35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is patent eligible under 101.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 10, 15 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
[…]providing a view of an extended reality (XR) environment, wherein the inaccuracy in the localization affects the inclusion of virtual objects in the view of the XR environment; […]
The examiner notes line 6-7, recites the inaccuracy. It is not clear exactly what inaccuracy the claim is referencing. Furthermore it is not clear exactly how an inaccuracy could occur without determining what condition would cause an inaccuracy to occur.
Claim 11 and 20, recite similar limitations to that of claim 1 and thus is rejected under similar rationale as detailed in claim 1.
The examiner notes the dependent claims are considered to indefinite due to depending upon the independent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,118,685. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they’re broader in every way.
Instant Application
Patent
1. A method comprising:
1. A method comprising:
at a processor:
at a processor:
performing a localization of an electronic device within a physical environment, the localization based on sensor data obtained by the electronic device;
performing a localization of an electronic device within a physical environment, the localization based on sensor data obtained by the electronic device; determining a condition causing inaccuracy;
providing a view of an extended reality (XR) environment, wherein the inaccuracy in the localization affects the inclusion of virtual objects in the view of the XR environment; and
providing a view of an extended reality (XR) environment, wherein the inaccuracy in the localization affects the inclusion of virtual objects in the view of the XR environment; and
providing a notification at the electronic device regarding the inaccuracy in the localization.
providing a notification at the electronic device based on the condition causing inaccuracy in the localization.
Instant
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Patent
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Instant
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Patent
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skidmore et al. (US 20180349701 A1), cited in an IDS filed, 12/12/2024.
Regarding 1, Skidmore teaches a method (See claim 1, the claim is directed towards a method. ¶33, also describes a method with a processor carrying out the method.) comprising:
at a processor (¶33, the method is carried out by a processor):
performing a localization of an electronic device within a physical environment, the localization based on sensor data obtained by the electronic device (¶23, “Referring now to FIG. 1, an exemplary method 100 is disclosed for providing an augmented reality. At block 101, location information is obtained for a camera. Field of view and orientation information for the camera may also be obtained at this step. Obtaining location or pose information may comprise receiving this information at a processor. The obtaining step may further include actually generating some pose information with sensors, such as a GPS sensor, gyroscope, and/or digital compass. The obtaining step may also include obtaining from one or more databases location information describing the locations of real world objects and/or virtual objects, at least some which correspond with available augmentations. At block 101, accuracy or confidence information for the pose and location information is also obtained. Accuracy or confidence intervals may be obtained by a processor from location or orientation sensors. Accuracy or confidence intervals may also or alternatively be computed by the processor. At block 102, the processor selects or modifies an augmentation for output based on the accuracy or confidence of the orientation and/or location information. For example, blur of an augmentation may be selected based on a confidence interval (a high confidence results in the selection of a comparatively sharp augmentation image, and a low confidence results in the selection of a comparatively blurry augmentation image). At block 103, the augmentation is output with an augmented reality output device.”);
providing a view of an extended reality (XR) environment (¶23-24: AR environment), wherein the inaccuracy in the localization affects the inclusion of virtual objects in the view of the XR environment (¶23, ¶24. Augmented images, virtual object, in an augmented environment. The inaccuracy may be represented by blurriness); and
but doesn’t explicitly disclose
providing a notification at the electronic device regarding the inaccuracy in the localization, in the primary embodiment.
Outside the primary embodiment, of Skidmore teaches providing a notification at the electronic device regarding the inaccuracy in the localization. (¶11, “Characteristics of augmentations which may be selected or altered based on accuracy of positioning include but are not limited to blur/sharpness (e.g., fuzzier versus clearer lines), size/extent (e.g., bigger or smaller), color, and shape (e.g., point versus a cloud). Positioning accuracy may also or alternatively be conveyed by a base icon that does not necessarily change but which is accompanied (e.g., bracketed) by uncertainty indicators. For instance, a point of constant size may be bracketed by an uncertainty indicator that indicates positioning uncertainty based on the extent to which the indicator extends outward from the base icon. The extent to which the indicator extends outside the base icon indicates the area of uncertainty. For instance, a circle of variable size may be used for the indicator, the circle extending out around a point or dot of constant size” ¶31, provides further details of ¶11. The examiner notes ¶11 and ¶31 are considered to be outside the primary embodiment).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the primary embodiment of Skidmore in view of outside the primary embodiment of Skidmore to notify a user of an inaccuracy of localization so avoid any errors that may occur by relying on inaccurate localization data in an augmented reality setting (See ¶9).
