DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 09/05/2024, said application claims a priority date of 12/26/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2019/0073123 A1, published 03/07/2019, hereinafter “Yang”).
Independent Claims 1, 10 and 19:
Yang discloses a terminal comprising:
a memory [non-transitory computer-readable storage medium] configured to store processor-executable instructions; and a processor connected to the memory; wherein the processor is configured to perform a method comprising (Yang: Fig. 4, ¶ [0011], [0134]-[0136].):
in response to a display style change operation for a currently displayed virtual keyboard, determining a target style corresponding to the display style change operation, wherein the virtual keyboard currently displayed by a terminal and a virtual keyboard corresponding to the target style are different in at least one of: a keyboard type, a display area, or a display position (The keyboard has a switching key that enables the keyboard to switch from one style of keyboard to another style of keyboard, when the switching key is selected when the keyboard is a common keyboard, the keyboard will switch to a floating keyboard and when the switching key is selected when the keyboard is a floating keyboard, the keyboard will switch to a common keyboard, Yang: ¶ [0007], [0010], [0066]-[0067, [0097]); and
controlling the virtual keyboard to be displayed in the target style (Yang: ¶ [0007], [0010]).
Claims 2, 11 and 20:
The rejection of claims 1, 10 and 19 are incorporated. Yang further discloses a terminal, medium and method wherein in response to the display style change operation for the currently displayed virtual keyboard, determining the target style corresponding to the display style change operation comprises:
in response to the display style change operation, determining a second style as the target style if a display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is a first style (If the switching key is selected when the keyboard is a common keyboard (first style), the keyboard will switch to a floating keyboard (second style), Yang: ¶ [0010]); or
in response to the display style change operation, determining the first style as the target style if the display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is the second style (If the switching key is selected when the keyboard is a floating keyboard (second style), the keyboard will switch to a common keyboard (first style), Yang: ¶ [0007]);
wherein an area ratio between a first-style virtual keyboard and a display screen of the terminal is greater than an area ratio between a second-style virtual keyboard and the display screen (Yang: ¶ [0041], [0067]).
Claims 3 and 12:
The rejection of claims 1 and 10 is incorporated. Yang further discloses a terminal and method wherein the display style change operation comprises a movement operation for the virtual keyboard (Claims 1 and 10 indicate that a display style change can be merely a change in position of the keyboard. The user can provide an operation to change the position of the keyboard, Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0086]);
in response to the display style change operation for the currently displayed virtual keyboard, determining the target style corresponding to the display style change operation comprises:
in response to the movement operation, determining the target style according to a position of an operation end point of the movement operation (The position of the keyboard (target style) would correspond to the end point of the dragging operation, Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088].).
Claims 4 and 13:
The rejection of claims 3 and 12 are incorporated. Yang further discloses a terminal and method wherein determining the target style according to the position of the operation end point of the move operation comprises:
if a display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is a first style, and the operation end point of the movement operation is located in a first region, determining a second style as the target style (According to claim 1 a display style can simply correspond to a display position. Since the user can drag the floating keyboard to any position, the keyboard is displayed in different styles corresponding to said dragged position (each display position constitutes a different keyboard style), Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088].); or
if the display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is the second style, and the operation end point of the movement operation is located in a second region, determining the first style as the target style (According to claim 1 a display style can simply correspond to a display position. Since the user can drag the floating keyboard to any position, the keyboard is displayed in different styles corresponding to said dragged position (each display position constitutes a different keyboard style), Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088].);
wherein the first region is located outside a display position of the virtual keyboard corresponding to the first style, and the second region is overlapped with the display position of the virtual keyboard corresponding to the first style (It is clear that there exists two different positions on the display that the keyboard can be displayed in that do not overlap, especially since the user can adjust the size of the keyboard as well, Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088].).
Claims 5 and 14:
The rejection of claims 4 and 13 are incorporated. Yang further discloses a terminal and method wherein:
if the terminal is in a split-screen display mode, the terminal comprises a first split-screen interface and a second split-screen interface, the display position of the virtual keyboard corresponding to the first style is overlapped with a part of the first split-screen interface and a part of the second split-screen interface, and the first region comprises a first sub-region located in the first split-screen interface and a second sub-region located in the second split-screen interface (The screen can be in a split-screen mode with a split-screen window on the left and a split-screen window on the right and a floating keyboard spanning across both screens, Yang: Fig. 2D, ¶ [0070], [0084]. As presented above, it is clear that there exists two different positions on the display that the keyboard can be displayed in that pertain to the left split-screen and right split-screen respectively, especially since the user can adjust the size of the keyboard as well, Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088].); and
controlling the virtual keyboard to be displayed in the target style comprises:
if the operation end point of the movement operation is located in the first sub-region, controlling the virtual keyboard to be displayed in the second style in the first split-screen interface (If the floating keyboard is resized and dragged to the left split-screen window it will be repositioned (second style) within the left split-screen window, Yang: Fig. 2D, ¶ [0084]-[0088]); and
if the operation end point of the movement operation is located in the second sub-region, controlling the virtual keyboard to be displayed in the second style in the second split-screen interface (If the floating keyboard is resized and dragged to the right split-screen window it will be repositioned (second style) within the right split-screen window, Yang: Fig. 2D, ¶ [0084]-[0088]).
