DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101 ) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4 of US Patent Num 12123601.
This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application
US Patent Num 12123601
Claim 17
A method, comprising:
determining at least one of a current or an expected demand for domestic hot water;
determining at least one of a current or an expected demand for space heating;
transferring heat from a domestic hot water preheater to a cold return of a space heating system based on the current or the expected demand for domestic hot water and the current or the expected demand for space heating.
Claim 1
A method, comprising:
determining at least one of a current or an expected demand for domestic hot water;
determining at least one of a current or an expected demand for space heating;
transferring heat from a domestic hot water preheater to a cold return of a space heating system based on the current or the expected demand for domestic hot water and the current or the expected demand for space heating.
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101 ) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The terms "a low threshold price" and "a high threshold price" in claim 11 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms "low" and “high” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The terms low and high should be defined relative to a definite value, which does not appear to be disclosed in the instant application.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the threshold price is a low threshold price” in line 1. It is unclear what the low threshold price is directed towards, as the claim appears to be directed towards a high threshold price. The meaning of the term is not clear from the claims or specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz).
Claim 1
Lutz discloses an apparatus comprising: a boiler having an inlet and an outlet, the boiler configured to supply heated fluid to a space heating circuit via the outlet (Lutz, Para [0017], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (1, 2) - - A condensing boiler 1 with an inlet and outlet, with the outlet connected to one or more heating elements 2 in the form of panel radiators/”space heating circuit”.); and a water heater configured to supply domestic hot water, cold fluid from the space heating circuit configured to be preheated by the water heater before entering the inlet of the boiler. (Lutz, Para [0017], [0020], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (1, 2, 4-5, 4a, 8-12) - - A water heater (1, 4-5, 4a, 8-12) supplying domestic hot water, with cold water from the heating elements 2/”space heating circuit” being preheated by mixing with the latent heat storage 4 and the output of a heat exchanger 11/”preheated by the water heater” in hot water tank 9 before entering the boiler inlet.)
Claim 2
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lutz further discloses a tank configured to contain domestic hot water (Lutz, Para [0020], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (9) - - A tank 9 containing domestic hot water.); and a heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from the domestic hot water to the cold fluid from the space heating circuit. (Lutz, Para [0020], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (2, 4, 4a, 9) - - A heat exchanger 4a and latent heat storage 4 transfers heat from the domestic hot water to the cold fluid from the heating elements 2/”space heating circuit”.)
Claim 8
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lutz further discloses a closed water heater loop including a first heat exchanger immersed in a tank of the water heater and a second heat exchanger disposed outside the tank of the water heater, the second heat exchanger configured to transfer heat to the cold fluid from the space heating circuit. (Lutz, Para [0017], [0020], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (1, 2, 4-5, 4a, 8-12) - - A closed water heater loop (1, 4, 4a, 5, 10-12) with a first heat exchanger 11 immersed in a water heater tank 9 and a second heat exchanger 4a disposed outside of the water heater tank 9 that transfers heat to the cold water/fluid from the heating elements 2/”space heating circuit”.)
Claim 9
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lutz further discloses a phase change thermal battery, the second heat exchanger disposed within the phase change thermal battery. (Lutz, Para [0018], Fig. 3 refs (4, 4a) - - A phase change latent heat storage device 4/”thermal battery” with the second heat exchanger 4a disposed within.)
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, and in view of Kreutzman US Patent Pub US 20130266295 A1 (hereinafter Kreutzman).
Claim 3
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Lutz fails to specify the water heater is configured to heat water using an electric heater and a fossil fuel source.
However, Kreutzman teaches the water heater is configured to heat water using an electric heater and a fossil fuel source. (Kreutzman, Para [0049] - - The water heater heats water using an electric heating element in conjunction with a natural gas burner/”fossil fuel source”.)
Lutz and Kreutzman are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kreutzman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the water heater by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Kreutzman (Para [0049]).
