DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 07/21/2026. Claims 1-12, 14, and 16-21 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an audio module”, “a light source module”, and “a control module” in claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buehler et al. (U.S. 9,499,095 B1) in view of Jackl et al. (U.S. 2023/0124469 A1).
Claim 4, Buehler teaches:
A lamp system disposed in a moving object (Buehler, Fig. 1, The emergency vehicle 10 includes the bumper accessory 12 (see Buehler, Fig. 2) and a plurality of additional devices connected via Local Interconnect Network (LIN) 124 (see Buehler, Fig. 4).), comprising:
an audio module configured to output a sound (Buehler, Col. 3, Lines 25-32 and Lines 43-52, Audio modules include a siren, a horn, and speakers 11.);
a light source module including a light source (Buehler, Col. 3, Lines 27-35 and Lines 43-51) and configured to output an image (Buehler, Col. 3, Lines 27-35 and Lines 43-51, Light source modules includes lights 14, lightbar, strobes, directional lighting, and spotlights which are equipped to generate patterns or images (see Buehler, Col. 4, Lines 56-67 through Col. 5, Lines 1-5).); and
a control module (Buehler, Fig. 4: 120 and Fig. 5: 250) configured to control, based on a control signal of the lamp system, an output of the light source module and the audio module, the output including the sound and image respectively output from the audio module and the light source module (Buehler, Col. 9, Lines 48-61 and Col. 10, Lines 62-67 through Col. 11, Lines 1-15, The Buehler transmits data messages, i.e. a control signal of the lamp system, to remote controllers and the accessory control unit to control the respective audio and visual devices.),
wherein, for controlling the output of the light source module and the audio module, the control module is configured to transmit a data message, based on the control signal (Buehler, Col. 9, Lines 48-61 and Col. 10, Lines 62-67 through Col. 11, Lines 1-15, Each data message may have a plurality of bits that define the desired state of the emergency vehicle functional warning units, wherein the bits are bitmapped to each unit in order to determine how to operate the unit (see Buehler, Col. 11, Lines 34-55).).
Buehler does not specifically teach:
The control module is configured to transmit an image signal and an audio signal, which are synchronized with each other;
wherein the light source module further includes:
a lens, and
a piezoelectric element disposed on a surface of the lens and configured to generate vibration based on the audio signal.
As per the control module is configured to transmit an image signal and an audio signal, which are synchronized with each other, Buehler discloses that the bitmap encoding the desired state of every emergency vehicle functional warning unit allows all of the devices to be synchronized (see Buehler, Col. 13, Lines 33-44), and the data payload of each data message includes the desired state of each emergency vehicle functional warning unit (see Buehler, Col. 12, Lines 51-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the plurality of data messages transmitted by the central controller to include at least one data message bitmapped to control at least one image device and at least one data message bitmapped to control at least one audio device, effectively transmitting an image signal and an audio signal, respectively. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Jackl teaches:
A lens (Jackl, Fig. 5: 2, Paragraph [0016], The cover glass is made from transparent polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate to protect against abrasion, chemical damage, erosion or yellowing, and is functionally equivalent to a lens.), and
a piezoelectric element (Jackl, Fig. 5: 12) disposed on a surface of the lens (Jackl, Fig. 5: 2, 12) and configured to generate vibration based on a signal (Jackl, Paragraphs [0047-0049], The cleaning device is activated based on a signal generated by a sensor.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the vehicle in Buehler by integrating the teaching of a headlight cleaner, as taught by Jackl.
The motivation would be to reduce the likelihood of a vehicle collision by ensuring proper headlight cleaning (see Jackl, Paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Claim 14, Buehler in view of Jackl further teaches:
The lamp system of claim 4, wherein:
the light source module includes a plurality of light sources (Buehler, Col. 3, Lines 27-35 and Lines 43-51, Light source modules includes lights 14, lightbar, strobes, directional lighting.), and
the control module is configured to increase the output of the audio module based on a number of the light sources that are activated when a number of the light sources that are activated is less than a reference number (Buehler, Col. 13, Lines 33-44, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the output of the audio devices to be increased or decreased based on the synchronization of the visual and audible warning devices desired by the user. Thus, the increasing of the audible warning devices would be based on the number of light sources being less than a reference number, e.g. 25, 50, 100.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 16-21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest related prior art to the Applicant’s claimed invention are Buehler et al. (U.S. 9,499,095 B1), Jackl et al. (U.S. 2023/0124469 A1), and Tsuzuki et al. (U.S. 2016/0068102 A1). Buehler discloses an emergency vehicle including a bumper accessory having a plurality of audio modules for generating sound (see Buehler, Col. 3, Lines 25-32 and Lines 43-52), light source modules for generating lights and images (see Buehler, Col. 3, Lines 27-35 and Lines 43-51), and an accessory control unit to control the respective audio and visual devices (see Buehler, Col. 9, Lines 48-61 and Col. 10, Lines 621-67 through Col. 11, Lines 1-15). Jackl separately teaches a light source having a lens (see Jackl, Paragraph [0016]) and a piezoelectric element, wherein the piezoelectric element is configured to vibrate based on a signal generated by a sensor (see Jackl, Paragraphs [0047-0049]). Tsuzuki separately teaches a vehicle having various sensors (see Tsuzuki, Paragraph [0017]), wherein based on the vehicle speed and the speaker temperature, the device controls to output the sound. The cited references, alone or in combination, do not teach that the sound output by the audio module is generated by vibration of the lens, the temperature data being indicative of a temperature of the lens, and causing the piezoelectric element to vibrate the lens with an increased vibration intensity to the control the audio module to amplify the output of the audio module, as amended. Additionally, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the references to conclude at the Applicant’s claimed invention without using improper hindsight reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to the Applicant’s argument that the combination of Buehler in view of Jackl would not teach each and every limitation of claim 4, as amended, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. With regard to the Jackl reference not teaching acoustic audio reproduction, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 4 recites this feature of the Applicant’s invention. Claim 4 recites the piezoelectric element is “configured to generate vibration based on the audio signal”, however, claim 4 does not inherently or explicitly recite that the vibration generated by the piezoelectric element causes acoustic audio reproduction, as argued by the Applicant. An “audio signal” as a signal for which operation of the piezoelectric element is “based on” does not inherently or explicitly define that the vibration subsequently requires an audio signal output by the piezoelectric element.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that the combination of Buehler in view of Jackl would render Buehler inoperable because an ultrasonic cleaning transducer cannot function as a wide-band audio speaker capable of broadcasting audio alerts, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 4 recites that the light source module includes the piezoelectric element, so it is unclear as to how a lens cleaning piezoelectric element of a light source would render an audio speaker inoperable. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “integrated, multi-functional lighting and acoustic assembly where a piezoelectric element is disposed directly on a surface of the lenes to vibrate the lens to generate the sound based on the audio signal”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686