DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2025/0106613 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chu et al. teach an access point comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to, individually or collectively (Fig. 1, [0023], AP MLD 112 may have APs 126, 128 and AP MLD 114 may have APs 130, 132. In some embodiments, the APs may be wireless APs compatible with at least one WLAN communications protocol (e.g., at least one IEEE 802.11 protocol) and be implemented in hardware (e.g., circuits), software, firmware, or a combination thereof. The APs may be fully or partially implemented as an IC device. In some embodiments, each AP includes at least one antenna, at least one transceiver operably connected to the at least one antenna, and at least one controller connected to the corresponding transceiver. In some embodiments, an AP affiliated with an AP MLD includes multiple RF chains and the at least one transceiver in a PHY circuit of the AP. The at least one controller may be configured to control the at least one transceiver to transmit and receive frames. In some embodiments, the at least one controller may be implemented within a processor, such as a microcontroller, a host processor, a host, a DSP, or a CPUs. In one or more embodiments, each of the APs may define different basic service set (BSS) operating channel operating in different frequency bands. The APs may operate in one of a 5 GHz or 6 GHz band. In one or more embodiments, the AP MLD 112 includes a 5 GHz AP 126 and 6 GHz AP 128. The AP MLD 114 includes a 5 GHz AP 130 and 6 GHz AP 132 (Note: AP MLD is comprising of multiple transceivers that include multiple processors coupled to memories for execution of required functionalities),
Chu et al. teach determine, based on a first traffic identifier for a first data stream, that the first data stream is subject to quality of service (QoS) requirements (Figs. 1 and 6 [0027, 0037], the AP MLD to which the non-AP MLD 102 may transmit UL frames is based on traffic identifiers (TIDs) of the frames and in some embodiments a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping. The TID may indicate a type of packet to be transmitted and corresponding type of service needed to achieve a certain quality of service (QoS). The TID-to-link mapping may indicate which link and associated AP MLD the packet with the TID should be mapped for the transmission to meet the QoS. In another option 604, the non-AP MLD 116 and the roaming domain 110 may negotiate that both AP MLDs 112, 114 can do the frame exchanges for the UL frames with TIDs after the DS mapping change is finished and during a temporary stage. The non-AP MLD's links with the AP MLD112 are terminated, temporarily the non-AP MLD 116 can receive the DL frames from both AP MLD 112 and AP MLD 114 while the non-AP MLD 116 can transmit the UL frames to the AP MLD 114. The non-AP MLD 116 may be temporarily roaming and have link 118 to AP MLD 112 which is a serving AP MLD and link 122 to AP MLD 114 which is a target AP MLD (Note: non-AP MLD 116 and communicates with serving AP MLDs 112 on first link 118 (first link), and communicates with target AP MLDs 114 on second link 118 or vise-versa).
Chu et al. teach in response to determining that the first data stream is subject to QoS requirements, determine a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Figs. 1 and 6, [0037-0038], the TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) may indicate which link and associated AP MLD the packet with the TID should be mapped for the transmission to meet the QoS. In another option 604, the non-AP MLD 116 and the roaming domain 110 may negotiate that both AP MLDs 112, 114 can do the frame exchanges for the UL frames with TIDs after the DS mapping change is finished and during a temporary stage. The negotiation may include the non-AP MLD 116 sending a request to send uplink frames with a TID to both AP MLDs and one or both AP MLDs may provide a response to either accept or deny the request. When the UL frame exchanges are performed with both AP MLDs 114, 116, one AP MLD which is the serving AP MLD associated with the roaming needs to provide access to a reorder buffer to the other AP MLD which is the target AP MLD).
Chu et al. teach and carry the first data stream on the first link (Figs. 1 and 6, [0037], the frames of UL TIDs will be transmitted by the non-AP MLD 116 to only the target AP MLD. Before the frame exchange context is established and after the DS mapping change, the frames are not transmitted to AP MLD 114 (target AP MLD). After the frame exchange context is established, after the DS mapping change, the frames are transmitted to AP MLD 114 (target AP MLD) but are not transmitted to AP MLD 112 (serving AP MLD)).
