DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 09/04/2024 for Application number 18/824,570. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a process, which falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 1 recites, in part, The limitations of:
for each prompt of a plurality of prompts: generating a plurality of variants of said each prompt can be considered to be an evaluation in the human mind,
fine-tuning a first large language model (LLM) based on said each prompt and the plurality of variants… can be considered to be an evaluation in the human
[wherein the first LLM is trained to] generate a standardized prompt based on an input prompt; can be considered to be an evaluation in the human mind
[causing the first LLM to] generate a particular standardized prompt based on the particular prompt be considered to be an evaluation in the human mind
[causing a second LLM to] generate a response based on the particular standardized prompt;
These limitations as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper which falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements - “wherein the first LLM is trained to generate…”, “causing the first LLM to generate…”, “causing a second LLM to generate…” and “wherein the method is performed by one or more computing devices.”. Thus, these elements in the claim are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim further recites: after fine-tuning the first LLM, receiving a particular prompt. This limitation is a mere data gathering step and thus is an insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of utilizing a first LLM, second LLM and one or more computing devices to perform the steps of the claimed process amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the limitation of receiving a particular prompt is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as evidenced by MPEP §2106.05(d)(II)(I), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”. These limitations therefore remain insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration, and does not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites:
for each variant of the plurality of variants: generating a training sample that comprises said each variant and the output prompt;
adding the training sample to a training dataset; wherein fine-tuning the first LLM is based on the training dataset. These limitations amount to additional mental steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1.
for each prompt of the plurality of prompts: causing the first LLM to generate an output prompt; This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: identifying a word within said each prompt; identifying a plurality of synonyms of the word; including, in the plurality of variants, a synonym of the plurality of synonyms. This claim recites additional mental steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: applying a grammar rule to said each prompt to generate a variant in the plurality of variants. This claim recites additional mental steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: identifying, in said each prompt, first text that is in the first person; generating a variant of the plurality of variants by modifying the first text to be in the third person. This claim recites additional mental steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: for each prompt of a second plurality of prompts:
identifying a plurality of variants of said each prompt;
generating a plurality of training samples, each comprising (1) a different standardized prompt from the plurality of standardized prompts and (2) the response;
fine-tuning the second LLM based on the training dataset
This claim recites additional mental steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim further recites:
causing the first LLM to generate a particular standardized prompt based on said prompt;
causing the second LLM to generate a response based on the particular standardized prompt;
causing the first LLM to generate a plurality of standardized prompts based on the plurality of variants;
This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim additionally recites: storing the plurality of training samples in a training dataset;
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This limitation is just a nominal or tangential addition to the claim, and is also well-understood, routine and conventional as evidenced by MPEP §2106.05(d)(II)(iv), “Storing and retrieving information in memory”. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration, and does not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, this additional element represents an insignificant extra-solution activity which cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein the plurality of prompts is different than the second plurality of prompts. This limitation amounts to more specifics of the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1 above.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein causing the first LLM to generate the particular standardized prompt is performed after the first LLM is fine-tuned based on the plurality of variants of said each prompt of the plurality of prompts. This limitation amounts to more specifics of the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1 above.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 9, it recites features similar to claims 1 and 6 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Regarding Claim 10, it recites features similar to claim 1 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Claim 10 additionally requires analysis for “One or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause…” however this is an additional element that amounts to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding Claims 11-17, they recite features similar to claims 2-8 and are rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites features similar to claim 10 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mu et al. ("US 20240248920 A1", hereinafter "Mu").
Regarding Claim 1, Mu teaches, A method comprising:
for each prompt of a plurality of prompts: generating a plurality of variants of said each prompt; (Mu, paragraph 0023, lines 1-3, “For example, the input query “I cannot activate my card. I am extremely disappointed.” can be broken into a technical portion “I cannot activate my card” and an emotion portion “I am extremely disappointed”.”).
fine-tuning a first large language model (LLM) based on said each prompt and the plurality of variants, wherein the first LLM is trained to generate a standardized prompt based on an input prompt; (Mu, paragraph 0023, line 1 “In an embodiment, the first machine learning model can utilize fine-tuning to generate the first response portion.”).
after fine-tuning the first LLM, receiving a particular prompt; causing the first LLM to generate a particular standardized prompt based on the particular prompt; (Mu, paragraph, 0023, lines 3-4 “The emotion portion of the input query can be filtered out to generate a filtered input query comprising a technical question or statement… Once the first machine learning model is fine-tuned, the first machine learning model can generate the first response portion based on the filtered input query. For example, based on the filtered input query “I cannot activate my bank card”, the first machine learning model can generate the first response portion “Please send us a direct message with your account number”.” (thus would teach the generation of a “standardized prompt”)”).
causing a second LLM to generate a response based on the particular standardized prompt; (Mu, paragraph 0024, lines 1-2 “In an embodiment, the second machine learning model can utilize in-context learning (also known as prompt learning) to generate the second response portion.”).
wherein the method is performed by one or more computing devices.