Claims 6 and 15:
The rejection of claims 1 and 10 are incorporated. Yang further discloses a terminal and method wherein the display style change operation comprises a sliding operation for the virtual keyboard, and the method further comprises:
if the terminal is in a split-screen display mode and a display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is a second style, switching the virtual keyboard to be displayed in a split-screen interface pointed to by a sliding direction of the sliding operation in response to the sliding operation for the virtual keyboard (According to claim 1 a display style can simply correspond to a display position. Since the user can drag the floating keyboard to any position (sliding operation), the keyboard is displayed in different styles corresponding to said dragged position (each display position constitutes a different keyboard style), Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088]. The screen can be in a split-screen mode with a split-screen window on the left and a split-screen window on the right and a floating keyboard spanning across both screens, Yang: Fig. 2D, ¶ [0070], [0084]. It is clear that there exists two different positions on the display that the keyboard can be displayed in that pertain to the left split-screen and right split-screen respectively, especially since the user can adjust the size of the keyboard as well, Yang: ¶ [0085]-[0088]. If the floating keyboard is resized and dragged to the left split-screen window from a starting position within the right split-screen window, it will be repositioned within the left split-screen window, Yang: Fig. 2D, ¶ [0084]-[0088]).
Claims 7 and 16:
The rejection of claims 1 and 10 are incorporated. Yang further discloses a terminal and method wherein:
the display style change operation is a touch operation for a preset key of the virtual keyboard (Yang: ¶ [0007], [0010], [0097], [0122]-[0123].);
in response to the display style change operation for the currently displayed virtual keyboard, determining the target style corresponding to the display style change operation further comprises (Yang: ¶ [0007], [0010], [0097].):
in response to the touch operation, determining a second style as the target style if the terminal is in a split-screen display mode and a display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is a first style, wherein a display position of the virtual keyboard in the second style is determined by a historical display position where the virtual keyboard in the second style was last displayed by the terminal; or
in response to the touch operation, determining the first style as the target style if the terminal is in the split-screen display mode and the display style of the currently displayed virtual keyboard is the second style (The floating keyboard (second style) is only displayed when the window state is the split-screen state, Yang: Fig. 1, ¶ [0047]. The user can switch to the common keyboard by selecting the switching key, Yang: ¶ [0052]. The user input can be touch inputs, Yang: ¶ [0122]-[0123].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bhardwaj et al. (US 20210165568 A1, published 06/03/2021, hereinafter “Bhardwaj”).
Claims 8 and 17:
The rejection of claims 1 and 10 are incorporated. Although it is clear that Yang’s virtual keyboard comprises keys that can be selected to input characters into an input field, Yang does not explicitly teach these features. Accordingly, Examiner provides Bhardwaj. Bhardwaj teaches a terminal and method wherein:
the virtual keyboard comprises an input area and a function area (The virtual keyboard comprises an input area with qwerty keys and a function row area that comprises buttons for controlling the functions of a displayed application, Bhardwaj: Figs. 6A-6B, 11-13A, claims 1-8, ¶ [0094]-[0095], [0102]-[0104].); and
the input area comprises a plurality of virtual keys, and the input area is configured to input a character associated with a virtual key when the virtual key is touched, and the function area is configured to display recommendation information adapted to a current application scenario of the terminal (Bhardwaj: Figs. 6A-6B, 11-13A, claims 1-8, ¶ [0003], [0094]-[0095], [0102]-[0104], [0113].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the terminal and method of Yang wherein:
the virtual keyboard comprises an input area and a function area; and
the input area comprises a plurality of virtual keys, and the input area is configured to input a character associated with a virtual key when the virtual key is touched, and the function area is configured to display recommendation information adapted to a current application scenario of the terminal, as taught by Yang.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by improving the efficiency, comfort and accuracy of the touch screen keyboard (Bhardwaj: ¶ [0002]-[0006].).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Bhardwaj and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2024/0302955 A1, filed on 08/31/2022, hereinafter “Yang2”).
Claims 9 and 18:
The rejection of claims 8 and 17 are incorporated. Yang in view of Bhardwaj does not appear to expressly teach a terminal and method wherein:
the terminal comprises a first display screen and a second display screen, and the first display screen is foldable relative to the second display screen;
the method further comprises:
in response to a folding operation for at least one of the first display screen or the second display screen, if the first display screen and the second display screen after the folding operation are not parallel, displaying a current application interface of the terminal on the first display screen, and displaying the virtual keyboard on the second display screen.
However, Yang2 teaches a terminal and method wherein:
the terminal comprises a first display screen and a second display screen, and the first display screen is foldable relative to the second display screen (Yang2: ¶ [0136]);
the method further comprises:
in response to a folding operation for at least one of the first display screen or the second display screen, if the first display screen and the second display screen after the folding operation are not parallel, displaying a current application interface of the terminal on the first display screen, and displaying the virtual keyboard on the second display screen (Yang2: ¶ [0136]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the terminal and method of Yang in view of Bhardwaj wherein:
the terminal comprises a first display screen and a second display screen, and the first display screen is foldable relative to the second display screen;
the method further comprises:
in response to a folding operation for at least one of the first display screen or the second display screen, if the first display screen and the second display screen after the folding operation are not parallel, displaying a current application interface of the terminal on the first display screen, and displaying the virtual keyboard on the second display screen, as taught by Yang2.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide larger screen sizes and good display effects that effectively arrange the virtual keyboard in a split-screen situation (Bhardwaj: ¶ [0003], [0136].).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Kim et al., US 2010/0241985 A1 (Different keyboard styles can be presented based on a touch or drag action, ¶ [0042])
Wang et al., US 2017/0300227 A1 (The user can switch the keyboard to a floating keyboard based on a dragging operation, ¶ [0028])
Lemay et al., US 2017/0109039 A1 (The user can flick the keyboard to an edge of the display, Figs. 14E-14F, ¶ [0291]-[0292])
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178