Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guidry et al, US 20200273974 A1.
Pertaining to claim 1, Guidry teaches ( see fig.3 above using BRI along the cross section of the diagonal line drawn above or when the figure is turned at an angle) A semiconductor structure for use in a III-Nitride (III-N) semiconductor device( see abstract) , comprising: a channel layer[14]; a barrier layer[15], wherein electrons are formed at an interface between the channel layer[14] and the barrier layer[15]; a source electrode[21] and a drain electrode[22] disposed in ohmic contact regions to form an electrical connection to electrons at the interface between the channel layer and the barrier layer ( see para 0038); a gate electrode[23] disposed between the source electrode [21] and the drain electrode[22] in a gate region; a bottom cap layer[16a] ( see para 0048) disposed on the barrier layer[15]; an etch stop layer[17] ( see para 0048) disposed on the bottom cap layer[16a]; and a top cap layer[16b] disposed beneath the gate electrode[23] and on the etch stop layer[17].
Pertaining to claim 2, Guidry teaches ( see fig.3 above using BRI along the cross section of the diagonal line drawn above or when the figure is turned at an angle)The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the bottom cap layer [16a] extends from the drain electrode[22] to the source electrode[21.
Pertaining to claim 6, Guidry teaches ( see fig.3 above using BRI along the cross section of the diagonal line drawn above or when the figure is turned at an angle)The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the etch stop layer[17] extends from the drain electrode [22] to the source electrode[21].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim12-18 is allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of record of Guidry et al, US 20200273974 A1 teaches the limitation of " A method of fabricating a III-Nitride (III-N) semiconductor device, comprising: depositing on a substrate, a buffer layer, a channel layer, a barrier layer, a bottom cap layer, an etch stop layer and a top cap layer, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 12 including “ wherein the etch stop layer has a higher aluminum composition than the bottom cap layer and the top cap layer; using a mask to remove a portion of the top cap layer, using an etch process that is highly selective to the top cap layer over the etch stop layer; removing the mask; depositing a dielectric layer over an entirety of the substrate; depositing a source electrode and a drain electrode in ohmic contact regions to form an electrical connection to electrons at an interface between the channel layer and the barrier layer; removing a portion of the dielectric layer in a gate region; and depositing a gate electrode on top of the top cap layer in the gate region.”
Because no reference alone, nor is there any motivation to combine the details over the prior art to create such limitations in the independent claim, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art.Claims 13-18 are also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed base claim(s).
Claims 3-5,7-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record of Guidry et al, US 20200273974 A1 teaches the limitation of claim1, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 3 including “wherein the top cap layer is disposed only in the gate region” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not also teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 4 including “, wherein the top cap layer comprises Mg-doped p-type GaN or InGaN or a III-Nitride semiconductor that has a lower Al composition than the etch stop layer” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not again teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 5 including “wherein the etch stop layer is disposed only in the gate region” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 7 including “wherein the etch stop layer comprises a higher aluminum composition than the bottom cap layer” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not again teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 9 including “wherein the bottom cap layer comprises a lower aluminum composition than the barrier layer” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not finally teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 11 including “ further comprising a gate dielectric layer disposed between the gate electrode and the top cap layer” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
/MAMADOU L DIALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897