Chu et al. disclose of multilink communication based on QoS and mapping of traffic identifiers (TID) with the links. Chu et al., however, fail to expressly teach of mapping the first link with the first TDI, and transmitting first data stream on the first link (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach determine a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Fig. 11,[0088-0089, 0091], The TID-to-link mapping may be for traffic between two or more multi-link devices (MLDs). An AP 1102-1, an AP 1102-2 and an AP 1102-3 may be affiliated with an AP MLD 1102. A STA 1104-1, a STA 1104-2 and a STA 1104-3 may be affiliated with a non-AP MLD 1104. The STA 1104-1 may send/transmit, to the AP 1102-1, a request frame (e.g., via a link 1). The AP 1102-1 may send/transmit a response frame, to the STA 1104-1, via the link 1, for example, based on/in response to the request frame. The response frame may comprise a TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) element. The TTLM element may indicate a mapping between one or more TIDs and one or more links. For example, the TTLM element may comprise information indicating mapping of a TID 1 to a link 1, mapping of a TID 2 to a link 2, and/or mapping of a TID 3 to a link 3),
Kim et al. teach and carry the first data stream on the first link (Fig. 11,[0088-0089, 0091], data with the TID 1 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-1 or the STA 1104-1) via the link 1. Data with the TID 2 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-2 or the STA 1104-2) via the link 2. Data with the TID 3 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-3 or the STA 1104-3) via the link 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier, and carry the first data stream on the first link. The motivation is to support an improved method for multicarrier communication systems (see [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Chu et al. teach a method comprising (Fig. 1, [0023], AP MLD 112 may have APs 126, 128 and AP MLD 114 may have APs 130, 132. An AP affiliated with an AP MLD includes multiple RF chains and the at least one transceiver in a PHY circuit of the AP.
Chu et al. teach determining, based on a first traffic identifier for a first data stream, that the first data stream is subject to QoS requirements (Figs. 1 and 6 [0027, 0037], the AP MLD to which the non-AP MLD 102 may transmit UL frames is based on traffic identifiers (TIDs) of the frames and in some embodiments a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping. The TID may indicate a type of packet to be transmitted and corresponding type of service needed to achieve a certain quality of service (QoS). The TID-to-link mapping may indicate which link and associated AP MLD the packet with the TID should be mapped for the transmission to meet the QoS. In another option 604, the non-AP MLD 116 and the roaming domain 110 may negotiate that both AP MLDs 112, 114 can do the frame exchanges for the UL frames with TIDs after the DS mapping change is finished and during a temporary stage. The non-AP MLD's links with the AP MLD112 are terminated, temporarily the non-AP MLD 116 can receive the DL frames from both AP MLD 112 and AP MLD 114 while the non-AP MLD 116 can transmit the UL frames to the AP MLD 114. The non-AP MLD 116 may be temporarily roaming and have link 118 to AP MLD 112 which is a serving AP MLD and link 122 to AP MLD 114 which is a target AP MLD (Note: non-AP MLD 116 and communicates with serving AP MLDs 112 on first link 118 (first link), and communicates with target AP MLDs 114 on second link 118 or vise-versa).
Chu et al. teach in response to determining that the first data stream is subject to QoS requirements, determining a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Figs. 1 and 6, [0037-0038], the TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) may indicate which link and associated AP MLD the packet with the TID should be mapped for the transmission to meet the QoS. In another option 604, the non-AP MLD 116 and the roaming domain 110 may negotiate that both AP MLDs 112, 114 can do the frame exchanges for the UL frames with TIDs after the DS mapping change is finished and during a temporary stage. The negotiation may include the non-AP MLD 116 sending a request to send uplink frames with a TID to both AP MLDs and one or both AP MLDs may provide a response to either accept or deny the request. When the UL frame exchanges are performed with both AP MLDs 114, 116, one AP MLD which is the serving AP MLD associated with the roaming needs to provide access to a reorder buffer to the other AP MLD which is the target AP MLD).
Chu et al. teach and carrying the first data stream on the first link (Figs. 1 and 6, [0037], the frames of UL TIDs will be transmitted by the non-AP MLD 116 to only the target AP MLD. Before the frame exchange context is established and after the DS mapping change, the frames are not transmitted to AP MLD 114 (target AP MLD). After the frame exchange context is established, after the DS mapping change, the frames are transmitted to AP MLD 114 (target AP MLD) but are not transmitted to AP MLD 112 (serving AP MLD)).
