Status of Claims
The following have been acknowledged
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 10/02/2024 and 01/12/2026 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Claim Interpretations
The term “microbial” (claim 1) was interpreted as including all microorganisms, including fungi, bacteria and viruses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Level of skill and knowledge in the art:
ALPTÜZÜN (2009, Molecules, 14, 5203-5215) teaches certain substitutions on a pyridinium salt have differing effects on certain bacteria (page 5206, Table 1), and BUŠIĆ (2022, Croat. Chem. Acta, 95(1), 31-38) teaches similar concepts (page 36-37, Tables 6 and 7).
(2) Structure/Function Correlation:
In the case of the prior art listed above, there is a lack of structure to function correlation such that minor changes in structure lead to large changes in function. In the case of Alptüzün, the differences between structures 2a, 2c and 2d against certain
2a
2c
2d
bacteria such a P. aeruginosa and C. albicans had no correlation between the structure and function, with the minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) differing greatly between each structure showing a lack of correlation. In the case of Bušić, compounds 2 and 9,
while structurally similar and only differing by the length of the carbon chain, showed no correlation between their structure and activity for different fungi, such as F. culmorum and B. cinerea (Table 6 and Table 7).
(3) Lack of Representative Number of Examples
The instant case teaches a limited number of compounds within the specification that are not a representative number of examples for all the structural space that is represented by the claim.
(4) Conclusion
In view of the prior art showing that there is unpredictability with respect to structure and function, and the lack of representative number of examples, it is reasonable in the instant case to conclude that the applicant was not in possession of the knowledge of which compounds within the genus laid out in the claims would be active against microbes, and/or which compounds within the genus would act on which microbes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QI (2024 April 17, Pest Manag. Sci., 80, 4098-4109) in view of BERGE (1977, January, Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, 66, 1-10).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 6-9, Qi discloses a β-hydroxy pyridinium salt and the use of these compounds, such as compound 4K and 4L (Figure 1), shown below, which contain a pyridinium bromide, with a 2-hydroxyalkyl, with an oxygen at position Y and a substituted aryl at position R1, and R5 is an O-alkyl. Said compounds are substituted pyridinium chloride/bromide compounds with an average molecular mass between 100 to 1500 m/z, where the compounds are dissolved in a solution of water to form multiple dosing formulations to inhibit microbial growth.
Qi fails to disclose the use of a chloride salt of compounds 4K and 4L.
However, Berge discloses FDA-approved commercially marketed salts for pharmaceuticals, which includes bromide and chloride salts.
Qi and Berge are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as Qi is focused on the synthesis of a novel β-hydroxy pyridinium salt that is to be used as an antibiotic, and Berge focuses on the formation of pharmaceutical salts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) prior to the filing of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Qi to incorporate the exchange the bromide anion on compounds 4K and 4L based on the teachings of Berge.
Conclusion
/E.G.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621