DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined in this office action.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The claimed invention is related to robot operations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US PGPUB 2020/0230817).
Per claim 1, Han discloses A generation device for generating an action program for a robot based on an operation of a user, comprising: processing circuitry configured to generate skill information including a plurality of skills each corresponding to a relative robot action, store the skill information in a skill database; (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0147][0051]; a skill is a set of commands for driving the work cell items stored in the work cell of a user database, skills include door open/door close of the CNC, picking, placing, etc. each corresponding to a robot action); generate a task including a plurality of skills each associating with action reference coordinates that serve as a reference for the relative robot action, store the task in a task database (paragraphs [0052][0057][0105]; a task represents a work that the robot should perform, and the task may be configured by arranging a plurality of skills in a work order; a work cell contains robot parameters such as reference point, turning point, etc.; a task may be saved in a user database); generate a master including a plurality of tasks associating with the robot, and store the master in a master database (paragraphs [0103][0104]; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database).
Claim 20 is rejected under similar rationales as claim 1.
Per claim 2, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the master that associates a start condition with at least one task (paragraphs [0103][0104]; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database; this task template may use two skills of ‘Incoming feeder’ and ‘Outgoing feeder’ relevant to the conveyor belt, and dispose the ‘Incoming feeder’ at the start position of the task and the ‘Outgoing feeder’ at the end position of the task).
Per claim 6, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate a skill that includes at least a start position and an end position of the relative robot action (paragraphs [0103][0104]; this task template may use two skills of ‘Incoming feeder’ and ‘Outgoing feeder’ relevant to the conveyor belt, and dispose the ‘Incoming feeder’ at the start position of the task and the ‘Outgoing feeder’ at the end position of the task).
Per claim 7, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the skill that includes an approach action from the start position to a work start position and a depart action from a work end position to the end position (paragraphs [0103][0104]; this task template may use two skills of ‘Incoming feeder’ and ‘Outgoing feeder’ relevant to the conveyor belt, and dispose the ‘Incoming feeder’ at the start position of the task and the ‘Outgoing feeder’ at the end position of the task; paragraph [0131]; the parameter relevant to the work cell may include reference point, turning point, approach point, way point, and operation point of the work cell item; i.e. an approach action may start at an approach point, ends at an operation point; and end action may start at another approach point, ends at an operation point).
Per claim 8, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the skill by extracting at least a part of a generated action program and converting the generated action program into the relative robot action (paragraph [0005]; a master DB for storing a work cell item including a robot or a peripheral and having a relevant parameter and a master skill (retrieving a previous robot program), which is a set of commands for driving the work cell item, a work cell manager for selecting a work cell item to be used among the work cell items stored in the master DB, and inputting a parameter of the selected work cell item, a work cell engine for searching the master skill relevant to the selected work cell item from the master DB, and generating a user skill by applying at least one parameter among the parameters of the selected work cell item to the searched master skill, a user DB for storing the selected work cell item and the user skill, and a task builder for generating a task (using the old robot program to generate a new robot program)).
Per claim 9, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the action program for the robot in which the relative robot action is converted into an action of the robot based on the master, the tasks in the master, and the skills in each of the tasks (paragraph [0005]; a master DB for storing a work cell item including a robot or a peripheral and having a relevant parameter and a master skill (retrieving a previous robot program), which is a set of commands for driving the work cell item, a work cell manager for selecting a work cell item to be used among the work cell items stored in the master DB, and inputting a parameter of the selected work cell item, a work cell engine for searching the master skill relevant to the selected work cell item from the master DB, and generating a user skill by applying at least one parameter among the parameters of the selected work cell item to the searched master skill, a user DB for storing the selected work cell item and the user skill, and a task builder for generating a task (using the old robot program (a master that contains tasks and skills) to generate a new robot program)).
