Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 18/138111 & 17/336100 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘111 and ‘100, respectively teach each and every element of ‘768.
18138111
17336100
18824768
1. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality of the air traversing an air purification module, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized environment in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit comprising:
ducting for receiving a first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for directing a second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment, where the second amount of air differs from the first amount of air by being either warmed or cooled with respect thereto;
an air conditioner having refrigerant contained within tubing of one or more copper coils, the air conditioner being coupled to the ducting and for removing heat from air traversing through the ducting by transferring the heat into the refrigerant converting it from a cooled refrigerant to a warmed refrigerant;
a compressor, coupled to the copper coils of the air conditioner, and configured for compressing the warmed refrigerant into a warm pressurized refrigerant, the compressor further configured for moving the warmed pressurized refrigerant throughout the copper coils;
a condenser, coupled to one or more of the copper coils and the compressor, the condenser for removing heat from the warm pressurized refrigerant to produce a cooled pressurized refrigerant;
a thermal expansion valve, coupled to the compressor, and configured for opening and closing so as to thereby release pressure from within the copper coils and thereby convert the cooled pressurized refrigerant into a cooled refrigerant, and
an air handler coupled to the ducting, the air handler for withdrawing the first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for supplying the second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment;
an air purification module
for clarifying the air traversing through the air purification module of at least 99.9% of viruses, the air purification module being positioned proximate the ducting of the HVAC and having at least three photocatalytic oxidization chambers, each photocatalytic oxidization chamber including a plurality of air purification elements configured for generating a photocatalytic oxidation reaction, the air purification elements comprising:
two or more UVC LED light sources, each UVC LED light source being linearly spaced apart from one another so as to create each photocatalytic oxidation chamber therebetween within the air purification module, and configured for generating a UVC light; and
a plurality of (photocatalytic oxidation cell panels, each photocatalytic oxidation cell panel being formed of a mesh grid and including a plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells and being positioned within each photocatalytic oxidation chamber so as to be proximate at least one UVC LED light source such that the generated UVC light shines on the plurality of PCO photocatalytic oxidation cells thereby producing a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that results in the production of activating agents that function for clarifying air of viruses as the air passes through the photocatalytic oxidation cell panel;
a plurality of high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter including a pre- and a post filter, the prefilter being positioned linearly prior to the at least three photocatalytic oxidation chambers, and the post filter being positioned linearly post the at least three photocatalytic oxidation chambers; and
a virus sensor positioned linearly after the post filter, the virus sensor for determining sensed virus data and measuring a reduction in virus levels in the air.
2. The system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more other non-virus sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection.
3. The system in accordance with claim 2, wherein the one or more other non-virus sensors comprise a plurality of sensors including an interior HVAC sensor positioned within the HVAC ducting and configured for determining a condition of air traversing within the HVAC unit, and an exterior sensor configured for measuring one or more conditions on the environment exterior to the HVAC unit.
4. The system in accordance with claim 3, further comprising an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed virus data and sensed air quality data;
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed virus data and sensed air quality data so as to determine a level of air clarification;
a third processing engine for employing the level of air clarification so as to generate a certification of air quality, the certification corresponding to the level of air clarification.
5. The system in accordance with claim 4, further comprising a fourth processing engine for generating a QR Code, the QR Code indicating the air quality certification.
6. The system in accordance with claim 5, wherein the QR code, when engaged with by a client computing device pulls up a website on a display of the client computing device, the website setting forth the air quality data and the air quality certification.
7. The system in accordance with claim 6, further comprising an analytics module, wherein the analytics module is configured for receiving the air quality data from the air quality cloud processing server, and for analyzing the received air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality condition, and in response to the determined overall air quality condition generating instructions for reconfiguring one or more system components.
8. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including one or more air purification modules having a plurality of treatment zones, each air purification module being configured for clarifying the air traversing through the air purification module of at least 99.9% of viruses, each treatment zone of each air purification module comprising:
one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter;
two or more UVC LEDs light sources, each UVC LED light source being positioned within the air purification module and spaced apart from one another so as to form each treatment zone therebetween, each UVC LED light source being configured for generating a UV light for neutralizing airborne viruses and microbes;
a plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cell panels including a plurality of (photocatalytic oxidation cells and being positioned proximate at least one UVC LED light source such that the generated UVC light shines on the plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells thereby producing a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that results in the production of activating agents that function for clarifying air of airborne viruses, microbes, and volatile organic compounds as the air passes through each of the photocatalytic oxidation cell panels; and
at least one pre or post filters for removing particulate matter from the air;
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the air purification module, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, at least one of the one or more sensors including a virus sensor positioned linearly posterior to the photocatalytic oxidation cell panel of a last treatment zone, the virus sensor for measuring a reduction in virus levels in the air thereby producing virus data; and
a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection.
