DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 21, 35, and 37; and dependent claims 22-34, 36, and 38-40.
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Priority
This application is a Continuation Application of U.S. Application Ser. No. 18/455,902, filed 8/25/20023, now U.S. Patent 12,090,522, which is a Continuation of U.S. Application Ser. No. 17/812,055, filed July 12, 2022, now U.S. Patent 11,759,286.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,090,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application completely encompass the claims of the patent. One could not make or use the claimed invention of the patent without infringing the claims of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gealy et al. (US 2022/0072587) in view of Schack et al. (US 10,611,568).
Regarding independent claim 21, Gealy discloses a multi-level induction station, comprising: a plurality of platforms (120) arranged in a vertical stacked configuration; a transport device (122) provided on each platform; an automated lift (see Fig. 6, 130/133, and para. 0070) travelling between the platforms, the lift having an article-carrying surface (see at least para. 0146); and a control system comprising a processor (see at least para. 0077), the processor configured for: determining a destination area for the article positioned on the article-carrying surface of the lift (see at least para. 0077); directing the lift to deposit the article onto a transport device operating on a first platform of the plurality of platforms that corresponds with the destination area by manipulating the article-carrying surface of the lift (see at least paras. 0077 and 0146); and directing the transport device to the destination area (see at least para. 0077). Gealy discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the plurality of platforms are fitted within a single floor of a building. However, Schack discloses a similar apparatus which includes a plurality of platforms arranged in a vertical stacked configuration fitted within a single floor of a building for the purpose of utilizing as much space as possible on a floor for storage. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Gealy by having the plurality of platforms fitted within a single floor of a building, as disclosed by Schack, for the purpose of utilizing as much space as possible on a floor for storage.
Regarding independent claim 35, Gealy discloses a control system for a multi-level induction station, the control system having a processor (see at least para. 0077) configured for: determining a destination area for an article positioned on an article-carrying surface of an automated lift (see Fig. 6, 130/133, and paras. 0070 and 0077), the lift travelling between a plurality of platforms arranged in a vertical stacked configuration (see para. 0070); directing the lift to deposit the article onto a transport device operating on a first platform of the plurality of platforms by manipulating the article-carrying surface of the lift (see para. 0077 and 0146); and directing the transport device to the destination area (see at least para. 0077). Gealy discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the plurality of platforms are fitted within a single floor of a building. However, Schack discloses a similar system which includes a plurality of platforms arranged in a vertical stacked configuration fitted within a single floor of a building for the purpose of utilizing as much space as possible on a floor for storage. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Gealy by having the plurality of platforms fitted within a single floor of a building, as disclosed by Schack, for the purpose of utilizing as much space as possible on a floor for storage.
Regarding independent claim 37, Gealy discloses a method comprising: determining, by a processor (see at least para. 0077), a destination area for an article positioned on an article-carrying surface of an automated lift (see Fig. 6, 130/133, and paras. 0070 and 0077), the lift travelling between a plurality of platforms arranged in a vertical stacked configuration (see at least para. 0070); directing, by the processor, the lift to deposit the article onto a transport device operating on a first platform of the plurality of platforms by manipulating the article-carrying surface of the lift (see paras. 0077 and 0146); and directing, by the processor, the transport device to the destination area (see at least para. 0077). Gealy discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the plurality of platforms are fitted within a single floor of a building. However, Schack discloses a similar system which includes a plurality of platforms arranged in a vertical stacked configuration fitted within a single floor of a building for the purpose of utilizing as much space as possible on a floor for storage. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Gealy by having the plurality of platforms fitted within a single floor of a building, as disclosed by Schack, for the purpose of utilizing as much space as possible on a floor for storage.
Regarding dependent claims 22-34, 36, and 38-40, Gealy discloses one or more of a: rail system, track system and conveyor system (see at least Fig. 5); and an information acquisition device for reading article data from the article positioned on the article-carrying surface of the lift (see at least para. 0077). The article data from the information acquisition device is received at the processor (see at least para. 0077). The multi-level induction station is one or more of: portable, on wheels, modular, and reconfigurable (see at least para. 0045). More than one article is placed on the article-carrying surface of the lift (Gealy is capable of performing this function). The processor is further configured for directing the lift to an article induction height (see at least para. 0077). The transport device is in wireless communication with the control system, wherein the transport device travels in all directions across the first platform based on instructions/signals received from the control system (see at least para. 0212). The lift is configured for movement in three-dimensional space (see Fig. 6). The processor is further configured for directing the lift to an induction height, wherein the induction height is set to one of: a default height determined by the processor, and a user-specified height (see at least para. 0077). The article is manually loaded onto the lift (Gealy is capable of performing this function). The transport device is at an article-receiving position at the first platform prior to the lift depositing the article onto the transport device operating on the first platform (Gealy is capable of performing this function). The multi-level induction station comprises multiple frames positioned proximate to one another (see at least Fig. 6). The article is delivered to the multi-level induction station by a one of: an automated mobile transport device (111), a conveyor, and a pick port from an automated storage system (see at least para. 0074).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lindbo (US 2024/0190658) and Ingram-Tedd et al. (US 12,071,307) disclose multilevel induction stations fitted in a single floor of a building.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653