Per claim 11, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the action program including an air cut program that causes the robot to move directly from an end position of an action corresponding to the relative robot action of a preceding skill to a start position of an action corresponding to the relative robot action of a subsequent skill in consecutive skills (paragraphs [0046][0052]; A CNC, a machine tool, a press, an air blower, etc. may be included in the device, a CNC tool performs air cut functions; a task represents a work that the robot should perform, and the task may be configured by arranging a plurality of skills in a work order, that is, the task may be a set that arranges the plurality of skills in the work order. As an exemplary embodiment, when the robot performs the auxiliary work for assisting the CNC, one task may be configured by’ ‘door open,’ ‘door close,’; thus, a preceding action (open door) ends at an end position, the subsequent action (close door) starts at the end position of the preceding action).
Per claim 12, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to execute a simulation including a model of the robot and a model of a surrounding object of the robot and associate action reference coordinates with each of the skills in the task based on an input specifying coordinates in the simulation (paragraphs [0127][0128][0086]; when the generation of the task is completed, the operation of the task may be verified through simulation, and if it is verified, it may be executed by the robot; the parameters of a task for a gripper robot may include coordinates and angles).
Per claim 14, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to associate a provisional robot and provisional action reference coordinates with one of the skills in the skill information and instruct display of a simulation of a case where the provisional robot executes the one of the skills in the skill information at the provisional action reference coordinates (paragraphs [0127][0128][0086]; when the generation of the task is completed, the operation of the task may be verified through simulation, and if it is verified, it may be executed by the robot; the parameters of a task for a gripper robot may include coordinates and angles; thus, before the verification, the robot and coordinates are provisional, after verification, they become production robot and coordinates).
Per claim 15, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate a type input interface that allows an input of a type of skill, generate a skill input interface corresponding to the type of the skill based on an input to the type input interface, and generate the skill based on an input to the skill input interface (paragraph [0093]; the work cell engine may search the master skill relevant to the selected work cell item from the master DB, and generate the user skill by applying at least one parameter among the parameters of the selected work cell item to the searched master skill; i.e. a user can enter a skill with parameters on a work cell, and search for relevant skills (similar type) from the master DB, and generate a new user skill based on user input parameters and retrieved skill from master DB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, in view of Sato (US PGPUB 2017/0013110).
Per claim 3, Han discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the master (paragraphs [0103][0104]; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database). Han does not explicitly teach the master that associates a notification destination for an execution status by the robot with at least one task. However, Sato suggests the above (paragraph [0089]; the device configuration management unit receives settings such as the task name, the execution schedule of the task, the notification destination email address for the task execution result). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Sato to associate a notification destination for an execution status for a task to be executed, so the user can promptly receive the execution result.
Per claim 18, Han discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the master (paragraphs [0103][0104]; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database). Han does not explicitly teach the master that associates a notification destination for an execution status by the robot with at least one task. However, Sato suggests the above (paragraph [0089]; the device configuration management unit receives settings such as the task name, the execution schedule of the task, the notification destination email address for the task execution result). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Sato to associate a notification destination for an execution status for a task to be executed, so the user can promptly receive the execution result.
Claims 4-5, 10, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, in view of Penning et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0078954) hereinafter Penning.
Per claim 4, Han discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the task that includes an execution order of the skills in the task and generate the master (paragraphs [0052][0103][0104]; a task represents a work that the robot should perform, and the task may be configured by arranging a plurality of skills in a work order; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database). Han does not explicitly teach the master that includes a conditional branching between two or more tasks. However, Penning suggests the above (paragraph [0101]; this tool allows users to define a sequence of “directions” to be executed by robots; users can define actions to be dependent on other actions, and also allows condition execution and branching of tasks). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Penning to allow users can define condition execution and branching of tasks for a robot work order, the result is a simple to use tool that allows for powerful, complex scripting of tasks (paragraph [0101]).
Per claim 5, Han further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the task that associates at least one parameter that defines a variable action in the relative robot action with at least one skill (paragraphs [0057][0058]; the work cell item and the relevant parameter item may include reference point, turning point, approach point, way point, and operation point of the work cell item, and the posture information, speed, acceleration, connection type, connection port, and wait time of respective points; the action of the robot is defined by parameters/variables from the user).
