DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 9828187 to Chierego et al. (hereinafter referred to as, “Chierego”).
With respect to claim 1, Chierego discloses
a cross-belt sorter comprising
a plurality of interconnected carriers which are drivable behind each other in a conveying direction (see annotated Fig. 6 below);
, wherein
each of the carriers is provided with a cross-belt that provides a product supporting section for supporting a product (see annotated Fig. 15 below):
,
which cross-belt is drivable in a belt driving direction extending transversely to the conveying direction (col. 1, lines 34-39),
first and second pushing elements are mounted to each said cross-belt (see annotated Fig. 9 below):
for pushing against a product on the product supporting section of the cross-belt in the event that the product on the product supporting section of the cross-belt tends to move with respect to the cross-belt in a direction opposite the belt driving direction, and
each said carrier is provided with side walls along the cross-belt, such that in a neutral position of the cross-belt the first and second pushing elements, the side walls and the product supporting section of the cross-belt form a tray (see annotated Fig. 8 below wherein the side wall 28 and cross-belt form a three sided tray):
.
With respect to claim 2, Chierego teaches wherein each of said first and second pushing elements has an upright orientation with respect to the cross-belt (see annotated Fig. 11 below):
and is supported in the belt driving direction by a supporting member which is at least between opposite side edges of the cross-belt that is fixed to each of said first and second pushing elements and to the cross-belt at respective distances from an intersection between each of said first and second pushing elements and the cross-belt (see annotated Fig. 11 below):
,
also see Fig. 13.
With respect to claim 4, Chierego discloses wherein at least one of the first and second pushing elements and the supporting member has a plate shape extending in a transverse direction relative to the belt driving direction (see annotated Fig. 11 below):
With respect to claim 8, Chierego discloses the first and second pushing elements face each other in a neutral position of the cross-belt (see annotated Fig. 9 below):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chierego as set out above.
With respect to claim 6, Chierego discloses all the claim language but does not disclose wherein each of said first and second pushing elements and each said supporting member are made of the same material.
The choice of material and the use of the same material in the pushing elements and the supporting members is a design choice. The specification does not attribute any significance to this limitation. Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, the particular arrangement is deemed to have been a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Further, the specification did not suggest the material was critical to the invention. Ex parte Spangler, Appeal No. 2018-003800 (Feb. 20, 2019).
Claims 5, 7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chierego as set out above in view of U.S. Pat. Np. 9371194 to Ragan.
With respect to claim 5, Chierego discloses all the claim language but does not disclose wherein each of said first and second pushing elements and each said supporting member are pivotably mounted to each other and to each said cross-belt.
Ragan teaches wherein each of said first and second pushing elements and each said supporting member are pivotably mounted to each other (see annotated Figs. below):
and to each said cross-belt (see annotated Fig. 9 below):
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ragan with the disclosure of Chierego when choosing a method to move a belt transversely to the direction of the conveyor.
With respect to claim 7, Chierego teaches wherein each of said first and second pushing elements and each said supporting member are an integral unit.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chierego as set out above in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6360877 to Orillo.
With respect to claim 17, Chierigo teaches a cross-belt sorter comprising a plurality of interconnected carriers (see number 5 in Fig. 2) which are drivable behind each other in a conveying direction (see annotated Fig. 6 below):
, wherein each of the carriers is provided with a cross-belt for supporting a product, which cross-belt is drivable in a belt driving direction extending transversely to the conveying direction (see numeral 5 in Fig. 6), first and second pushing elements are mounted to each said cross-belt for pushing against a product on the cross-belt in the event that the product on the cross-belt tends to move with respect to the cross-belt in a direction opposite the belt driving direction (see Annotated Fig. 9 below):
,
Chierigo does not teach each said pushing element and each said supporting member are pivotably mounted to each other and to the cross-belt.
Orillo teaches each said pushing element and each said supporting member are pivotably mounted to each other and to the cross-belt (see pushing element 15 in Fig. 3 and in Fig. 9 and col. 3, lines 14-16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the disclosure of Chierigo with the teachings of Orillo because Orillo helps with the ability to the pushing element to navigate the circuitous motion of the cross-belt.
With respect to claim 18, Orillo teaches wherein each said pushing element has an upright orientation with respect to the cross-belt and is supported in the belt driving direction by a supporting member which is at least between opposite side edges of the cross-belt, the supporting member is fixed to the pushing element and to the cross-belt at respective distances from an intersection between the pushing element and the cross-belt (see annotated Fig. 3, below):
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not teach or disclose a cross-belt conveyor having a belt that rotates in the transverse direction to the overall conveying direction, having two reverse rollers that include an inclination guide for guiding the cross-belt between the reverse rollers. The combination with the rest of the claim language is not taught or fairly suggested in the prior art.
Conclusion
/LESTER RUSHIN, III/
Examiner
Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651