DETAILED ACTION
Claims 109-142, of record 4/17/2025, are pending and subject to prosecution.
Priority
The instant application is a CON of 17/049018 (US patent no. 12110503, filed 10/19/2020), which is a national stage entry of PCT/US2019/028557 (filed 4/22/2019), which claims benefit of provisional application 62/660899 (Filed 4/20/2018).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 125 recites the limitation “a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”, which is not defined by the instant specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation is therefore considered to be any carrier that would not cause significant harm upon administration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 109-115 and 118 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claims 109-115 and 118: Claims 109-115 and 118 are directed to a composition comprising photoreceptor precursor cells, wherein various percentages of the cells express certain markers.
Step 1: Each claim is directed to a composition comprising photoreceptor precursor cells, which is a statutory category of matter (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, prong 1: Photoreceptor precursor cells are nature-based products. When a claimed composition includes a nature-based product, further analysis is taken to determine if the claimed composition recites a nature-based product judicial exception by comparing the claimed composition to the closest naturally occurring counterpart to determine if the claimed composition has markedly different characteristics than the counterpart.
The closest naturally occurring counterpart of photoreceptor precursor cells, wherein at least 50%, 70%, 80%, 85%, or 90% of the cells express recoverin; less than 15% or 10% of the PRPs express PAX6; at least 90% of the cells express TUBB3; and the cells express CRX, is considered to be naturally occurring photoreceptor precursor cells. Lakowski et al. teach identification of photoreceptor precursor cells on the basis of Crx and recoverin co-expression (See page 715, col. 1, ¶1 and fig. 2-4), indicating that the photoreceptor precursor cells would necessarily be recoverin-positive and CRX-positive. Belecky-Adams et al. teach that Pax6 is not detected in prospective photoreceptors (See Abstract and page 1297, col. 2, full ¶1-3). Wiley et al. teach that photoreceptor precursor cells show nearly complete staining with an anti-beta-tubulin III antibody (which reads on “at least 90% of the PRPs express TUBB3”) (See page 5, full ¶1 and fig. 3E-F). The claims therefore recite product of nature judicial exceptions (Step 2, prong 1: YES)
Step 2A, prong 2: Each claim is directed to a product and does not recite any structure that serves to integrate the compositions into a practical application (Step 2, prong 2: NO).
Step 2B: There are no additional elements required by the claims.
Claims 109-115 and 118 do not qualify as eligible subject matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 125-133, 135, and 139-140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lakowski et al. (Stem Cells, 2018), of record in IDS dated 11/1/2024, as evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al. (Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, 1997), Wiley et al. (Scientific Reports, 2016), and Katoh et al. (Journal of Neuroscience, 2010).
Regarding claims 109-114, 118, 121-122, 125-131, 135, and 139-140: Lakowski et al. teach the generation of photoreceptor precursor cells from human ESCs and iPSCs (which reads on “human photoreceptor precursor cells”) (See Abstract). The stem cells were grown as aggregates/embryoid bodies in media (which reads on “a composition” and “a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”) on a laminin-coated surface (which reads on “adhered onto an extracellular matrix) and differentiated into retinal cells (See page 710, col. 2, full ¶3). The differentiated cells were transplanted into the subretinal space of retinal degeneration (which reads on “retinal disease”) model mice (See page 719, col. 1, full ¶1). Photoreceptor precursor cells in the aggregates were identified on the basis of Crx and recoverin co-expression (See page 715, col. 1, ¶1 and fig. 2-4), indicating that the photoreceptor precursor cells would necessarily be recoverin-positive (which reads on “at least 50% of the PRPs express RCVRN”, “at least 70% of the PRPs express RCVRN”, “at least 80% of the PRPs express RCVRN”, “at least 85% of the PRPs express RCVRN”, and “at least 90% of the PRPs express RCVRN”) and CRX-positive (which reads on “the PRPs express… CRX”). Lakowski et al. teach that the cell aggregates express Pax6 but are silent on Pax6 expression specifically in photoreceptor precursor cells.
The teachings of Belecky-Adams et al. are cited as evidence showing that Pax6 is not detected in prospective photoreceptors (See Abstract and page 1297, col. 2, full ¶1-3). Thus, the cells of Lakowski et al. necessarily read on “less than 15% of the PRPs express PAX6” and “less than 10% of the PRPs express PAX6”.
Regarding claims 115 and 132: Following the discussion of claims 109-114, 118, 121-122, 125-131, 135, and 139-140, Lakowski et al. do not expressly teach TUBB3 expression specifically in photoreceptor precursor cells.
The teachings of Wiley et al. are cited as evidence showing the production of iPSC-derived photoreceptor precursor cells (See Abstract). Organoids comprising photoreceptor precursor cells show expression of recoverin, and nearly every cell appears to stain with the anti-beta-tubulin III antibody Tuj1 (which reads on “at least 90% of the PRPs express TUBB3”) (See page 5, full ¶1 and fig. 3E-F). Thus, the cells of Lakowski et al. necessarily comprise photoreceptor precursor cells that read on “at least 90% of the PRPs express TUBB3”.