9. The system in accordance with claim 8, further comprising an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to the smart air quality sensing module via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data, the air quality data including virus data, the air quality data including one or more air quality conditions;
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to determine a level of air clarification; and
a third processing engine for employing the level of air clarification so as to generate a certification of air quality, the certification corresponding to the level of air clarification.
10. The system in accordance with claim 9, further comprising an analytics module, coupled to one or more of the air quality cloud processing server and the smart air quality sensing module, the analytics module being configured for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an efficiency of reduction of one or more viruses within the air traversing through the air purification module.
11. The system in accordance with claim 9, further comprising a fourth processing engine for generating a QR Code, the QR Code indicating the air quality certification.
12. The system in accordance with claim 11, wherein the QR code, when engaged with pulls up a website on a user device, the website setting forth the air quality data and the air quality certification.
13. The system in accordance with claim 12, wherein the level of air clarification is determined based on one or more government air quality codes or standards.
14. The system in accordance with claim 13, wherein each treatment zone further includes a refractive flap positioned proximate each UVC LED light source, and configured for modulating air flow through the treatment zone.
15. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy;
one or more air purification modules coupled to the HVAC unit and configured for clarifying the air traversing through the air purification module of at least 99.9% of viruses, each air purification module having a plurality of photocatalytic chambers, each photocatalytic oxidization chamber forming a viral clarification treatment zone, each photocatalytic oxidization chamber comprising:
one or more high efficiency particulate pre-filters for trapping small particulate matter;
two or more UVC LED light sources being linearly spaced apart from one another to form the viral clarification treatment zones configured for neutralizing the viruses;
a plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cell panels, each photocatalytic oxidation cell panel being formed of a mesh grid of photocatalytic oxidation cells and being positioned within each photocatalytic chamber so as to be proximate at least one UVC LED light source such that the generated UVC light shines on the plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells thereby producing a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that results in the production of activating agents that function for clarifying air of viruses, microbes, and volatile organic compounds as the air passes through the photocatalytic oxidation cell panel; and
at least one post filter for further removing particulate matter from the air;
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to at least one of the one or more air purification modules, the smart air quality sensing module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, at least one of the one or more sensors including a virus sensor positioned linearly after the post filter of a last air purification module, the virus sensor for measuring a different in virus levels in the air as it passes through the air purification module, the sensed air quality data including virus level data;
a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection; and
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the air purification module and the smart air quality sensing module via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality.
16. The system in accordance with claim 15, wherein the air quality cloud processing server further comprises:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data;
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to determine a level of air clarification;
a third processing engine for employing the level of air clarification so as to generate a certification of overall air quality, the certification corresponding to the level of air clarification.
17. The system in accordance with claim 16, further comprising an analytics module, coupled to one or more of the air quality cloud processing server and the smart air quality sensing module, the analytics module being configured for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an efficiency of reduction of one or more viruses within the air traversing through the air purification module.
18. The system in accordance with claim 16, further comprising a fourth processing engine for generating a QR Code, the QR Code indicating the air quality certification.
19. The system in accordance with claim 18, wherein the QR code, when engaged with pulls up a website on a user device, the website setting forth the air quality data and the air quality certification.
20. The system in accordance with claim 19, wherein the level of air clarification is determined based on one or more government air quality codes or standards.
1. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized environment in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit comprising: ducting for receiving a first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for directing a second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment, where the second amount of air differs from the first amount of air by being either warmed or cooled with respect thereto,
an air conditioner having refrigerant contained within tubing of one or more copper coils, the air conditioner being coupled to the ducting and for removing heat from air traversing through the ducting by transferring the heat into the refrigerant converting it from a cooled refrigerant to a warmed refrigerant,
a compressor, coupled to the copper coils of the air conditioner, and configured for compressing the warmed refrigerant into a warm pressurized refrigerant, the compressor further configured for moving the warmed pressurized refrigerant throughout the copper coils,
a condenser, coupled to one or more of the copper coils and the compressor, the condenser for removing heat from the warm pressurized refrigerant to produce a cooled pressurized refrigerant,
a thermal expansion valve, coupled to the compressor, and configured for opening and closing so as to thereby release pressure from within the copper coils and thereby convert the cooled pressurized refrigerant into a cooled refrigerant,
an air handler coupled to the ducting, the air handler for withdrawing the first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for supplying the second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment; an air purification module positioned within the ducting and having a plurality of air purification elements configured for generating a photocatalytic oxidation reaction, the air purification elements comprising: two or more UVC germicidal lamps or series of UVC LEDs, each UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs being spaced apart from one another so as to create at least one germicidal treatment zone therebetween within the air purification module, and configured for generating a UVC light, a plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cell panels, each photocatalytic oxidation cell panel including a plurality photocatalytic oxidation cells and being positioned proximate at least one UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs such that the generated UVC light shines on the plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells thereby producing a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that results in the production of activating agents that function for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds as the air passes through the photocatalytic oxidation cell panel; and one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter including a pre- and a post filter and
an analytics module, coupled to one or more air quality cloud processing servers and a smart air quality sensing module, the analytics module including one or more processing engines that are configured for receiving sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module and in response thereto implementing a first set of instructions for:
analyzing the received sensed air quality data, determining an overall air quality condition, and generating a second set of instructions for reconfiguring a positioning of the at least one UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs relevant to the one or more photocatalytic oxidation cell panels so as to more efficiently and effectively purify the air from volatile organic compounds because of the reconfiguration.
2. The system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection.
3. The system in accordance with claim 2, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a plurality of sensors including an interior HVAC sensor positioned within the HVAC ducting and configured for determining a condition of air traversing within the HVAC unit, and an exterior sensor configured for measuring one or more conditions on the environment exterior to the HVAC unit.
4. The system in accordance with claim 3, further comprising an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data;
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to produce results data;
a third processing engine for employing the results data so as to determine one or more system faults;
a fourth processing engine for using the one or more system faults for the purpose of generating one or more control instructions for reconfiguring one or more system parameters in a manner so as to correct the system fault by reconfiguring the one or more system parameters.
5. The system in accordance with claim 4, wherein the air quality data measures one or more conditions relevant to a healthy air quality, and the system fault is caused by a drop of the one or more conditions below a determined set point.
6. The system in accordance with claim 5, wherein when it is determined that the healthy air quality condition(s) are below a determined set point, the air quality cloud processing server generates and transmits an air quality control command to the intelligent HVAC unit, the air quality control command including instructions for dynamically adjusting one or more operational parameters of the HVAC unit so as to thereby improve the air quality.
7. The system in accordance with claim 6, further comprising an analytics module, wherein the analytics module is configured for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality condition, and in response to the determined overall air quality condition generating instructions for reconfiguring one or more system components.
8. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising: an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including one or more air purification modules having a plurality of treatment zones, each treatment zone of each air purification module comprising: one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter[,
two or more UVC germicidal lamps or series of UVC LEDs, each UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs being positioned within the air purification module and spaced apart from one another so as to form each treatment zone therebetween, each germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs being configured for generating a UV light, for neutralizing airborne microbes, and
a plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cell panels including a plurality of oxidation cells and being positioned proximate at least one UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs such that the generated UVC light shines on the plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells thereby producing a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that results in the production of activating agents that function for clarifying the air of airborne microbes as the air passes through the photocatalytic oxidation cell panel;
at least one pre or post filters for removing particulate matter from the air; and
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection; and
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising: a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data, the sensed air quality data including one or more air quality conditions; a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to produce results data, the results data characterizing a manner by which the system can reconfigure one or more of the HVAC unit and one or more of HVAC's component parts; and a third processing engine for receiving the results data and generating one or more control instructions for reconfiguring at least one of the one or more HVAC unit and HVAC unit component parts so as to improve at least one of the one or more air quality conditions and
an analytics module, coupled to the air quality cloud processing server and the smart air quality sensing module, the analytics module including one or more processing engines that are configured for receiving sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module and in response thereto implementing a first set of instructions for:
analyzing the received sensed air quality data, determining an overall air quality condition, and generating a second set of instructions for reconfiguring a positioning of the at least one UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs relevant to the one or more photocatalytic oxidation cell panels so as to more efficiently and effectively purify the air from volatile organic compounds because of the reconfiguration.
9. The system in accordance with claim 8, wherein the one or more high efficiency particulate filters comprise a pre-filter and a post-filter, wherein the post filter comprises one or more potassium permanganate filters or carbon filters.
10. The system in accordance with claim 9, wherein the photocatalytic oxidation panel comprises a reactive metal oxide.
11. The system in accordance with claim 10, wherein the reactive metal oxide comprises titanium dioxide or zinc oxide.
12. The system in accordance with claim 11, wherein the air purification module comprises a plurality of treatment zones, wherein each treatment zone includes two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps or series of UVC LEDs and at least one photocatalytic oxidation panel.
