DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 2014/0115521; hereinafter Kataoka) in view of Peterson (US 2010/0293497) as applied in the last Office Action.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka in
view of Peterson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US2011/0093820; hereinafter Zhang) as applied in the last Office Action.
Claim(s) 12-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka in view of Peterson and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2011/0093820; hereinafter Zhang) as applied in the last Office Action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 8, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would 8. be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to claim 1, Applicant argues that “Neither Kataoka nor Peterson discloses a virtual keyboard in which spatial location relative to a user’s anatomy are mapped to keystrokes”. However, nowhere in the claim 1 specifies “a virtual keyboard in which spatial location relative to a user’s anatomy are mapped to keystrokes”. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “virtual keyboard” in claim 1 is interpreted as any keyboard that is being displayed on a screen. As such, both Kataoka and Peterson discloses a virtual keyboard.
In regards to claims 2 and 14, Applicant’s argument is persuasive. Hence, claims 2 and 14 are allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 4, Applicant argues that “the word “semantic” does not appear in Kataoka”. Hence, Applicant states that Kataoka does not discloses “using three groups of preliminary predicted next characters to predict a next character”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The previous Office Action points to paragraph [0038]-[0039] to show that language model is used to predict the next character/word. Kataoka teaches “a candidate word may therefore represent the probability of the candidate word based on a language context and the accuracy of a gesture given a set of keys”. As such, the term “language context” is being construed as “based on a semantic-based”. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 4 is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In regards to claim 9, Applicant argues that “Nothing in Zhang suggests that different users are likely to have a different user keyboard trajectories when typing words”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang teaches identifying the gesture style (which includes the trajectories of finger when typing words) of user and building a user’s gesture profile in order to improve the gesture recognition of a particular gesture movement. As such, the combination of Kataoka, Peterson, and Zhang discloses all the features in claim 9.
In regards to claim 10, and in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In regards to claim 12, Applicant argues “Kataoka maps a set of spatial locations relative to a user interface, not relative to a user’s anatomy”. However, nowhere in claim 12 recites “a set of spatial locations relative to a viewer’s anatomy”.
Furthermore, Applicant argues “Zhang is cited for its alleged disclosure of “determining a probability of at least one of a finger and a thumb actuating a virtual keyboard key based on the user identification information”. However, Examiner relied on Peterson to teach “determining a probability of at least one of a finger and a thumb actuating a virtual keyboard key based on the user identification information”. See last Office Action, page 9.
Applicant arguments with respect to claims 16 and 18 are not persuasive for the same reasons as discussed above in claims 4 and 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIXI C SIMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625