(Mu, paragraph 0002, lines 4-5 “In one or more embodiments described herein, systems, computer-implemented methods, and/or computer program products…”).
Regarding Claim 2, Mu teaches, The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
for each prompt of the plurality of prompts: causing the first LLM to generate an output prompt; (Mu, paragraph 0023, lines 10-13 “Once the first machine learning model is fine-tuned, the first machine learning model can generate the first response portion based on the filtered input query. For example, based on the filtered input query “I cannot activate my bank card”, the first machine learning model can generate the first response portion “Please send us a direct message with your account number”.”).
for each variant of the plurality of variants: generating a training sample that comprises said each variant and the output prompt; (Mu paragraph 0025, lines 1-3 “Once the first response portion and the second response portion are generated, the two response portions can be combined and/or concatenated in order to produce a final response that is both empathetic and offers relevant or accurate technical support. “).
adding the training sample to a training dataset; wherein fine-tuning the first LLM is based on the training dataset. (Mu paragraph 0025, lines 5-10 “ As two different machine learning models are utilized to generate different portions of a final response, this mixture of experts (e.g., the first machine learning model and the second machine learning model) only requires a specific type of training dataset to train each machine learning model separately (e.g., only the training data consisting of technical responses is required to train a machine learning model that is responsible for the technical portion as opposed to a single training data consisting of both empathetic and technical response to train a single machine learning model) in fields such as customer service chat bots.’).
Regarding Claim 6, Mu teaches The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
for each prompt of a second plurality of prompts: (Mu, paragraph 0024, lines 2-7, “For example, an emotion portion of the input query can be classified as belonging to one or more emotion classes of a set of emotions, wherein the one or more emotion classes are associated with respective prompt banks. Returning to the example above, the emotion portion “I am extremely disappointed” can be classified as belonging to an emotion class. A number of random prompts can be selected from a prompt bank associated with the classified emotion. For example, if the input query is classified as “angry”, then a number of prompts from an “angry” prompt bank can be selected, wherein the prompts comprise question-and-answer pairs.”).
causing the first LLM to generate a particular standardized prompt based on said prompt; (Mu, paragraph 0022, lines 2-4 “(…by a first machine learning model, a first response portion to an input query, wherein the first response portion comprises a technical response to the input query…”).
causing the second LLM to generate a response based on the particular standardized prompt; (Mu, paragraph 0024, lines 1-2 “In an embodiment, the second machine learning model can utilize in-context learning (also known as prompt learning) to generate the second response portion.”).identifying a plurality of variants of said each prompt; causing the first LLM to generate a plurality of standardized prompts based on the plurality of variants; (Mu, paragraph 0003, lines 2-5 “The computer executable components comprise a communications component that receives an input query, a filtering component that filters an emotion portion from the input query, a first machine learning model that generates a first response portion, wherein the first response portion comprises a technical response to the filtered input query…”).
generating a plurality of training samples, each comprising (1) a different standardized prompt from the plurality of standardized prompts and (2) the response; (Mu, ¶0025, “As two different machine learning models are utilized to generate different portions of a final response ...requires a specific type of training dataset to train each machine learning model separately (e.g., only the training data consisting of technical responses is required to train a machine learning model that is responsible for the technical portion” Examiners note: It is not specified which LLM needs to conduct the portion of the claim referring to generating a plurality of trainings samples. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, one skilled in the art can assume that the first LLM can be utilized).)
storing the plurality of training samples in a training dataset; (¶0025)
fine-tuning the second LLM based on the training dataset. (Mu, paragraph 0031, lines 8-11 “Accordingly, fine-tuning takes advantage of the prior training of the neural network, while efficiently adapting the neural network to the task embodied by the training data. The fine-tuning cycle can be repeated until the neural network reaches convergence (e.g., the loss between the output of the neural network and the expected output are within a threshold value”
Regarding Claim 7, Mu teaches The method of Claim 6, wherein the plurality of prompts is different than the second plurality of prompts. (Mu, paragraph 0024, “A number of random prompts can be selected from a prompt bank associated with the classified emotion. For example, if the input query is classified as “angry”, then a number of prompts from an “angry” prompt bank can be selected, wherein the prompts comprise question-and-answer pairs.”).