Chu et al. disclose of multilink communication based on QoS and mapping of traffic identifiers (TID) with the links. Chu et al., however, fail to expressly teach of mapping the first link with the first TDI, and transmitting first data stream on the first link (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. teach determine a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Fig. 11,[0088-0089, 0091], The TID-to-link mapping may be for traffic between two or more multi-link devices (MLDs). An AP 1102-1, an AP 1102-2 and an AP 1102-3 may be affiliated with an AP MLD 1102. A STA 1104-1, a STA 1104-2 and a STA 1104-3 may be affiliated with a non-AP MLD 1104. The STA 1104-1 may send/transmit, to the AP 1102-1, a request frame (e.g., via a link 1). The AP 1102-1 may send/transmit a response frame, to the STA 1104-1, via the link 1, for example, based on/in response to the request frame. The response frame may comprise a TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) element. The TTLM element may indicate a mapping between one or more TIDs and one or more links. For example, the TTLM element may comprise information indicating mapping of a TID 1 to a link 1, mapping of a TID 2 to a link 2, and/or mapping of a TID 3 to a link 3),
Kim et al. teach and carrying the first data stream on the first link (Fig. 11,[0088-0089, 0091], data with the TID 1 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-1 or the STA 1104-1) via the link 1. Data with the TID 2 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-2 or the STA 1104-2) via the link 2. Data with the TID 3 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-3 or the STA 1104-3) via the link 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier, and carry the first data stream on the first link. The motivation is to support an improved method for multicarrier communication systems (see [0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Chu et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors toy (Fig. 1, [0025], non-AP MLD 116 includes two non-AP STAs 134, 136 which are implemented in hardware (e.g., circuits), software, firmware, or a combination thereof. The STAs 134, 136 may be fully or partially implemented as an IC device. In some embodiments, the STAs 134, 136 are part of the non-AP MLD 116, such that the non-AP MLD 116 may be a communications device that wirelessly connects to one or more AP MLD 112, 114. For example, the non-AP MLD 116 may be implemented in a laptop, a desktop personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, or other communications device that supports at least one WLAN communications protocol. In some embodiments, the non-AP MLD 120 implements MAC functionality which is divided between an MLD level common MAC functionality and the non-AP STAs 122 and 124 implement lower layer MAC data functionality (Note: a desktop personal computer, may be considered contains memory for storing codes when executed by a processor, coupled to the memory, cause the functions to be implemented),
Chu et al. teach determine, based on a first traffic identifier for a first data stream, that the first data stream is subject to QoS requirements (Figs. 1 and 6 [0027, 0037], the AP MLD to which the non-AP MLD 102 may transmit UL frames is based on traffic identifiers (TIDs) of the frames and in some embodiments a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping. The TID may indicate a type of packet to be transmitted and corresponding type of service needed to achieve a certain quality of service (QoS). The TID-to-link mapping may indicate which link and associated AP MLD the packet with the TID should be mapped for the transmission to meet the QoS. In another option 604, the non-AP MLD 116 and the roaming domain 110 may negotiate that both AP MLDs 112, 114 can do the frame exchanges for the UL frames with TIDs after the DS mapping change is finished and during a temporary stage. The non-AP MLD's links with the AP MLD112 are terminated, temporarily the non-AP MLD 116 can receive the DL frames from both AP MLD 112 and AP MLD 114 while the non-AP MLD 116 can transmit the UL frames to the AP MLD 114. The non-AP MLD 116 may be temporarily roaming and have link 118 to AP MLD 112 which is a serving AP MLD and link 122 to AP MLD 114 which is a target AP MLD (Note: non-AP MLD 116 and communicates with serving AP MLDs 112 on first link 118 (first link), and communicates with target AP MLDs 114 on second link 118 or vise-versa).
Chu et al. teach in response to determining that the first data stream is subject to QoS requirements, determine a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Figs. 1 and 6, [0037-0038], the TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) may indicate which link and associated AP MLD the packet with the TID should be mapped for the transmission to meet the QoS. In another option 604, the non-AP MLD 116 and the roaming domain 110 may negotiate that both AP MLDs 112, 114 can do the frame exchanges for the UL frames with TIDs after the DS mapping change is finished and during a temporary stage. The negotiation may include the non-AP MLD 116 sending a request to send uplink frames with a TID to both AP MLDs and one or both AP MLDs may provide a response to either accept or deny the request. When the UL frame exchanges are performed with both AP MLDs 114, 116, one AP MLD which is the serving AP MLD associated with the roaming needs to provide access to a reorder buffer to the other AP MLD which is the target AP MLD).
