DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because, in para. [0001] of the filed specification, U.S. Pat. No. 12,109,116 is not cited as being issued from U.S. Pat. App. No. 18/296,043.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 26, 31, and 37 are objected to because of informalities, which can be corrected as follows: In claim 21, line 7, between “coaptation and “body,” –assist-- should be inserted. In claim 26, lines 1 and 2, between “comprises” and “plurality,” –a-- should be inserted. In claim 31, line 7, “coaptation and “body,” –assist-- should be inserted. In claim 37, line 7, “coaptation and “body,” –assist-- should be inserted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,116 encompasses subject matter of claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 21, 23-28, and 30-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Gabbay (2003/0199975). Gabbay discloses, in figures 11-14 and para. [0081], [0086], and [0087]-[0094]; a coaptation assist system for treating mal-coaptation of a heart valve of a heart, the heart valve comprising a valve annulus, the coaptation assist system comprising: a coaptation assist body (combination of 400 or 430, and 470) comprising a first surface and a second surface extending laterally between a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge of the coaptation assist body and longitudinally between an upstream end and a downstream end of the coaptation assist body; a primary anchor (472) configured to secure the coaptation body to the valve annulus of the heart, wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to move and/or deform to facilitate maintaining natural movement of tissues of the heart (according to para. [0090]); wherein the system further comprises a secondary anchor (another 472); wherein the primary anchor is configured to maintain positioning engagement with a target location of the heart before the secondary anchor is moved into alignment with a different target location of the heart; wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to curve laterally across an opening of the heart valve to mimic a natural geometry of a coaptation zone between leaflets of the heart valve (as shown in fig. 11, 12, and 15); wherein the coaptation assist body comprises a plurality of members (wires or filaments of the mesh of 400 or 430) comprising Nitinol (according to para. [0081]); wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to accommodate lateral flexing and/or axial resilient elongation of the coaptation assist body during beating of the heart (according to para. [009]); wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to be laterally offset from a centroid of the heart valve (as shown in fig. 11 and 12); wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to allow leaflets to coapt with axially offset regions of opposed coaptation surfaces of the coaptation assist body (as shown in fig. 11 and 12).
Gabbay also discloses a coaptation assist system for treating mal-coaptation of a heart valve of a heart, the heart valve comprising a valve annulus, the coaptation assist system comprising: a coaptation assist body (combination of 400 or 430, and 470) comprising a first surface and a second surface extending laterally between a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge of the coaptation assist body and longitudinally between an upstream end and a downstream end of the coaptation assist body; a primary anchor (472) configured to secure the coaptation body to the valve annulus of the heart, wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to structurally float during the beating of the heart (as shown in fig. 11 and 12, and according to para. [0075] for a similar coaptation assist body); wherein the system further comprises a pair of secondary anchors (472) configured to facilitate accurate positioning and support of the coaptation assist body; wherein the system further comprises a secondary anchor (472) configured to be separately deployed from the deployment of the primary anchor; wherein the coaptation assist body comprises a non-thrombogenic material (e.g., collagen or animal tissue material, according to para. [0072]); wherein the coaptation assist body comprises a shape memory frame (400 or 430, according to para. [0081]); wherein the coaptation assist body tapers inward toward the downstream end.
Gabbay further discloses a coaptation assist system for treating mal-coaptation of a heart valve of a heart, the heart valve comprising a valve annulus, the coaptation assist system comprising: a coaptation assist body (combination of 400 or 430, and 470) comprising a first surface and a second surface extending laterally between a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge of the coaptation assist body and longitudinally between an upstream end and a downstream end of the coaptation assist body; and a primary anchor (472) configured to secure the coaptation body to tissue, wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to move with blood flow and/or with movement of the tissue to which the coaptation assist body is secured (according to para. [0075] for a similar coaptation assist body); wherein the system further comprises a pair of additional anchors (472); wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to be disposed between leaflets to fill gaps between coapting leaflet surfaces (as shown in fig. 11 and 12); and wherein the coaptation assist body comprises a nitinol frame (400 or 430, according to para. [0081]) covered with a biocompatible material (according to para. [0093]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 22 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gabbay (2003/0199975) in view of Navia (8,216,303). Gabbay discloses the invention substantially as claimed, wherein the coaptation assist body may comprise a synthetic, cloth-like or fabric material (according to para. [0092]). However, Gabby does not explicitly disclose that the coaptation assist body comprises ePTFE. Navia teaches, in figures 1A-1E and col. 7, lines 37-41; a device for treating a heart valve, wherein a body (combination of 32 and 52) of the device comprises ePTFE. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of Navia, to modify the coaptation assist body of Gabbay, so that it comprises ePTFE. Such a material is resilient, biocompatible, and suitable for use in a cardiac chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record, alone or in combination, discloses a coaptation assist system for treating mal-coaptation of a heart valve of a heart, the heart valve comprising a valve annulus, the coaptation assist system comprising, inter alia: a coaptation assist body comprising a first surface and a second surface extending laterally between a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge of the coaptation assist body and longitudinally between an upstream end and a downstream end of the coaptation assist body; a primary anchor configured to secure the coaptation body to the valve annulus of the heart, wherein the coaptation assist body is configured to move and/or deform to facilitate maintaining natural movement of tissues of the heart, and wherein the coaptation assist body comprises a triangular configuration.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JULIAN W WOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771