DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12, which depends on claim 11, recites: “wherein length of each of the plurality of left tracks and a plurality of right tracks”. Claim 11 recites: “wherein the cleaning plate comprises: a plurality of left tracks and a plurality of right tracks”. It is unclear if the “a plurality of right tracks” is the same track introduced in claim 11. For examination purposes, the both recited plurality of right tracks have been construed as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ROE (US 20240164614 A1).
Referring to claim 1: ROE discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising:
a handle (12) defining a top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted below) and a bottom end (bottom end opposite end to TE Fig. 1-A inserted below);
a first and a second support member (50), each defining a proximal end (PE Fig. 1-A inserted below) and a distal end (DE Fig. 1-A inserted below), and each of the first and the second support members (50) being coupled with the handle (12) near the top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the handle (12), via a connector (CN Fig. 1-A inserted below) ,
wherein the connector (CN Fig. 1-A inserted below) is rotatably coupled (via HA Fig. 1-A inserted below) with the handle (12) and is configured to rotate relative to the handle about a horizontal axis (HA Fig. 1-A inserted below), and
wherein each of first and the second support members (50) is rotatably coupled with the connector (CN Fig. 1-A inserted below) via the respective proximal end (PE Fig. 1-A inserted below), and is configured to rotate about a respective vertical axis (VA Fig. 1-A inserted below) perpendicular to the horizontal axis (HA Fig. 1-A inserted below), as a result of which, a distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the first and the second support members (50) is variable (shown in Figs. 5 and 6); and
a cleaning plate (20) configured to be attached to each of first and the second support members (50), via the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the first and the second support members (50).
Referring to claim 6: ROE discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 further comprising: a second biasing member (22) engaged (engaged via 26) with one of the first and the second support members (50) on one end thereof and with the connector (CN Fig. 1-A inserted above) on another end thereof, wherein the second biasing member (22) is to bias the first and the second support members (50) in one of a closed configuration (shown in Fig. 5 and 6) and open configuration (shown in Fig. 3),
wherein, in the closed configuration (shown in Fig. 5 and 6), the distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first and the second support members (50) is a minimum possible distance, and
wherein, in the open configuration (shown in Fig. 3), the distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first and the second support members (50) is a maximum possible distance.
Referring to claim 17: ROE discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising:
a handle (12) defining a top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above) and a bottom end (bottom end opposite end to TE Fig. 1-A inserted above);
a first and a second support member (50), each defining a proximal end (PE Fig. 1-A inserted above) and a distal end (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above), and each of the first and the second support members (50) being coupled with the handle (12) near the top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the handle, via a connector (CN Fig. 1-A inserted above),
wherein the connector (CN Fig. 1-A inserted above) is adjustably coupled with the handle (12) and is configured to be adjusted relative to the handle (12), and
wherein each of first and the second support members (50) is adjustably coupled with the connector via the respective proximal end (PE Fig. 1-A inserted above), and is configured to adjust, as a result of which, a distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first and the second support members (50) is variable (shown in Figs. 3, 5, and 6); and
a cleaning plate (20) configured to be attached to each of first and the second support members (50), via the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first and the second support members (50).
Claims 1, 7, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Specht (US 6854149 B1).
Referring to claim 1: Specht discloses a cleaning apparatus (20 Fig. 1) comprising:
a handle (21) defining a top end (closest to 50) and a bottom end (end of 29 Fig. 1);
a first and a second support member (left and right 106 Fig. 8), each defining a proximal end (PE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted below) and a distal end (DE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted below), and each of the first and the second support members (106 Fig. 8) being coupled with the handle (21) near the top end (closest to 50) of the handle (21), via a connector (50/68),
wherein the connector (50/68 Fig. 1) is rotatably coupled with the handle (21) and is configured to rotate relative to the handle about a horizontal axis (axis of 79), and
wherein each of first and the second support members (106 Fig. 8) is rotatably coupled with the connector (50/68 Fig. 1) via the respective proximal end (PE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted below), and is configured to rotate about a respective vertical axis (32 Fig. 4/ 107 Fig. 8) perpendicular to the horizontal axis (axis of 79), as a result of which, a distance between the distal ends (DE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the first and the second support members (106 Fig. 8) is variable (shown in Figs. 5 and 6); and
a cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8) configured to be attached to each of first and the second support members (106 Fig. 8), via the distal ends (DE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the first and the second support members (106 Fig. 8).
Referring to claim 7: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first and the second support members (left and right 106 Fig. 8) comprises a first support stopper and a second support stopper (76 and 77 Figs. 5 and 6/ 120 Fig. 9; “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 9, the removable rivet 120 comprises a rivet portion 121 and an inner plug portion 123” Col. 5, lines 41-43), respectively, on inner side thereof (shown in Figs. 5 and 6), wherein each of the first and the second support stopper (120 Fig. 9) has a sliding profile (shown in Fig. 9),
wherein the cleaning apparatus further comprises a support limiter (58 and 59 Figs. 5 and 6) configured to slidably engage (shown in Fig. 6) with the first and the second support stopper (120 Fig. 9),
wherein, when engaged with both the first and the second support stopper (120 Fig. 9), the support limiter (58 and 59 Figs. 5 and 6) is to lock the first and the second support members (left and right 106 Fig. 8) in the closed configuration (closed configuration shown in Fig. 6).