Chu et al. teach and carry the first data stream on the first link (Figs. 1 and 6, [0037], the frames of UL TIDs will be transmitted by the non-AP MLD 116 to only the target AP MLD. Before the frame exchange context is established and after the DS mapping change, the frames are not transmitted to AP MLD 114 (target AP MLD). After the frame exchange context is established, after the DS mapping change, the frames are transmitted to AP MLD 114 (target AP MLD) but are not transmitted to AP MLD 112 (serving AP MLD)).
Chu et al. disclose of multilink communication based on QoS and mapping of traffic identifiers (TID) with the links. Chu et al., however, fail to expressly teach non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction, mapping the first link with the first TDI, and transmitting first data stream on the first link (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Fig. 26, [0202], a non-transitory tangible computer readable media may comprise instructions executable by one or more processors configured to cause operations of communications described herein. An article of manufacture may comprise a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon for enabling programmable hardware to cause a device (e.g., a wireless device, wireless communicator, a wireless device, a base station, and the like) to allow operation of multi-carrier communications described herein),
Kim et al. teach determine a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Fig. 11,[0088-0089, 0091], The TID-to-link mapping may be for traffic between two or more multi-link devices (MLDs). An AP 1102-1, an AP 1102-2 and an AP 1102-3 may be affiliated with an AP MLD 1102. A STA 1104-1, a STA 1104-2 and a STA 1104-3 may be affiliated with a non-AP MLD 1104. The STA 1104-1 may send/transmit, to the AP 1102-1, a request frame (e.g., via a link 1). The AP 1102-1 may send/transmit a response frame, to the STA 1104-1, via the link 1, for example, based on/in response to the request frame. The response frame may comprise a TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) element. The TTLM element may indicate a mapping between one or more TIDs and one or more links. For example, the TTLM element may comprise information indicating mapping of a TID 1 to a link 1, mapping of a TID 2 to a link 2, and/or mapping of a TID 3 to a link 3),
Kim et al. teach and carry the first data stream on the first link (Fig. 11,[0088-0089, 0091], data with the TID 1 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-1 or the STA 1104-1) via the link 1. Data with the TID 2 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-2 or the STA 1104-2) via the link 2. Data with the TID 3 may be transmitted (e.g., by the AP 1102-3 or the STA 1104-3) via the link 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of using a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to, determining a first link that is mapped to the first traffic identifier, and carry the first data stream on the first link. The motivation is to support an improved method for multicarrier communication systems (see [0034]).
Claim(s) 2-5, 14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2025/0106613 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 2023/0262807 A1).
Chu et al. and Kim et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Chu et al. and Kim et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, broadcast a message indicating that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier; regarding claim 3, wherein the message is a beacon, a probe response, an association response, or a reassociation response; regarding claim 4, wherein the message indicates that the first link carries data streams subject to QoS requirements; regarding claim 5, wherein the message comprises a traffic identifier-to-link mapping (TTLM) element that indicates that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier; regarding claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively: determine a utilization of the first link; and in response to determining that the utilization falls below a threshold, carrying a second data stream on the first link, wherein the second data stream has a second traffic identifier that is unmapped to the first link; regarding claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, broadcast a message indicating that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier; regarding claim 17, a beacon, a probe response, an association response, or a reassociation response.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, broadcast a message indicating that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Figs. 12, [0140-0141], AP MLD may transmit an indication of the mapping and/or flexible usage policy/guidelines to the non-AP MLD (possibly any number of non-AP MLDs, e.g., for which the mapping/policies/guidelines may be the same or different) (1210), according to some embodiments. The indication may be transmitted in any message or messages, e.g., using any combination of one or more fields. For example, such indication may be carried in a beacon frame as an Information Element (IE), a (e.g., new) management frame, and/or a (e.g., new) A-Control field in the MAC header of a DL frame, among various possibilities. In other words, the indication may be transmitted or broadcast in a beacon, transmitted to the non-AP MLD in a management frame, or (e.g., along with data) in a downlink frame).