DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “industrial pure titanium” which should be “industrially pure titanium”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2012/0171468), as evidenced by Saoula et al. ("Influence of substrate bias on the structure and properties of TiCN films deposited by radio-frequency magnetron sputtering”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Tanaka teaches a base material made of titanium or a titanium-based alloy (¶ 56) and titanium compound particles formed on the surface thereof, covering the base material at a rate of 20% or more (¶ 57). The titanium compound particles include Ti, O, C and N (¶ 57), including titanium carbonitride (¶ 105). As evidenced by Saoula, TiCN has a peak in the range of 320-350 cm-1 in a spectrum obtained by Raman spectroscopy (see Fig. 5). The prior art ranges overlap the claimed ranges, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminaka et al. (US 2021/0066729), as evidenced by Saoula et al. ("Influence of substrate bias on the structure and properties of TiCN films deposited by radio-frequency magnetron sputtering”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Kaminaka teaches a base material made of titanium or a titanium-based alloy (¶¶ 24-25) with titanium carbonitride formed on the base material as dispersed grains (¶ 58). Kaminaka teaches an “abundance ratio” of TiCN to Ti on the surface is preferably 0.10 to 0.45 (¶ 60), which is presumed to approximate a covering ratio of TiCN on the Ti substrate. As evidenced by Saoula, TiCN has a peak in the range of 320-350 cm-1 in a spectrum obtained by Raman spectroscopy (see Fig. 5). The prior art ranges overlap the claimed ranges, creating a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsukamoto et al. (JP 2002-187399) teaches a base material made of titanium or a titanium-based alloy and having a color layer composed of a titanium compound on the surface of the base material. The color layer comprises TiCN, TiC, TiN, or TiAlN. However, Tsukamoto does not expressly teach or suggest a coverage ratio for the surface of the base material.
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784