DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-15, 17, 20-25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gidvani et al. (US 2023/0044914 A1; hereinafter Gidvani).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Gidvani teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (¶ [0005] Transmitting by the Access Point Station (AP STA).),
comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (¶ [0047] Instructions stored in a non-transitory storage medium.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (¶ [0047] In processing circuit each function is performed by general-purpose hardware, such as a CPU, configured to execute instructions stored in a non-transitory storage medium.):
output a first frame (read as a beacon) comprising a plurality of fields (read as the fields/subfields of the follow-on beacon IE) (Fig. 1, element 105 beacon, element 110 follow-on beacon, element 115 follow-on beacon IE; ¶ [0013] transmit a second beacon indicating feature information.; ¶ [0036] An Information Element (IE) may be defined in the beacon (e.g., an IE referred to as a follow-on beacon IE (“FoB IE”)) which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon. The follow on beacon IE may also indicate the time interval (or “offset”), between the beacon that contains it, and the subsequently transmitted follow-on beacon. The follow-on beacon IE may also include indications of which features (or groups of features) the feature information in the follow-on beacon are relevant to. The follow-on beacon IE is considered part of the beacon. A “follow-on beacon” is a frame transmitted by an AP STA containing feature information that supplements feature information in a (previously or subsequently transmitted) beacon.),
wherein a first field (read as FoB IE) of the first frame indicates transmission information associated with one or more second frames (¶ [0036] FoB IE which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon and may also indicate the time interval (or “offset”), between the beacon that contains it, and the subsequently transmitted follow-on beacon. A non-AP STA may listen for, and receive the follow-on beacon.)
and a second field (read as the feature-information field(s) of the beacon) of the first frame contains a first set of parameters associated with the apparatus (¶ [0036] A follow-on beacon (“FoB”) to carry feature information to supplement the feature information of the beacon. “Feature information” is information transmitted by an AP STA for discovery and synchronization of features. For example, “feature information” may include a notification that the AP STA is turning on or off an antenna, or that the AP STA is supporting a feature such as multiple BSSID).); and
output the one or more second frames (¶ [0013] Access Point Station (AP STA) transmit a first follow-on beacon.),
wherein one of the one or more second frames (read as follow-on beacon) comprises at least one field (read as IE(s) in follow on beacon) containing a second set of parameters (read as feature information for new features) associated with the apparatus (¶ [0039] AP STAs may transmit feature information for new features in the follow-on beacon.; ¶ [0040] Non-AP STAs may parse the follow-on beacon IE and wait for the follow-on beacon to parse IEs related to new features.), and
wherein the first set of parameters are different from the second set of parameters (¶ [0039] AP STAs may continue to broadcast the feature information for currently existing features in the beacon and AP STAs may transmit feature information for new features in the follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Gidvani teaches wherein the transmission information (read as the FoB IE) associated with the one or more second frames indicates a presence of the one or more second frames or an absence of the one or more second frames (¶ [0036] An Information Element (IE) may be defined in the beacon (e.g., an IE referred to as a follow-on beacon (“FoB IE”)) which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Gidvani teaches wherein the presence of the one or more second frames indicates:
no request for the one or more second frames is required by the apparatus to output the one or more second frames (¶ [0036] An Information Element (IE) may be defined in the beacon which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon.; ¶ [0042] A non-AP STA may send, to the AP STA, an action frame requesting a follow-on beacon, and, in response, the AP STA may accelerate the transmission of the follow-on beacon, i.e., it may transmit the follow-on beacon earlier than it ordinarily would, in light of the periodicity in effect for follow-on beacons.); and
at least one of: a transmission time associated with the one or more second frames or a transmission periodicity associated with the one or more second frames (¶ [0036] An Information Element (IE) may be defined I the beacon which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon. The follow-on beacon IE may also indicate the time interval (or “offset”), between the beacon that contains it, and the subsequently transmitted follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Gidvani teaches wherein the absence of the one or more second frames indicates a request for the one or more second frames is required by the apparatus to output the one or more second frames (¶ [0042] No follow-on beacon is transmitted between a second beacon and the third beacon. In an embodiment in which the periodicity of the follow-on beacon is greater than the TBTT, a non-AP STA may send, to the AP STA, an action frame requesting a follow-on beacon, in response, the AP STA may accelerate the transmission of the follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Gidvani teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to obtain a request for the one or more second frames, and wherein the one or more second frames are outputted after obtaining the request (¶ [0009] Receiving by the AP STA, an action frame requesting a follow-on beacon; and sending, by the AP STA, in response to the receiving of the action frame, a follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claim 6, Gidvani teaches wherein:
the first frame is a first beacon frame (Fig. 7A, step 710 Transmitting by the AP STA, a second beacon, step 715 Transmitting by the AP STA, a follow-on beacon); ¶ [0045] The AP STA transmits, at 710, a second beacon.); and
each of the one or more second frames is a second beacon frame, a new frame, a beacon extension frame, a follow-up beacon frame, a probe response frame, a broadcast frame, an association response frame, a reassociation response frame, a link reconfiguration frame, or a link recommendation frame (¶ [0045] The AP-STA transmits, at 715, a follow-on beacon).
Regarding claim 7, Gidvani teaches wherein the one or more second frames are outputted within a first time period from outputting of the first frame (¶ [0037] The beacon may specify the time at which the follow-on beacon is transmitted. This offset may be the time interval between (i) the end of the beacon containing the follow-on beacon IE and (ii) the beginning of the follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claim 8, Gidvani teaches wherein the one or more second frames are outputted after a first time period from outputting of the first frame (¶ [0043] Each follow-on beacon may follow its beacon by an SIFS delay. A time of transmission that follows the end of the first beacon by one SIFS.).
Regarding claim 9, Gidvani teaches wherein:
the first frame is outputted by using a first set of one or more transmission parameters (read as data rate) comprising at least one of a first transmission periodicity, a first transmission data rate, a first bandwidth, or a first frame format (¶ [0035] The beacon may be sent at the lowest data rate.); and
the one or more second frames are outputted by using a second set of one or more transmission parameters comprising at least one of a second transmission periodicity, a second transmission data rate, a second bandwidth, or a second frame format (¶ [0042] The periodicity of the follow-on beacons is greater than the TBTT with the periodicity of the follow-on beacons being twice the TBTT.).
Regarding claim 10, Gidvani teaches wherein at least one of:
a value of the first transmission periodicity is same as a value of the second transmission periodicity; a value of the first transmission data rate is same as a value of the second transmission data rate; a value of the first bandwidth is same as a value of the second bandwidth; or the first frame format is same as the second frame format (¶ [0035] Associated non-AP STAs may be required to wake up frequently (e.g., as often as every Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT)) to listen to the beacon.; ¶ [0038] The follow-on beacon IE may further specify the periodicity of the follow-on beacon, as a multiple of the TBTT (e.g., a value of 1 may indicate that the periodicity of the follow-on beacon is equal to the TBTT.).
Regarding claim 11, Gidvani teaches wherein at least one of:
a value of the first transmission periodicity is different from a value of the second transmission periodicity; a value of the first transmission data rate is different from a value of the second transmission data rate; a value of the first bandwidth is different from a value of the second bandwidth; or the first frame format is different from the second frame format (¶ [0042] The periodicity of the follow-on beacons is greater than the TBTT. The periodicity of the follow-on beacons being twice the TBTT.).
Regarding claim 13, Gidvani teaches wherein one or more values (read as set of bits) within the at least one field (read as follow-on beacon IE) indicate a type of data carried by the one or more second frames (¶ [0038] The follow-on beacon IE may further specify features advertised in the follow-on beacon, e.g., the features for which the follow-on beacon contains feature information. This may be specified with a set of bits, each of which indicates the presence in the follow-on beacon (or absence from the follow-on beacon) of feature information for a respective feature.).
Regarding claim 14, Gidvani teaches wherein a third field (read as flag or bit(s)) of the first frame indicates a type of data or information carried by the one or more second frames (¶ [0036] An Information Element (IE) may be defined in the beacon. The follow-on beacon IE may also include indications of which features (or groups of features) the feature information in the follow-on beacon are relevant to. Flag or bit(s) in the follow-on beacon IE.).
Regarding claim 15, Gidvani teaches wherein at least one of: the first frame or the one or more second frames are outputted for transmission based on a broadcast address (¶ [0039] AP STAs may continue to broadcast the feature information for currently existing features in the beacon.).
Regarding claim 17, Gidvani teaches wherein:
at least one of the plurality of fields in the first frame is associated with a first set of one or more attributes comprising at least one of a first format, a first type of encoding, a first interpretation (read as set of bits indicating presence or absence of follow-on beacon) or a first granularity level (¶ [0038] The follow-on beacon IE may further specify the features advertised in the follow-on beacon. This may be specified with a set of bits, each of which indicates the presence in the follow-on beacon (or absence from the follow-on beacon) of feature information for a respective feature.);
the at least one field in the one of the one or more second frames is associated with a second set of one or more attributes comprising at least one of a second format, a second type of encoding, a second interpretation (read as information related to new features) or a second granularity level (¶ [0040] Non-AP STAs that support new features may parse the follow-on beacon IE and wait for the follow-on beacon to parse IEs related to new features.); and
the first set of one or more attributes is different from the second set of one or more attributes (¶ [0038] A set of bits, each of which indicates the presence in the follow-on beacon (or absence from the follow-on beacon) of feature information for a respective feature.; ¶ [0040] IEs related to new features.
Regarding claim 20, Gidvani teaches further comprising at least one transceiver (read as radio) configured to transmit the first frame and the one or more second frames, wherein the apparatus is configured as an access point (AP) (Fig. 7B, element 740 Radio; ¶ [0045] The AP STA transmits a first beacon, the AP STA transmits a second beacon indicating feature information, and the AP STA transmits a follow-on beacon.).
Regarding claim 21, Gidvani teaches a first apparatus for wireless communication (¶ [0020] Receiving, by a non-Access Point Station (non-AP STA).),
comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (¶ [0047] Instructions stored in a non-transitory storage medium.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (¶ [0047] In processing circuit each function is performed by general-purpose hardware, such as a CPU, configured to execute instructions stored in a non-transitory storage medium.):
obtain a first frame comprising a plurality of fields (Fig. 1, element 105 beacon, element 110 follow-on beacon, element 115 follow-on beacon IE; ¶ [0013] transmit a second beacon indicating feature information.; ¶ [0036] An Information Element (IE) may be defined in the beacon (e.g., an IE referred to as a follow-on beacon IE (“FoB IE”)) which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon. The follow on beacon IE may also indicate the time interval (or “offset”), between the beacon that contains it, and the subsequently transmitted follow-on beacon. The follow-on beacon IE may also include indications of which features (or groups of features) the feature information in the follow-on beacon are relevant to. The follow-on beacon IE is considered part of the beacon. A “follow-on beacon” is a frame transmitted by an AP STA containing feature information that supplements feature information in a (previously or subsequently transmitted) beacon.),
wherein a first field of the first frame indicates transmission information associated with one or more second frames (¶ [0036] FoB IE which indicates the presence of a follow-on beacon and may also indicate the time interval (or “offset”), between the beacon that contains it, and the subsequently transmitted follow-on beacon. A non-AP STA may listen for, and receive the follow-on beacon.)
and a second field of the first frame contains a first set of parameters associated with a second apparatus (¶ [0036] A follow-on beacon (“FoB”) to carry feature information to supplement the feature information of the beacon. “Feature information” is information transmitted by an AP STA for discovery and synchronization of features. For example, “feature information” may include a notification that the AP STA is turning on or off an antenna, or that the AP STA is supporting a feature such as multiple BSSID).);
obtain the one or more second frames (¶ [0013] Access Point Station (AP STA) transmit a first follow-on beacon.; ¶ [0020] Receiving, by a non-AP STA, the first follow-on beacon.),
wherein one of the one or more second frames comprises at least one field containing a second set of parameters associated with the second apparatus (¶ [0039] AP STAs may transmit feature information for new features in the follow-on beacon.; ¶ [0040] Non-AP STAs may parse the follow-on beacon IE and wait for the follow-on beacon to parse IEs related to new features.), and
wherein the first set of parameters are different from the second set of parameters (¶ [0039] AP STAs may continue to broadcast the feature information for currently existing features in the beacon and AP STAs may transmit feature information for new features in the follow-on beacon.); and
process (read as parse) the first frame and the one or more second frames (¶ [0040] Parse the follow-on beacon IE and wait for the follow-on beacon to parse IEs related to new features.).
Regarding claim 28, Gidvani teaches at least one transceiver configured to receive the first frame and the one or more second frames, wherein the first apparatus is configured as a wireless station (STA) (read as non-AP STA) (Fig. 7B, element 740 Radio; ¶ [0045] The AP STA transmits a first beacon, the AP STA transmits a second beacon indicating feature information, and the AP STA transmits a follow-on beacon. The non-AP STA may receive, via the radio of the non-AP STA.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-19, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gidvani in view of Monajemi et al. (US 2022/0150724 A1; hereinafter Monajemi).
Regarding claim 16, Gidvani does not explicitly teach wherein:
the first frame is associated with at least one of: a first packet number or a first sequence number; and each of the one or more second frames is associated with the at least one of: the first packet number or the first sequence number.
In analogous art, Monajemi teaches wherein:
the first frame (read as beacon frame 320-1) is associated with at least one of: a first packet number or a first sequence number (read as CSN+1) (Fig. 5, element 320 beacon frames; ¶ [0020] An AP of an MLD AP device transmits a Change Sequence Number (CSN).; ¶ [0033] In beacon frames 320-1 and 320-2, the field is set to CSN+1.); and
each of the one or more second frames (read as frame 320-2) is associated with the at least one of: the first packet number or the first sequence number (read as CSN+1) (¶ [0033] In beacon frames 320-1 and 320-2, the field is set to CSN+1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine multi-link device communication methods taught by Monajemi with managing beacon size as taught by Gidvani. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce beacon overhead and increase reliability by placing supplemental information in the follow-on beacon and using the common sequence number to correlate the initial and follow-on beacon frames (Monajemi: ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claims 18 and 26, Gidvani does not explicitly teach wherein a third field of the first frame includes one or more of the second set of parameters, and wherein the inclusion is based on an update of information associated with the one or more of the second set of parameters.
In analogous art, Monajemi teaches wherein a third field (read as field 316) of the first frame includes one or more of the second set of parameters (read as BSS1 parameters updates) and wherein the inclusion is based on an update of information associated with the one or more of the second set of parameters (Fig. 4, element 310 frame, element 312 MLD data element, element 316 field, ¶ [0029] When AP2 includes BSS parameters in beacon frames 310-1 and 310-2, all out-of-link updates are included in the current beacon frame since the last time a BSS parameters update was indicated. Thus, the MLD data element includes a field 316 containing the BSS1 parameters updates for AP1. Again, since AP2 is including BSS1 Parameters Updates since the previous updates for BSS1 (CSN-1).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine multi-link device communication methods taught by Monajemi with managing beacon size as taught by Gidvani. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce beacon overhead and increase reliability by placing supplemental information in the follow-on beacon and using the common sequence number to correlate the initial and follow-on beacon frames (Monajemi: ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claims 19 and 27, Gidvani does not explicitly teach wherein a third field of the first frame indicates an update of information associated with one or more of the second set of parameters.
In analogous art, Monajemi teaches wherein a third field (read as BSS Update Report Indication FLAG field) of the first frame indicates an update of information associated with one or more of the second set of parameters (read as BSS! Parameters included in field 316) (Fig. 5, element 316 AP1 BSS1 Parameters field, element 318 the BSS Update Report Indication FLAG field; ¶ [0033] The BSS Update Report Indication FLAG in field 318 is a two-bit field that is set to 01 to indicate that the BSS1 parameters included in field 316 are one update since CSN.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine multi-link device communication methods taught by Monajemi with managing beacon size as taught by Gidvani. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce beacon overhead and increase reliability by placing supplemental information in the follow-on beacon and using the common sequence number to correlate the initial and follow-on beacon frames (Monajemi: ¶ [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Azizi et al. (US 2016/0050622 A1) discloses “Wireless Device, Method, and Computer Readable Media for Transmitting and Receiving Beacon Frames”
Chu et al. (US 2024/0064705 A1) discloses “Beacon Frame Optimization in a Wireless Network”
Hazarika et al. (US 2022/0400374 A1) discloses “Multiple Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) Beacon Broadcast”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464