DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/11/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: loading device, cutting device, inspection device and unloading device of claim 1, vision unit of claim 2, cleaning unit of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Regarding claim 5, the phrase “wherein the inspection table is rotatable about a third direction to rotate the strip placed thereon” is unclear. What structure of the inspection table allows for the function of “rotation”? Examiner notes that while there appears to be support in the specification (011, 0040) it is unclear how this function is performed. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as capable of rotation by any means, such as a user or outside device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terada (US 2019/0358757).
Regarding claim 1, Terada teaches a semiconductor package cutting system comprising: a loading device (60,61) storing at least one strip or at least one magazine containing the strip (Figures 1 and 5);
a cutting device (20) mounted behind the loading device to partial-cut at least a portion of the strip supplied from the loading device (Figures 1 and 4; Paragraphs 0048-0050);
an inspection device (65) mounted behind the cutting device to inspect the strip cut by the cutting device (Paragraph 0145); and
an unloading device (400) mounted behind the inspection device to unload the inspected strip (Paragraph 0137-0138).
Regarding claim 6, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 2, wherein the loading device comprises a loading pusher (80) for moving the strip in a second direction to supply the strip to the cutting device (Figure 25; Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 7, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 1, wherein the cutting device comprises: inlet rails extending in a second direction to place thereon the strip supplied from the loading device (Paragraph 0063 noting rails); a chuck table (10) for receiving and fixing the strip aligned on the inlet rails, and being rotatable to rotate the strip (Figure 1); a cutting unit comprising a replaceable blade (21) to partial-cut at least a portion of the strip fixed to the chuck table (Figures 1, 1 and 12; Paragraph 0047-0048, 0083); and a cleaning unit (70) for cleaning a surface or another surface of the cut strip (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0065, 0067, 0068).
Regarding claim 8, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 7, wherein the cutting device further comprises a strip picker (80) for moving the strip positioned on one of the inlet rails, the chuck table, the cutting unit, and the cleaning unit to another or to an inspection table of the inspection device so as to perform a plurality of processes on the strip (Paragraphs 0095-0096).
Regarding claim 9, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 8, wherein the strip picker comprises: a first strip picker (82) for moving the strip placed on the inlet rails to the chuck table and a second strip picker (82) for moving the strip cut on the chuck table to the cleaning unit and moving the strip cleaned by the cleaning unit to the inspection table (Paragraph 0068-0071; Figure 7 showing one of the pickers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terada (US 2019/0358757) in view of Takekawa (US 2016/0346956).
Regarding claim 2, Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 1, and wherein the inspection device comprises an inspection table (100) for placing thereon the strip cut by the cutting device, and being movable back and forth in a first direction (Figure 34; Paragraph 0137); and outlet rails (63) for placing thereon the strip transferred from the inspection table (Figure 34).
Terada does not provide a vision unit mounted on a path of the inspection table to inspect a cut depth of the strip.
Takekawa teaches it is known in the art of cutting systems to provide a vision unit (20) mounted on a path of an inspection table to inspect a cutting depth of a workpiece (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0036, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the device of Terada to incorporate the teachings of Takekawa to provide a vision system. In doing so, it allows for detection of the workpiece during the cutting process.
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 2, wherein the unloading device is mounted on a rear portion of the inspection device, and wherein the outlet rails comprise first outlet rails extending in the first direction toward the unloading device to place thereon the strip supplied from the inspection table (Terada Figures 31 and 34; Examiner notes there to be a plurality of rails that extend in the first direction towards the unloading device 400).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 2, wherein the unloading device is mounted on a side portion of the inspection device, and wherein the outlet rails comprise second outlet rails extending in a second direction toward the unloading device to place thereon the strip transferred from the inspection table (Figures 31 and 34; Note the unloading device is capable of being a plurality of different devices, and allows for removal of the workpiece in a variety of ways. Figures 31 and 34; Paragraph 0138).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Terada teaches the semiconductor package cutting system of claim 4, wherein the inspection table is rotatable about a third direction to rotate the strip placed thereon (Figure 34; Examiner notes the table is capable of rotation via a user).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references C-K on page 1 establish the state of the art with a variety of cutting devices and workpiece transfer systems.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 06/24/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724