DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 27 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daniels et al. (US 2013/0226184; hereinafter “Daniels”).
Regarding claim 1, Daniels discloses a flexible instrument comprising: a first end and second end portion opposite the first end portion (e.g. Fig. 1, first and second end being opposite ends of the device); and a shaft extending from the first end portion to the second portion along a central longitudinal axis (e.g. Fig. 1, #6), the shaft including: a first and second helical segment extending from the first end portion to the second end portion along a first and second helical path about the central longitudinal axis (e.g. 1, #10/12; Fig. 5, etc.), wherein the first helical segment includes a first plurality of contact surfaces and the second helical segment includes a second plurality of contact surfaces such that when a torque is applied to the shaft, the first plurality of contact surfaces or the second plurality of contact surfaces bears against the other of the first plurality of contact surfaces or the second plurality of contact surfaces (e.g. ¶¶ 94, 154-160, ).
Regarding claim 2, Daniels discloses the first helical segment includes a protrusion extending from the first helical segment (e.g. Fig. 4C, 56C).
Regarding claim 3, Daniels discloses the second helical segment defines a recess on a face of the second helical segment configured to receive the protrusion of the first helical segment (e.g. Fig. 4C, 46E).
Regarding claim 4, Daniels discloses the first plurality of contact surfaces further comprises a plurality of protrusions extending from the first helical segment, wherein the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart from each other along a length of the first helical segment (e.g. Fig. 4C – where the protrusions are spaced apart as shown, extending through the length).
Regarding claim 5, Daniels discloses the plurality of protrusions extends from the first helical segment in parallel directions (e.g. Fig. 4G; 5).
Regarding claim 6, Daniels discloses the second plurality of contact surfaces further comprise a plurality of recesses on a face of the second helical segment, the plurality of recesses spaced apart from each other along a length of the second helical segment (e.g. ¶¶ 126-128).
Regarding claim 8, Daniels discloses the shaft is perforated defining gaps between the first helical segment and the second helical segment (e.g. Fig. 5 & 5C; #86/70).
Regarding claim 9, Daniels discloses the first end portion, the shaft, and the second end portion are monolithic (e.g. ¶¶ 13, 1647, etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796