Referring to claim 11: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8) comprises: a plurality of left tracks and a plurality of right tracks (left and right 109 Fig. 8) positioned along a longitudinal length (shown in Fig. 8) of the cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8) and on a rear side (shown in Fig. 8) of the cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8),
wherein the first support member (left 106 Fig. 8) comprises a first carriage (131 Fig. 10) rotatably coupled (“threaded” Col. 5, lines 57-65) to the distal end (DE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the first support member (left 106 Fig. 8), and the second support member (right 106 Fig. 8) comprises a second carriage (132 Fig. 10) rotatably coupled to the distal end (DE-2 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the second support member (right 106 Fig. 8), and
wherein the cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8) is configured to be attached to the first and second support members (left and right 106 Fig. 8) by engaging one of the plurality of left tracks (109) with the first carriage (131) and engaging one of the plurality of right tracks (109) with the second carriage (133).
Referring to claim 12: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 11, wherein length of each of the plurality of left tracks and a plurality of right tracks (left and right 109 Fig. 8) is greater than length of the first carriage (131) and the second carriage (133).
Referring to claim 13: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 11, wherein the cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8) comprises:
a proximal carriage barrier (135/136 Fig. 8) positioned in the middle of the longitudinal length of cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8), wherein the proximal carriage barrier (135/136 Fig. 8) is configured to provide a stopping point for the first carriage (131) and the second carriage (133), when the first and the second support members (left and right 106 Fig. 8) are in the closed configuration (closed configuration shown in Fig. 6).
Referring to claim 14: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 11, wherein the cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8) further comprises:
a left distal carriage barrier (110 Fig. 8) positioned towards the left extreme end (shown in Fig. 8) of the longitudinal length of cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8), and a right distal carriage barrier (111 Fig. 8) positioned towards the right extreme end (shown in Fig. 8) of the longitudinal length of cleaning plate (104 Fig. 8),
wherein the left distal carriage barrier and the right distal carriage barrier (110 and 111 Fig. 8) are configured to provide a stopping point for the first carriage (131) and the second carriage (133), respectively, when the first and the second support members (left and right 106 Fig. 8) are in the open configuration (open configuration shown in Figs. 4 and 5).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SOUTHALL (US 20210228054 A1).
Referring to claim 1: SOUTHALL discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising:
a handle (11) defining a top end (37) and a bottom end;
a first and a second support member (14), each defining a proximal end (PE Fig. 3-A inserted below) and a distal end (DE Fig. 3-A inserted below), and each of the first and the second support members (14) being coupled with the handle (11) near the top end (37) of the handle (12), via a connector (20) ,
wherein the connector (20) is rotatably coupled with the handle (11) and is configured to rotate relative to the handle about a horizontal axis (axis of 23 Fig. 2B), and
wherein each of first and the second support members (14) is rotatably coupled with the connector (20) via the respective proximal end (PE Fig. 3-A inserted below), and is configured to rotate about a respective vertical axis (axis of 15 Fig. 1A) perpendicular to the horizontal axis (axis of 23 Fig. 2B), as a result of which, a distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the first and the second support members (14) is variable (shown in Figs. 1A and 2C); and
a cleaning plate (17) configured to be attached to each of first and the second support members (14), via the distal ends (DE Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the first and the second support members (14).
Referring to claim 3: SOUTHALL discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a locking mechanism (25 and 26) for locking the rotation of the connector (20) relative to the handle (11) about the horizontal axis (axis of 23 Fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROE (US 20240164614 A1).
Referring to claim 10: ROE discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cleaning plate (20) possesses out-of-plane flexibility (shown in Figs. 5 and 6) enabling the cleaning plate to be configured in a convex curvature (shown in Fig. 5) and a concave curvature (shown in Fig. 6),
wherein the cleaning plate (20) is configured in the concave curvature (shown in Fig. 6) when the distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first and the second support members (50) is a predefined distance (shown in Fig. 6),
wherein the cleaning plate (20) is configured in the convex curvature (shown in Fig. 5) when the distance between the distal ends (DE Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the first and the second support members (50) is the predefined distance (shown in Fig. 5).
But is silent on wherein the cleaning plate is configured in the concave curvature when the distance between the distal ends of the first and the second support members is specifically more than a minimum predefined distance; and
wherein the cleaning plate is configured in the convex curvature when the distance between the distal ends of the first and the second support members is specifically less than the minimum predefined distance.
Per MPEP 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: the concave curvature being more than a minimum predefined distance; the concave curvature being less than a minimum predefined distance; or the concave curvature being equal to a minimum predefined distance; and the convex curvature being less than the minimum predefined distance; the convex curvature being more than the minimum predefined distance; or the convex curvature being equal to the minimum predefined distance; further, the prior art teaches the convex and concave curvature appearing to be equal.
