DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12, 18 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 11, line 1, the recitation “The device of claim 11” should be read as “The device of claim 10”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroeder et al. (US 2021/0276442 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Schroeder discloses, in figure 9, an electrical power control device (115) (Par 0049-0050), comprising: a main relay (920) coupled to an input power connection (output power connection of 105 via 110) (Par 0081-0082); a main power connection (power connection of main service panel 120) for transmitting electrical power from the main relay (920) to a disconnect panel (120) (Par 0081-0082); an auxiliary power connection (power connection of power interface 340 via adaptor interface 335 to electric vehicle charger interface 150) for transmitting electrical power from the main relay (920) to an auxiliary device (Fig. 2; electric vehicle 155) that can function as a current load or a current source (Par 0055, 0082); an auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) coupled to the auxiliary power connection (Par 0074); and a data collection and control module (910) coupled to the main relay (920) and the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) (Par 0051, 0068, 0083), wherein the data collection and control module (910) is configured to selectively open and close the main relay (920) and to selectively open and close the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) depending on whether the auxiliary device (Fig. 2; electric vehicle 155) functions as a current load or a current source (Par 0085, 0082-0083; “monitoring and control circuit 910 measures current sensors 900 and voltage sensors 930 to provide input into the control logic for operation of islanding relay 920 and information for auxiliary functions such as, but not limited to, controlling the power output of the EV backup source 155” thus monitoring and control circuit 910 selectively open and close relays 920 and 715 when EV backup source 155 functions as a current load or a current source).
In regards to claim 2, Schroeder discloses, in figure 9, the device of claim 1, wherein the data collection and control module (910) is further configured to open or maintain open the main relay (920) and close or maintain closed the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) when the auxiliary device (Fig. 2; electric vehicle 155) functions as a current source (Par 0053; “Islanding meter socket adaptor 115 may be configured to inform the electrical vehicle charger interface 150 that the islanding relay contacts are open by sending a signal over the control interface 145. Accordingly, electrical vehicle charger interface 150 may enable the grid forming power 740 supply by switching the grid forming switch 715 to the electric vehicle grid forming interface 740 position to energize the power connection and pick up the service panel loads 125” thus electric vehicle 155 functions as a current source).
In regards to claim 3, Schroeder discloses, in figure 9, the device of claim 1, wherein the data collection and control module (910) is further configured to close or maintain closed the main relay (920) (Par 0093; “the islanding relay contacts are shut 1165 and the service panel 120 is powered from the Utility service 100”) and close or maintain closed the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) when the auxiliary device (Fig. 2; electric vehicle 155) functions as a current load (Par 0074; “Based on data regarding grid power status received via adaptor interface 115, electric vehicle charger interface 150 may operate internal grid forming switch 715 to charge electric vehicle 155” thus electric vehicle 155 functions as a current load).
In regards to claim 4, Schroeder discloses, in figures 19A-19B, the device of claim 1, further comprising an input disconnect coupled to the input power connection (Par 0117; “FIGS. 19A and 19B depict the adaptor with a disconnect and circuit protection devices in the adaptor 1900, 1910. This enables the system to be deployed without a separate fusible disconnect thus reducing the number of components needed to install at the site.”).
In regards to claim 5, Schroeder discloses, in figure 7, the device of claim 1, further comprising an auxiliary disconnect (fused disconnect switch 705) coupled to the auxiliary power connection (Par 0073-0075).
In regards to claim 6, Schroeder discloses, in figure 2, the device of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary device (electric vehicle 155) comprises at least one of: an electric vehicle charging station; an electric vehicle (electric vehicle 155; Par 0050); a battery; or a generator.
In regards to claim 7, Schroeder discloses, in figure 3, the device of claim 1, wherein: the auxiliary power connection (power connection of power interface 340 via adaptor interface 335 to electric vehicle charger interface 150) comprises one or more hot lines (Line 1, Line 2); and the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) is coupled to a hot line of the one or more hot lines of the auxiliary power connection (Par 0058; “Adaptor interface 335 houses the mating connectors for the power and control interfaces which may be electrically connected to socket adaptor collar 305, via power interface 340, which may have plug type connectors for, e.g., AC power Line 1 (315), Line 2 (325), and Neutral (320)” thus grid forming switch 715 is coupled to hot lines 1 and 2 via adaptor interface 335).
In regards to claim 8, Schroeder discloses, in figure 9, the device of claim 1, wherein the data collection and control module (910) is further configured to close or maintained closed the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) and open or maintain open the main relay (920) when an outage from the input power connection (output power connection of 105 via 110) occurs and power to the input power connection is halted (Par 0053, 0092).
