FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are objected
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 17 recites “wherein the error includes at least one of a memory leak error, a code exception error;” but should read “wherein the error includes at least one of a memory leak error or a code exception error;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phoutchanthavongsa et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0261139 A1), hereinafter referred to as Phoutchanthavongsa, in view of Vargas et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0357519 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vargas.
Regarding Claim 1, Phoutchanthavongsa teaches:
A method for rendering a dashboard layout to a user in a business enterprise comprising:
receiving authentication credentials from the user; ([0106]; regarding, “the user may have a remote device, such as a mobile device or key fob that interacts with the devices 101A-101N to transmit an user identifier and/or other related user data to authenticate the user. In another example, a user may simply provide login credentials through the interface of their client device 101A-101N. The client device 101A-101N then transfers the unique user identifier to the apparatus (e.g., the widget configuration server 210) as part of or in addition to the widget configuration request.”);
retrieving a profile of the user based on the authentication credentials, wherein the profile includes at least one of a user identifier, an identifier of the business enterprise, a role of the user in the business enterprise; ([0085]; regarding, “The user profile repository 230 includes information accessed and stored by the widget configuration server 210 to facilitate the operations of the asset management system 200. For example, the user profile repository 230 may include, without limitation, user identifiers, user profile data, user role data, object identifiers, object type identifiers, and the like.”);
identifying one or more widgets based on the profile of the user; ([0099]; regarding, “The widget suggestions circuitry 206 may send and/or receive data from widget component interface template repository 215, widget repository 220, object data repository 225, and/or user profile repository 230… the sent and/or received data may be user identifier(s), user profile data, widget configuration item suggestions, object data, recency data, and associated data that is configured for association with one or more widget components and widget configuration interfaces.”)
retrieving data associated with the one or more widgets, wherein the data for each of the one or more widgets comprises at least one of a user preference rating, information on historical interactions, a score based on historical data, ([0114]; regarding, “the widget suggestions circuitry 206 retrieves and analyzes data related to the user identifier, the user profile data, historical data associated with widget configuration item and/or widget content interface component usage, or even the asset management system as a whole, in order to determine widget configuration item suggestions… User profile data may contain various information attributed to or associated with the user, such as user preference data, user profile data, user role data, and historical data associated with widget configuration item(s) and/or widget content interface component(s).”);
selecting the one or more widgets based on a combination of the profile of the user and the data associated with the one or more widgets; ([0115]; regarding, “potential sources of data and data analytics for determining widget configuration item suggestions is not limited to such user identifier, user profile data, user preference data, and historical data associated with widget configuration item usage, and the widget configuration server 210 is configured to utilize additional and/or alternative data values and/or analytics to inform the determination of recommended widget configuration item suggestions. It is further contemplated that the widget suggestions circuitry 206 may use any combination of such data items in its determination of widget configuration item suggestions. In a non-limiting illustration, potential widget configuration item suggestions may be determined based on an analysis of the combination of user role data (e.g., data corresponding to other users of the same or similar role as user in the organization) and frequency and/or recency of interactions with or usage of widget configuration items and/or widget content interface components within the asset management system 200.”);
dynamically rendering the dashboard layout with the selected one or more widgets. ([0080]; regarding, “the widget configuration server 210 may determine and transmit commands and instructions for rendering one or more widget configuration interfaces and/or widget components to client devices 101A-101N, using data from… widget component interface template repository 215, widget repository 220, object data repository 225, and/or user profile repository 230.”).
Phoutchanthavongsa fails to explicitly disclose but Vargas teaches:wherein the score allocated to each of the one or more widgets is based on its usefulness in debugging an error associated with one or more services, wherein the error includes at least one of a memory leak error, a code exception error. ([0075]; regarding, “the debug application 440 can assist a user of the electronic device 400 in locating, fixing, and bypassing bugs”; [0089]; regarding, “The debug interface 448 may receive a determined result objective and cause the performance of a debugging command related to the determined result objective by the debug application 440… the result objectives and/or debugging command may be related to… searching source code, examining source code, editing source code, exceptions and events…”; [0042]; regarding, “the electronic device 302(1) may send a code request 322(1) for programming instructions associated with the result objectives to the code snippet service device 304.”; [0048]; regarding, “the code snippet service device 304 may also receive feedback information… Some examples of feedback information 328 may include user ratings of the code snippet 326, and/or information associated with the modification of the code snippet 326.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Phoutchanthavongsa with the teachings of Vargas. Doing so could provide an efficient and user-friendly means for interfacing with a user (Vargas, [0093]).
