DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 14, 17, and 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inose et al. (US 2022/0010894).
Re Clm 1: Inose et al. disclose (fig 1) a threaded connection comprising: a central longitudinal axis (clearly as shown by centerline “CL”; a first tubular member (20) comprising a convex circular sealing surface (23) with a first seal radius (see curvature), the convex circular sealing surface being circular in longitudinal section (circular sealing surfaces are circular in the axial/longitudinal direction of the pipes); and a second tubular member (10) comprising a first concave circular sealing surface (13) with a second seal radius (see curvature), the first concave circular sealing surface being circular in longitudinal direction (circular sealing surfaces are circular in the axial/longitudinal direction of the pipes). Also see paragraph 0054, “curve”, “arc”.
Re Clm 2: Inose et al. disclose wherein the first seal radius is different from the second seal radius (see separation of the surfaces at the sides).
Re Clm 3: Inose et al. disclose wherein the second seal radius is larger than the first seal radius (see fig 1).
Re Clms 11 and 17: Inose et al. disclose wherein the second tubular member further comprises a substantially planar surface (16) that is axially separate from the first concave circular sealing surface and angled with reference to a central longitudinal axis (CL) of the connection.
Re Clm 14: Inose et al. disclose wherein the second tubular member further comprises a second concave circular surface (15b) with a third radius (curvature disclosed in paragraph 0059).
Re Clm 20: Inose et al. disclose wherein the second tubular member further comprises a transition region axially located between the substantially planar surface and the first concave circular sealing surface (fig 1).
Re Clm 21: Inose et al. disclose wherein the transition region comprises a substantially convex surface (left side of convex sealing surface, see fig below).
Re Clm 22: Inose et al. disclose wherein the first tubular member comprises a pin member and the second tubular member comprises a box member (Examiner notes that paragraph 0060 discloses that the concave/convex sealing surfaces could be swapped on the pin/box member).
Re Clm 23: Inose et al. disclose wherein the box member further comprises a transition region axially located between the substantially planar surface and the first concave circular sealing surface (fig 1).
Re Clm 24: Inose et al. disclose wherein the transition region comprises a substantially convex surface (left side of convex sealing surface, see fig above).
Re Clm 25: Inose et al. disclose wherein the substantially convex surface comprises a radially innermost point (innermost point of convex surface 23) at a first radial distance from the central longitudinal axis.
Re Clm 26: Inose et al. disclose wherein the first radial distance is less than the radial distance from the central longitudinal axis to any point within the first concave circular sealing surface (see fig 1, flipped concave and convex portions of pin/box as described in paragraph 0060 would result in a convex pin innermost point distance from CL is less than a point within the first concave surface).
Re Clm 27: Inose et al. disclose wherein the first tubular member comprises a box member and the second tubular member comprises a pin member (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inose et al. (US 2022/0010894), as applied to claims 1-3, 11, 14, 17, and 20-27 above and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Re Clms 13 and 19: Inose et al. fail to disclose wherein the first tubular member and second tubular member further comprise wedge threads. AAPA discloses that wedge threads are common knowledge in the art. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the connection threads of the prior art of Inose et al. to be commonly known and used wedge threads for the purpose of creating the largest possible contact surface area at make-up to provide superior compression and several times the torque strength of most competing technologies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12, 15-16, and 18 remain objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 regarding the sealing surfaces have already been addressed by the Examiner in previous Office Actions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678