Claim 4
The combination of Lutz and Kreutzman teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kreutzman further teaches an electric immersion heater and a fossil fuel burner. (Kreutzman, Para [0049] - - The water heater heats water using an electric heating immersion element in conjunction with a natural gas/”fossil fuel” burner.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Kreutzman, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kreutzman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the water heater by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Kreutzman (Para [0049]).
Claim 13
Lutz teaches an apparatus comprising: a tank configured to contain domestic hot water (Lutz, Para [0020], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (9) - - A tank 9 containing domestic hot water.); an inlet configured to receive domestic hot water makeup; and an outlet configured to supply the domestic hot water; a first heat source configured to heat the domestic hot water (Lutz, Para [0017], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (1, 2) - - A condensing boiler 1 with a heat source/”first heat source” with an inlet receiving the makeup water and an outlet supplying domestic hot water, with the outlet connected to one or more heating elements 2 in the form of panel radiators/”space heating circuit”.); a heat exchanger disposed in the tank, the heat exchanger configured transfer heat from the domestic hot water to cold fluid from a space heating return. (Lutz, Para [0017], [0020], [0024], Fig. 3 refs (1, 2, 4-5, 4a, 8-12) - - A water heater (1, 4-5, 4a, 8-12) supplying domestic hot water, with cold water from the heating elements 2/”space heating circuit” being preheated by mixing with the latent heat storage 4 and the output of a heat exchanger 11/”preheated by the water heater” in hot water tank 9.)
But Lutz fails to specify a second heat source configured to heat the domestic hot water.
However, Kreutzman teaches a second heat source configured to heat the domestic hot water. (Kreutzman, Para [0049] - - The water heater heats water using an electric heating immersion element in conjunction with a natural gas/”fossil fuel” burner.)
Lutz and Kreutzman are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kreutzman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the water heater by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Kreutzman (Para [0049]).
Claim(s) 5 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz) as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, and in view of Kreutzman US Patent Pub US 20130266295 A1 (hereinafter Kreutzman) as applied to Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 above, and in view of Ben-Yaacov et al, US Patent Pub US 20110218683 A1 (hereinafter Ben-Yaacov).
Claim 5
The combination of Lutz and Kreutzman teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Lutz and Kreutzman fails to specify a processor configured to: obtain a real-time electricity price, and selectively actuate one of the electric heater or the fossil fuel source based, at least in part, on the real-time electricity price.
However, Ben-Yaacov teaches a processor configured to: obtain a real-time electricity price (Ben-Yaacov, Para [0109] - - A processor obtains the cost/price of electricity according to the time of day/”real time”.), and
selectively actuate one of the electric heater or the fossil fuel source based, at least in part, on the real-time electricity price. (Ben-Yaacov, Para [0004-5], [0109], [0140-142], Fig. 3 - - The processor selects an electric or fossil fuel source based on the lower fuel cost/price according to the time of day/”real time”)
Lutz, Kreutzman, and Ben-Yaacov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Kreutzman, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ben-Yaacov.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the cost of heating water by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Ben-Yaacov (Para [0004]).
Claim 15
The combination of Lutz and Kreutzman teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Lutz and Kreutzman fails to specify a processor configured to selectively operate the first heat source and the second heat source based on a real-time cost of the first heat source and the second heat source.
However, Ben-Yaacov teaches a processor configured to selectively operate the first heat source and the second heat source based on a real-time cost of the first heat source and the second heat source. (Ben-Yaacov, Para [0004-5], [0109], [0140-142], Fig. 3 - - The processor selects an electric/”second heat source” or fossil fuel/”first heat source” source based on the lower fuel cost/price according to the time of day/”real time”)
Lutz, Kreutzman, and Ben-Yaacov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Kreutzman, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ben-Yaacov.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the cost of heating water by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Ben-Yaacov (Para [0004]).
Claim 16
The combination of Lutz and Kreutzman teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Lutz and Kreutzman fails to specify a processor configured to operate at least one of the first heat source and the second heat source to heat the domestic hot water beyond a current demand based on a real-time cost of the first heat source or the second heat source being below a threshold.