Regarding Claim 8 Mu teaches, The method of Claim 6, wherein causing the first LLM to generate the particular standardized prompt is performed after the first LLM is fine-tuned based on the plurality of variants of said each prompt of the plurality of prompts. (Mu, paragraph, 0023, lines 3-4 “The emotion portion of the input query can be filtered out to generate a filtered input query comprising a technical question or statement.”). (Mu, paragraph 0023, line 1 “In an embodiment, the first machine learning model can utilize fine-tuning to generate the first response portion.”).
Regarding claim 9, it is substantially similar to claims 1 and 6 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Claim 10 recites features similar to claim 1 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Claim 10 additionally requires One or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause … (Mu, ¶0079)
Regarding claim 11, it is substantially similar to claim 2 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 6 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 16, it is substantially similar to claim 7 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 8 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 18, it is substantially similar to claims 1, 9 and 10 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu in view of Mahmud et al. ("US 20200372395 A1", hereinafter "Mahmud").
Regarding Claim 3, Mu teaches, The method of Claim 1, however fails to explicitly teach wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: identifying a word within said each prompt; identifying a plurality of synonyms of the word; including, in the plurality of variants, a synonym of the plurality of synonyms.
and further Mahmud teaches wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: identifying a word within said each prompt; identifying a plurality of synonyms of the word; including, in the plurality of variants, a synonym of the plurality of synonyms. (Mahmud, ¶0037, “In dictionary-based augmentation the data scientist supplies a dictionary which contains synonyms of words and a set of rules which indicates the part of training data which needs to be augmented. An example of one such dictionary is the word-net dictionary for English which contains synonyms of words. For dictionary based augmentation, different variations of augmented sets are generated from each sentence by replacing words by their synonyms.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mu’s teachings by implementing the data augmentation of Mahmud. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to generate a good training dataset in training cognitive systems by replacing a word in a sentence with a synonym. [¶0008, Mahmud]
Regarding claim 12, it is substantially similar to claim 3 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu in view of Gupta et al. ("US 20220237233 A1", hereinafter "Gupta").
Regarding Claim 4, Mu teaches, The method of Claim 1, however fails to explicitly teach wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: applying a grammar rule to said each prompt to generate a variant in the plurality of variants.
Gupta teaches wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: applying a grammar rule to said each prompt to generate a variant in the plurality of variants. (Gupta, ¶0032, “The paraphrase generator may use this utterance in combination with a paraphrase model, grammar rules, along with a diversity model, to produce paraphrases of the utterance.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to modify Mu’s teachings by applying the grammar rules of Gupta in order to produce paraphrases/variants of an input text. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to create training data using generated paraphrases to improve model quality. [Gupta, ¶0031]
Regarding claim 13, it is substantially similar to claim 4 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu in view of Lee et al. ("Converting the Point of View of Messages Spoken to Virtual Assistants", hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding Claim 5, Mu teaches The method of Claim 1, Mu teaches wherein generating the plurality of variants comprises: identifying, in said each prompt, first text that is in the first person; (Mu, ¶0023, “I cannot activate my card”, would be text in the first person)
However, Mu fails to teach generating a variant of the plurality of variants by modifying the first text to be in the third person.
Lee teaches generating a variant of the plurality of variants by modifying the first text to be in the third person. (Lee, pg. 1, right col, ¶2, “Additional difficulty arises when we use the VA as an intermediary between the source and the recipient of the message, not simply a voice machine. Instead of reciting the message I’m running late verbatim to Bob, to achieve natural, believable human-robot interaction, the VA should say something like Joe says he’s running late or simply Joe is running late. That is, for the VA to become a true intermediary in the conversation, the POV conversion must apply to direct messages as well.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mu’s teachings by converting the pov of the input text as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the use of virtual assistants to perform desired tasks. [pg. 1, Introduction, ¶1, Lee]
Regarding claim 14, it is substantially similar to claim 5 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HOANG/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2122