DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cutting device, inspection device, and storage device of claim 1, vision unit of claim 2, cleaning unit of claim 7, strip picker of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terada (US 2019/0358757).
Regarding claim 1, Terada teaches a semiconductor package cutting system comprising:
a cutting device (20) for partial-cutting at least a portion of a strip comprising a plurality of semiconductor packages (Figures 1 and 4, Paragraphs 0048-0050;
an inspection device (65) mounted behind the cutting device to supply a first strip to be cut to the cutting device and to receive and inspect a second strip cut by the cutting device (Paragraph 0145); and
a storage device (61) mounted behind the inspection device to supply the first strip stored therein, to the inspection device and to receive and store the second strip inspected by the inspection device, wherein the inspection device comprises an inspection table (100) for placing the first or second strip thereon and moving the first strip along a first direction (Figures 1 and 34; Paragraphs 0088-0091, 0145).
Regarding claim 6, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 1, wherein the inspection table comprises: a first inspection table (100) for placing the first strip thereon when the first strip is supplied, and being movable back and forth in the first direction; and a second inspection table (100-2) for placing the second strip thereon when the second strip is received (Figure 34 and Paragraph 0133-0135).
Regarding claim 7, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 1, wherein the cutting device comprises: a chuck table (10) for fixing the first or second strip (Figures 1 and 3; Paragraphs 0048-0052);
a cutting unit comprising a replaceable blade (21) to partial-cut at least a portion of the first strip fixed to the chuck table (Figures 1, 10 and 11; Paragraph 0089); and
a cleaning unit (70) for cleaning a surface or another surface of the cut second strip (Figures 1, Paragraph 0065, 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 8, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 7, wherein the cutting device further comprises a strip picker (80) for moving the strip positioned on one of the chuck table, the cutting unit, the cleaning unit, and the inspection table to another (Figure 8; Paragraph 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 9, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 2, wherein the storage device stores the first or second strip in a direction corresponding to a direction in which the rails extend (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Terada teaches a semiconductor package cutting method comprising:
(a) moving a strip supplied from a storage device (61) and placed on rails (812) of an inspection device (65), to a cutting device (20) by moving an inspection table (100) of the inspection device (Figures 1, 5 and 6; Paragraphs 0048-0050);
(b) partial-cutting at least a portion of the strip by using the cutting device (Figure 6; Paragraph 0046 noting cutting lines 202);
(c) moving the cut strip to the inspection device and inspecting a cut depth (Figures 5 and 6); and
(d) moving and storing the inspected strip to and in the storage device (Figures 5 and 6; Paragraphs 0092-0096, 0145).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (US 2019/0358757) in view of Takekawa (US 2016/0346956).
Regarding claim 2, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 1, wherein the inspection device further comprises:
Terada does not provide the inspection device including a vision unit mounted on a path of the inspection table to inspect a cut depth of the second strip.
Takekawa teaches it is known in the art of semiconductor cutting systems to provide a vision unit (20) mounted on a path of an inspection table to inspect a cut depth of a workpiece (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0036, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Terada to incorporate the teachings of Takekawa to provide a vision system. In doing so, it allows for detection of the workpiece during the cutting process.
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 2, wherein the storage device is mounted on a rear portion of the inspection device, and wherein the rails extend in the first direction toward the storage device (Terada Figure 6; Paragraph 0069-0070).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 2, wherein the storage device is mounted on a side portion of the inspection device, and wherein the rails extend in a second direction toward the storage device (Terada Figures 1, 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 4, wherein the inspection table is rotatable about a third direction to rotate the first or second strip placed thereon (Terada Figures 1, 5 and 6; Noting the table element may be transferred vertically into and out of the cassette 61).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references A-M on page 1 establish the state of the art with a variety of cutting systems for semiconductors.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 03/27/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 03/27/2026