Regarding claims 116 and 133: Following the discussion of claims 109-114, 118, 121-122, 125-131, 135, and 139-140, Lakowski et al. do not expressly teach CHX10 expression specifically in photoreceptor precursor cells.
The teachings of Katoh et al. are cited as evidence that photoreceptor precursors, as detected by rhodopsin expression, do not appear to express CHX10 (See fig. 3E). Thus, the cells of Lakowski et al. necessarily comprise photoreceptor precursor cells that read on “less than 15% of the PRPs express CHX10”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 124-133, 135, and 139-140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakowski et al. (Stem Cells, 2018), of record, as evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al. (Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, 1997), Wiley et al. (Scientific Reports, 2016), and Katoh et al. (Journal of Neuroscience, 2010).
The teachings of Lakowski et al., Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al. are set forth in the rejection above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Regarding claim 124: Following the discussion of claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 125-133, 135, and 139-140, Lakowski et al., evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al., teach a composition comprising photoreceptor precursor cells and its use in a mouse retinal degeneration model but do not expressly teach its use in treating specific retinal disorders.
However, Lakowski et al. teach that degenerative conditions affecting photoreceptors include age-related macular degeneration and retinitis pigmentosa (See page 709, col. 2, 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have found it obvious to apply the method of Lakowski et al. to the treatment of age-related macular degeneration and retinitis pigmentosa because they demonstrate that transplanted photoreceptors can engraft in and potentially rescue a mouse model of general retinal degradation (See page 720, col. 2, full 1).
Claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 124-133, 135, and 138-140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakowski et al. (Stem Cells, 2018), of record, as evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al. (Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, 1997), Wiley et al. (Scientific Reports, 2016), and Katoh et al. (Journal of Neuroscience, 2010), in view of Yanai et al. (Methods in Molecular Biology, 2015).
The teachings of Lakowski et al., Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al. are set forth in the rejection above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Regarding claim 138: Following the discussion of claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 125-133, 135, and 139-140, Lakowski et al., evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al., teach a composition comprising photoreceptor precursor cells and its use in a mouse retinal degeneration model but do not expressly teach adding a cryoprotectant to the cells.
Yanai et al. teach the generation of photoreceptor precursor cells originating from ESC-derived embryoid bodies (See Abstract and section 3.3.3). Yanai et al. teach that the cells can be frozen in photoreceptor precursor cell medium containing 10% DMSO (which reads on “a cryoprotectant”) for future use (See page 364, section 3.3.3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Lakowski et al., as evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al., to comprise a photoreceptor precursor medium comprising DMSO, such as is taught by Yanai et al. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to use the cells at future time points. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Yanai et al. teach that photoreceptor cells can be frozen in such a manner (See page 364, section 3.3.3).
Claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 124-133, 135, and 139-142 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakowski et al. (Stem Cells, 2018), of record, as evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al. (Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, 1997), Wiley et al. (Scientific Reports, 2016), and Katoh et al. (Journal of Neuroscience, 2010), in view of Mandai et al. (US 12285543 B2).
The teachings of Lakowski et al., Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al. are set forth in the rejection above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Regarding claims 141-142: Following the discussion of claims 109-116, 118, 121-122, 125-133, 135, and 139-140, Lakowski et al., evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al., teach a composition comprising photoreceptor precursor cells and its use in a mouse retinal degeneration model but do not expressly teach transplantation of the cells in the form of clusters rather than dissociated cells.
Mandai et al. teach retinal cell populations for transplantation (See Abstract). The cell population can comprise photoreceptor precursor cells (See col. 3, line 52-56 and 66-67 and col. 4, line 1-4). The cell population can be transplanted in the form of an aggregate (See col. 29, line 63-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lakowski et al., evidenced by Belecky-Adams et al., Wiley et al., and Katoh et al., to comprise administration of the photoreceptor precursor cells as aggregates. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Mandai et al. teach that cell populations comprising photoreceptor precursors can be transplanted in aggregate form (See col. 3, line 52-56 and 66-67; col. 4, line 1-4; and col. 29, line 63-64). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because such a modification could be readily performed.
