherein the second manufacturing operation is distinct from the first manufacturing operation;… see also claim 8)
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the at least one first process comprises at least one of an additive process, a subtractive process, or a hybrid process.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the first manufacturing operation comprises at least two of an additive manufacturing process, a subtractive manufacturing process, or a hybrid manufacturing process.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the at least one tool path comprises a first tool path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool path corresponding to the second tool
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool comprises a first tool and a second tool, and wherein the first tool path comprises a first tool sub-path corresponding to the first tool and a second tool sub-path corresponding to the second tool.
19. A system, comprising:
19. A system, comprising:
a computer operated device comprising:
a computer aided manufacturing device comprising:
at least one tool operable to perform at least one operation within a working area;
at least one tool operable to perform at least a first manufacturing operation within a working area defined by the computer aided manufacturing device;
an integrated scanner comprising a field of view including at least a portion of the working area; and
an integrated scanner comprising a field of view including at least a portion of the working area; and
a processor configured to:
a processor configured to:
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning the portion of the working area;
configure scan-specific controls including at least one scan specific parameter for scanning a workpiece positioned within the working area;…
obtain scan data of one or more materials within the working area, wherein the scan data is obtained from the integrated scanner;
…obtain scan data including the workpiece positioned within the working area, wherein the scan data is obtained from the integrated scanner;
generate a digital model of the one or more materials based on the scan data of the one or more materials;
generate a digital model of the workpiece based on the scan data of the workpiece;
configure setup parameters for the computer operated device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
configure setup parameters for the computer aided manufacturing device including at least one tool specific parameter for the at least one tool;
generate at least one tool path to perform the at least one operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
generate a first tool path configured to operate the computer aided manufacturing device to perform the first manufacturing operation within the working area based on the digital model and the setup parameters;
transmit instructions to the computer operated device to cause the computer operated device to perform the at least one operation according to the at least one tool path;
transmit instructions to the computer aided manufacturing system configured to cause the computer aided manufacturing system to perform at least a portion of the first manufacturing operation according to the first tool path to generate a first modified workpiece;
operate the integrated scanner to obtain scan data of one or more modified materials within the working area; and
obtain scan data of the first modified workpiece from the integrated scanner;…
verify the at least one operation based on the scan data of the one or more modified materials.
…verify the first manufacturing operation based on the scan data of the second modified workpiece.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the computer operated device comprises a moveable arm configured to be selectively coupled to the at least one tool and the integrated scanner.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the computer aided manufacturing device comprises a moveable arm configured to be selectively coupled to the at least one tool and the integrated scanner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Feied et al., US Pg-Pub 2023/0191543, disclosure generally (multiple dissimilar process machining system, including additive and subtractive processing steps including imaging operations to manage machine and workpiece state (see e.g. [0578] et seq.)
/J.T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119