13. The system in accordance with claim 12, wherein the air purification module comprises three or four treatment zones.
14. The system in accordance with claim 12, wherein the air purification module comprises two, three, four, or treatment zones.
15. The system in accordance with claim 14, wherein each treatment zone further includes a refractive flap positioned proximate each UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs, and configured for modulating air flow through the treatment zone.
16. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including one or more air purification modules, each air purification module comprising:
one or more high efficiency particulate pre-filters for trapping small particulate matter,
two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps or series of UVC LEDs being spaced apart from one another to form a germicidal treatment zone therebetween within the air purification module, and being configured for generating a UVC light;
one or more photocatalytic oxidation cell panels, each photocatalytic oxidation cell panel including a plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells and being positioned proximate at least one UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs such that the generated UVC light shines on the plurality of photocatalytic oxidation cells thereby producing a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that results in the production of activating agents that function for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds as the air passes through the photocatalytic oxidation cell panel, and
at least one post filter for further removing particulate matter from the air;
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing component including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection;
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing component and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing component, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality condition, and where it is determined that the overall air quality condition is below a defined set point, the air quality cloud processing server generates and transmits an air quality control command to the intelligent HVAC unit, the air quality control command including instructions for dynamically adjusting one or more operational parameters of the HVAC unit so as to thereby improve the air quality; and
an analytics module, coupled to one or more of the air quality cloud processing server and the smart air quality sensing module, the analytics module including one or more processing engines that are configured for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module and in response thereto implementing a first set of instructions for: analyzing the received sensed air quality data, determining an overall air quality condition, and generating a second set of instructions for reconfiguring the positioning of the at least one UVC germicidal lamp or series of UVC LEDs relevant to the one or more photocatalytic oxidation cell panels so as to more efficiently and effectively purify the air from volatile organic compounds because of the reconfiguration.
17. The system in accordance with claim 16, wherein the photocatalytic oxidation panel comprises a reactive metal oxide.
18. The system in accordance with claim 17 wherein the reactive metal oxide comprises titanium dioxide or zinc oxide.
19. The system in accordance with claim 18, wherein each air purification module comprises a plurality of treatment zones, wherein each treatment zone includes two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps or series of UVC LEDs and at least one PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel.
20. The system in accordance with claim 19, wherein the air purification module comprises three or four treatment zones.
1. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized environment in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit comprising:
ducting for receiving a first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for directing a second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment, where the second amount of air differs from the first amount of air by being either warmed or cooled with respect thereto;
an air conditioner having refrigerant contained within tubing of one or more copper coils, the air conditioner being coupled to the ducting and for removing heat from air traversing through the ducting by transferring the heat into the refrigerant converting it from a cooled refrigerant to a warmed refrigerant;
a compressor, coupled to the copper coils of the air conditioner, and configured for compressing the warmed refrigerant into a warm pressurized refrigerant, the compressor further configured for moving the warmed pressurized refrigerant throughout the copper coils;
a condenser, coupled to one or more of the copper coils and the compressor, the condenser for removing heat from the warm pressurized refrigerant to produce a cooled pressurized refrigerant;
a thermal expansion valve, coupled to the compressor, and configured for opening and closing so as to thereby release pressure from within the copper coils and thereby convert the cooled pressurized refrigerant into a cooled refrigerant, and
an air handler coupled to the ducting, the air handler for withdrawing the first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for supplying the second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment;
an air purification module having a plurality of air purification elements configured for generating a photocatalytic oxidation reaction, the air purification unit comprising:
two or more UVC germicidal lamps and/or Series of UVC LEDs for creating a plurality of germicidal treatment zones, and configured for generating a UVC light; and
a PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel positioned within the ducting and including a plurality of PCO (photocatalytic oxidation) cells configured for interacting with the UVC light in a manner to produce a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that functions for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds; and
one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter including a pre-and a post filter.
2. The system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection.
3. The system in accordance with claim 2, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a plurality of sensors including an interior HVAC sensor positioned within the HVAC ducting and configured for determining a condition of air traversing within the HVAC unit, and an exterior sensor configured for measuring one or more conditions on the environment exterior to the HVAC unit.
4. The system in accordance with claim 3, further comprising an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data;
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to produce results data;
a third processing engine for employing the results data so as to determine one or more system faults;
a fourth processing engine for using the one or more system faults for the purpose of generating one or more control instructions for reconfiguring one or more system parameters in a manner so as to correct the system fault by reconfiguring the one or more system parameters.