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang et al. teach wherein the message is a beacon, a probe response, an association response, or a reassociation response (Figs. 12, [0091, 0140-0141], TID-to-link mapping negotiation may occur during the multilink (ML) setup process, e.g., via association frames, or via TID-to-link mapping handshakes. AP MLD may transmit an indication of the mapping and/or flexible usage policy/guidelines to the non-AP MLD (possibly any number of non-AP MLDs, e.g., for which the mapping/policies/guidelines may be the same or different) (1210), according to some embodiments. The indication may be transmitted in any message or messages, e.g., using any combination of one or more fields. For example, such indication may be carried in a beacon frame as an Information Element (IE), a (e.g., new) management frame, and/or a (e.g., new) A-Control field in the MAC header of a DL frame, among various possibilities. In other words, the indication may be transmitted or broadcast in a beacon, transmitted to the non-AP MLD in a management frame, or (e.g., along with data) in a downlink frame).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang et al. teach wherein the message indicates that the first link carries data streams subject to QoS requirements (Fig. 12, [0122, 0125], the non-AP MLD may indicate the requested usage to the AP MLD (1206), according to some embodiments. The non-AP MLD may provide the indication in a message to the AP MLD along with other information and/or in an individual message. For example, the non-AP MLD may use a stream classification service (SCS) handshake to indicate that a TID is a priority TID (see, e.g., FIG. 13). For example, a QoS characteristic element may describe the service frequency (e.g., how often the non-AP MLD requests to transmit data of the TID), traffic load (e.g., transmission time per interval, etc.), and/or other information about the requested usage. Similarly, the non-AP MLD may provide information such as a report on the amount of buffered traffic for the TID, and/or other indication of expected load, etc. The AP MLD may determine a mapping and/or associated flexible usage policy/guideline(s) for the non-AP MLD (and possibly any number of other STA/non-AP MLDs). The AP MLD may determine the mapping and policy/guidelines to attempt to distribute the load (e.g., of all associated STAs/non-AP MLDs) across all links, e.g., so that the traffic of the TIDs can be exchanged in view of the QoS characteristics of the various TIDs).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang et al. teach wherein the message comprises a traffic identifier-to-link mapping (TTLM) element that indicates that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Fig. 12, [0085, 0113], the relationship between the TIDs and the links may be referred to as a mapping (e.g., TID-to-link or T2L mapping (i.e. TTLM) The AP MLD may provide configuration information to the non-AP MLD, e.g., related to use of the various links. For example, the AP MLD may indicate a link mapping for use by the non-AP MLD. For example, the AP MLD may indicate which TID(s) the non-AP MLD should map to which links. The mapping may be a default mapping or may be specific to the non-AP MLD (e.g., the AP MLD may communicate with different non-AP MLDs using the same or different mappings). For example, the AP MLD may indicate a link mapping previously used with a particular non-AP MLD, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Jiang et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively: determine a utilization of the first link; and in response to determining that the utilization falls below a threshold, carrying a second data stream on the first link, wherein the second data stream has a second traffic identifier that is unmapped to the first link (Fig. 12, [0135], the AP MLD may use triggers to manage load and perform scheduling according to the network conditions. For example, in response to determining that the non-AP MLD has not transmitted traffic of the particular TID on the link for a threshold amount of time, the AP MLD may attempt to find a time when traffic (e.g., of all TIDs/STAs) on the link is below a threshold and provide a trigger to the non-AP MLD to transmit at that time. In some embodiments, such a trigger may be provided regardless of how much time has elapsed since a previous transmission (e.g., by the non-AP MLD of the particular TID on the link) and may be provided based only on traffic levels).
