DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed September 04, 2024. Claims 1-20, are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/04/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) ,1, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (hereinafter Chen) (US 10,187,784 IDS cited) in view of YU et al (hereinafter YU) (US 2021/0011737, IDS cited).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
engage in an embedded subscriber identity module eSIM profile transfer process ( ... moving a profile from the eUICC of first UE 110 to the eUICC of second UE 120 ... " (column 2, lines 3 to 6) to receive at a target device ( ... second UE 120 ... ) (column 2, line 5), executing a first operating system OS that implements a first protocol stack related to eSIM profile transfers, an eSIM profile from a source device ( ... first UE 110 ... ) (column 2, line 4) executing a second OS that implements a second protocol stack related to eSIM profile transfers to the target device, wherein the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack are different;
process, based on signals received from the source device, a token for transferring the eSIM profile ( ... eUICC controller 105 may receive (at 1) a request to move the profile stored on the eUICC of first UE 110 to the eUICC of second UE 120 ... the profile transfer request may be initiated by first UE 110 ... ) (column 2, lines 17-20, noting that the request may generally be a token);
generate, for transmission to an enablement server, a request for the eSIM profile, wherein the request comprises the token ( ... eUICC controller 105 may obtain (at 2') the base profile from a subscription management device of network 130. For instance, the base profile may be stored in a Subscription Manager-Data Preparation ("SM-DP") server of network 130 ... ) (column 2, lines 50-54); and
process, based on signals received from the enablement server, the eSIM profile (Once eUICC controller 105 has received and/or reconstructed the profile associated with first UE 110, eUICC controller 105 may issue (at 3) a profile disable and/or delete command to first UE 110 ... ) (column 3, lines 1-4). Chen does not expressly show that the target device executes a first operating system OS that implements a first protocol stack related to eSIM profile transfers and the source device executes a second operating system OS that implements a second protocol stack related to eSIM profile transfers, wherein the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack are different.
In consulting the prior art in the field of wireless communications and related eSIM profile transfer techniques, the skilled person, wishing to find a solution to the above mentioned objective technical problem, would come across document
YU in a similar field of endeavor discloses the principle of an embedded subscriber identity module eSIM profile transfer (para. 0110-0139, figs. 2 and 3) and ( ... profile transmission ... ) ( para. 0110) wherein different operating systems implementing different protocol stacks are provided (When the terminal runs the first OS, the terminal obtains a second OS identifier that matches a second profile, where a first profile is installed on the first OS ... ) (para. 0112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of YU with Chen for the benefit of enable interoperability between different eSIM implementations. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide optimum profile transmission that matches a second profile where a first profile is installed on the first OS and arrive at inventive activity.
With reference to claim 19, YU further discloses performing, by the first protocol stack, an authentication operation with the source device ( ... LPA sends an authentication server message to the eUICC, where the authentication server message includes the second OS identifier and the matching identifier ... ) (para. 0130), and sending a token context of the token from the first protocol stack to the second protocol stack ( ... the activation code token is used to index the profile, so that the terminal obtains the associated profile by using the activation code token ... ) (para. 0130), noting that the context of the token is obviously shared by the first and second OSs.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
perform an authentication operation with a source device (First UE 110 may perform (at 320) an authentication procedure with network portal 305 ... ) (column 4, lines 58-59) executing a first operating system OS implementing a first protocol stack related to embedded subscriber identity module eSIM profile transfers, wherein the source device is performing an eSIM profile transfer process to transfer an eSIM profile to a target device ( ... UE-initiated profile transfer. In this example, a profile is transferred from the eUICC of first UE 110 to the eUICC of second UE 120 ... ) (column 4, lines 46-48) executing a second OS implementing a second protocol stack that is different from the first protocol stack;
generate, for transmission to the source device, an authentication token based on successful performance of the authentication operation (Upon successful authentication, network portal 305 may provide (at 325) account information to first UE 110 ... ) (in lines 65 to 66 of column 4, lines 65-66, noting that the account information corresponds to the general authentication token);
generate a server nonce associated with an entitlement server; and
process, based on signaling received from the source device, a request for a token to be used in the eSIM profile transfer process (First UE 110 may issue (at 330) the profile transfer request to eUICC controller 105 ... ) (column 5, lines 60-61 and ( ... profile transfer request initiated by first UE 110 may be considered a "push" profile transfer request because first UE 110 is requesting that an existing profile on the eUICC of first UE 110 be pushed to the eUICC of second UE 120 ... ) in line 66 of (column 5, line66 to column 6, line 2), the request comprising the authorization token and a signed blob that includes the server nonce.
Chen does not expressly show that the source device executes a first operating system OS that implements a first protocol stack related to eSIM profile transfers, the target device executes a second operating system OS that implements a second protocol stack related to eSIM profile transfers, the apparatus generates a server nonce associated with an entitlement server, and the request comprises the authorization token and a signed blob that includes the server nonce, interoperability between different eSIM implementations is enabled in a secure manner. YU discloses the principle of an embedded subscriber identity module eSIM profile transfer ( ... profile transmission ... ) (para. 0110) wherein different operating systems implementing different protocol stacks are provided (When the terminal runs the first OS, the terminal obtains a second OS identifier that matches a second profile, where a first profile is installed on the first OS ... ) (para. 0112), a server nonce associated with an entitlement server is generated (... LPA sends an initiate authentication message to the SM-DP+ server, where the message includes the eUICC information, the eUICC challenge, and the address information of the SM-DP+ server, para.0132, which implies that a server nonce is generated based on the eUICC challenge), and the request comprises the authorization token and a signed blob that includes the server nonce ( ... the activation code token is used to index the profile, so that the terminal obtains the associated profile by using the activation code token ... ) (para. 0130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of YU with Chen for the benefit of enable interoperability between different eSIM implementations. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide optimum profile transmission that matches a second profile where a first profile is installed on the first OS in a secure manner and arrive at inventive activity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-18, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.