DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, it is unclear what sort of device is required as the preamble claims a device, but the body of the claim only has articles. A device DOES something, i.e. it performs a function, such as a heat transfer press. The device is not described in any fashion. A board and a heat transfer sheet do not do anything. For the purposes of examination, this is considered to be a kit.
Claims 16 and 17 recite the limitation "the marker" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, they are considered to depend from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by How to heat press DTF transfers to customize skateboards. (abbreviated How to) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmZFlUbvj_E)
Regarding claims 1 and 2, How to teaches applying a heat transfer film to a skateboard comprising providing a heat transfer film with a design and transferring it to the skateboard.
Regarding claim 3, DTF film can be peeled while hot, and thus would be considered a hot-peel transfer.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, How to shows the design can be a picture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over How to in view of Ruiz de Vinaspre(US Publication 2014/0070524)
How to does not disclose using a drawing utensil with the transfer, but it does disclose the transfer process is known in general for transferring designs to fabrics. Ruiz de Vinaspre teaches a method for transferring an image to an article such as fabric or leather[0001]comprising a heat transfer sheet and a pen which can be used to draw a design on the sheet which is then transferred.[0018] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include a writing utensil with the board and heat transfer sheet of How to since this would allow the user to draw their own image for transfer as taught by Ruiz de Vinaspre.[0018]
Regarding claim 19, How to teaches placing the transfer on the surface of the board, applying heat, and removing the transfer. Ruiz de Vinaspre teaches drawing or coloring a design on the transfer sheet[0018] prior to transferring it. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to draw a design on the transfer sheet of How to as taught by Ruiz de Vinaspre since this would allow the user to draw their own image for transfer as taught by Ruiz de Vinaspre.[0018]
Regarding claims 8 and 20, DTF film can be peeled while hot, and thus would be considered a hot-peel transfer.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, How to shows the design can be a picture.
Regarding claim 11, Ruiz de Vinaspre shows the drawn image can be an outline.(Figure 1)
Regarding claims 11-14, while Ruiz de Vinaspre does not disclose paint pens, it does disclose a variety of writing utensils including crayons and pencils.[0018] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use either an acrylic or fabric paint pen to create the design on the heat transfer sheet since they are well-known and conventional in the crafting arts in general.
Regarding claim 15, Ruiz de Vinaspre teaches the writing utensil can be a marker.[0018]
Regarding claims 16 and 17, one in the art would appreciate the marker of Ruiz de Vinaspre would be a permanent marker since the design was intended to be transferred to form a permanent image.
Regarding claim 18, the sheet has a texture of some kind, whether smooth or rough. It is noted that a texture includes any type of texture.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 16 be found allowable, claim17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746