Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22-25, 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hancock (Maximum Sail Power, 2003, provided by Applicant) in view of Cali (Sail Cloth, 2017, provided by Applicant)
Regarding Claim 20, Hancock discloses a sail comprising:a head;a tack;a leech;a foot;a region of elastic material in a luff region of the sail, wherein the luff region comprises a luff and extends between the head and the tack; and a stiffer region which extends between the head and the tack, the stiffer region comprising a stiffer material, wherein the stiffer region is a zone of material positioned between the luff region and the rest of the sail and the luff region is configured to stretch in the direction parallel to the luff as tension is applied in the direction parallel to the luff. (Fig. 4.10 shows this described as “the panels were oriented along the load lines” and “In other words, heavier fabrics can be used along the leech of the sail or at the head and clew where loads are highest, while lighter fabrics can be used in lower load areas like along the luff. These fabrics can differ in terms of overall weight and specific lay-up. They can also differ in terms of the types of fibers and yarns used to carry the load. For example, the sailmaker can design the sail with low-stretch Kevlar yarns in the high-load areas and a regular polyester in the rest of the sail.” p60); Hancock additionally teaches Kevlar “has a modulus five times greater than polyester.” (p20) Hancock does not explicitly disclose wherein the elastic material in the luff region has a failure strain of at least 2.5% in a direction parallel to the luff.
Cali teaches polyester (under the DuPont’s tradename Dacron) has a failure strain of at least 2.5% (12.2 percent, see Table 2.) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to use the Dacron of Cali with a failure strain of at least 2.5% as the polyester material in Hancock in a direction parallel to the luff according to the load lines of Fig. 4.10 of Hancock which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Hancock to select a specific polyester material recognized as suitable for sail making by Cali that can be used in combination in Hancock’s suggested Kevlar-polyester combination.
Regarding Claim 22, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 21, wherein, as the tack is pulled downwards, the load predominantly travels from the tack through a front of the stiffer region of the sail. (This is functionally achieved by the combination proposed in the rejection of Claim 1. See MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in an apparatus.)
Regarding Claim 23, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 21, wherein, as the tack is pulled downwards, the stiffer region is configured to move forward and straighten, resulting in a reduction of sail camber. (This is functionally achieved by the combination proposed in the rejection of Claim 1 and therefore has this configuration. See MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in an apparatus.)
Regarding Claim 24, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 23 wherein, when the luff region is tensioned, the reduction in sail camber is greater than would be achievable if there was not a region of elastic material in the luff region and the luff region was not configured to stretch in a direction parallel to the luff. (This is functionally achieved by the combination proposed in the rejection of Claim 1. See MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in an apparatus.)
Regarding Claim 25, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 20, wherein the stiffer material comprises carbon. (Kevlar comprises carbon. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kevlar)
Regarding Claim 30, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 23, but does not explicitly disclose (in the combination proposed) comprising one or more battens, wherein each of the one or more battens is configured to be inserted into a slot or sleeve in the sail that extends from the leech towards the luff.
Hancock discloses one or more battens, wherein each of the one or more battens is configured to be inserted into a slot or sleeve in the sail that extends from the leech towards the luff. (Hancock, Fig. 7.1) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to add battens to the sail of Hancock in view of Cali wherein each of the one or more battens is configured to be inserted into a slot or sleeve in the sail that extends from the leech towards the luff which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Hancock in view of Cali is battern are conventional sail features that extend the life of the sail (Haock, page 104.)
Regarding Claim 31, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 30, wherein as the stiffer region straightens, the one or more battens are configured to: carry resulting compressive forces in the sail forward; project the luff forward; and either push against a corresponding forestay to project the forestay forward or push against a corresponding mast and help the mast bend, to resist wrinkling of the sail. (See Hancock Fig. 7.1. This is descriptive of the normal operation of battens, see MPEP 2114.)
Regarding Claim 32, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 20, wherein the stiffer region is a primary structural band that is part of a second material that defines a remainder of the sail. (See Hancock, Fig. 4.10)
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hancock (Maximum Sail Power, 2003, provided by Applicant) in view of Cali (Sail Cloth, 2017, provided by Applicant) in view of Gladwell (Sailworld, 2019)
Regarding Claim 26, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 20, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sail is a twin skin mainsail and each skin comprises the luff region and the stiffer region.
Gladwell discloses wherein the sail is a twin skin mainsail. (page 8) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to apply the luff of Hancock to a twin skin sail such that a twin skin mainsail and each skin comprises the luff region and the stiffer region which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify is to apply the cost benefits of Hancock in view Cali to an America’s cup twin skin sail.
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hancock (Maximum Sail Power, 2003, provided by Applicant) in view of Cali (Sail Cloth, 2017, provided by Applicant) and further in view of Linville (US 5097783 A)
Regarding Claim 27, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail sail of claim 20, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the lower stiffness in the luff region is achieved by:(i) using a thinner material in the luff region; or (ii) an absence of fibres, that extend in a direction substantially parallel to the luff, in the luff region.
Linville discloses “Thus the segment or segments in the end of the panel which is close or closest to the leech in a sail will, in general, have a greater strand denier density than the segment or segments in the end of the panel closest to the luff of the sail.” (C3, L46-50) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to reduce the denier density in the luff of Hancock such there is an absence of at least some fibers that extend in a direction substantially parallel to the luff, in the luff region which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Hancock in view of Cali, as disclosed by Linville is “the greater density being present in those segments in the area which will be subject to the greater stresses”. (C3, L42-45)
Regarding Claim 28, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 20, wherein the elastic material comprises a gradient of elasticity, as defined by its:(i) failure strain, or (ii) average Youngs Modulus, or both (i) and (ii), over the width of the elastic material within the luff region. (Linville: “The strand denier density may vary from segment to segment in an individual panel of the sail, the greater density being present in those segments in the area which will be subject to the greater stresses.” C3, L42-45)
Regarding Claim 29, Hancock in view of Cali discloses the sail of claim 28, wherein the elasticity of the elastic material decreases from the elastic material adjacent the luff to the elastic material aft of the luff. (Linville: “Thus the segment or segments in the end of the panel which is close or closest to the leech in a sail will, in general, have a greater strand denier density than the segment or segments in the end of the panel closest to the luff of the sail..” C3, L45-48)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 17 October 2026