DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the object" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the adjustable property" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the property" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the object" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belveal et al. U.S. PGPub 2017/0082991 (hereinafter “Belveal”).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 12, Belveal discloses a method for operating a household appliance (e.g. laundry machine), the household appliance including a display device (e.g. LED status indicator) having a display theme configured to control an appearance of elements displayed by the display device and a control apparatus configured to control the display device (e.g. ¶37 and 58; Fig. 1-3), the method comprising the steps of: a) detecting an item of activation information (e.g. scannable code) from a physical accessory of the household appliance using an optical sensor of an external device (e.g. user/mobile device) (e.g. ¶41-42 and 56); b) processing the detected activation information to generate an activation signal using a processing unit of the external device (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119); and c) transmitting the generated activation signal to the control apparatus to activate an adjustment of the display theme, such that the appearance of subsequent elements displayed by the display device of the household appliance is controlled by the adjusted display theme (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119); wherein the household appliance is selected from the group consisting of a cooking appliance, a refrigeration appliance, a washing appliance, a drying appliance, and a dishwasher (e.g. ¶5 and 35).
Regarding claim 2, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the optical sensor is a camera for detecting the item of activation information, and further comprising arranging the activation information on the object or on a packaging of the object (e.g. ¶41-42 and 56).
Regarding claim 3, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the adjustable property of the display element includes at least one member shown in the display element and selected from the group consisting of an adjustment of a color tone, a color saturation, a brightness of a color, a theme world which is predetermined in terms of color, and a symbol (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119).
Regarding claim 4, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generated activation signal is used to initially activate or repeatedly activate the adjustment or to adjust the property of the display element (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119).
Regarding claim 5, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generated activation signal includes a specific validity which comprises an unlimited validity or a limited validity (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119).
Regarding claim 6, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising carrying out the step c) via a communication interface of the household appliance (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119; Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the activation information comprises a two-dimensional code (e.g. ¶41-42 and 56).
Regarding claim 8, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the activation information comprises a Quick Response code (e.g. ¶41-42 and 56).
Regarding claim 9, Belveal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the optical sensor is a camera, and further comprising: identifying the object by object recognition (e.g. ¶41-42 and 56); and generating the activation signal as a function of the detected and identified object (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119).
Regarding claim 10, Belveal discloses a computer program product for operating a household appliance, comprising a computer program embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the computer program, when loaded into a program-controlled device and executed by the program-controlled device, causes the program-controlled device to perform the method as set forth in claim 1 (e.g. ¶37 and 58; Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Belveal discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a plurality H of household appliances, where H ≥ 2, wherein the control apparatus of each of the plurality of household appliances is designed to adjust the property of the display element of the plurality of household appliances by the transmitted activation signal such that the adjusted properties of the display elements are identical (e.g. ¶56, 58, 68, 82, 104 and 119).
Conclusion
CK
July 11, 2026
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116