CTNF 18/825,036 CTNF 84771 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this instant application. Priority 3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2023-146475 filed on 09/08/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d). Drawings 4. The drawing has been filed on 09/05/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose. Information Disclosure Statement 5. The information disclosure statement filed on 09/05/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 6. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 1-4, 7-9, 11-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio, US Pub 2002/0156947 in view of Noguchi, US Pub 2023/0166519 . As to claim 1 [independent], Nishio teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium [ fig. 12, element 1202 or 1201; 0036-0038 ] storing an installer program [ 0037 ] for installing a control program for controlling a communication device on a terminal device [ abstract, 0066-0071, 0088-0090 Nishio teaches that terminal device 1 installs a program a PnP installer for controlling a selected printer through the terminal device ], wherein the installer program, when executed by a processor of the terminal device, causes the terminal device to [ abstract, 0066-0071, 0088-0090 Nishio teaches that the terminal device 1 installs a program a PnP installer for controlling a selected printer through the terminal device 1 ]: acquire specific device information related to a specific communication device [ fig. 2, steps 5-9 & figs. 4-5; 0047, 0061-0062, 0063-0064 Nishio teaches that the terminal device 1 acquires printer’s specific information related to the printer ( fig. 5 & paras., 0062-0062 )]; install, by using the specific device information, the control program on the terminal device [ figs. 2, 6; abstract, 0066-0071, 0088-0090 Nishio teaches that the terminal device 1 installs a program through a PnP installer related to the selected printer ( fig. 6 ) for controlling the selected printer through the terminal device 1 ]. Nishio doesn’t teach acquire, by using the specific device information, service information related to a consumable article shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a user of the specific communication device; display, by using the service information, introduction information for introducing the consumable article shipping service to the user on a display of the terminal device; and Noguchi teaches acquire, by using the specific device information, service information related to a consumable article shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a user of the specific communication device [ fig. 4, steps T72, T80; 0037-0043, Noguchi teaches that the terminal device 100 that based on the printer 10a information, the terminal device 100 acquires the contract plan i.e. service information displayed on the terminal device 100’s display unit related to a cartridge shipping service for shipping to a user of the related printer 10a ]; display, by using the service information, introduction information for introducing the consumable article shipping service to the user on a display of the terminal device [ fig. 4, steps T72, T80; 0037-0039, Noguchi teaches that the terminal device 100 that based on the printer 10a information, the terminal device 100 acquires the contract plan i.e. service information displayed on the terminal device 100’s display unit related to a cartridge shipping service for shipping to a user of the related printer 10a ]; and Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Noguchi teaching to acquire service information related to a consumable shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a specific printing device to modify Nishio’s teaching for receiving user identification information and a service request for requesting that provision of a service be started from a terminal device, and consumable information i.e. cartridge information indicating a type of a cartridge currently attached in a printer is received from the printer indicates a cartridge type that is supplied with the printer at time of sale of the printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user enables providing the service of the flat-rate print process using the print information received from the printer in an effective manner and allows the user to select whether the first benefit is to be granted to the user or not depending on the type of cartridge currently attached in the printer. As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Nishio teaches wherein the specific device information includes model identification information for identifying a model of the specific communication device[ fig. 2, steps 5-9 & figs. 4-5; 0047, 0061-0062, 0063-0064 Nishio teaches that the terminal device 1 acquires printer’s specific information such as printer’s model name related to the printer ( fig. 5 & paras., 0062-0062 )], and Noguchi teaches the service information is related to the consumable article shipping service according to the model identified by the model identification information included in the specific device information [ fig. 4, steps T72, T80; 0037-0039, Noguchi teaches that the terminal device 100 that based on the printer 10a information, the terminal device 100 acquires the contract plan i.e. service information displayed on the terminal device 100’s display unit related to a cartridge shipping service for shipping to a user of the related printer 10a ]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Noguchi teaching to acquire service information related to a consumable shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a specific printing device to modify Nishio’s teaching for receiving user identification information and a service request for requesting that provision of a service be started from a terminal device, and consumable information i.e. cartridge information indicating a type of a cartridge currently attached in a printer is received from the printer indicates a cartridge type that is supplied with the printer at time of sale of the printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user enables providing the service of the flat-rate print process using the print information received from the printer in an effective manner and allows the user to select whether the first benefit is to be granted to the user or not depending on the type of cartridge currently attached in the printer. As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 2], Nishio teaches wherein the control program compatible with the model identified by the model identification information