CTNF 18/824,822 CTNF 101871 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims file 09-04-2024 Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10-21-2025 was filed after the mailing date of the 09-04-2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 5-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 is rejected as being unclear and indefinite. In drawings, Figure 1, the connection between Block 108 [direct path IR] and Block 110 [reflected RIRs] with Block 114 [time alignment] is indefinite. The applicant has not shown how “time alignment” is established based on the IR and reflected RIR. Also, suggestion: have claim 5 be dependent on claim 4 to provide a clearer narrow scope. Claims 6-10 are rejected due their dependence under claim 5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 12-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tajik (U.S. Publication) 2021/0084357 A1 Regarding claim 1, Tajik teaches a method of matching audio inputs to an extended-reality environment (Fig 1B [130] – virtual environment, part of a Mixed Reality environment [MRE], comprises of virtual objects are matched with their respective real counterparts, see para 30), comprising: receiving an audio input (user’s own voice, a user’s reflected audio signal is simulated to reflect a real sound wave in a virtual environment, see para 8) from a microphone (Fig. 5A [512], a microphone, para 63. Though not shown in figure 2A, a microphone can be attached or integrated, see para 46) at a head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 2A [2102]) worn by a user (Fig 1A-1C [110]. The audio signal, based on the user’s voice, would reflect off virtual objects similar to if the user was in the real world. See para 8), wherein (i) the audio input is received while the user is at a location in a simulated environment (The reflected audio signal can simulate the reflection of the user’s own voice if the virtual object were a real object in the user’s environment, see para 8) and (ii) the audio input includes a representation of the user’s voice (In para 8, the extended reality (XR) system, simulates a reflection of a real sound wave, the user’s voice, against a virtual object. This shows that user’s voice is played back through the virtual environment); processing the audio input into processed audio by changing the audio input based on simulated objects (In Fig 1, virtual objects are positioned are placed in persistent coordinates, overlapping real objects, para 30. Virtual objects can have corresponding parameters similar to the real object counterparts, para 66. In Figure 5A, the reflected audio signal [540] is simulated to represent the acoustic reverberation as if the virtual object [530] was real, which is a modified version of a real audio signal [520], see para 68) within the simulated environment, wherein the processed audio (Fig 5A [520]) is configured to be perceived by the user in a manner as if the audio input is being altered by the simulated environment (the reflected audio signal [540] is sonically modified version of the real audio signal in a mixed reality environment [500], see para 68); and transmitting the processed audio to the head-worn extended-reality device for playback (In Figure 6, Step 690, the reflected audio signal is presented to the user after obtaining the reflected audio from Step 680, see para 91), such that the processed audio is perceived as being spoken by the user in the simulated environment (In para 92, the reflected audio is composited with or without the real audio signal, and other sounds based on the mixed reality environments). Regarding claim 2, Tajik teaches including: receiving the audio input (Fig 5B [520]) from the microphone (Fig 5B [512]) at a head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 5B [510]) worn by a user (Fig 5B [501]), wherein (i) the audio input is received while the user is at another location in the simulated environment (As established earlier, the reflected audio signal can simulate the reflection of the user’s own voice if the virtual object were a real object in the user’s environment, see para 8. The user’s position/orientation are determined by the device and updated in real time in a mixed reality environment (MRE), see para 76) and (ii) the audio input includes the representation of the user’s voice (In a XR system, the reflections of a real sound wave against the virtual object are based on the user’s own voice, see para 8); processing the audio input into another processed audio by changing the audio input based on the simulated objects within the simulated environment (In Figure 5A, the reflected audio signal [540] is simulated to represent the acoustic reverberation as if the virtual object [530] was real, which is a modified version of a real audio signal [520], see para 68. In Figure 6, depending on the user’s location, the audio reflections change based on virtual objects near the user, see para 78-79) wherein the processed audio is configured to be perceived by the user in a manner as if the audio input is being altered by the simulated environment (the reflected audio signal [540] is sonically modified version of the real audio signal in a mixed reality environment [500], see para 68); and transmitting the other processed audio to the head-worn extended-reality device for playback (In Figure 6, Step 690, the reflected audio signal is presented to the user after obtaining the reflected audio from Step 680, see para 91), such that the other processed audio is perceived as being spoken by the user in the simulated environment at the other location (As established earlier, the device takes into account the position and orientation of the user relative the user relative to the other virtual objects present. In para 92, the reflected audio is composited with or without the real audio signal, and other sounds based on the mixed reality environments). Regarding claim 3, Tajik teaches wherein the simulated environment (Fig 5A [500]) includes a plurality of simulated objects (Fig 5A [530]-a virtual wall [para 65] as example for multiple virtual objects in Figure 1B [122B, 124B, 126B], see 30) that each have different acoustical properties (Fig 2 [310]), wherein the acoustical properties are defined by one or more