5. The system in accordance with claim 4, wherein the air quality data measures one or more conditions relevant to a healthy air quality, and the system fault is caused by a drop of the one or more conditions below a determined set point.
6. The system in accordance with claim 5, wherein when it is determined that the healthy air quality condition(s) are below a determined set point, the air quality cloud processing server generates and transmits an air quality control command to the intelligent HVAC unit, the air quality control command including instructions for dynamically adjusting one or more operational parameters of the HVAC unit so as to thereby improve the air quality.
7. The system in accordance with claim 6, further comprising an analytics module, wherein the analytics module is configured for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing module, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality condition, and in response to the determined overall air quality condition generating instructions for reconfiguring one or more system components.
8. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including one or more air purification modules comprising:
one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter;
two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs configured for generating a UV light, and further configured for creating a plurality of germicidal treatment zones configured for neutralizing airborne microbes;
a PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel including a plurality of PCO (photocatalytic oxidation) cells for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds when contacting by the UV light; and
at least one pre or post filters for removing particulate matter from the air;
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection;
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data, the sensed air quality data including one or more air quality conditions;
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to produce results data, the results data characterizing a manner by which the system can reconfigure one or more of the HVAC unit and one or more of HVAC's component parts; and
a third processing engine for receiving the results data and generating one or more control instructions for reconfiguring at least one of the one or more HVAC unit and HVAC unit component parts so as to improve at least one of the one or more air quality conditions.
9. The system in accordance with claim 8, wherein the one or more high efficiency particulate filters comprise a pre-filter and a post-filter, wherein the post filter comprises one or more potassium permanganate filters or carbon filters.
10. The system in accordance with claim 9, wherein PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel comprises a reactive metal oxide.
11. The system in accordance with claim 10, wherein the reactive metal oxide comprises titanium dioxide or zinc oxide.
12. The system in accordance with claim 11, wherein the air purification module comprises a plurality of treatment zones, wherein each treatment zone includes two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs and at least one PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel.
13. The system in accordance with claim 12, wherein the air purification module comprises three or four treatment zones.
14. The system in accordance with claim 13, wherein the air purification module comprises two, three, four, or six air purification modules.
15. The system in accordance with claim 14, wherein each treatment zone further includes a refractive flap positioned proximate each UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs, and configured for modulating air flow through the treatment zone.
16. A system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including a plurality of air purification modules comprising:
one or more high efficiency particulate pre-filters for trapping small particulate matter;
two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs configured for creating a plurality of germicidal treatment zones configured for neutralizing airborne microbes;
a PCO-cell panel including a plurality of PCO cells for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds; and
at least one post filter for further removing particulate matter from the air;
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing component including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection;
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing component and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing component, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality condition, and where it is determined that the overall air quality condition is below a defined set point, the air quality cloud processing server generates and transmits an air quality control command to the intelligent HVAC unit, the air quality control command including instructions for dynamically adjusting one or more operational parameters of the HVAC unit so as to thereby improve the air quality.
17. The system in accordance with claim 16, wherein PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel comprises a reactive metal oxide.
18. The system in accordance with claim 17 wherein the reactive metal oxide comprises titanium dioxide or zinc oxide.
19. The system in accordance with claim 18, wherein the air purification module comprises a plurality of treatment zones, wherein each treatment zone includes two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs and at least one PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel.
20. The system in accordance with claim 19, wherein the air purification module comprises three or four treatment zones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamroth (PG/PUB 20210010693) in view over Walser (PG/PUB 20180373278) in view over Worrilow (PG/PUB 2022/0226533)
Claim 1.
Gamroth teaches a system for monitoring and purifying air quality (ABSTRACT), the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit (Figure 3- see combination of elements 330, 324-328, 318, 336, 334, 336, 312, 342-350 e.g. an HVAC system comprising multiple components for cooling/heating ducted airflow) for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized environment in a manner that conserves enthalpy (0054, Figure 5-504), the HVAC unit comprising:
ducting for receiving a first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for directing a second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment, where the second amount of air differs from the first amount of air by being either warmed or cooled with respect thereto (Figure 3-314, 304, 0050-52, see also Figure 9)
an air conditioner having refrigerant contained within tubing of one or more copper coils, the air conditioner being coupled to the ducting and for removing heat from air traversing through the ducting by transferring the heat into the refrigerant converting it from a cooled refrigerant to a warmed refrigerant (0040-41, 0048 e.g. see heat exchanger piping comprising coils, see also Figure 3-334, 336 (e.g. coils), infra below analysis for copper coils)
Gamroth does not expressly teach the following:
the one more copper coils; compressor; condenser; and thermal expansion valve limitations as described below.
