DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in this office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims
Place holders
Functions
1
a display
display
1
communicating device
connect
1
a user port
receive
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9 and 10-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al US20210326145A1 in view of Zhang et al US20140333633A1.
With respect to claim 1, Wu discloses a display apparatus, comprising:
a display, configured to display an image from broadcast system or network and/or a user interface:
This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the display 260, with the algorithm described in the specification [0062-00640(the algorithm to output images or video)) that causes the processor to display the image .
Wu discloses a display (2204 of fig. 22)that the processor used to output the video content received to the user by the processor 2201 of fig 22
Examiner interpretation:
[0064]“The terminal may obtain, according to the obtained application video stream, the application screens generated when the first client runs the target application, and the application screens are displayed in the terminal”;
a communicating device, configured to connect with the network and a control device:
[0045] “ During running of the application program A, the terminal 120 may interact with the server 110 by using a communication network to send or receive information about interaction that needs to be performed in the application program A and the like.”;
Examiner interpretation:
This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the device 220 of fig. 3, with the algorithm described in the specification [0054](the algorithm that causes the processor to communicate with server in fig. 3
Wu discloses a communication device to cause the processor of fig. 23 to communicate with the server such as RF circuitry 2204 of fig. 22.
and a user port, configured to receive an input signal:
This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the component 280 of fig. 3, with the algorithm described in the specification [0051](the algorithm that causes the processor to communicate with server in fig. 3 receive user input).
Wu discloses an input device 2309 of fig. 3 that cause the processor to receive input from a user.
[0170] The basic I/O system 2306 includes a display 2308 configured to display information and an input device 2309 such as a mouse or a keyboard that is configured for information inputting by a user. The display 2308 and the input device 2309 are both connected to the CPU 2301 by using an I/O controller 2310 connected to the system bus 2305”;
at least one processor connected with the display and the user port, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute instructions to cause the display apparatus:
[0170] “The basic I/O system 2306 includes a display 2308 configured to display information and an input device 2309 such as a mouse or a keyboard that is configured for information inputting by a user. The display 2308 and the input device 2309 are both connected to the CPU 2301 by using an I/O controller 2310 connected to the system bus 2305”;
to: detect a current state of the display apparatus in response to receiving a first instruction comprising a specific key value; perform an operation corresponding to the first instruction according to the current state:
[0167]“In an embodiment, when the proximity sensor 2216 detects that the distance between the front face of the user and the front face of the computer device 2200 is gradually decreased, the processor 2201 controls the touch display screen 2205 to switch from a screen-on state to a screen-off state. When the proximity sensor 2216 detects that the distance between the front face of the user and the front face of the computer device 2200 is gradually increased, the processor 2201 controls the touch display screen 2205 to switch from the screen-off state to the screen-on state”.
wherein while the display apparatus is in a first standby state,:
[0151] “The coprocessor is a low power consumption processor configured to process the data in a standby state.
the at least one processor is further configured to execute instructions to cause the display apparatus to: power on the display:
[0167] “When the proximity sensor 2216 detects that the distance between the front face of the user and the front face of the computer device 2200 is gradually increased, the processor 2201 controls the touch display screen 2205 to switch from the screen-off state to the screen-on state.”;
determine whether a target application corresponding to the specific key value has been installed; based on that the target application has not been installed, control the display, to display query information, wherein the query information comprises an installation control;
[0071] “A game entry selected by a user is a game 2, a game client corresponding to the game 2 has not been installed on the terminal, and the startup control 701 for starting a game may be displayed as “Download game”, to prompt the user to download a game by triggering the startup control.”;
and in response to receiving a second instruction for selecting the installation control, download and install the target application;
[0071] “In one embodiment, in FIG. 7, the game entry selected by the user is the game 2, if a latest version of the game client corresponding to the game 2 has not been installed on the terminal, the startup control 701 for starting a game may be displayed as “Update game”, to prompt the user to update the game 2 by triggering the startup control.”;
based on that the target application has been installed:
[0071]“For example, in FIG. 6, the game entry selected by the user is a game 1, a game client corresponding to the game 1 has been installed on the terminal, and the startup control 601 for starting a game is displayed as “Start game”, to prompt the user to start a game by triggering the startup control”;
But not explicitly:
determine whether the target application is running in foreground, and based on that the target application is not running in the foreground, launch the target application.
Zhang discloses:
determine whether the target application is running in foreground, and based on that the target application is not running in the foreground, launch the target application.
[0027]”In an example where video priority is based on the active or foreground status of a browser tab, the second video 312 in the second browser tab 310 will have a higher priority than the first video 304 in the first browser tab 302 when the second browser tab 310 is in front of, or more recently selected, than the first browser tab 302. The selection of the first browser tab 302 by a user may reverse the priority of the videos by causing the first video 304 to be in a foreground status and potentially preempting the user of hardware resources in use by second video 312.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into teachings of Wu to include a dedicated hardware engine, for example a graphics processing unit (GPU), that may accelerate the video decoding and color space conversion processing during video processing. And furthermore, to meet the requirements necessary to properly render and decode a high-quality video stream at a rate that is fast enough to properly display multiple videos [Zhang 0016].
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
obtain a first application list in the display apparatus,
[0070] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic interface diagram of an application startup management interface 600 corresponding to a game application program according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, the application startup management interface 600 includes a startup control 601 corresponding to at least one game application and a game entry 602 corresponding to at least one game application program.
wherein the first application list comprises at least one first application that has been launched in the display apparatus:
[0070]“A user may select any game entry in the game entry 602 by clicking or tapping the game entry, and the user may perform a series of management operations on the selected game entry in the application startup management interface 600.”;
But not explicitly:
and first applications in the first application list are arranged in reverse order of use;
determine whether a first application at a top of the first application list is the same as the target application:
based on that the first application is the same as the target application, determine that the target application is running in the foreground:
based on that the first application is different from the target application, determine that the target application is not running in the foreground:
Zhang discloses:
and first applications in the first application list are arranged in reverse order of use:
[0035]”In the illustration depicted in FIG. 4 an attribute indicating that a video is in the top-most foreground window or a maximized display area is assigned the highest priority. The next highest priority attribute would include a video that is in a foreground display area and is unobscured. A visible window that is not maximized or a foreground window, but is fully visible (unobscured) is the next highest priority level. As illustrated in FIG. 4, a partially visible video that includes an attribute indicating that the video is not in the foreground display area may be assigned a priority that is lower than foreground videos, but is also higher than any video that is not visible to the user”;
determine whether a first application at a top of the first application list is the same as the target application:
[0042] “When a resource request originates from a window that is either the foreground window (as determined at the foreground check operation 502) or contains a visible video player (as determined at visibility check operation 504) an availability check is performed at operation 514”;
based on that the first application is the same as the target application, determine that the target application is running in the foreground:
[0042] “The availability check operation 514 may be performed by a resource allocation module in the PMU. If the requested resource is in use, at operation 516 the PMU may determine if the new request is from a requester that has a higher priority than the current user of the resource.”;
based on that the first application is different from the target application, determine that the target application is not running in the foreground:
[0042] “At operation 518, the PMU may notify the requester that the resource is unavailable. At operation 520, the request may be placed in a queue or other memory structure to wait for the resource to become available.”;
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into teachings of Wu to include a dedicated hardware engine, for example a graphics processing unit (GPU), that may accelerate the video decoding and color space conversion processing during video processing. And furthermore, to meet the requirements necessary to properly render and decode a high-quality video stream at a rate that is fast enough to properly display multiple videos [Zhang 0016].
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
while the display apparatus is in a powered-on state, determine whether the target application corresponding to the specific key value has been installed; based on that the target application has not been installed, control the display, to display query information, wherein the query information comprises the installation control, and in response to receiving the second instruction for selecting the installation control, download and install the target application
[0082] For example, when the client of the target application has not been installed on the terminal, the first prompt interface is displayed. FIG. 9 is a schematic interface diagram of a first prompt interface 900 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 9, the first prompt interface 900 includes a confirmation control 901 and a cancel control 902. In one embodiment, the first prompt interface 900 further includes prompt information 903 for prompting a user to choose whether to run a first client by using the server (e.g., while waiting for the download to complete).
[0071] “ As shown in FIG. 7, the application startup management interface 700 includes a startup control 701 corresponding to at least one game application and a game entry 702 corresponding to at least one game application program. A game entry selected by a user is a game 2, a game client corresponding to the game 2 has not been installed on the terminal, and the startup control 701 for starting a game may be displayed as “Download game”, to prompt the user to download a game by triggering the startup control”;
But not explicitly:
based on that the target application has been installed, determine whether the target application is running in the foreground, and based on that the target application is not running in the foreground, launch the target application.
Zhang discloses:
based on that the target application has been installed, determine whether the target application is running in the foreground, and based on that the target application is not running in the foreground, launch the target application.
[0043] If, at operation 516, the PMU determines that the requester has a priority higher than the existing user, then at operation 522 the PMU may notify the existing user and preempt the use of the resource. At operation 524, the PMU may wait for the current resource user to store its current state and release the resource to the PMU. At operation 526, the PMU may grant the use of a requested resource to the requester”;
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into teachings of Wu to include a dedicated hardware engine, for example a graphics processing unit (GPU), that may accelerate the video decoding and color space conversion processing during video processing. And furthermore, to meet the requirements necessary to properly render and decode a high-quality video stream at a rate that is fast enough to properly display multiple videos [Zhang 0016].
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute instructions to cause the display apparatus to:
while the current state is a powered-off state, start a power on process;
[0167] “When the proximity sensor 2216 detects that the distance between the front face of the user and the front face of the computer device 2200 is gradually increased, the processor 2201 controls the touch display screen 2205 to switch from the screen-off state to the screen-on state.”;
determine whether the target application corresponding to the specific key value has been installed; based on that the target application has been installed, launch the target application:
[0070]”If a client for managing a game application program shown in FIG. 2 has been installed on the terminal, a user may open the client to display an application startup management interface in the terminal. FIG. 6 is a schematic interface diagram of an application startup management interface 600 corresponding to a game application program according to an embodiment of the present disclosure”;
based on that the target application has not been installed, control the display, to display query information, wherein the query information comprises the installation control; and in response to receiving the second instruction for selecting the installation control, download and install the target application:
[0050]”When an application program selected by the user has not been installed on the terminal, the startup control 201 may be displayed in the form of a download control. For example, FIG. 3 is a schematic interface diagram of an application startup management interface 300 relating to FIG. 2 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The interface 300 includes a download control 301. An application program 2 in the application program entry 202 shown in FIG. 2 has not been installed on the terminal, and when the user selects the application program 2, the terminal may display the interface shown in FIG. 3, and the download control 301 may prompt the user to download a client installation package of the application program. The user may control, by clicking or tapping the download control, the terminal to download the client installation package of the application program 2.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
wherein when the target application is configured to play audio and video data, one application player corresponds to at least one virtual channel:
[0097] “In one embodiment, when obtaining the second trigger signal, the terminal may invoke an application player program in the client for managing an application, open an application player, and display the obtained application video stream in the application player opened in the terminal, to display a first application interface of the target application in the terminal”;
for the target application corresponds to one virtual channel, playing parameters configured for the one virtual channel correspond to all categories of audio and video data provided by the target application, wherein the categories refer to content categories of the audio and video data:
[0093]“In one embodiment, when compressing and encoding each acquired frame of game screen, the server may perform compression according to a quality parameter set by the user in the application startup management interface. Referring to FIG. 7, the application startup management interface shown in FIG. 7 further includes an auxiliary setting control 703. The user may click or tap the auxiliary setting control 703 to enter a setting interface for setting the game 2. FIG. 12 is a schematic interface diagram of a setting interface 1200 relating to FIG. 7 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 12, the setting interface 1200 includes a definition option control 1201, a frame rate option control 1202, a resolution option control 1203, a Save control 1204, a Reset to Default control 1205, a cancel control 1206, or the like. The user may select a corresponding control to set quality of a screen generated when the terminal runs the game 2. For example, the user may select an option control for setting the definition to medium and click or tap the Save control. When the terminal runs the game 2, the definition of a game screen displayed in the terminal is the definition that is set this time.”;
But not explicitly:
for the target application corresponds to multiple virtual channels, playing parameters configured for each of the multiple virtual channels correspond to one category of audio and video data provided by the target application, wherein playing parameters configured for different virtual channels correspond to different categories of audio and video data.