Regarding claim 2, Skidmore teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising correcting a condition causing the inaccuracy in the localization based on the notification (¶10 and ¶11).
Regarding claim 3, Skidmore teaches the method of claim 2, wherein correcting the condition causing the inaccuracy comprises a user of the electronic device modifying the physical environment or changing the sensor data used to perform the localization of the electronic device within the physical environment (¶31, describes changing sensors such as motion sensors and multiple cameras. The motion for the motion cameras would modify the physical environment).
Regarding claim 4, Skidmore teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a condition causing the inaccuracy in the localization is determined using a machine learning model or algorithm (See ¶9, ¶21: algorithms).
Regarding claim 9, Skidmore teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining an accuracy of the localization (See ¶7, accuracy/confidence of location or orientation).
Claim 11 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 but doesn’t explicitly disclose: A system comprising:
memory; and
one or more processors at a device coupled to the memory, wherein the memory comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
Skidmore teaches a system comprising (¶9 and ¶24):
memory (¶24, the databases are stored in a memory); and
one or more processors at a device coupled to the memory, wherein the memory comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors (¶24), cause the system to perform operations comprising (¶9 and ¶24):
Therefore claim 1 is rejected under similar rationale as detailed in claim 1 and above.
Claims 12, 13, 14, 16 and 19 recite similar limitations to that of claims 2, 3, 4, 6 and 9 and thus are rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 but doesn’t explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
Skidmore teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations comprising (¶9, ¶21, ¶24):
Therefore claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale as detailed in claim 1 and above.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skidmore et al. (US 20180349701 A1), cited in an IDS filed, 12/12/2024 in view of Ghatak et al. (US Patent No. US 10,467,816 B2) as cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 7, Skidmore teaches the method of claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein providing the view of the XR environment displays the virtual objects at fixed positions on a display of the electronic device in the view of the XR environment.
Ghatak teaches wherein providing the view of the XR environment displays the virtual objects at fixed positions on a display of the electronic device in the view of the XR environment (See col. 12 lines 11-29, “In such augmented-reality (or mixed reality) implementations, the computing system 600 may be configured to visually present augmented-reality objects that appear display-locked and/or world-locked. A display-locked aug-mented-reality object may appear to move along with a perspective of the user as a pose ( e.g., six degrees of freedom (DOF): x, y, z, yaw, pitch, roll) of the computing system 600 changes. As such, a display-locked, augmented-reality
object may appear to occupy the same portion of the near-eye display 602 and may appear to be at the same distance from the user, even as the user moves in the
physical space. A world-locked, augmented-reality object may appear to remain in a fixed location in the physical space, even as the pose of the computing system 600 changes. In some examples, a world-locked object may appear to move in correspondence with movement of a real, physical object. In yet other examples, a virtual object may be displayed as body-locked, in which the object is located to an estimated pose of a user's body.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Skidmore in view of Ghatak as virtual objects can remain stable relative to the real world, thus increasing the immersion provided to the user.
Regarding claim 8, Skidmore teaches the method of claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein providing the view of the XR environment displays the virtual objects at fixed positions relative to the electronic device in the view of the XR environment.
Ghatak teaches wherein providing the view of the XR environment displays the virtual objects at fixed positions relative to the electronic device in the view of the XR environment (See col. 12 lines 11-29, “In such augmented-reality (or mixed reality) implementations, the computing system 600 may be configured to visually present augmented-reality objects that appear display-locked and/or world-locked. A display-locked aug-mented-reality object may appear to move along with a perspective of the user as a pose ( e.g., six degrees of freedom (DOF): x, y, z, yaw, pitch, roll) of the computing system 600 changes. As such, a display-locked, augmented-reality
object may appear to occupy the same portion of the near-eye display 602 and may appear to be at the same distance from the user, even as the user moves in the
physical space. A world-locked, augmented-reality object may appear to remain in a fixed location in the physical space, even as the pose of the computing system 600 changes. In some examples, a world-locked object may appear to move in correspondence with movement of a real, physical object. In yet other examples, a virtual object may be displayed as body-locked, in which the object is located to an estimated pose of a user's body.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Skidmore in view of Ghatak as virtual objects can remain stable relative to the real world, thus increasing the immersion provided to the user.
Claims 17 and 18 recite similar limitations to that of claim 7 and 8 and thus is rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J CRADDOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618