Walser teaches the above limitations comprising:
the copper coil; compressor; condenser; and thermal expansion valve limitations as described below.
an air conditioner having refrigerant contained within tubing of one or more copper coils, the air conditioner being coupled to the ducting and for removing heat from air traversing through the ducting by transferring the heat into the refrigerant converting it from a cooled refrigerant to a warmed refrigerant (0021 e.g. The HVAC unit 12 includes heat exchangers 28 and 30 in fluid communication with one or more refrigeration circuits. Tubes within the heat exchangers 28 and 30 may circulate refrigerant, such as R-410A, through the heat exchangers 28 and 30. The tubes may be of various types, such as multichannel tubes, conventional copper or aluminum tubing, and so forth.”)
a compressor, coupled to the copper coils of the air conditioner, and configured for compressing the warmed refrigerant into a warm pressurized refrigerant, the compressor further configured for moving the warmed pressurized refrigerant throughout the copper coils (0005 e.g. “The present disclosure further relates to a climate management system having an evaporator coil, a blower configured to move air across the evaporator coil, a compressor system configured to operate in multiple compression stages, a first sensor configured detect an evaporator coil temperature of the evaporator coil, a second sensor configured to detect a supply air temperature of the air downstream of the evaporator coil, and a controller. The controller is configured to control an operational fan speed of the blower based on the evaporator coil temperature in a first mode of operation and based on the supply air temperature in a second mode of operation,” see also 0014, 0023, 0030)
a condenser, coupled to one or more of the copper coils and the compressor, the condenser for removing heat from the warm pressurized refrigerant to produce a cooled pressurized refrigerant;
(0021 e.g. “. For example, the heat exchanger 28 may function as a condenser where heat is released from the refrigerant to ambient air, and the heat exchanger 30 may function as an evaporator where the refrigerant absorbs heat to cool an air stream. In other embodiments, the HVAC unit 12 may operate in a heat pump mode where the roles of the heat exchangers 28 and 30 may be reversed. That is, the heat exchanger 28 may function as an evaporator and the heat exchanger 30 may function as a condenser,” see also 0026, 0030-32)
a thermal expansion valve, coupled to the compressor, and configured for opening and closing so as to thereby release pressure from within the copper coils and thereby convert the cooled pressurized refrigerant into a cooled refrigerant (0030 e.g. “FIG. 4 is an embodiment of a vapor compression system 72 that can be used in any of the systems described above. The vapor compression system 72 may circulate a refrigerant through a circuit starting with a compressor 74. The circuit may also include a condenser 76, an expansion valve(s) or device(s) 78, and an evaporator 80. The vapor compression system 72 may further include a control panel 82 that has an analog to digital (A/D) converter 84, a microprocessor 86, a non-volatile memory 88, and/or an interface board 90. The control panel 82 and its components may function to regulate operation of the vapor compression system 72 based on feedback from an operator, from sensors of the vapor compression system 72 that detect operating conditions, and so forth,” see also 0031-32)
an air handler coupled to the ducting, the air handler for withdrawing the first amount of air from the compartmentalized environment, and for supplying the second amount of air to the compartmentalized environment (Gamroth, 0040-42, Figure 3- AHU, see also Walser, Figure 5-120, 0017)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combining the teachings of Walser and Gamroth would achieve an expected and predictable result comprising the one more copper coils; compressor; condenser; and thermal expansion valve limitations as described above. One of ordinary skill in the art adapting the HVAC unit of Gamroth to utilize the HVAC configuration of Walser would achieve an expected and predictable result of cooling ducted airflow. Walse is in the same field of HVAC systems; provided a benefit of zoned cooling as described, Brackgroun; and is reasonably pertinent to a problem of cooling airflow via the selection of well-known HVAC components (e.g. copper coil, condenser, evaporator, etc.)
The combination of Walser and Gamroth does not expressly teach the air purification elements comprising two or UVC germicidal lamps; PCO cell; and one or more high efficiency particulate filters as described below. Worrilow teaches the one or more UVC lamps; PCO cell; and one or more high efficiency particulate filters as described below.
an air purification module having a plurality of air purification elements configured for generating a photocatalytic oxidation reaction, the air purification unit comprising:
two or more UVC germicidal lamps and/or Series of UVC LEDs for creating a plurality of germicidal treatment zones, and configured for generating a UVC light (Figure 4-38)
a PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel positioned within the ducting and including a plurality of PCO (photocatalytic oxidation) cells configured for interacting with the UVC light in a manner to produce a photocatalytic oxidation reaction that functions for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds (Figure 4, 0033, 0055)
one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter including a pre- and a post filter (0042, 0053, Figure 3, Figure 4 e.g. see pre and post-filtering)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combining the teachings of Worrilo and Gamroth, as modified by Walser, would achieve an expected and predictable result comprising the air purification module limitation as described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply Worrilow to provide multiple stage air purification as described Background & Summary of Invention; is in the field of air purification; and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of purifying building air.
Claim 2.
The system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising:
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection (Gamroth, Figure 6, Figure 5)
Claim 3.
The system in accordance with claim 2, wherein the one or more sensors comprise a plurality of sensors including an interior HVAC sensor positioned within the HVAC ducting and configured for determining a condition of air traversing within the HVAC unit, and an exterior sensor configured for measuring one or more conditions on the environment exterior to the HVAC unit (Gamroth, Figure 5-552, 524)
Claim 4.
The system in accordance with claim 3, further comprising an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data (Gamroth, Figure 6-604)
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to produce results data (Gamroth, Figure 6, Figure 8-806)
a third processing engine for employing the results data so as to determine one or more system faults (Gamroth, figure 8-806 e.g. see abnormal as reading on system fault, see also 00112-0113 )
a fourth processing engine for using the one or more system faults for the purpose of generating one or more control instructions for reconfiguring one or more system parameters in a manner so as to correct the system fault by reconfiguring the one or more system parameters (Figure 8-808-810)
(Examiner note: first through fourth processing engines are not defined as separate processing engine. As such, a single processing engine can function as second through fourth processing engines)
Claim 5.
The system in accordance with claim 4, wherein the air quality data measures one or more conditions relevant to a healthy air quality, and the system fault is caused by a drop of the one or more conditions below a determined set point (Figure 8-806, 0098, 0112)
Claim 6.
The system in accordance with claim 5, wherein when it is determined that the healthy air quality condition(s) are below a determined set point, the air quality cloud processing server generates and transmits an air quality control command to the intelligent HVAC unit, the air quality control command including instructions for dynamically adjusting one or more operational parameters of the HVAC unit so as to thereby improve the air quality (Figure 8, Figure 4 e.g. see cloud processing server as remote computing devices for processing and commanding responsive actions for AHU/HVAC, see also cloud processing server as corresponding to Figure 5-502)
Claims 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamroth (PG/PUB 20210010693) in view over Worrilow (PG/PUB 2022/0226533).
Claim 8.
Gamroth teaches a system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including one or more air purification modules (Figure 3- see combination of elements 330, 324-328, 318, 336, 334, 336, 312, 342-350 e.g. an HVAC system comprising multiple components for cooling/heating ducted airflow), comprising:
Gamroth does not expressly teach the filter limitations as described below. Worrilow teaches filter limitations as described below.
one or more high efficiency particulate filters for trapping small particulate matter; (Worrilow, Figure 4, 0033, 0055
two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs configured for generating a UV light, and further configured for creating a plurality of germicidal treatment zones configured for neutralizing airborne microbes (Worrilow, Figure 4, 0033, 0055)
a PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel including a plurality of PCO (photocatalytic oxidation) cells for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds when contacting by the UV light; (Wirrilow, Figure 4, 0033, 0055)
at least one pre or post filters for removing particulate matter from the air (Wirrilow, Figure 4, 0033, 0055)
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing module including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection (Gamroth, supra claim 1, Figures 3-5)
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing module and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server comprising:
a first processing engine for receiving the sensed air quality data, the sensed air quality data including one or more air quality conditions (Gamroth, Figure 8)
a second processing engine for analyzing the sensed air quality data so as to produce results data, the results data characterizing a manner by which the system can reconfigure one or more of the HVAC unit and one or more of HVAC's component parts (Gamroth, Figure 8, supra claim 1)
a third processing engine for receiving the results data and generating one or more control instructions for reconfiguring at least one of the one or more HVAC unit and HVAC unit component parts so as to improve at least one of the one or more air quality conditions (Gamroth, Figure 8, supra claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combining the teachings of Worrilow and Gamroth would achieve an expected and predictable result comprising the air purification module limitation as described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply Worrilow to provide multiple stage air purification as described Background & Summary of Invention; is in the field of air purification; and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of purifying building air.
.
Claim 9.
Gamroth, as modified, teaches the system in accordance with claim 8, wherein the one or more high efficiency particulate filters comprise a pre-filter and a post-filter, wherein the post filter comprises one or more potassium permanganate filters or carbon filters (Worrilow, 0044)
Claim 16.
