Claims 21-40 are pending in this application.
35 USC 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US 2005/0137198; hereinafter, Nelson) in view of Hydralazine hydrochloride injection, USP Safety Data Sheet and Albayrak (US 2017/0231957).
Nelson (US 2005/0137198) discloses sterile aqueous injectable pharmaceutical composition comprising hydralazine hydrochloride in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or diluent, wherein the hydralazine hydrochloride is essentially free of phthalazines, hydrazine, and metal ions (claim 1). Nelson discloses that hydralazine hydrochloride is commercially available in sterile injectable dosage forms to treat hypertension, but it is unstable in storage because it forms insoluble polymeric products by reacting with hydralazine and contaminating by-products of hydralazine manufacture during storage of hydralazine solutions (paragraphs 5-6, 12). By providing hydralazine hydrochloride that is free of contaminating by-products (paragraphs 13-15, 54-56, 62-64), the hydralazine hydrochloride does not degrade or produce particulates during extended storage (paragraph 16). 5-20 mg/mL concentration of hydralazine hydrochloride is disclosed (paragraph 65), with examples of 5 mg/mL and 20 mg/mL (Examples 3, 4, 5 on page 7). The sterile aqueous injection solution comprises pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carrier or diluent for parenteral administration such as water, glycols such as propylene glycol, and other carriers described in the standard reference texts in this field (paragraph 66). Nelson shows stability of hydralazine hydrochloride with 0.8% or less degradation after 118 days at 40° C with water and propylene glycol as the solvents or carriers (Table 3 in view of Examples 3, 5-7). Packaging in a bottle is disclosed (Examples 3-7, 9-10).
Hydralazine hydrochloride injection, USP Safety Data Sheet is cited to establish that injectable formulation of hydralazine hydrochloride for treating hypertension is known to contain, in addition to water, propylene glycol, and hydralazine hydrochloride, methyl paraben, sodium hydroxide, hydrochloric acid, and propyl paraben. See pages 1-3. Weight ratio of propylene glycol to hydralazine chloride is 5.2:1 (from 10.2/2). See pages 1-2.
Albayrak (US 2017/0231957) is cited to establish that ethanol, isopropanol, glycols, and vegetable oils are well-known pharmaceutically acceptable carriers or vehicles (paragraph 75).
Nelson does not explicitly exemplify an “about 10 mg/mL” concentration of hydralazine/salt, but Nelson teaches 5-20 mg/mL, which is amply suggestive of about 10 mg/mL.
Nelson does not explicitly disclose a weight ratio of the co-solvent to hydralazine/salt, but Nelson teaches that his hydralazine hydrochloride, which is essentially free of phthalazines, hydrazine, and metal ions, degrades less than 1% after 118 days in storage at 40° C. Because the source of degradation has been eliminated or substantially removed, the ordinary skilled artisan would have expected stability, including no more than about 10% loss after 2 months of storage at 60° C.
5.2:1 weight ratio of co-solvent to hydralazine hydrochloride is known from Hydralazine hydrochloride injection, USP Safety Data Sheet, so the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious to similarly formulate a 10 mg/mL concentration with a comparable ratio of co-solvent to hydralazine.
Ethylene glycol, isopropanol, and vegetable oil are well-known pharmaceutically acceptable vehicles, and their use as the co-solvent would have been obvious from Nelson’s teaching and suggestion of such vehicles, further in view of Albayrak.
Presence of sodium hydroxide is known from Hydralazine hydrochloride injection, USP Safety Data Sheet, and its inclusion would have been obvious for pH adjustment purposes.
A pre-filled syringe comprising the sterile, ready-to-use pharmaceutical composition of hydralazine as discussed herein would have been obvious for the convenience and safety of direct use.
Method of treating hypertension comprising administering comprising the sterile, ready-to-use pharmaceutical composition of hydralazine as discussed herein would have been obvious because hydralazine hydrochloride is a known drug for hypertensive treatment.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because every element of the invention and the claimed invention as a whole have been fairly disclosed or suggested by the teachings of the cited references.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 26-31, and 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,211 in view of Hydralazine hydrochloride injection, USP Safety Data Sheet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Patented claims ae directed to a sterile, ready-to-use pharmaceutical composition comprising 10 mg/mL hydralazine/salt, water + propylene glycol as the co-solvent, wherein the weight ratio of the co-solvent and hydralazine/salt is “no more than about 7.5:1, and wherein the hydralazine and/or salt thereof has a change in concentration of no more than about 10% after 2 months of storage at 60° C” (claim 1), a pre-filled syringe comprising the same composition (claims 13, 18), and a method of treating hypertension comprising administering to a subject in need thereof the same composition (claim 17). Ratio of no more than about 6:1 is also claimed (claims 2, 15). Inclusion of a buffer (claims 4-5), chelating agent (claims 6-7), tonicity agent, e.g., salt (claims 8-9) is also claimed. See also claims 3, 10-12, 14, 16.
Hydralazine hydrochloride injection, USP Safety Data Sheet is cited to establish that injectable formulation of hydralazine hydrochloride for treating hypertension is known to contain, in addition to water, propylene glycol, and hydralazine hydrochloride, methyl paraben, sodium hydroxide, hydrochloric acid, and propyl paraben. See pages 1-3. Weight ratio of propylene glycol to hydralazine chloride is 5.2:1 (from 10.2/2). See pages 1-2.
Therefore, the ordinary skilled artisan would have recognized the instant invention as an obvious variation of the invention set forth in the patented claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,211.
For the foregoing reasons, all claims are rejected. No claim can be allowed at this time.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's SPE, Fereydoun Sajjadi, can be reached on (571)272-3311. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/JOHN PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699