Regarding claim 16, Jiang et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, broadcast a message indicating that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier (Figs. 12, [0140-0141], AP MLD may transmit an indication of the mapping and/or flexible usage policy/guidelines to the non-AP MLD (possibly any number of non-AP MLDs, e.g., for which the mapping/policies/guidelines may be the same or different) (1210), according to some embodiments. The indication may be transmitted in any message or messages, e.g., using any combination of one or more fields. For example, such indication may be carried in a beacon frame as an Information Element (IE), a (e.g., new) management frame, and/or a (e.g., new) A-Control field in the MAC header of a DL frame, among various possibilities. In other words, the indication may be transmitted or broadcast in a beacon, transmitted to the non-AP MLD in a management frame, or (e.g., along with data) in a downlink frame).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang et al. teach a beacon, a probe response, an association response, or a reassociation response (Figs. 12, [0140-0141], TID-to-link mapping negotiation may occur during the multilink (ML) setup process, e.g., via association frames, or via TID-to-link mapping handshakes. AP MLD may transmit an indication of the mapping and/or flexible usage policy/guidelines to the non-AP MLD (possibly any number of non-AP MLDs, e.g., for which the mapping/policies/guidelines may be the same or different) (1210), according to some embodiments. The indication may be transmitted in any message or messages, e.g., using any combination of one or more fields. For example, such indication may be carried in a beacon frame as an Information Element (IE), a (e.g., new) management frame, and/or a (e.g., new) A-Control field in the MAC header of a DL frame, among various possibilities. In other words, the indication may be transmitted or broadcast in a beacon, transmitted to the non-AP MLD in a management frame, or (e.g., along with data) in a downlink frame).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. with Kim et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jiang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of broadcasting a message indicating that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier, the message is a beacon, a probe response, an association response, or a reassociation response, the message indicates that the first link carries data streams subject to QoS requirements, and the message comprises a traffic identifier-to-link mapping (TTLM) element that indicates that the first link is mapped to the first traffic identifier. The motivation is to support an improved method of techniques for wireless communication among wireless stations and/or access points (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2025/0106613 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Viger et al. (US 2025/0393069 A1).
Chu et al. and Kim et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Chu et al. and Kim et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, perform a stream classification service (SCS) negotiation for the first data stream with a device that communicated the first data stream; regarding claim 7, wherein the SCS negotiation comprises negotiating QoS characteristics parameters for the first data stream; regarding claim 8, wherein carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on the SCS negotiation with the device being successful; regarding claim 18, further comprising performing an SCS negotiation for the first data stream with a device that communicated the first data stream; regarding claim 19, wherein carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on the SCS negotiation with the device being successful.
Regarding claim 6, Viger et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, perform a stream classification service (SCS) negotiation for the first data stream with a device that communicated the first data stream (Figs. 1-2, [0108, 0209], in wireless communication network 100, during the ML setup procedures, two candidate setup links have been requested by non-AP MLD 120 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 151 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 121 (A1), a second link 152 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 122 (A2). Similarly, two candidate setup links have been requested by multi-radio non-AP MLD 130 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 161 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 131 (B1), a second link 162 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 132 (B2). The Stream Classification Service (SCS) mechanism, originally defined in the IEEE 802.11aa standard, has been adapted to be included in the D2.0 standard. The SCS mechanism for multi-link now allows a non-AP MLD to define and advertise the AP MLD of a (latency sensitive) traffic stream identified with an SCS identifier, SCSID. An adaptation of the SCS mechanism allows QoS requirements to be defined for the SCS stream through so-called QoS Characteristics element, in particular to classify the SCS stream as belonging to a TID class for a corresponding uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) direction).
Regarding claim 7, Viger et al. teach wherein the SCS negotiation comprises negotiating QoS characteristics parameters for the first data stream (Figs. 1-2, [0108, 0209], in wireless communication network 100, during the ML setup procedures, two candidate setup links have been requested by non-AP MLD 120 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 151 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 121 (A1), a second link 152 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 122 (A2). Similarly, two candidate setup links have been requested by multi-radio non-AP MLD 130 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 161 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 131 (B1), a second link 162 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 132 (B2). The Stream Classification Service (SCS) mechanism, originally defined in the IEEE 802.11aa standard, has been adapted to be included in the D2.0 standard. The SCS mechanism for multi-link now allows a non-AP MLD to define and advertise the AP MLD of a (latency sensitive) traffic stream identified with an SCS identifier, SCSID. An adaptation of the SCS mechanism allows QoS requirements to be defined for the SCS stream through so-called QoS Characteristics element, in particular to classify the SCS stream as belonging to a TID class for a corresponding uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) direction).
Regarding claim 8, Viger et al. teach wherein carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on the SCS negotiation with the device being successful (Figs. 1-2, [0052-0053, 0108], in wireless communication network 100, during the ML setup procedures, two candidate setup links have been requested by non-AP MLD 120 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 151 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 121 (A1), a second link 152 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 122 (A2). The access point multi-link device, AP MLD, configured to carry out frame exchange operations with at least a given non-AP MLD operating in Enhanced Multi-Link, EML, mode that applies with a set of EML links: [scheduling, in beacon frames transmitted by the AP MLD on a first link of the EML links, service periods for the given non-AP MLD that do not overlap in time any beacon frames transmitted by the AP MLD over a second link of the EML links.