Regarding Claim 2, Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas teaches the method of claim 1 as referenced above. Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas further teaches:
further comprising updating the score associated with the one or more widgets based on a current action of the user on the dashboard layout in real time. (Phoutchanthavongsa, [0115]; regarding, “interactions with widget configuration items and/or widget content interface components may reveal one or more widget configuration items of current significance to the user. The higher the level of such interactions (e.g., user activity) may suggest relevancy of such widget configuration items and/or widget content interface components.”; [0116]; regarding, “the widget suggestions circuitry 206 is configured to determine and assign a relevancy score based on such factors as frequency and recency of use”).
Regarding Claim 4, Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas teaches the method of claim 1 as referenced above. Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas further teaches:
wherein the score allocated to each of the one or more widgets is based on one or more metrics including at least one of usefulness, relevance, performance, actionability, timeframe. (Phoutchanthavongsa, [0116]; regarding, “the widget suggestions circuitry 206 is configured to determine and assign a relevancy score based on such factors as frequency and recency of use.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas teaches the method of claim 1 as referenced above. Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas further teaches:
wherein the score allocated to the one or more widgets is stored in a database. (Phoutchanthavongsa, [0054]; regarding, “The widget component interface template repository may be embodied as a data storage device or devices, as a separate database server or servers, or as a combination of data storage devices and separate database servers. The widget component interface template repository may be a dedicated device and/or a part of a larger repository. In some embodiments, the widget component interface template repository stores data that is generated based on user input, user selections, and user interaction with the asset management system in association with the widget configuration interface and its related interface elements, such as widget component interface templates, widget component template identifier(s) and user identifier(s).”).
Regarding Claim 7, Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas teaches the method of claim 1 as referenced above. Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas further teaches:
further comprising rendering a dashboard user interface (UI) comprising the dashboard layout. (Phoutchanthavongsa, [0139]; regarding, “In the depicted embodiment of FIG. 6A, an example user is viewing a dashboard interface 600 associated with the asset management system (e.g., asset management system 200), the dashboard interface comprising a plurality of widget components, both pre-defined widget components 605 and a customized widget component 610.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas teaches the method of claim 1 as referenced above. Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas further teaches:
wherein the profile of the user is stored in a database. (Phoutchanthavongsa, [0085]; regarding, “The user profile repository 230 may be stored by any suitable storage device configured to store some or all of the information described herein (e.g., memory 201 of the widget configuration server 210 or a separate memory system separate from the widget configuration server 210, such as one or more database systems, backend data servers, network databases, cloud storage devices, or the like provided by another device (e.g., online application or 3rd party provider) or an object 103A-103N, such as a Network Attached Storage (NAS) device or devices, or as a separate database server or servers… the user profile repository 230 may include, without limitation, user identifiers, user profile data, user role data, object identifiers, object type identifiers, and the like.”).
Claims 9-10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 under the same grounds of rejection as claim 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8.
Claims 6, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phoutchanthavongsa et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0261139 A1), hereinafter referred to as Phoutchanthavongsa, in view of Vargas et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0357519 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vargas, in further view of Sangra et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0117276 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sangra.
Regarding Claim 6, Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas teaches the method of claim 1 as referenced above. Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas fails to explicitly disclose but Sangra teaches:
further comprising rendering, the dashboard layout with the one or more widgets having a high score at top and center of the dashboard layout and the one or more widgets having a low score at bottom of the dashboard layout. (Fig. 11F, [0178]; regarding, “the UI 1111 displays two dynamic contextual dashboards that displayed and ranked according to a score.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Phoutchanthavongsa and Vargas with the teachings of Sangra. Doing so can allow users to more efficiently troubleshoot alerts using historical data (Sangra, [0093]).
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 under the same grounds of rejection as claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered.
An objection has been added to the independent claims and the examiners analysis is based on the specification and the intended inclusion of or per the applicant’s arguments.
Applicant argues Phoutchanthavongsa in view of Vargas fails to disclose quantifying the usefulness of any interface component in debugging specific error types such as memory leaks or code exceptions, nor do they teach scoring multiple widgets based on debugging effectiveness (Remarks, Page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As cited, Vargas teaches “…the result objectives and/or debugging command may be related to… searching source code, examining source code, editing source code, exceptions and events…” [0089], “the code snippet service device 304 may also receive feedback information… Some examples of feedback information 328 may include user ratings of the code snippet 326, and/or information associated with the modification of the code snippet 326.”) [0048]. Further, Phoutchanthavongsa teaches “widget configuration item suggestions based in part on comparing a ranking of each widget configuration item suggestion to a predetermined threshold” [0117], “The widget suggestions circuitry 206 assigns scores and/or weights pursuant to any of a plurality of methods. For purposes of illustration and not of limitation, in an instance, the widget suggestions circuitry 206 is configured to determine and assign a relevancy score based on such factors as frequency and recency of use. Such scoring example is for purposes of illustration and not of limitation and other suitable variations of assigning scores or weighting the widget configuration items and/or widget content interface component in are also contemplated by this disclosure as will be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.” [0116].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.D.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2113 /BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113