Gamroth teaches a system for monitoring and purifying air quality, the system comprising:
an intelligent heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit for efficiently purifying air of a compartmentalized space in a manner that conserves enthalpy, the HVAC unit including a plurality of air purification modules comprising:
one or more high efficiency particulate pre-filters for trapping small particulate matter;
two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs configured for creating a plurality of germicidal treatment zones configured for neutralizing airborne microbes; supra claim 8
a PCO-cell panel including a plurality of PCO cells for clarifying air of volatile organic compounds; supra claim 8
at least one post filter for further removing particulate matter from the air; supra claim 8
a smart air quality sensing module coupled to the HVAC unit, the smart air quality module including one or more sensors configured for monitoring one or more air quality conditions within the HVAC unit so as to produce sensed air quality data, the smart air quality sensing component including a communications module for transmitting the sensed air quality data via a network connection; supra claim 8
an air quality cloud processing server communicably coupled to one or more of the smart air quality sensing component and the HVAC unit via the network connection, the air quality cloud processing server for receiving the sensed air quality data from the smart air quality sensing component, and for analyzing the received sensed air quality data so as to determine an overall air quality condition, and where it is determined that the overall air quality condition is below a defined set point, the air quality cloud processing server generates and transmits an air quality control command to the intelligent HVAC unit, the air quality control command including instructions for dynamically adjusting one or more operational parameters of the HVAC unit so as to thereby improve the air quality, supra claim 8
Claim 16 is rejected under the same combination of prior and motivation o combine set forth in claim
Claims 10-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamroth (PG/PUB 20210010693) in view over Worrilow (PG/PUB 2022/0226533) in view over Engelhard (PG/PUB 20170080373).
Claim 10. Gamroth, as modified, teaches the system in accordance with claim 9 but does not teach the reactive-oxide limitation as described below. Engelhard teaches the reactive-oxide limitations as described below.
wherein PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel comprises a reactive metal oxide (Englehard, 0037, 0081-83, 0087 e.g. see titanium dioxide)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combining the teachings of Worrilow and Gamroth would achieve an expected and predictable result comprising wherein PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel comprises a reactive metal oxide. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize titanium dioxide as it has been “ found to be more effective than any other antibacterial agent, because the photo catalytic reaction works even when there are cells covering the surface and while the bacteria are actively propagating,” 0083; is in the field of air purification as described, ABSTRACT, Technical Field; and is reasonably pertinent to a problem of identifying suitable materials for photo-catalytic filtration.
Claim 11.
Gamroth, as modified by Englehard, teaches the system in accordance with claim 10, wherein the reactive metal oxide comprises titanium dioxide or zinc oxide ((Englehard, 0037, 0081-83, 0087 e.g. see titanium dioxide)
Claim 12.
Gamroth, as modified by Worrliow, teaches the system in accordance with claim 11, wherein the air purification module comprises a plurality of treatment zones, wherein each treatment zone includes two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs and at least one PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel (Worrilow, Figures 3-4)
Claim 13.
The system in accordance with claim 12, wherein the air purification module comprises three or four treatment zones (Worrilow, Figures 3-4 e.g. see zone three to four corresponding to regions associated with elements 16, 18, 30 38, 46, 50, 52, and 54)
Claim 14.
Gamrtoh, as modified by Worrilow, teaches the system in accordance with claim 13, wherein the air purification module comprises two, three, four, or six air purification modules (Figures 3-4 e.g. see each module corresponding to elements 16, 18, 22, 30, 38, 46, 48, 52)
Claim 17. The system in accordance with claim 16, wherein PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel comprises a reactive metal oxide, supra claim 10
Claim 18. The system in accordance with claim 17 wherein the reactive metal oxide comprises titanium dioxide or zinc oxide, supra claim 11
Claim 19. The system in accordance with claim 18, wherein the air purification module comprises a plurality of treatment zones, wherein each treatment zone includes two or more UVC Germicidal Lamps and/or series of UVC LEDs and at least one PCO-cell (photocatalytic oxidation) panel, supra claim 12
Claim 20. The system in accordance with claim 19, wherein the air purification module comprises three or four treatment zones, supra claim 13
Claims 17-20 are rejected under the same combination of prior art and rationale set forth in claims 10-14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15, but for the double patenting rejections, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20180293864 – system and method for monitoring building sensor data
20210356153 -flexible modes of operation responsive to air quality
Air filter configuration with multiple layers
20180126028
20060150818
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117