DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 12, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 20240324498 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a lawnmower (a riding mower, fig. 1) comprising:
a frame (10);
a rotatable blade (paragraph 0015) disposed below at least a portion of the frame;
a moveable deck (3) on which the rotatable blade is supported; and
an adjustable linkage assembly (see fig. 2) connecting the moveable deck to the frame, the adjustable linkage assembly comprising:
a front linkage arm (130) pivotably attached to the frame to support a front end of the moveable deck,
a rear linkage arm (230) defining a fixed rear-arm length from an upper rear mounting point to a lower rear mounting point to support a rear end of the moveable deck, and
a rear linkage mount (see fig. 3) supported on the frame and connected to the rear linkage arm at the upper rear mounting point, the rear linkage mount comprising a moveable interface (141) defining a vertical lift path on which the upper rear mount point is moveable relative to the frame between a high position and a low position disposed below the high position (paragraphs 0026-0030).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the lawnmower of claim 10, wherein a lift point (the center of 230) is defined on the rear linkage arm (230) between the upper rear mounting point and the lower rear mounting point.
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the lawnmower of claim 10, wherein the rear linkage mount defines an attachment slot (141) extending along the vertical lift path and comprises an attachment pin (300) slidably disposed within the attachment slot.
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the lawnmower of claim 14, wherein the rear linkage mount further comprises an adjustment rod (201) extending from the upper rear mounting point, and wherein the attachment pin (300) is supported on the adjustment rod to move therewith relative to the frame (paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the lawnmower of claim 15, wherein the adjustment rod (201) defines a threaded interface on which an adjustment nut (202) is roto-translatably supported (paragraphs 0030-31).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the lawnmower of claim 10, wherein the front linkage arm (130) defines a fixed front-arm length from an upper front mounting point to a lower front mounting point (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20240324498 A1) in view of Ebihara (US 20120111655 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses the lawnmower of claim 10.
Park does not disclose a blade motor supported on the moveable deck in mechanical communication with the rotatable blade.
In the same field of endeavor, Ebihara discloses a motor (15) in mechanical communication with a rotatable mower blade (BL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Park with a motor supported on the moveable deck in mechanical communication with the rotatable blade, as disclosed by Ebihara, as a way of driving the blade to mow the lawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-9 allowed.
Claims 13, 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The remarks assert that claim 10 has been amended to include the subject matter of claim 11, however the amendment to claim 11 does not fully incorporate the subject matter indicated allowable in the 6/10/2026 rejection. Because applicant has not presented arguments that explain how Park (US 20240324498 A1) does not read on claim 10, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671