DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:18/824,912 filed on 09/05/2024 (Foreign Priority Date: 05/29/2024).
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Examiner Remarks
In the spirit of compact prosecution, Applicant is requested to contact the Examiner for an interview to discuss the inventive concepts of the instant application. Applicant may optionally amend the claims to further direct the claims toward a particular inventive concept described in the specification without an interview.
Additionally, the prior art rejection (if applicable) cites particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2004 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5, 6, 7, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 6, 7, and 13-18 recites “to be” however, the use of “to be” indicates that the claim may or may not execute. Therefore, this claim is rendered as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rav-Acha, US 20130343727.
Claim 1:
Rav-Acha discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a video output program for causing a computer (See Rav-Acha Abstract; Summary of Invention; Figure 12; Figures 22-25; Paragraphs 0004-0031), to which an external device is connected (See Rav-Acha Abstract; Summary of Invention; Figure 12; Figures 22-25; Paragraphs 0004-0031), to execute a process of outputting a content video that is a video created based on contents (See Rav-Acha Abstract; Summary of Invention; Figures 22-25; Paragraphs 0004-00311) comprising at least one of a video and an image (See Rav-Acha Abstract; Summary of Invention; Figures 22-25; Paragraphs 0004-0031; 0080), the video output program causing the computer to (See Rav-Acha Abstract; Summary of Invention; Figures 22-25; Paragraphs 0004-0031):
display a list of the contents (See Rav-Acha Figure 22; Paragraphs 0004-0031; Paragraphs 0328-03332);
select a foreground content and a background content different from the foreground content from the displayed list (See Rav-Acha Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231);
generate a foreground video based on the selected foreground content (See Rav-Acha Figure 35, Item 4006; Paragraphs 0214-0217) and a background video based on the selected background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 35, Item 4008; Paragraphs 0214-0231), and generate the content video with the foreground video as foreground and the background video as background of the foreground video (See Rav-Acha Figure 35, Item 4010; Paragraphs 0214-0231);
and output to the external device the content video (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 2:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein for each of the contents, a thumbnail of the content and at least one operator are displayed (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471), and in response to the displayed thumbnail being selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471), the content corresponding to the selected thumbnail (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471) is selected as one of the foreground content and the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231), and in response to the displayed operator being selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471), the content corresponding to the selected operator is selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471) as an other of the foreground content and the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 3:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein in response to the displayed thumbnail being selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471), the content corresponding to the selected thumbnail is selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471) as the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231), and in response to the displayed operator being selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471), the content corresponding to the selected operator is selected (See Rav-Acha Figures 22-24; Paragraphs 0330-0332; 0468; 0471) as the foreground content (See Rav-Acha Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 4:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein the content video, in which the foreground video is superimposed on the background video, is output to the external device (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 5:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein the foreground content and the background content are configured to be interchangeable with each other (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 6:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a combination of the foreground content and the background content is configured to be settable as one of the contents (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 7:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein the video output program further causes the computer to display an editing screen for editing an aspect of the content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171), and the editing screen is provided to be switchable between a screen for editing an aspect of the foreground content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171) and a screen for editing an aspect of the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171).
Claim 8:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein the aspect of the foreground content or the aspect of the background content edited on the editing screen is reflected in real time (See Rav-Acha Paragraph 0484) in the foreground content or the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231) being output to the external device (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 9:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein while the content video is being output to the external device (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231), in response to another of the contents being selected as the foreground content or the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231), output of a foreground video or a background video (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231) based on another of the contents is started after an end process of the corresponding foreground video or background video is completed (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 10:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein while the content video is being output to the external device (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231), in response to the selected another of the contents being the same as the content of the foreground video or the background video (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231), output of the content video is stopped after the end process of the corresponding foreground video or background video is completed (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 11:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a transparency of the content video is output together with the content video to the external device (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4010; Paragraphs 0214-02313).
Claim 12:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a sequence is created, in which a plurality of contents are arranged according to timings of output, and a content video based on target contents is output to the external device based on the timings set in the sequence (See Rav-Acha Paragraphs 0273-0281).
Claim 13:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a combination of the foreground content and the background content is configured to be settable as one of the contents (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 14:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a combination of the foreground content and the background content is configured to be settable as one of the contents (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 15:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a combination of the foreground content and the background content is configured to be settable as one of the contents (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 16:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein a combination of the foreground content and the background content is configured to be settable as one of the contents (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 17:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein the video output program further causes the computer to display an editing screen for editing an aspect of the content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171), and the editing screen is provided to be switchable between a screen for editing (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171) an aspect of the foreground content and a screen for editing an aspect of the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 18:
Rav-Acha discloses wherein the video output program further causes the computer to display an editing screen for editing an aspect of the content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171), and the editing screen is provided to be switchable between a screen for editing (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0166-0171) an aspect of the foreground content and a screen for editing an aspect of the background content (See Rav-Acha Figure 12; Figure 21; Figure 25; Figure 35, Item 4020; Paragraphs 0214-0231).
Claim 19:
Claim 19 is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9699287 discloses a method for displaying content in the mobile terminal includes displaying a content list including a plurality of different content files, receiving a request from a user, and displaying responsive to the request one of the plurality of different content files as a background media while the content list is displayed.
US 7773099 relates generally to processing images, and more particularly to rendering input images as output images on display surfaces having different resolutions and/or aspect ratios than the input images.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 April 2, 2026
1 See Rav-Acha “Final edited video” in Figure 25, Item 2990.
2 Rav-Acha Paragraph 0333 recites “a list of related video and images.”
3 The examiner is interpreting Rav-Acha “layer merging” in Figure 35, Item 4010 as being the same as “transparency of the content video.”