Regarding claim 18, Viger et al. teach further comprising performing an SCS negotiation for the first data stream with a device that communicated the first data stream (Figs. 1-2, [0108, 0209], in wireless communication network 100, during the ML setup procedures, two candidate setup links have been requested by non-AP MLD 120 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 151 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 121 (A1), a second link 152 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 122 (A2). Similarly, two candidate setup links have been requested by multi-radio non-AP MLD 130 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 161 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 131 (B1), a second link 162 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 132 (B2). The Stream Classification Service (SCS) mechanism, originally defined in the IEEE 802.11aa standard, has been adapted to be included in the D2.0 standard. The SCS mechanism for multi-link now allows a non-AP MLD to define and advertise the AP MLD of a (latency sensitive) traffic stream identified with an SCS identifier, SCSID. An adaptation of the SCS mechanism allows QoS requirements to be defined for the SCS stream through so-called QoS Characteristics element, in particular to classify the SCS stream as belonging to a TID class for a corresponding uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) direction).
Regarding claim 19, Viger et al. teach wherein carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on the SCS negotiation with the device being successful (Figs. 1-2, [0052-0053, 0108], in wireless communication network 100, during the ML setup procedures, two candidate setup links have been requested by non-AP MLD 120 and accepted by AP MLD 110: a first link 151 between affiliated AP 111 (AP1) and affiliated non-AP STA 121 (A1), a second link 152 between affiliated AP 112 (AP2) and affiliated non-AP STA 122 (A2). The access point multi-link device, AP MLD, configured to carry out frame exchange operations with at least a given non-AP MLD operating in Enhanced Multi-Link, EML, mode that applies with a set of EML links: [scheduling, in beacon frames transmitted by the AP MLD on a first link of the EML links, service periods for the given non-AP MLD that do not overlap in time any beacon frames transmitted by the AP MLD over a second link of the EML links.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. with Kim et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Viger et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of performing a stream classification service (SCS) negotiation for the first data stream with a device that communicated the first data stream, and carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on the SCS negotiation with the device being successful. The motivation is to support an improved method for Multi-Link (ML) communications (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2025/0106613 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) and Viger et al. (US 2025/0393069 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 2023/0262807 A1).
Chu et al., Kim et al. and Viger et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Chu et al., Kim et al. and Viger et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on TTLM negotiation with the device being successful.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang et al. teach wherein carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on TTLM negotiation with the device being successful (Fig. 8, [0091], TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) negotiation may occur during the multilink (ML) setup process, e.g., via association frames, or via TID-to-link mapping handshakes. For example, either an AP MLD or a non-AP MLD may initiate the negotiation and either an AP MLD or a non-AP MLD may accept or reject a TID-to-link mapping request from a peer. Further, if TID-To-link mapping is not accepted the peer may propose a preferred/alternative mapping).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. with Kim et al. and Viger et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jiang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of carrying the first data stream on the first link is based on TTLM negotiation with the device being successful. The motivation is to support an improved method of techniques for wireless communication among wireless stations and/or access points (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2025/0106613 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) and Jiang et al. (US 2023/0262807 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2026/0214707 A1).
Chu et al., Kim et al. and Jiang et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claim 10, Jiang et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively: receive, from a device, a second data stream with a second traffic identifier that is unmapped to the first link; and perform a TTLM negotiation with the device based on the second traffic identifier being unmapped to the first link (Fig. 8, [0087, 0091], a setup link may be considered to be enabled if at least one TID is mapped to that link and may be considered to be disabled if no TIDs are mapped to that link. If a link is enabled, it may be used for frame exchanges, but only limited to the data frames corresponding to the mapped TIDs and management frames. If a link is disabled, it may not be used for frame exchange, including some of the management frame exchange. TID-to-link mapping (TTLM) negotiation may occur during the multilink (ML) setup process, e.g., via association frames, or via TID-to-link mapping handshakes. For example, either an AP MLD or a non-AP MLD may initiate the negotiation and either an AP MLD or a non-AP MLD may accept or reject a TID-to-link mapping request from a peer. Further, if TID-To-link mapping is not accepted the peer may propose a preferred/alternative mapping).