However, Ben-Yaacov teaches a processor configured to operate at least one of the first heat source and the second heat source to heat the domestic hot water beyond a current demand based on a real-time cost of the first heat source or the second heat source being below a threshold. (Ben-Yaacov, Para [0004-5], [0088], [0109], [0140-157], Fig. 3 - - A processor selects/operates an electric/”second heat source” or fossil fuel/”first heat” source based on the lower fuel cost/price according to the time of day/”real time” and an estimation/”beyond a current demand” of expected hot water demand.)
Lutz, Kreutzman, and Ben-Yaacov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Kreutzman, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ben-Yaacov.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the cost of heating water by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Ben-Yaacov (Para [0004]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz) as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, and in view of Kreutzman US Patent Pub US 20130266295 A1 (hereinafter Kreutzman) as applied to Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 above, and in view of Swindle, US Patent Num US 4467178 A (hereinafter Swindle).
Claim 14
The combination of Lutz and Kreutzman teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Lutz and Kreutzman fails to specify the first heat source is configured to completely meet a predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water; and the second heat source is configured to completely meet the predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water.
However, Swindle teaches the first heat source is configured to completely meet a predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water (Swindle, Abstract, Col 2 line 65 - col 3 line 5 - - A gas fired/”fossil fuel source” water heater that meets an anticipated/”predetermined peak” hot water demand.); and
the second heat source is configured to completely meet the predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water. (Swindle, Abstract, Col 2 line 65 - Col 3 line 5, Fig. 1 refs (12, 16) - - An electric immersion heater in a water heater tank that meets an anticipated/”predetermined peak” hot water demand.)
Lutz, Kreutzman, and Swindle are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Kreutzman, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Swindle.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide the amount of hot water demanded by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Swindle (Abstract).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz) as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, and in view of Swindle, US Patent Num US 4467178 A (hereinafter Swindle).
Claim 6
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Lutz fails to specify an electric immersion heater configured to completely meet a predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water; and a fossil fuel source configured to completely meet the predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water.
However, Swindle teaches an electric immersion heater configured to completely meet a predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water (Swindle, Abstract, Col 2 line 65 - Col 3 line 5, Fig. 1 refs (12, 16) - - An electric immersion heater in a water heater tank that meets an anticipated/”predetermined peak” hot water demand.); and a fossil fuel source configured to completely meet the predetermined peak demand for domestic hot water. (Swindle, Abstract, Col 2 line 65 - col 3 line 5 - - A gas fired/”fossil fuel source” water heater that meets an anticipated/”predetermined peak” hot water demand.)
Lutz and Swindle are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Swindle.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide the amount of hot water demanded by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Swindle (Abstract).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz) as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, in view of Swindle, US Patent Num US 4467178 A (hereinafter Swindle) as applied to claim 6 above, and in view of Ben-Yaacov et al, US Patent Pub US 20110218683 A1 (hereinafter Ben-Yaacov).
Claim 7
The combination of Lutz and Swindle teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Lutz and Swindle fails to specify a processor configured to balance the electric immersion heater and the fossil fuel source based, at least in part, on a real-time electricity price.
However, Ben-Yaacov teaches a processor configured to balance the electric immersion heater and the fossil fuel source based, at least in part, on a real-time electricity price. (Ben-Yaacov, Para [0004-5], [0109], [0140-142], Fig. 3 - - A processor selects/balances an electric or fossil fuel source based on the lower fuel cost/price according to the time of day/”real time”)
Lutz, Kreutzman, and Ben-Yaacov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Kreutzman, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ben-Yaacov.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the cost of heating water by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Ben-Yaacov (Para [0004]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz) as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, and in view of Min et al, Chinese Patent Num CN108954468A (hereinafter Min).
