DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons. The preamble recites a method of "cleaning a reaction chamber". The claim positively recites etching the reaction chamber, however the claim fails to recite a step of cleaning the chamber. Claim 9 is indefinite because "the top" and "the bottom" lacks positive antecedent basis. Claim 16 is indefinite because "the duration" and "the flow rate" lack positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (US2019/0136373A1).
Re claim 1, Yeh et al. teach a method of cleaning a reaction chamber (i.e. CVD apparatus) by providing a cleaning gas from a cleaning gas source (16) and feeding a first cleaning gas flow P1 through a first inlet 110 and a second cleaning gas flow through a second inlet (112, 17) into the reaction chamber 11 for etching the reaction chamber, wherein the first and second gas flows enter the reaction chamber from different directions (P1,P2), and activating the cleaning gas before etching (abstract, Fig. 11, steps 1001-1003, paragraphs 3, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 34, 49). The limitations of etching are inherently met since the prior art of Yeh et al. is performing the same steps using the same cleaning gas as the instantly claimed invention. Re claim 2, refer to paragraph 15. Re claims 3-4, refer to paragraph 61, which teaches the flow through the inlets can be done at the same time or in sequence. Re claim 5, refer to paragraph 31. Re claims 7-9 , refer to Fig. 1. Re claim 8, refer to element 17 for example. Re claim 10, refer to paragraphs25, 27-28 the CVD chamber can be used to deposit material on a substrate positioned on a substrate support, wherein the gas is deposited via the gas distribution showerhead via inlet 110. Re claims 12 and 14, refer to element 15 of Fig. 1. Re claim 13, refer to paragraph 28, wherein plasma is formed in a plasma formation unit (showerhead 13 and 14) integrated into the reaction chamber. Re claim 16, refer to paragraphs 30 which teaches a mass flow controller or pressure controller to control the flow rate of the cleaning plasmas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US2019/0136373A1).
Yeh et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the gases being different. In the absence of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, since paragraph 31 teaches a Markush group of conventional gases used for cleaning the chamber, it would have been well within the level of the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use different cleaning gases, depending upon the type and amount of contaminants present in the chamber. Yeh et al. fail to teach repeating the cleaning process. However, in the absence of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, it would have been well within the level of the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have repeatedly performing the cleaning of the reaction chamber, dependent on the amount and type of contaminants, until the desired level of cleanliness has been achieved.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US2019/0136373A1) in view of Won et al. (US2005/0170196A1).
Yeh et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of forming a plasma used for substrate processing in the same plasma formation unit. Yeh et al. teach forming a plasma for activating a cleaning gas (refer to the abstract, Fig. 1, elements 15 and 14). Won et al. teach a method of cleaning a reaction chamber by introducing a cleaning gas and activating a plasma (paragraph 30), and further reaches forming a deposition layer during the processing of a substrate using the same plasma formation unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Yeh et al. to include the same plasma formation unit, as taught by Won et al. for purposes of forming deposition layers during the CVD processing of the substrate surface.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim teaches a plurality of delivery ports. Yoshida et al., Miya et al., teach a plasma etching apparatus. Kawamura et al. teach cleaning the substrate. Lin et al. teach remote plasma source inside and exterior to chamber. Ashraf et al. teach plasma etching. Himbele et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus. Blomberg et al. is applicant's own publication.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc