DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed 09/04/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13, 33, and 41 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, it appears that “a primary switch” (line 3) should be “the primary switch”.
Re claim 13, it appears that “a primary switch” (line 3) should be “the primary switch”.
Re claim 33, it appears that “a secondary winding” (line 3) should be “the secondary winding”.
Re claim 41, it appears that “a secondary winding” (line 3) should be “the secondary winding”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 13, 14, 24, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (“Zheng”, US 2020/0403521).
Re claim 1, Zheng teaches a method [Fig 2] of dynamically switching during a switching cycle of a primary switch in a power converter [Fig 2], the method comprising: closing a primary switch [M1]; measuring a charge time [ton] while the primary switch is on; opening the primary switch; closing a secondary switch [SR]; measuring a discharge time [transformer reset time] while the secondary switch is on [paragraph 17, “When the power switch transistor M1 switches off, auxiliary switch controller 105 switches on the SR switch transistor so that the secondary current can flow from its peak to zero during a discontinuous conduction mode of operation. The delay from the switching off of the power switch transistor M1 to when the secondary winding current reaches zero is known as the transformer reset time (trst)”]; opening the secondary switch; determining an idle ring period [tring, paragraph 21]; calculating a hold duration in relation to the charge time [ton], the discharge time [trst], and the idle ring period [tring]; and closing the secondary switch for the hold duration [paragraph 16, “An auxiliary switch controller 105 dynamically controls the on-time period for active clamp transistor M2 responsive to the on-time (ton) period for power switch transistor M1, the transformer reset time (trst), and the period (tring) for the resonant oscillation of the drain voltage LX.”].
Re claim 2, Zheng teaches wherein the secondary switch is a synchronous rectifier [paragraph 17].
Re claim 5, Zheng teaches wherein the power converter is a flyback converter [paragraph 17].
Re claim 13, Zheng teaches a method [Fig 2] of dynamically switching during a switching cycle of a primary switch in a power converter, the method comprising: closing a primary switch [M1]; measuring a charge time [ton] while the primary switch is on [paragraph 17]; opening the primary switch [paragraph 17]; measuring a discharge time [transformer reset time] of current flowing in a secondary winding; determining an idle ring period [tring, paragraph 21]; calculating a hold duration in relation to the charge time [ton], the discharge time [trst], and the idle ring period [tring]; and closing a secondary switch for the hold duration [paragraph 16].
Re claim 14, Zheng teaches wherein the secondary switch is a synchronous rectifier [paragraph 17].
Re claim 24, Zheng teaches a flyback converter [Fig 2] comprising: an energy transfer element [T] comprising a primary winding configured to receive energy from a first power supply [Cin] and a secondary winding; a primary switch [M1] electrically coupled to the primary winding and configured to conduct during a charge time [ton] of a switching cycle; a secondary switch [SR] electrically coupled to the secondary winding and configured to close for a discharge time [trst] of the switching cycle and subsequently for a hold duration; and a secondary controller [105] comprising a zero voltage switching (ZVS) calculator configured to calculate the hold duration based, at least in part, upon an idle ring period [tring], the charge time, and the discharge time [paragraph 16].
Re claim 34, Zheng teaches a flyback converter comprising: an energy transfer element [T] comprising a primary winding configured to receive energy from a first power supply [Cin] and a secondary winding; a primary switch [M1] electrically coupled to the primary winding and configured to conduct during a charge time [ton] of a switching cycle; wherein the secondary winding is configured to conduct charge during a discharge time [trst] of the switching cycle; a secondary switch [SR] electrically coupled to the secondary winding and configured to close for a hold duration; and a secondary controller [105] comprising a zero voltage switching (ZVS) calculator configured to calculate the hold duration based, at least in part, upon an idle ring period [tring], the charge time, and the discharge time [paragraph 16].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 8, 15, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Zhang et al. (“Zhang”, US 2022/0385194).
Re claim 3, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the secondary switch is an auxiliary N-channel field effect transistor (NFET).
Zhang teaches a device [Fig 4] having a secondary switch as an auxiliary N-channel field effect transistor (NFET) [paragraph 33]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Zhang because it is used various applications due to their superior conduction properties, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 7, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach determining an open ring duration in relation to the idle ring period; and completing the switching cycle after the open ring duration.
Zhang teaches [Fig 6] determining an open ring duration [between T5-T6] in relation to the idle ring period [between T4-T-T1]; and completing the switching cycle after the open ring duration [switching cycle completes after T6]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Zhang because it is used to effectively bring the voltage down to zero volts, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 8, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the open ring duration is substantially equal to one fourth of the idle ring period.
Zhang teaches [Fig 6] wherein the open ring duration is substantially equal to one fourth of the idle ring period [T5-T6 is a fourth of the ring period, as shown in Fig 6]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Zhang because it is used to effectively bring the voltage down to zero volts, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 15, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the secondary switch is an auxiliary N-channel field effect transistor (NFET).