Claim 10
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lutz further teaches a thermal battery; a heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from the domestic hot water to the thermal battery (Lutz, Para [0018], Fig. 3 refs (4, 4a) - - A phase change latent heat storage device 4/”thermal battery” with the heat exchanger 4a disposed within to transfer heat from the domestic hot water to the phase change latent heat storage device 4/”thermal battery”.); and a processor configured to obtain a real-time electricity price and to cause the heat exchanger to transfer heat to the thermal battery when the real-time electricity price is below a threshold price. (Min, Para [0008], [0032-34], Fig 2 refs (101-102) - - A processor obtains electricity prices and causes the electric boiler to store energy through a heat exchanger (101-102) in the thermal bank/battery during the low valley electricity price/”below a threshold price” period.)
Lutz and Min are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Min.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve heating efficiency, save power resources, and reduce operating costs by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Min (Para [0034]).
Claim 11
The combination of Lutz and Min teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Min further teaches the threshold price is a low threshold price, the processor further configured to cause the heat exchanger to transfer heat from the thermal battery when the real-time electricity price is above a high threshold price. (Min, Para [0008], [0032-34], Fig 2 refs (101-102) - - A processor obtains electricity prices and causes the electric boiler to receive energy through a heat exchanger (101-102) in the thermal bank/battery during the high peak electricity price/”above a high threshold price” period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz and Min, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Swindle.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve heating efficiency, save power resources, and reduce operating costs by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Min (Para [0034]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz, German Patent Num DE102010011573A1 (hereinafter Lutz) as applied to Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 above, and in view of Wyatt, US Patent Pub US 20160341447 A1 (hereinafter Wyatt).
Claim 12
Lutz discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Lutz fails to specify a pre-heater configured to transfer heat from a waste heat source to at least one of the cold fluid from the space heating circuit or domestic hot water makeup before the at least one of the cold fluid from the space heating circuit or the domestic hot water makeup are received by the water heater.
However, Wyatt teaches a pre-heater configured to transfer heat from a waste heat source to a domestic hot water makeup before the at least one of the cold fluid from the space heating circuit or the domestic hot water makeup are received by the water heater. (Wyatt, Para [0044], Fig. 4 refs(10, 20, 30, 81A, 86B) - - A water pre-heater that transfers heat from the vent pipe/”waste source” of a water heater before the cold water/fluid makeup inflow is received by the water heater.)
Lutz and Wyatt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to water heating systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above water heating system, as taught by Lutz, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Wyatt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to utilize wasted heat from the water heater exhaust by incorporating the above limitations, as suggested by Wyatt (Para [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections(s) under 35 USC 101 Double Patenting, as set forth in this office action
Dependent claims 18-20 are allowable over art based on their dependence upon claim 17.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s claim defines over the prior art of record because the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, does not teach a method of operating a water heating system that performs the transferring of heat from a domestic hot water preheater to a cold return of a space heating system based on the current or the expected demand for domestic hot water and the current or the expected demand for space heating.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phillipp et al, European Patent Num EP0759528A1 relates to claims regarding a tank based water heating system that includes a space heating element, and a gas heated boiler.
Huber, US Patent Num US 4235369 A relates to claims regarding a tank based water heating system that includes a space heating element, and the water heater can use electricity or fossil fuel.
Metcalfe, US Patent Pub US 20080262979 A1 relates to claims regarding a tank based water heating system that includes a space heating element, using time-of-use electrical pricing, and the water heater can use electricity or fossil fuel.
Farrell, US Patent Pub US 20090090310 A1 relates to claims regarding a tank based water heating system that includes a space heating element, preheating water, and a gas heated boiler for producing hot water for washing and bathing, and also for supply to space heating systems using multiple heat sources and heat exchangers.
Gagne, US Patent Pub US 20180073748 A1 relates to claims regarding a tank based water heating system that includes a space heating element, and the water heater can use electricity or fossil fuel.
Kreibaum, German Patent Num DE2710139A1 relates to claims regarding hot water for central heating and domestic use produced in a tank with two heat exchangers.
Conclusion
/DAVID EARL OGG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119