DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 15, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12125190. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of instant application are anticipated by claims of ‘190 patent as shown in below.
claim 1 <= ‘190: 1, 18, 20
claim 2 <= ‘190: 1, 18, 20
claim 3 <= ‘190: 1, 18, 20
claim 4 <= ‘190: 17, 19
claim 5 <= ‘190: 17, 19
claim 6 <= ‘190: 17, 19
claim 7 <= ‘190: 2
claim 8 <= ‘190: 3
claim 9 <= ‘190: 7
claim 10 <= ‘190: 1, 18, 20
claim 12 <= ‘190: 18, 20
claim 13 <= ‘190: 18, 20
claim 14 <= ‘190: 18, 20
claim 15 <= ‘190: 19
claim 16 <= ‘190: 19
claim 17 <= ‘190: 19
claim 18 <= ‘190: 3
claim 19 <= ‘190: 18, 20
claim 20 <= ‘190: 1, 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (EP 4266244 A1).
-Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a computing system (FIG. 7) comprising: one or more processors (processor 701, FIG. 7); and memory storing program instructions (memory 702, FIG. 7) that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: obtaining an image of at least a section of a manufactured part (obtain a to-be-detected image 201, FIG. 2, [0036]); comparing, based on executing a neural network on the image, the manufactured part to a representation of a known defective manufactured part (detecting module 602, [0093]); determining, based on the comparing, that the manufactured part was not fabricated according to a specification for the manufactured part (surface defect, [0044]); and in response to determining that the manufactured part was not fabricated according to the specification, generating an electronic alert indicating that the manufactured part was improperly fabricated (outputs a detection result, [0057]).
-Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a computer-implemented method (FIG. 7) comprising: obtaining an image of at least a section of a manufactured part; comparing, based on executing a neural network on the image, the manufactured part to a representation of a known defective manufactured part (obtain a to-be-detected image 201, FIG. 2, [0036]); determining, based on the comparing, that the manufactured part was not fabricated according to a specification for the manufactured part (detecting module 602, [0093]; surface defect, [0044]); and in response to determining that the manufactured part was not fabricated according to the specification, generating an electronic alert indicating that the manufactured part was improperly fabricated (outputs a detection result, [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 9, 13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (EP 4266244 A1) in view of Gong (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0201460).
-Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses a predetermined threshold distance test (distance similarity calculation, [0046]). Zhang is silent to teaching that comparing the manufactured part to the representation of the known defective manufactured part comprises: generating, by the neural network, a first fabrication signature vector embedding of the manufactured part; and determining that the first fabrication signature vector embedding is similar to a second fabrication signature vector embedding of the known defective manufactured part. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Gong.
In the same field of endeavor, Gong teaches comparing the manufactured part to the representation of the known defective manufactured part comprises: generating, by the neural network, a first fabrication signature vector embedding of the manufactured part (feature vector, [0020]); and determining that the first fabrication signature vector embedding is similar to a second fabrication signature vector embedding of the known defective manufactured part (the classification result from the classification CNN 228 may include multiple probability values, each corresponding to one of multiple types of defects in a wafer image, [0022], [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Gong in order to improve the semiconductor fabrication systems, equipment or processes.
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses the neural network comprises an encoder that produces, based on pixels or voxels in the image, a fabrication signature vector embedding that numerically represents physical features of the manufactured part (Gong, encoder 400, [0027], [0028]).
-Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses the image comprises one or more of: a visible-spectrum photograph of the manufactured part, a two-dimensional scan of the manufactured part, a three-dimensional scan of the manufactured part, an X-ray scan of the manufactured part, or a spectroscopic scan of the manufactured part (Gong, wafer image, abstract).
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses comparing the manufactured part to the representation of the known defective manufactured part comprises: generating, by the neural network, a first fabrication signature vector embedding of the manufactured part (Gong, feature vector, [0020]); and determining that the first fabrication signature vector embedding is within a predetermined threshold distance of a second fabrication signature vector embedding of the known defective manufactured part (Gong, the classification result from the classification CNN 228 may include multiple probability values, each corresponding to one of multiple types of defects in a wafer image, [0022], [0029]; Zhang, distance similarity calculation, [0046]).