Zhang discloses:
the target application corresponds to multiple virtual channels, playing parameters configured for each of the multiple virtual channels correspond to one category of audio and video data provided by the target application:
[0083]” and a page management unit configured to allocate the use of the hardware engine by each of a plurality of media players to execute on the video playback system and configured to utilize the hardware engine to present at least one video on a display screen, the allocation based on a predefined priority that includes an attribute of each of the media players.”
wherein playing parameters configured for different virtual channels correspond to different categories of audio and video data:
[0013] “In an example, a video acceleration system may manage the presentation of multiple videos with different or identical video protocols. For example, video formats such as QuickTime.RTM., Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG), or Audio Video Interleave (AVI) may all be managed with the appropriate media players or codecs in a single environment. One example environment is web browser equipped with an HTML5-compatible rendering engine”;
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into teachings of Wu to include a dedicated hardware engine, for example a graphics processing unit (GPU), that may accelerate the video decoding and color space conversion processing during video processing. And furthermore, to meet the requirements necessary to properly render and decode a high-quality video stream at a rate that is fast enough to properly display multiple videos [Zhang 0016].
Claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 18 are the method claim corresponding to system claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 9 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 9 above.
Claims 5-8 and 14-17 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al US20210326145A1 in view of Zhang et al US20140333633A1 and in further in view of Breslaw et al US20060085787A1.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
in response to receiving a third instruction for selecting a first application control, determine whether an application corresponding to the first application control that is selected is running in foreground:
[0042] “ At operation 510, the PMU may wait for new resource requests or status changes in resource use or priority adjustments that may affect the allocation of resources. When a resource request originates from a window that is either the foreground window (as determined at the foreground check operation 502) or contains a visible video player (as determined at visibility check operation 504) an availability check is performed at operation 514.”;
based on that the application corresponding to the first application control is not running in the foreground, launch the application corresponding to the first application control that is selected:
[0043] “ If, at operation 516, the PMU determines that the requester has a priority higher than the existing user, then at operation 522 the PMU may notify the existing user and preempt the use of the resource. At operation 524, the PMU may wait for the current resource user to store its current state and release the resource to the PMU. At operation 526, the PMU may grant the use of a requested resource to the requester”;
But not explicitly:
based on that the application corresponding to the first application control is running in the foreground, not repeatedly launch the application corresponding to the first application control.
Breslaw discloses:
based on that the application corresponding to the first application control is running in the foreground, not repeatedly launch the application corresponding to the first application control.
[0024] “FIG. 2, in an exemplary embodiment, illustrates a flow diagram depicting operations of the memory manager application 18 that provides a rapid response to a request to launch an application. At operation 20, a user requests that the system 2 launch an application. The test at operation 22 determines if the requested application is already open or not. If the application is already open and, thus in memory 4, the processor 12, executing operating system instructions, switches to the already open requested application at operation 24. Because the application is already open, the launch of the requested application appears to be instantaneous to the user”.
Examiner interpretation: using already opened application to avoid re-launching often used applications.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Breslaw into teachings of Wu and Zhang to avoid re-launching already used applications. Managing of resources allow high ranked application to be launched if sufficiently resource are available while lowest ranking application are shot down in case of stares resources [Breslaw 0011].
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and furthermore Wu does not explicitly disclose:
before receiving the third instruction for selecting the first application control, receive a fourth instruction for displaying a historical launched application list; and control the display to display the historical launched application list, wherein the historical launched application list comprises at least one first application control corresponding to an application that has been used before receiving the fourth instruction.
Breslaw discloses:
before receiving the third instruction for selecting the first application control, receive a fourth instruction for displaying a historical launched application list; and control the display to display the historical launched application list:
[0030]“Ranking the open applications may utilize the memory management file use counter field 44 and/or the last use date field 46. Either of the use counter field 44 and the last use date field 46 may be used first with the other being used to decide ties between applications. At operation 36, the lowest ranking application is identified. The lowest ranking application in general will have the lowest use counter and/or the longest elapsed time since the last use date in comparison to the current date as compared the other open applications. A person skilled in the art will readily recognize that there are many well-known methods for identifying the lowest ranking open application at operation 36. For purposes of illustration only, the open applications may be sorted in increasing order by their respective use counter extracted from the memory management file 40. Secondarily within each use counter 44 value, the open applications may be sorted in decreasing order of elapsed time since the last use date 46 for the requested application. The first application in the sorted list would then be the lowest ranking open application. At operation 38, the lowest usage ranking open application is closed”.
wherein the historical launched application list comprises at least one first application control corresponding to an application that has been used before receiving the fourth instruction.
