DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, French, US Patent Number 10,667,040 (hereinafter French) .
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, French discloses a method, an apparatus [figure 11], and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform the method [col. 2: lines 22-43; and col. 3: line 64 - col. 4: line 18], comprising:
bandpass filtering a voltage input Vvc and a current input Ivc [fig. 11; blocks 302, 304; col. 13: line 66 - col. 14: line 7 ];
determining a root means square of the bandpass filtering of the voltage input and the current input [col. 14, lines 22-29, regarding "the first low pass filter 306 and the second
low pass filter 308 converts an instantaneous value of Vvc measured and Ivc measured, respectively, and converts the same to a corresponding rms value for an average voltage of the voice coil 112 and an average current of the voice coil 112"];
dividing the root means square of the voltage input by the root means square of the current input to identify an impedance value Zavg [fig. 11, block 310; and col. 14: lines 29-38];
and determining whether a fault has occurred with the one or more audio channels based on the impedance value Zavg [col. 14: lines 59-60 "if the impedance at the specific frequency is known, it is possible to predict the values of Kms and Rms"].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, French discloses the impedance value Zavg corresponds to a narrowband signal [col. 14: lines 36-38, regarding "can provide the average impedance presented by the voice coil 112 at the given frequency"].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French in view of Applicant’s submission of prior art, Tackett, US Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0294609 (hereinafter Tackett).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, French does not specifically wherein the fault comprises one or more of a short circuit or open circuit. However, Tackett teaches this limitation [paragraph 0033]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify French to include the teaching of Tackett. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15, and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,811,463. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are taught in patented claims 1, 7, and 13, respectively. However, the instant claims are slightly broader as the omit the patented limitation that the voltage input is time delayed and clipped prior to bandpass filtering. Instant dependent claims 3, 10, and 17 are taught in patented claims 5, 11, and 17, respectively. Instant dependent claims 7 and 14 are taught in patented claims 3 and 15, respectively.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 14, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,811,463 in view of US Patent No. 12,113,585. Specifically instant dependent claims 2, 9, and 16 are taught in patented claims 2, 8, and 14, respectively. Instant dependent claims 4, 11, and 18 are taught in patented claims 5, 11, and 17, respectively. Instant dependent claims 5, 12, and 19 are taught in patented claims 5, 11, and 17, respectively. Instant dependent claim 6 is taught in patented claim 6. Instant dependent claims 13 and 20 are taught in patented claim 12. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify 11,811,463 to include the teaching of 12,113,585. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miller et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0309270, disclose speaker impedance monitoring.
Crawley et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0126730, disclose methods and apparatus related to protection of a speaker.
/EAW/
June 8, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644