-Regarding claim 18, the combination further discloses the neural network comprises an encoder that produces, based on pixels or voxels in the image, a fabrication signature vector embedding that numerically represents physical features of the manufactured part (Gong, encoder 400, [0027], [0028]).
-Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses a computer-implemented method (FIG. 7) comprising: obtaining an image of at least a section of a manufactured part and a second image of at least a second section of a second manufactured part (obtain a to-be-detected image 201, FIG. 2, [0036]); within predetermined threshold distance (distance similarity calculation, [0046]); and in response to determining that the manufactured part was not fabricated according to the specification, generating an electronic alert indicating that the manufactured part was improperly fabricated (outputs a detection result, [0057]).
Zhang is silent to teaching that generating, by a neural network, a fabrication signature vector embedding of the manufactured part and a second fabrication signature vector embedding of the second manufactured part; determining that the fabrication signature vector embedding is not within a predetermined threshold distance of the second fabrication signature vector embedding; in response to determining that the fabrication signature vector embedding is similar to the second fabrication signature vector embedding. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Gong.
In the same field of endeavor, Gong teaches generating, by a neural network, a fabrication signature vector embedding of the manufactured part and a second fabrication signature vector embedding of the second manufactured part (feature vector, [0020]); determining that the fabrication signature vector embedding is similar to the second fabrication signature vector embedding (the classification result from the classification CNN 228 may include multiple probability values, each corresponding to one of multiple types of defects in a wafer image, [0022], [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Gong in order to improve the semiconductor fabrication systems, equipment or processes.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10, 11, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (EP 4266244 A1) in view of Gong (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0201460) and further in view of Moioli (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2020/0134809).
-Regarding claim 3, the combination is silent to teaching that the electronic alert also indicates that the manufactured part was fabricated by a same manufacturing machine as the known defective manufactured part. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Moioli.
In the same field of endeavor, Moioli teaches the electronic alert also indicates that the manufactured part was fabricated by a same manufacturing machine as the known defective manufactured part (tags identify a root cause associated with WDM of the training set (e.g., a particular problem with a particular machine), and may include other information as well, such as identifiers of the machines used to process the wafer, [0035], [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Moioli in order to provide a machine/root-cause identification onto the combination’s defect detector which applies a known technique to improve a similar device, yielding the predictable result of an alert that also names the responsible machine.
-Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses the manufactured part was fabricated within a manufacturing facility, and wherein the electronic alert further indicates that the manufactured part was improperly fabricated by the manufacturing facility (Moioli, detect involved equipment, [0026]).
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses inferring, based on the executing of the neural network on the image, a manufacturing machine that fabricated the manufactured part (Moioli, detect involved equipment, [0026]).
-Regarding claim 11, the combination further discloses inferring the manufacturing machine comprises identifying a fabrication fingerprint on the manufactured part that indicates the manufacturing machine (Moioli, fingerprints, [0026]).
-Regarding claim 14, the combination further discloses the electronic alert also indicates that the manufactured part was fabricated by a same manufacturing machine as the known defective manufactured part (Moioli, tags identify a root cause associated with WDM of the training set (e.g., a particular problem with a particular machine), and may include other information as well, such as identifiers of the machines used to process the wafer, [0035], [0037]).
-Regarding claim 19, the combination further discloses inferring, based on the executing of the neural network on the image, a manufacturing machine that fabricated the manufactured part (Moioli, detect involved equipment, [0026]).
Claim(s) 4, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (EP 4266244 A1) in view of Gong (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0201460) and further in view of Nieulescu-Mizil (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2018/0374207).
-Regarding claim 4, the combination is silent to teaching that the electronic alert also indicates that the manufactured part should be decommissioned. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Nieulescu-Mizil.
In the same field of endeavor, Nieulescu-Mizil teaches the electronic alert also indicates that the manufactured part should be decommissioned (discarding the defecting product, automatically listing the product as defective and requiring refurbishment, alerting an operator to the defect, or any other corrective action, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Nieulescu-Mizil in order to prevent customer dissatisfaction and ensure a consistent product quality.
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the electronic alert also indicates that the manufactured part should be decommissioned (Nieulescu-Mizil, discarding the defecting product, automatically listing the product as defective and requiring refurbishment, alerting an operator to the defect, or any other corrective action, [0029]).
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664