included in the specific device information is installed on the terminal device [ figs. 2, 6; abstract, 0066-0071, 0088-0090 Nishio teaches that the terminal device 1 installs a program through a PnP installer related to the selected printer ( fig. 6 ) for controlling the selected printer through the terminal device 1 ]. As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Noguchi teaches wherein in a case where the consumable article shipping service has not been provided to the user, the introduction information is displayed on the display [ fig. 4, steps T72, T80; 0037-0039, Noguchi teaches that the terminal device 100 that based on the printer 10a information, the terminal device 100 acquires the contract plan i.e. service information displayed on the terminal device 100’s display unit prior to shipping obviously related to a cartridge shipping service for shipping to a user of the related printer 10a ], and in a case where the consumable article shipping service has been provided to the user, the introduction information is not displayed on the display [ fig. 4, steps T72, T80; 0037-0039, Noguchi teaches that the terminal device 100 that based on the printer 10a information, the terminal device 100 acquires the contract plan i.e. service information displayed on the terminal device 100’s display unit prior to shipping obviously related to a cartridge shipping service for shipping to a user of the related printer 10a. However, if the contract was agreed and signed, then obviously the introduction information related to contact plan would not be displayed on the display of the terminal device 100 ]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Noguchi teaching to acquire service information related to a consumable shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a specific printing device to modify Nishio’s teaching for receiving user identification information and a service request for requesting that provision of a service be started from a terminal device, and consumable information i.e. cartridge information indicating a type of a cartridge currently attached in a printer is received from the printer indicates a cartridge type that is supplied with the printer at time of sale of the printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user enables providing the service of the flat-rate print process using the print information received from the printer in an effective manner and allows the user to select whether the first benefit is to be granted to the user or not depending on the type of cartridge currently attached in the printer. As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Noguchi teaches wherein the introduction information is displayed on the display after the control program has been installed [ fig. 3; 0028-0032 Noguchi teaches that the first screen is displayed obviously before or between or after the installing control program to control the printer ]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Noguchi teaching to acquire service information related to a consumable shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a specific printing device to modify Nishio’s teaching for receiving user identification information and a service request for requesting that provision of a service be started from a terminal device, and consumable information i.e. cartridge information indicating a type of a cartridge currently attached in a printer is received from the printer indicates a cartridge type that is supplied with the printer at time of sale of the printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user enables providing the service of the flat-rate print process using the print information received from the printer in an effective manner and allows the user to select whether the first benefit is to be granted to the user or not depending on the type of cartridge currently attached in the printer. As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Noguchi teaches wherein the introduction information is displayed on the display during installation of the control program [ fig. 3; 0028-0032 Noguchi teaches that the first screen is displayed obviously before or between or after the installing control program to control the printer ]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Noguchi teaching to acquire service information related to a consumable shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a specific printing device to modify Nishio’s teaching for receiving user identification information and a service request for requesting that provision of a service be started from a terminal device, and consumable information i.e. cartridge information indicating a type of a cartridge currently attached in a printer is received from the printer indicates a cartridge type that is supplied with the printer at time of sale of the printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user enables providing the service of the flat-rate print process using the print information received from the printer in an effective manner and allows the user to select whether the first benefit is to be granted to the user or not depending on the type of cartridge currently attached in the printer. As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Noguchi teaches wherein the introduction information is displayed on the display before installation of the control program is started [ fig. 3; 0028-0032 Noguchi teaches that the first screen is displayed obviously before or between or after the installing control program to control the printer ]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Noguchi teaching to acquire service information related to a consumable shipping service for shipping a consumable article to a specific printing device to modify Nishio’s teaching for receiving user identification information and a service request for requesting that provision of a service be started from a terminal device, and consumable information i.e. cartridge information indicating a type of a cartridge currently attached in a printer is received from the printer indicates a cartridge type that is supplied with the printer at time of sale of the printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user enables providing the service of the flat-rate print process using the print information received from the printer in an effective manner and allows the user to select whether the first benefit is to be granted to the user or not depending on the type of cartridge currently attached in the printer. As to claim 11 [independent], However, the independent claim 11 