Therefore, modifying the cleaning apparatus of ROE to have the concave curvature being more than a minimum predefined distance and the convex curvature being less than the minimum predefined distance, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the cleaning apparatus of ROE with reasonable expectations of success.
Since the specification does not provide criticality towards either predefined distance, it would have been obvious to have modified the cleaning apparatus of ROE by to have the concave curvature being more than a minimum predefined distance and the convex curvature being less than the minimum predefined distance for the purpose of having a shape which adequately fits with a circular object to be cleaned.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Specht (US 6854149 B1) and Ali (US 9220390 B2).
Referring to claim 15: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the handle comprises a housing for receiving a cartridge containing a cleaning solution, wherein the cartridge is configured to be operated for sparing a dosage of cleaning solution for assisting in cleaning action to be performed using the cleaning plate.
Ali in an analogous cleaning apparatus teaches wherein the handle (4 Fig. 5) comprises a housing (54 Fig. 5) for receiving a cartridge (70 Fig. 6) containing a cleaning solution (“the handle can receive a cassette filled with cleaning fluids” Col. 3, lines 34-35), wherein the cartridge is configured to be operated for sparing a dosage of cleaning solution for assisting in cleaning action to be performed using the similar configuration cleaning plate (10 Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Specht with the cleaning cartridge configuration as taught by Ali for the purpose of maximizing the cleaning capabilities and simplifying the overall process for the user.
Referring to claim 16: Specht as modified teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 15, but is silent on wherein the handle comprises a top module and a bottom module, wherein the top module is detachably attached to the bottom module, wherein the bottom module defines the housing for receiving the cartridge, and wherein the top module is coupled to the cleaning plate.
Ali in an analogous cleaning apparatus teaches wherein the similar configuration handle (4 Fig. 5) comprises a top module (module of 18, 20, 22 Figs. 1, 4a, and 5) and a bottom module (housing of 4 which accommodates 70 shown in Fig. 5), wherein the top module (module of 18, 20, 22 Figs. 1, 4a, and 5) is detachably attached (“the clips 20 can easily be removed from the holes 22 to detach the cleaning pad 10 from the device 2 and to enable a new cleaning pad 10 to be clipped into position.” Col. 4, lines 64-66) to the bottom module (housing of 4 which accommodates 70 shown in Fig. 5), wherein the bottom module defines the housing for receiving the cartridge (70 Fig. 6), and wherein the top module is coupled to the similar configuration cleaning plate (10/10a Figs. 4 and 4a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Specht as modified with the module configuration as taught by Ali for the purpose of having an alternate manner of arranging the cleaning solution and cleaning plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5, 8, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the most relevant art is ROE (US 20240164614 A1), Specht (US 6854149 B1), and SOUTHALL (US 20210228054 A1).
Regarding claim 2: ROE discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 1, however, ROE alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious wherein each of first and the second support members specifically comprises a plurality of gear teeth, wherein the plurality of gear teeth of the first support member are meshed with the plurality of gear teeth of the second support member, as a result of which, rotation of one of the first and second support member causes an equal and opposite rotation of the other of the first and second support member.
Such a reconstruction would be extensive and there is no motivation to do so. Thus, one would only arrive at the claimed invention by using improper hindsight reasoning knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant’s disclosure, and such a reconstruction would be improper.
Therefore claim 2 would be allowable.
Regarding claim 4: SOUTHALL discloses cleaning apparatus of claim 3, however, SOUTHALL alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious wherein the locking mechanism specifically comprises:
one of a female locking structure and a male locking structure associated with the connector;
and the other of the female locking structure and the male locking structure associated with the handle,
wherein the connector is specifically configured to move linearly towards the handle to engage the female locking structure and male locking structure, to thereby lock the rotation of the connector relative to the handle, and
wherein the connector is specifically further configured to move linearly away from the handle to disengage the female locking structure and male locking structure, to thereby unlock and enable the rotation of the connector relative to the handle.
Therefore claim 4 would be allowable.
Claim 5 would also be allowable based on its dependency to claim 4.
Regarding claim 8: Specht discloses the cleaning apparatus of claim 7, however, Specht alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious wherein one of the first support stopper and the second support stopper is specifically of a longer length than the other of the first support stopper and the second support stopper,
wherein the support limiter is specifically permanently engaged with one of the first support stopper and the second support stopper having the longer length, and is engaged with the other of the first support stopper and the second support stopper when the first and the second support members are in the closed configuration, by sliding the support limiter over an overlapped length between the first and the second support stopper.
Such a reconstruction would be extensive and there is no motivation to do so. Thus, one would only arrive at the claimed invention by using improper hindsight reasoning knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant’s disclosure, and such a reconstruction would be improper.
Therefore claim 8 would be allowable.
Claim 9 would also be allowable based on its dependency to claim 8.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723