Chu et al., Kim et al. and Jiang et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, broadcast a message indicating when first link is allowed to carry the second data stream; regarding claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively and in response to determining that the first data stream is being communicated by a device, communicate a message to the device indicating that the first traffic identifier is mapped to the first link.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively, broadcast a message indicating when first link is allowed to carry the second data stream (Fig. 10, [0155-0156], the AP 1-2 may transmit information indicating start of using the first link. The start of using the first link may mean enabling of the first link. For example, the AP MLD 1 may re-perform TID-to-link mapping for the first link. The AP MLD 1 may re-perform TID-to-link mapping so that at least one TID is mapped to the first link. The AP MLD 1 (e.g., AP 1-2) may transmit a frame (e.g., beacon frame or EHT action frame) including the TID-to-link mapping information to the STA MLD 1 (e.g., STA 1-2). The beacon frame may be transmitted in a broadcast scheme, and the EHT action frame may be transmitted in a unicast scheme. The STA MLD 1 may receive the TID-to-link mapping information from the AP MLD 1 and confirm that use of the first link is started based on the TID-to-link mapping information. In other words, the STA MLD 1 may confirm that the first link is enabled based on the TID-to-link mapping information. The use of the first link may start from a time at which the AP 1-2 indicates the start of using the first link).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively and in response to determining that the first data stream is being communicated by a device, communicate a message to the device indicating that the first traffic identifier is mapped to the first link (Fig. 10, [0155], the AP 1-2 may transmit information indicating start of using the first link. The start of using the first link may mean enabling of the first link. For example, the AP MLD 1 may re-perform TID-to-link mapping for the first link. The AP MLD 1 may re-perform TID-to-link mapping so that at least one TID is mapped to the first link. The AP MLD 1 (e.g., AP 1-2) may transmit a frame (e.g., beacon frame or EHT action frame) including the TID-to-link mapping information to the STA MLD 1 (e.g., STA 1-2). The beacon frame may be transmitted in a broadcast scheme, and the EHT action frame may be transmitted in a unicast scheme. The STA MLD 1 may receive the TID-to-link mapping information from the AP MLD 1 and confirm that use of the first link is started based on the TID-to-link mapping information. In other words, the STA MLD 1 may confirm that the first link is enabled based on the TID-to-link mapping information).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. with Kim et al. and Jiang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Hwang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of broadcast a message indicating when first link is allowed to carry the second data stream, and communicate a message to the device indicating that the first traffic identifier is mapped to the first link. The motivation is to support an improved method for a technique for (re) configuration of a link for multi-link operations of an enhanced multi-link single radio device (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2025/0106613 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0247698 A1).
Chu et al. and Kim et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Chu et al. and Kim et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively: receive a request from a device that a second traffic identifier be mapped to the first link; and in response to the request, communicate a response to the device indicating the first traffic identifier mapped to the first link.
Regarding claim 13, Liu et al. teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, individually or collectively: receive a request from a device that a second traffic identifier be mapped to the first link; and in response to the request, communicate a response to the device indicating the first traffic identifier mapped to the first link (Fig. 11, [0102-0103, 0117, ], a type of mapping in which one or more TIDs are mapped to a subset of all links and one or more TIDs are mapped to all links (e.g., an enhanced link subset (EAT2LS) mapping), according to some embodiments. As shown, TIDs 0-1 are mapped to links 1 and 2; TIDs 2-3 are mapped to links 1-3. An EAT2LS mapping may allow an AP MLD to balance the traffic loads by moving low-priority traffic from busy link(s) to idle link(s). For example, a non-AP MLD using an EAT2LS which prevents the non-AP MLD from using a busy link for low-priority traffic may free up some time/frequency resources on the busy link for high-priority traffic of other non-AP MLDs. The AP MLD may indicate, in its response to the non-AP MLD, the AP preferred mapping. The non-AP MLD may transmit an acknowledgement of such an indication to the AP MLD. In some embodiments, the AP MLD may select the AP preferred mapping in response to a message (e.g., association request, etc.) from the non-AP MLD. Thus, the AP MLD may select the AP preferred mapping based in part on the message from the non-AP MLD. The non-AP MLD may determine whether each active TID is mapped to a sufficient link or set of links, e.g., according to priority of the TIDs and number and/or quality of links mapped for each TID).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chu et al. with Kim et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Liu et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving a request from a device that a second traffic identifier be mapped to the first link; and in response to the request, communicate a response to the device indicating the first traffic identifier mapped to the first link. The motivation is to support an improved method for a wireless communication method using multiple links (see [0001]).
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
8/11/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473