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 11 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1. As to claim 12 [independent], However, the independent claim 12 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 12 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1. As to claim 13 [dependent from 12], However, the dependent claim 13 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 2 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 13 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 2. As to claim 14 [dependent from 13], However, the dependent claim 14 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 3 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 14 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 3. As to claim 15 [dependent from 12], However, the dependent claim 15 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 4 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 15 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 4. As to claim 18 [dependent from 12], However, the dependent claim 18 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 7 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 18 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 7. As to claim 19 [dependent from 12], However, the dependent claim 19 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 8 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 19 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 8. As to claim 20 [dependent from 12], However, the dependent claim 20 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the dependent claim 9 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the dependent claim 20 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the dependent claim 9 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 8. Claim s 5-6, 10, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 9. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance : The dependent claim 5 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ wherein the installer program, when executed by the processor, further causes the terminal device to: in a case where the consumable article shipping service has been provided to the user and authentication information for logging in to a server related to provision of the consumable article shipping service is not stored in a predetermined area of a memory of the terminal device, display an input screen for accepting an input of information for storing the authentication information in the predetermined area, and in a case where the consumable article shipping service has been provided and the authentication information is stored in the predetermined area, the input screen is not displayed, wherein the predetermined area is an area which can be referenced by a different program from the installer program, and the different program can log in to the server by using the authentication information in the predetermined area ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. The dependent claim 6 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ wherein the installer program, when executed by the processor, further causes the terminal device to: store authentication information for logging in to a server related to provision of the consumable article shipping service in a predetermined area of a memory of the terminal device, wherein the predetermined area is an area which can be referenced by a different program from the installer program, and the different program can log in to the server by using the authentication information in the predetermined area ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. The dependent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ wherein the installer program, when executed by the processor, further causes the terminal device to: in a case where an instruction for starting to provide the consumable article shipping service is accepted from the user after the introduction information has been displayed, and updating of a firmware of the specific communication device enables the consumable article shipping service to be provided to the user, send an instruction for updating the firmware to the specific communication device ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. The dependent claim 16 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ wherein the method further comprising: in a case where the consumable article shipping service has been provided to the user and authentication information for logging in to a server related to provision of the consumable article shipping service is not stored in a predetermined area of a memory of the terminal device, displaying an input screen for accepting an input of information for storing the authentication information in the predetermined area, and in a case where the consumable article shipping service has been provided and the authentication information is stored in the predetermined area, the input screen is not displayed, wherein the predetermined area is an area which can be referenced by a different program from the installer program, and the different program can log in to the server by using the authentication information in the predetermined area ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. The dependent claim 17 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ wherein the method further comprising: storing authentication information for logging in to a server related to provision of the consumable article shipping service in a predetermined area of a memory of the terminal device, wherein the predetermined area is an area which can be referenced by a different program from the installer program, and the different program can log in to the server by using the authentication information in the predetermined area ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. Conclusion 10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HARIS SABAH whose telephone number is (571)270-3917. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday/Friday from 9:00AM to 5:30PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Benny Tieu, can be reached on (571)272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The Examiner’s personal fax number is (571)270-4917. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 9 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 10 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 11 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 12 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 13 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/825,036 Page 14 Art Unit: 2682