Zhang teaches a device [Fig 4] having a secondary switch as an auxiliary N-channel field effect transistor (NFET) [paragraph 33]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Zhang because it is used various applications due to their superior conduction properties, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 18, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach determining an open ring duration in relation to the idle ring period; and completing the switching cycle after the open ring duration.
Zhang teaches [Fig 6] determining an open ring duration [between T5-T6] in relation to the idle ring period [between T4-T-T1]; and completing the switching cycle after the open ring duration [switching cycle completes after T6]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Zhang because it is used to effectively bring the voltage down to zero volts, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 19, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the open ring duration is substantially equal to one fourth of the idle ring period.
Zhang teaches [Fig 6] wherein the open ring duration is substantially equal to one fourth of the idle ring period [T5-T6 is a fourth of the ring period, as shown in Fig 6]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Zhang because it is used to effectively bring the voltage down to zero volts, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claims 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Li et al. (“Li”, US 2019/0044449).
Re claim 4, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the secondary switch is an auxiliary bipolar junction transistor (BJT).
Li teaches a device [Fig 2] wherein the secondary switch [106] is an auxiliary bipolar junction transistor (BJT) [paragraph 61]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Li because it is used as an obvious design switching choice, thus improving the quality of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 16, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the secondary switch is an auxiliary bipolar junction transistor (BJT).
Li teaches a device [Fig 2] wherein the secondary switch [106] is an auxiliary bipolar junction transistor (BJT) [paragraph 61]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Li because it is used as an obvious design switching choice, thus improving the quality of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claims 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Kang et al. (“Kang”, US 2024/0088792).
Re claim 6, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach determining the idle ring period using a comparator.
Kang teaches a device [Fig 3] that determines an idle ring period using a comparator [2241, paragraph 139]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Kang because it is used as a desired form of power control using simple components, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 17, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach determining the idle ring period using a comparator.
Kang teaches a device [Fig 3] that determines an idle ring period using a comparator [2241, paragraph 139]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Kang because it is used as a desired form of power control using simple components, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claims 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Ahmed et al. (“Ahmed”, US 2024/0283352).
Re claim 9, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein closing the primary switch comprises: closing the primary switch in response to a signal sent from a secondary controller to a primary controller.
Ahmed teaches a device [Fig 1] wherein closing the primary switch comprises: closing the primary switch in response to a signal sent from a secondary controller to a primary controller [paragraphs 31-32]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Ahmed because it is used as a means to produce a variable switching frequency at zero volts, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 20, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein closing the primary switch comprises: closing the primary switch in response to a signal sent from a secondary controller to a primary controller.
Ahmed teaches a device [Fig 1] wherein closing the primary switch comprises: closing the primary switch in response to a signal sent from a secondary controller to a primary controller [paragraphs 31-32]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Ahmed because it is used as a means to produce a variable switching frequency at zero volts, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claims 25 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Chen et al. (“Chen”, US 2022/0006392).
Re claim 25, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the idle ring period depends, at least in part, upon a primary capacitance and a primary inductance.
Chen teaches a device [Fig 4] wherein the idle ring period [resonance waveform] depends, at least in part, upon a primary capacitance and a primary inductance [paragraph 11]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Chen because it is used as a desired form of power control, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 35, Zheng teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the idle ring period depends, at least in part, upon a primary capacitance and a primary inductance.
Chen teaches a device [Fig 4] wherein the idle ring period [resonance waveform] depends, at least in part, upon a primary capacitance and a primary inductance [paragraph 11]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zheng to include the features of Chen because it is used as a desired form of power control, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, 21-23, 26-33, and 36-41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or disclose:
Re claim 10 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “measuring the charge time using a charge timer; and initiating the charge timer in response to the signal sent from the secondary controller to the primary controller” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 11 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein measuring the discharge time while the secondary switch is on comprises: measuring the discharge time using a discharge timer” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 12 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein calculating the hold duration in relation to the charge time, the discharge time, and the idle ring period further comprises: calculating the hold duration in relation to a moving average of a ratio of the discharge time and the charge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 21 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “measuring the charge time using a charge timer; and initiating the charge timer in response to the signal sent from the secondary controller to the primary controller” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 22 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein measuring the discharge time comprises: measuring the discharge time using a discharge timer” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 23 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein calculating the hold duration in relation to the charge time, the discharge time, and the idle ring period further comprises: calculating the hold duration in relation to a moving average of a ratio of the discharge time and the charge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 26 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein ZVS calculator is configured to calculate the hold duration based upon a ratio of the discharge time to the charge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 27 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein the ZVS calculator is configured to calculate the hold duration based upon a moving average of a ratio of the discharge time and the charge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 28 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein the secondary controller comprises: a charge timer configured to measure the charge time; and a discharge timer configured to measure the discharge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 36 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein ZVS calculator is configured to calculate the hold duration based upon a ratio of the discharge time to the charge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 37 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “wherein the ZVS calculator is configured to calculate the hold duration based upon a moving average of a ratio of the discharge time and the charge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 38 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “, wherein the secondary controller comprises: a charge timer configured to measure the charge time; and a discharge timer configured to measure the discharge time” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838