[0024]” At operation 20, a user requests that the system 2 launch an application”;
[0030] “ At operation 36, the lowest ranking application is identified. The lowest ranking application in general will have the lowest use counter and/or the longest elapsed time since the last use date in comparison to the current date as compared the other open applications.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Breslaw into teachings of Wu and Zhang to avoid re-launching already used applications. Managing of resources allow high ranked application to be launched if sufficiently resource are available while lowest ranking application are shot down in case of stares resources [Breslaw 0011].
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
before receiving the third instruction for selecting the first application control, receive a fifth instruction for displaying a second application list; and control the display to display the second application list; wherein the second application list comprises at least one first application control corresponding to an application installed on the display apparatus.
[0070]”If a client for managing a game application program shown in FIG. 2 has been installed on the terminal, a user may open the client to display an application startup management interface in the terminal. FIG. 6 is a schematic interface diagram of an application startup management interface 600 corresponding to a game application program according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, the application startup management interface 600 includes a startup control 601 corresponding to at least one game application and a game entry 602 corresponding to at least one game application program”;
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and furthermore Wu discloses:
obtain a first application list in the display apparatus, wherein the first application list comprises at least one first application that has been launched in the display apparatus:
determine whether a first application which is ranked second in the first application list is the same as the application corresponding to the first application control :
[0070]”If a client for managing a game application program shown in FIG. 2 has been installed on the terminal, a user may open the client to display an application startup management interface in the terminal. …. As shown in FIG. 6, the application startup management interface 600 includes a startup control 601 corresponding to at least one game application and a game entry 602 corresponding to at least one game application program. A user may select any game entry in the game entry 602 by clicking or tapping the game entry, and the user may perform a series of management operations on the selected game entry in the application startup management interface 600”;
But not explicitly:
and first applications in the first application list are arranged in reverse order of use;
based on that the first application is the same as the application corresponding to the first application control,
determine that the application corresponding to the first application control is running in the foreground;
based on that the first application is different from the application corresponding to the first application control,
determine that the application corresponding to the first application control is not running in the foreground.
Zhang discloses:
and first applications in the first application list are arranged in reverse order of use:
[0035]”In the illustration depicted in FIG. 4 an attribute indicating that a video is in the top-most foreground window or a maximized display area is assigned the highest priority. The next highest priority attribute would include a video that is in a foreground display area and is unobscured. A visible window that is not maximized or a foreground window, but is fully visible (unobscured) is the next highest priority level. As illustrated in FIG. 4, a partially visible video that includes an attribute indicating that the video is not in the foreground display area may be assigned a priority that is lower than foreground videos, but is also higher than any video that is not visible to the user”;
based on that the first application is the same as the application corresponding to the first application control:
[0042] “When a resource request originates from a window that is either the foreground window (as determined at the foreground check operation 502) or contains a visible video player (as determined at visibility check operation 504) an availability check is performed at operation 514”;
determine that the application corresponding to the first application control is running in the foreground:
[0042] “The availability check operation 514 may be performed by a resource allocation module in the PMU. If the requested resource is in use, at operation 516 the PMU may determine if the new request is from a requester that has a higher priority than the current user of the resource.”;
based on that the first application is different from the application corresponding to the first application control, determine that the application corresponding to the first application control is not running in the foreground.
[0042] “If the requester does not have a greater priority level than the current user of the resource, the request is denied. At operation 518, the PMU may notify the requester that the resource is unavailable. At operation 520, the request may be placed in a queue or other memory structure to wait for the resource to become available.”;
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into teachings of Wu and Breslaw to include a dedicated hardware engine, for example a graphics processing unit (GPU), that may accelerate the video decoding and color space conversion processing during video processing. And furthermore, to meet the requirements necessary to properly render and decode a high-quality video stream at a rate that is fast enough to properly display multiple videos [Zhang 0016].
Claims 14, 15, 16, 17 are the method claim corresponding to system claims 5, 6, 7, 8 and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 5, 6, 7, 8 above.
Pertinent arts:
US20170085948A1:
Receiving a power-on signal; determining whether an application, which was executed at a power-off time point before the reception of the power-on signal, was an image output application; if it is determined that the application which was executed at the power-off time point was an image output application, loading and executing the image output application.
US20200329281A1:
displaying an image content in a content display area of a display in response to a first control instruction input by a user and used for displaying the image content; and calculating a layout location of at least one menu item in a menu display area of the display based on a setting language of the display device, where the at least one menu item is configured for the image content and used to perform functions required for the image content;
Conclusion
/BRAHIM BOURZIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2191
/WEI Y MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191