Per claim 10, Han does not teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to associate the tasks to be executed with respect to one workpiece with a plurality of executing entities including the robot and generate the action program for each of the executing entities. However, Penning suggests the above (paragraph [0101]; this tool allows users to define a sequence of actions (tasks) to be executed by a set of robots; users can define actions to be dependent on other actions, and also allows condition execution and branching of tasks; i.e. users can define robot programs for a plurality of executing entities to perform respective actions on a target). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Penning to allow users can define a plurality of tasks for a plurality of robots to perform actions on a target, the result is a simple to use tool that allows for powerful, complex scripting of tasks (paragraph [0101]).
Per claim 16, Han discloses generating and storing masters (paragraphs [0052][0103][0104]; a task represents a work that the robot should perform, and the task may be configured by arranging a plurality of skills in a work order; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks (masters) are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database). Han does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate an upper-level master including a conditional branching between a plurality of masters and store the upper-level master in the master database. However, Penning suggests (paragraph [0101]; this tool allows users to define a sequence of “directions” to be executed by robots; users can define actions to be dependent on other actions, and also allows condition execution and branching of tasks; i.e. generating a sequence of directions (an upper-level master) which includes conditional branching of tasks (masters)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Penning to allow users can define condition execution and branching of tasks(masters) as a sequence of directions (an upper-level master), the result is a simple to use tool that allows for powerful, complex scripting of tasks (paragraph [0101]).
Per claim 17, Han in view of Penning further suggests wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the action program for the robot in which the relative robot action is converted into an action of the robot based on the upper-level master, the masters, the tasks in each of the master, and the skills in each of the tasks (Han, paragraph [0005]; a master DB for storing a work cell item including a robot or a peripheral and having a relevant parameter and a master skill (retrieving a previous robot program), which is a set of commands for driving the work cell item, a work cell manager for selecting a work cell item to be used among the work cell items stored in the master DB, and inputting a parameter of the selected work cell item, a work cell engine for searching the master skill relevant to the selected work cell item from the master DB, and generating a user skill by applying at least one parameter among the parameters of the selected work cell item to the searched master skill, a user DB for storing the selected work cell item and the user skill, and a task builder for generating a task (using the old robot program (masters that contains tasks and skills) to generate a new robot program); Penning, paragraph [0101]; this tool allows users to define a sequence of “directions” to be executed by robots; users can define actions to be dependent on other actions, and also allows condition execution and branching of tasks; i.e. generating a sequence of directions (an upper-level master) which includes conditional branching of tasks (masters); it would have been obvious that the generated sequence of directions (an upper-level master) can be saved in a database for reuse in future, to generate new robot programs).
Per claim 19, Han discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the task that includes an execution order of the skills in the task and generate the master (paragraphs [0052][0103][0104]; a task represents a work that the robot should perform, and the task may be configured by arranging a plurality of skills in a work order; the template engine may search a general task template stored in the master database, thus, a plurality of tasks are saved in a master database, so users can search and reuse the previously saved tasks in the master database). Han does not explicitly teach the master that includes a conditional branching between two or more tasks. However, Penning suggests the above (paragraph [0101]; this tool allows users to define a sequence of “directions” to be executed by robots; users can define actions to be dependent on other actions, and also allows condition execution and branching of tasks). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Penning to allow users can define condition execution and branching of tasks for a robot work order, the result is a simple to use tool that allows for powerful, complex scripting of tasks (paragraph [0101]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, in view of Chen et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0225607) hereinafter Chen.
Per claim 13, Han does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to correct the action reference coordinates based on a difference between actual measurement data of the surrounding object and the model of the surrounding object. However, Chen suggests the above (claim 1; using a sensor to measure a first object’s actual coordinate; comparing the first object actual coordinate with a first object predetermined coordinate to obtain a first object coordinate error, and correcting the first object coordinate error). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han and Chen to measure a object’s actual coordinate with the action reference coordinate to determine and correct an object coordinate error, this would make works perform by a robot machine tool more precise and higher quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Kupcsik et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0143831) disclose to carry a task by a robot, a user typically specifies a sequence plan of actions, some of these actions may be primitive actions provided by the robot, which do not have to be adapted to the control situation, such as “open gripper.” Actions may, however, also be movement skills of a type, in which it is desirable for the robot to be able to adapt to the respective control situation, for example, the action “pick up the object” is a function of the initial position and of the initial orientation of the object.
/HANG PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193