Double Patenting
Claims 109-114, 116, 119, 121-122, 125-131, 133, 136, and 138 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 93-94, 100-103, 105, 108-110, 113, and 120-122 of co-pending Application No. 19235357 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Regarding claims 109-114, 116, 119, 121-122, 125-131, 133, 136, and 138: Co-pending claim 93 recites a composition comprising human photoreceptor precursor cells (PRPs), wherein the composition comprises: NR2E3+ cells and between at least 20% to 60% PPP4R4+ cells, and less than or equal to 0.5 copies of vimentin (VIM) per copy of Succinate Dehydrogenase Complex Flavoprotein Subunit A (SDHA), and wherein the PRPs are derived from induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs). Co-pending claim 94 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 93, wherein the human PRPs comprise: at least 90% AIPL1+ cells; at least 90% RCVRN+ cells; less than or equal to 7% PAX6+ cells; less than or equal to 7% CHX10+ cells; less than or equal to 0.5% (which reads on “essentially no expression”) TYRP1+ cells; and less than or equal to 0.5% (which reads on “essentially no expression”) Ki67+ cells.
Co-pending claim 100 recites a composition comprising PRPs, wherein the composition comprises cell aggregates, wherein the cell aggregates have a median diameter of about 30 µm to about 65 µm. Co-pending claim 101 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 100, wherein the PRPs are in a single cell form, an aggregate cell form, or both. Co-pending claim 102 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 101, wherein the PRPs comprise: NR2E3+ cells and between at least 20% to 60% PPP4R4+ cells, and less than or equal to about 0.5 copies of VIM per copy of SDHA. Co-pending claim 103 recites composition according to co-pending claim 102, wherein the PRPs further comprise: at least about 90% AIPL1+ cells; at least about 90% RCVRN+ cells; less than or equal to about 7% PAX6+ cells; less than or equal to about 7% CHX10+ cells; less than or equal to about 0.5% (which reads on “essentially no expression”) TYRP1+ cells; and less than or equal to about 0.5% (which reads on “essentially no expression”) Ki67+ cells.
Co-pending claim 108 recites a composition comprising human PRPs and balanced salt solution buffer supplemented with 0.2% human serum albumin (HSA) (which reads on “a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”). Co-pending claim 109 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 108, wherein the balanced salt solution buffer comprises about 0.10 to 1.50 mg/ml of magnesium chloride, about 0.10 mg/ml to about 1.5 mg/ml of calcium chloride, about 0.10 mg/ml to about 1.5 mg/ml of potassium chloride, about 0.10 mg/mL to about 3.0 mg/ml of sodium citrate, about 0.10 mg/mL to about 6.0 mg/ml of sodium acetate, and about 0. 10 mg/mL to about 10.0 mg/mL of sodium chloride. Co-pending claim 110 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 109, wherein the balanced salt solution buffer comprises 0.3 mg/ml of magnesium chloride, 0.48 mg/ml of calcium chloride, 0.75 mg/ml of potassium chloride, 1.7 mg/ml of sodium citrate, 3.9 mg/ml of sodium acetate, and 6.4 mg/ml of sodium chloride. Co-pending claim 113 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 110, wherein the human PRPs comprise NR2E3+ cells and between at least 20% to 60% PPP4R4+ cells, and less than or equal to about 0.5 copies of VIM per copy of SDHA. Co-pending claim 113 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 113, wherein the human PRPs further comprise: at least about 90% AIPL1+ cells; at least about 90% RCVRN+ cells; less than or equal to about 7% PAX6+ cells; less than or equal to about 7% CHX10+ cells; less than or equal to about 0.5% TYRP1+ cells; and less than or equal to about 0.5% Ki67+ cells.
Co-pending claim 120 recites a composition comprising human PRPs and a cryopreservant solution. Co-pending claim 121 recites the composition of co-pending claim 120, wherein the cryopreservant solution comprises adenosine, dextran-40, lactobionic acid, HEPES, sodium hydroxide, potassium chloride, potassium bicarbonate, potassium phosphate, dextrose, sucrose, mannitol, calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, potassium hydroxide, L-glutathione, DMSO, and water. Co-pending claim 122 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 121, wherein the human PRPs comprise NR2E3+ cells and between at least 20% to 60% PPP4R4+ cells, and less than or equal to about 0.5 copies of VIM per copy of SDHA, wherein the human PRPs further comprise: at least about 90% AIPL1+ cells; at least about 90% RCVRN+ cells; less than or equal to about 7% PAX6+ cells; less than or equal to about 7% CHX10+ cells; less than or equal to about 0.5% TYRP1+ cells; and less than or equal to about 0.5% Ki67+ cells, and wherein the composition has a percentage viability of at least about 50%.
Co-pending claims 94, 103, 113, and 122 are directed to species of the generic instant claims. Because a species will anticipate a claim to a genus, the co-pending claims anticipate the instant claims.
Regarding claim 139: Following the discussion of claims 109-114, 116, 119, 121-122, 125-131, 133, 136, and 138, co-pending claim 105 recites the composition according to co-pending claim 104, wherein the PRPs are derived from human pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) or human induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs). The co-pending claim anticipates the instant claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 117, 120, 134, and 137 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art appears to indicate that ONECUT1 is normally expressed in photoreceptor precursor cells (See Muranishi et al. fig. 4B).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER S SPENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 1633