In regards to claim 9, Schroeder discloses, in figure 9, the device of claim 8, wherein the data collection and control module (910) is further configured open the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) and close the main relay (920) when the outage is resolved and power to the input power connection (output power connection of 105 via 110) is restored (Par 0093).
In regards to claim 18, Schroeder discloses, in figure 9, a method of forming an electrical power control device (115), the method comprising: coupling a main relay (920) to an input power connection (output power connection of 105 via 110) (Par 0081-0082); coupling a main power connection (power connection of main service panel 120) to the main relay (920) for electrically connecting to a disconnect panel (120) (Par 0081-0082); coupling an auxiliary power connection (power connection of power interface 340 via adaptor interface 335 to electric vehicle charger interface 150) to the main relay (920) for electrically connecting to an auxiliary device (Fig. 2; electric vehicle 155) (Par 0055, 0082); coupling an auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) to the auxiliary power connection (Par 0074); and coupling a data collection and control module (910) to the main relay (920) and to the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) (Par 0051, 0068, 0083) such that the data collection and control module (910) is configured to selectively open and close the main relay (920) and to selectively open and close the auxiliary relay (Fig. 8; 715) depending on whether the auxiliary device (Fig. 2; electric vehicle 155) functions as a current load or a current source (Par 0085, 0082-0083; “monitoring and control circuit 910 measures current sensors 900 and voltage sensors 930 to provide input into the control logic for operation of islanding relay 920 and information for auxiliary functions such as, but not limited to, controlling the power output of the EV backup source 155” thus monitoring and control circuit 910 selectively open and close relays 920 and 715 when EV backup source 155 functions as a current load or a current source).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder et al. (US 2021/0276442 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 2008/0116906 A1).
In regards to claim 10, Schroeder discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a housing containing the main relay, auxiliary relay, and data collection and control module.
However, Martin discloses, in figure 1, a housing (112) containing the main relay (120a), auxiliary relay (120b) (Par 0017), and data collection and control module (logical control portion 120c) (Par 0025-0026).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroeder’s islanding meter socket adaptor by including a housing as taught by Martin in order to protect the components of the meter from environmental conditions, thereby allowing the meter to be placed outside, in an industrial setting, or elsewhere (Martin; Par 0018).
In regards to claim 11, Schroeder and Martin disclose the device of claim 10. Schroeder further discloses, in figure 9, wherein the housing (112 as discussed in Martin) is separate from a meter socket (110) (meter socket 110 is separate from the housing 112 of Martin when combined).
In regards to claim 12, Schroeder and Martin disclose the device of claim 11. Martin further discloses, in figure 1, wherein the housing (112) further contains a power meter (132) (Par 0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroeder’s islanding meter socket adaptor by including wherein the housing further contains a power meter as taught by Martin in order to protect the components of the meter from environmental conditions, thereby allowing the meter to be placed outside, in an industrial setting, or elsewhere (Martin; Par 0018).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mo et al. (US 12,594,852 B2); discloses A bidirectional energy transfer system includes a cordset of a bidirectional energy transfer system that transfers power from a device to at least one battery array within a traction battery of an electrified vehicle when the cordset is operating under a first condition, and that transfers power from the at least one battery array to the device when the cordset is operating under a second condition. The cordset can include relays powered by the at least one battery array when the cordset is operating under the second condition.
Evans et al. (US 12,355,299 B2) discloses isolating a circuit breaker panel for a building from a grid circuit during an event disrupting the grid circuit. In one aspect, an interrupt switch system comprises a housing configured to mate with an electric meter socket on a first side and an electric meter on a second side, the housing comprising power inputs from grid power and power outputs to a circuit breaker panel and an interrupt circuit disposed within the housing and configured to interrupt a flow of electricity from the power inputs to the power outputs.
Schroeder et al. (US 2023/0148230 A1); discloses a meter collar adapter including a housing, a plurality of contacts to electrically connect the meter collar adapter to a meter socket and to a utility meter, a load management device within the housing to manage electrical load to an interface circuit with external, co-located electric equipment, and an overcurrent protection device electrically connected in series with an interface circuit. The load management device includes the interface circuit to electrically connect to either the line side or load side of an electrical service via the utility meter an external, co-located electric equipment. An interface contact to electrically connect the co-located electric equipment to the interface circuit, an adjustable electrical switch electrically configured to control electric load, and an energy management unit to control, monitor, and/or report a position of the adjustable electrical switch to manage the electrical loads.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836