of a simulated shape, a simulated material, and a simulated distance from the user in the simulated environment (In Figure 5A, as real audio is reflected off the virtual object [530], simulated reflection is modified by the parameters that were based on the spatial, physical, and visual properties associated with the virtual object, see para 65). Regarding claim 12, Tajik teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig 4 [418] - audio-visual content, [425] – HRFT, para 50) comprising instructions, that when executed by a head-worn extended-reality system (Fig 1A [112], though designated as a mixed reality system, see para 29, is synonymous with a head-worn device in Figure 5A para 63), cause the head-worn extended-reality system to: receive an audio input from a microphone (Fig. 5A [512], a microphone, para 63. Though not shown in figure 2A, a microphone can be attached or integrated, see para 46) at a head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 5A [510] – wearable device, para 63) worn by a user (Fig 1A [110]. The audio signal, based on the user’s voice, would reflect off virtual objects similar to if the user was in the real world. See para 8), wherein (i) the audio input is received while the user is at a location in a simulated environment (In Fig 1C, the user is within the virtual world that is overlapped with the real world, which is visible to the them, see para 33) and (ii) the audio input includes a representation of the user’s voice (In para 8, the extended reality (XR) system, simulates a reflection of a real sound wave, the user’s voice, against a virtual object. This shows that user’s voice is played back through the virtual environment); process the audio input into processed audio by changing the audio input based on simulated objects (In Fig 1, virtual objects are positioned are placed in persistent coordinates, overlapping real objects, para 30. Virtual objects can have corresponding parameters similar to the real object counterparts, para 66. In Figure 5A, the reflected audio signal [540] is simulated to represent the acoustic reverberation as if the virtual object [530] was real, which is a modified version of a real audio signal [520], see para 68) within the simulated environment, wherein the processed audio (Fig 5A [520]) is configured to be perceived by the user in a manner as if the audio input is being altered by the simulated environment (the reflected audio signal [540] is sonically modified version of the real audio signal in a mixed reality environment [500], see para 68); and transmit the processed audio to the head-worn extended-reality device for playback (In Figure 6, Step 690, the reflected audio signal is presented to the user after obtaining the reflected audio from Step 680, see para 91), such that the processed audio is perceived as being spoken by the user in the simulated environment (In para 92, the reflected audio is composited with or without the real audio signal, and other sounds based on the mixed reality environments). Regarding claim 13, Tajik teaches wherein the instructions, that when executed, further cause the system to: receive the audio input (Fig 5B [520]) from the microphone (Fig 5B [512]) at a head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 5B [510]) worn by a user (Fig 5B [310]), wherein (i) the audio input is received while the user is at another location in the simulated environment (As established in Figure 1C, the user is within a virtual world overlapping the real settings of the user, para 33. The user’s position/orientation are determined by the device and updated in real time in a mixed reality environment (MRE), see para 76) and (ii) the audio input includes the representation of the user’s voice (In a XR system, the reflections of a real sound wave against the virtual object are based on the user’s own voice, see para 8); process the audio input into another processed audio by changing the audio input based on the simulated objects within the simulated environment (In Figure 5A, the reflected audio signal [540] is simulated to represent the acoustic reverberation as if the virtual object [530] was real, which is a modified version of a real audio signal [520], see para 68. In Figure 6, depending on the user’s location, the audio reflections change based on virtual objects near the user, see para 78-79), wherein the processed audio is configured to be perceived by the user in a manner as if the audio input is being altered by the simulated environment (the reflected audio signal [540] is sonically modified version of the real audio signal in a mixed reality environment [500], see para 68); and transmit the other processed audio to the head-worn extended-reality device for playback (In Figure 6, Step 690, the reflected audio signal is presented to the user after obtaining the reflected audio from Step 680, see para 91), such that the other processed audio is perceived as being spoken by the user in the simulated environment at the other location (As established earlier, the device takes into account the position and orientation of the user relative the user relative to the other virtual objects present. In para 92, the reflected audio is composited with or without the real audio signal, and other sounds based on the mixed reality environments). Regarding claim 14, Tajik teaches wherein the simulated environment (Fig 5A [500]) includes a plurality of simulated objects (Fig 5A [530]-a virtual wall [para 65] as example for multiple virtual objects in Figure 1B [122B, 124B, 126B], see 30) that each have different acoustical properties (Fig 2 [310]), wherein the acoustical properties are defined by one or more of a simulated shape, a simulated material, and a simulated distance from the user in the simulated environment (In Figure 5A, as real audio is reflected off the virtual object [530], simulated reflection is modified by the parameters that were based on the spatial, physical, and visual properties associated with the virtual object, see para 65). Regarding claim 16, Tajik teaches A head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 1A [112], though designated as a mixed reality system, see para 29, is synonymous with a head-worn device in Figure 5A para 63), comprising: at least one microphone (Fig. 5A [512], a microphone, para 63), at least one speaker (Fig. 2A [2134] – left speaker, see para 39), and audio processing components, wherein the audio processing components(Fig. 4 [416] – processor, but directly affects other audio parts, see para 50] are configured to: receive an audio input (Fig 5A [520]) from the at least one microphone of the head-worn extended-reality device worn by a user (Fig 1A-1C [110]), wherein (i) the audio input is received while the user is at a location in a simulated environment (In Fig 1C, the user is within the virtual world that is overlapped with the real world, which is visible to the them, see para 33) and (ii) the audio input includes a representation of the user’s voice (In para 8, the extended reality (XR) system, simulates a reflection of a real sound wave, the user’s voice, against a virtual object. This shows that user’s voice is played back through the virtual environment); processing the audio input into processed audio by changing the audio input based on simulated objects (In Fig 1, virtual objects are positioned are placed in persistent coordinates, overlapping real objects, para 30. Virtual objects can have corresponding parameters similar to the real object counterparts, para 66. In Figure 5A, the reflected audio signal [540] is simulated to represent the acoustic reverberation as if the virtual object [530] was real, which is a modified version of a real audio signal [520], see para 68) within the simulated environment, wherein the processed audio (Fig 5A [520]) is configured to be perceived by the user in a manner as if the audio input is being altered by the simulated environment (the reflected audio signal [540] is sonically modified version of the real audio signal in a mixed reality environment [500], see para 68); and transmitting the processed audio to the head-worn extended-reality device for playback (In Figure 6, Step 690, the reflected audio signal is presented to the user after obtaining the reflected audio from Step 680, see para 91), such that the processed audio is perceived as being spoken by the user in the simulated environment (In para 92, the reflected audio is composited with or without the real audio signal, and other sounds based on the mixed reality environments). Regarding claim 17, Tajik teaches wherein the audio processing components (Fig. 4 [416] – processor, para 50] are further configured to: receive the audio input (Fig 5A [520]) from the microphone (Fig. 5A [512], a microphone, para 63) at a head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 1A [112] worn by a user (Fig 1A-1C [110],wherein (i) the audio input is received while the user is at another location in the simulated environment (As established in Figure 1C, the user is within a virtual world overlapping the real settings of the user, para 33. The user’s position/orientation are determined by the device and updated in real time in a mixed reality environment (MRE), see para 76) and (ii) the audio input includes the representation of the user’s voice (In a XR system, the reflections of a real sound wave against the virtual object are based on the user’s own voice, see para 8); processing the audio input into another processed audio by changing the audio input based on the simulated objects within the simulated environment (In Figure 5A, the reflected audio signal [540] is simulated to represent the acoustic reverberation as if the virtual object [530] was real, which is a modified version of a real audio signal [520], see para 68. In Figure 6, depending on the user’s location, the audio reflections change based on virtual objects near the user, see para 78-79), wherein the processed audio is configured to be perceived by the user in a manner as if the audio input is being altered by the simulated environment (the reflected audio signal [540] is sonically modified version of the real audio signal in a mixed reality environment [500], see para 68); and transmitting the other processed audio to the head-worn extended-reality device for playback (In Figure 6, Step 690, the reflected audio signal is presented to the user after obtaining the reflected audio from Step 680, see para 91), such that the other processed audio is perceived as being spoken by the user in the simulated environment at the other location (As established earlier, the device takes into account the position and orientation of the user relative the user relative to the other virtual objects present. In para 92, the reflected audio is composited with or without the real audio signal, and other sounds based on the mixed reality environments). Regarding claim 18, Tajik teaches wherein the simulated environment (Fig 5A [500]) includes a plurality of simulated objects (Fig 5A [530]-a virtual wall [para 65] as example for multiple virtual objects in Figure 1B [122B, 124B, 126B], see 30) that each have different acoustical properties (Fig 2 [310]), wherein the acoustical properties are defined by one or more of a simulated shape, a simulated material, and a simulated distance from the user in the simulated environment (In Figure 5A, as real audio is reflected off the virtual object [530], simulated reflection is modified by the parameters that were based on the spatial, physical, and visual properties associated with the virtual object, see para 65) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajik (U.S. Publication) 2021/0084357 A1 in view of Audfray (U.S. Patent) 10735884 B2 . Regarding claim 4, Tajik teaches wherein processing the audio input (Fig 5A [520] - real audio signal) based on a directionality (user’s position/orientation are determined by the device, para 76) of an audio source at the location in the simulated environment (Fig 5A [500]). Tajik does not explicitly teach includes producing a direct path impulse response (IR) and a reflected room impulse response (RIR) Audfray discloses includes producing a direct path impulse response (IR) (The virtual sound sources are directly processed using one or more acoustic effects that correspond to the location within the simulated environment, see (Col 13 lines 23-33)) and a reflected room impulse response (RIR) (The room reflections of the virtual sound sources are filtered to match the reflections from the direct path, see (Col 13 lines 39-56). Figure 10 shows similarities to Drawings [FIG.1] of the Applicant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of producing a direct path impulse response (IR) and a reflected room impulse response (RIR) as taught by Audfray in Tajik’s invention. The motivation would have been to allow a more refined and accurate control over how each source is radiating sound towards a listener and into a surrounding environment. In (Col 13 lines 1-5), in Audfray. Regarding claim 20, Tajik teaches wherein processing the audio input (Fig 5A [520] - real audio signal) based on a directionality (user’s position/orientation are determined by the device, para 76) of an audio source at the location in the simulated environment (Fig 5A [500]). Tajik does not explicitly teach includes producing a direct path impulse response (IR) and a reflected room impulse response (RIR) Audfray discloses includes producing a direct path impulse response (IR) (The virtual sound sources are directly processed using one or more acoustic effects that correspond to the location within the simulated environment, see (Col 13 lines 23-33)) and a reflected room impulse response (RIR) (The room reflections of the virtual sound sources are filtered to match the reflections from the direct path, see (Col 13 lines 39-56). Figure 10 shows similarities to Drawings [FIG.1] of the Applicant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of producing a direct path impulse response (IR) and a reflected room impulse response (RIR) as taught by Audfray in Tajik’s invention. The motivation would have been to allow a more refined and accurate control over how each source is radiating sound towards a listener and into a surrounding environment. In (Col 13 lines 1-5), in Audfray . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajik (U.S. Publication) 2021/0084357 A1 in view of Sumberg (U.S. Patent) 12283265 B1 . Regarding claim 11, Tajik teaches wherein the processed audio (Fig 5A [520] - real audio signal) …. in which the head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 5B [510]) is placed. Tajik does not explicitly teach includes noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment Sumberg discloses includes noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment (In figure 2, the audio system [1] will perform a noise suppression algorithm to reduce any noise, specifically ambient noise from audio signal, see (Col 10 lines 23-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings a noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment as taught by Sumberg in Tajik’s invention. The motivation would have been that the noise source contained within the physical environment is removed to provide the user with a more realistic experience. In (Col 7 lines 23-30), in Sumberg. Regarding claim 15, Tajik teaches wherein the processed audio (Fig 5A [520] - real audio signal) ….in which the head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 5B [510]) is placed. Tajik does not explicitly teach includes noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment Sumberg discloses includes noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment (In figure 2, the audio system [1] will perform a noise suppression algorithm to reduce any noise, specifically ambient noise from audio signal, see (Col 10 lines 23-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment as taught by Sumberg in Tajik’s invention. The motivation would have been that the noise source contained within the physical environment is removed to provide the user with a more realistic experience. In (Col 7 lines 23-30), in Sumberg. Regarding claim 19, Tajik teaches wherein the processed audio (Fig 5A [520] - real audio signal) ….in which the head-worn extended-reality device (Fig 5B [510]) is placed. Tajik does not explicitly teach includes noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment Sumberg discloses includes noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment (In figure 2, the audio system [1] will perform a noise suppression algorithm to reduce any noise, specifically ambient noise from audio signal, see (Col 10 lines 23-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings a noise cancelling audio to cancel out reverberated audio from a physical environment as taught by Sumberg in Tajik’s invention. The motivation would have been that the noise source contained within the physical environment is removed to provide the user with a more realistic experience. In (Col 7 lines 23-30), in Sumberg. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Raghuvanshi (U.S. Patent) 9510125 B2 – teaches matching signal for an impulse response (IR) to the room impulse response (RIR) but lacks the reverberation of the Jot (U.S. Publication) 20170223478 A1 – teaches rendering, IR related to environment Tajik (U.S. Publication) US 11403825 B2 – (different reference, same author) teaches detail properties based on parameter of the simulated object. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARCUS A BARBOZA whose telephone number is (571)272-9626. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30 am to 5 pm, Alternate Fridays: off. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Carolyn R. Edwards can be reached at 571-270-7136 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARCUS A BARBOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2692 /CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 2 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 3 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 4 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 5 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 6 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 7 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 8 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 9 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 10 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 11 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 12 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 13 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 14 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 15 Art Unit: 2692 Application/Control Number: 18/824,822 Page 16 Art Unit: 2692