DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application filed on 11/14/2024.
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application. This action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain et al. (US 2015/0074072; Hereinafter Jain).
Re claims 1, 10, and 19, Jain teaches a widget display method applied to an electronic device, wherein the method comprises:
displaying, in a first area, a first widget of a first application and a second widget of a second application (figs. 3-4, displaying documents in the plurality of snippets);
detecting a pinch gesture, wherein a first contact point of the pinch gesture is at the first widget, and a second contact point of the pinch gesture is at the second widget (fig. 4E and [0083], in response to a pinch gesture, merging first and second snippet 406C and 406D); and
in response to the pinch gesture, combining the first widget and the second widget into a first composite widget for displaying in the first area (fig. 4E and [0083], in response to a pinch gesture, merging first and second snippet 406C and 406D).
Re claims 2 and 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Jain teaches wherein before the displaying, in the first area, the first widget of the first application and the second widget of the second application, further comprising: detecting that an ongoing task exists in the first application (fig. 2. Performing search, identifying search results).
Re claims 9 and 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Jain teaches the first application is a video application ([0021], video file).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Gordon et al. (US 2021/0037004; Hereinafter Gordon).
Re claims 8 and 17, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Jain teaches wherein the detecting that the ongoing task exists in the first application comprises:
detecting that, on another electronic device, the ongoing task exists in the first application (fig. 2. Performing search, identifying search results) but Jain does not explicitly teach a same user account logged on. However, it is taught by Gordon ([0042], user may log in to accounts. Also see [0109], the resource may be configurable to combine or merge information for the first identity and the second identity based on the single authentication gesture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Gordon’s content into Jain’s invention because it would allow user to manage task(s) that user is performing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 5-7, and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims set forth in this action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 ( c ) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
/TOAN H VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178