DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states "n (where n is a natural number)". The use of the limitation of n to "natural numbers" is optional, or not. It seems difficult to predict n to be anything else than a natural number, so that the limitation in the brackets seems not to be optional, contrary to what the brackets indicate. Also, it would seem that a "multi-view mode" with "view screens" should provide more than one view screen, so that n should be at least one or more. These ambiguities render the scope of the claim unclear.
The subject-matter of either claim 5 or claim 11 (read in combination with that of the claims upon which they depend) is neither disclosed nor rendered obvious by the prior art. As both claims reflect the same inventive concept ("display application icons to be disabled or removed among the unselected application icons are displayed around the first application icon according to the selection of the first application icon"), they may both be claimed as separate independent claims.
Claim 6 contains a wording similar to claim 5, and is therefore unclear for similar reasons.
Claim 9 refers to displaying a "recommendation probability" for icons. And Claim 13 refers to a "recommended combination probability". Both of these terms are unclear in themselves, and should be further defined in the respective claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0191980) in view of Park et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0125222).
Regarding claim 1, YU discloses a display device, comprising: a memory; a display configured to provide a screen; and a processor configured to [see para. 0061 and figure 1; digital device or system capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from client, and can also be referred to as a processor] :
a first list including application icons [overlaid on a first application] executable in each view screen is provided in one area of the screen [see para. 0336, 0338, 0340 and figures 16b-16c, 17a-17c; a TV application (channel A) is executed on the screen of the digital device to provide an execution screen thereof and a launcher according to menu calling of a user is provided on the execution screen. When the multi-view function menu item of the second part is selected, the digital device reconfigures and provides the screen; when a menu item or a sub-menu item is selected from the second part of the menu, the digital device provides the execution screen of the TV application for a B channel corresponding to the menu item in the second area and the highlighted menu items show menus which may be activated in order to perform the multi-view function, that is, currently available menus among all menu items; which corresponds to the selected multi-view function menu item],
and when a first application icon is selected in the first list, at least one application icon that is not selected in the first list is disabled or removed according to a selection of the first application icon [see para. 0340 and figures 17a-17c; the highlighted menu items show menus which may be activated in order to perform the multi-view function, that is, currently available menus among all menu items, for example. For example, according to the application which is being provided in the first area, the application to be provided in the second area may not be available due to resource problems of a tuner, a decoder and a memory. The digital device may first determine whether a problem such as resource conflict occurs and may not activate the multi-view function even though the multi-view function is previously set when it is difficult to solve the resource problem via a resource sharing method; which corresponds to the digital device may determine whether a problem resource conflict occurs and may not activate the multi-view function]; however, YU fails to explicitly teach when a multi-view mode providing n (where n is a natural number) view screens on the screen is executed.
Park discloses when a multi-view mode providing n (where n is a natural number) view screens [multiple region ] on the screen is executed [see abstract, para. 0039; displaying a window for executing an application in each of a plurality of areas arranged on a touch screen; displaying a button on at least one boundary line dividing the plurality of areas; receiving an input for selecting the button; and displaying, in a predetermined area, on the basis of the received input, a list of at least one application executed in the predetermined area among the plurality of areas and a touch screen includes displaying an application execution window in each of a plurality of regions on the touch screen, displaying a button on at least one boundary line that divides the plurality of regions, displaying a list of at least one application execution icon on a portion of the touch screen, receiving an input of dragging an application execution icon in the list, determining a new application execution region based on a location where the input ends and a location of the button, and displaying an execution window of an application; which corresponds to the application execution icon on the determined new application execution region].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Park before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, multi-view list screen of Yu to include a display device having a touch screen, as taught by Park.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to predict improvement using known multi-view UI to enhance usability and prevent invalid simultaneous executions in multi-region displays.
Regarding claim 2, YU discloses, wherein the processor configured to: when the first application icon is selected from the first list, control the display to provide an application execution screen [see para. 0336, 0338, 0340 and figures 16b-16c, 17a-17c; a TV application (channel A) is executed on the screen of the digital device to provide an execution screen thereof and a launcher according to menu calling of a user is provided on the execution screen. When the multi-view function menu item of the second part is selected, the digital device reconfigures and provides the screen; when a menu item or a sub-menu item is selected from the second part of the menu, the digital device provides the execution screen of the TV application for a B channel corresponding to the menu item in the second area and the highlighted menu items show menus which may be activated in order to perform the multi-view function, that is, currently available menus among all menu items; which corresponds to the selected multi-view function menu item].
Park discloses corresponding to the first application icon on a first view screen [see para. 0039, 0046; displaying a list of at least one application execution icon on a portion of the touch screen, receiving an input of dragging an application execution icon in the list, determining a new application execution region based on a location where the input ends and a location of the button, and displaying an execution window of an application that corresponds to the application execution icon on the determined new application execution region].
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to predict improvement using known multi-view UI to enhance usability and prevent invalid simultaneous executions in multi-region displays.
Regarding claim 3, YU discloses wherein the processor configured to: control the display to provide guide information for at least one application icon that is disabled or removed from the first list in an area on the screen [see para. 0329; a channel banner, a first icon, a second icon, etc. are provided in the window for the area. The channel banner change to a title, etc. according to the application output in the window or area. In addition, the first icon may be a functional icon for window deletion, color change, size change, etc. The second icon may be a functional icon for requesting detailed information of the application provided in the window; which corresponds information for disabled icons and detail information].
Regarding claim 4, YU discloses wherein the processor configured to: disable or remove an application icon corresponding to an application that cannot be executed simultaneously with an application corresponding to the first application icon among at least one application icon that is not selected in the first list according to the selection of the first application icon [see para. 0340 and figures 17a-17c; the highlighted menu items show menus which may be activated in order to perform the multi-view function, that is, currently available menus among all menu items, for example. For example, according to the application which is being provided in the first area, the application to be provided in the second area may not be available due to resource problems of a tuner, a decoder and a memory. The digital device may first determine whether a problem such as resource conflict occurs and may not activate the multi-view function even though the multi-view function is previously set when it is difficult to solve the resource problem via a resource sharing method; which corresponds to the digital device may determine whether a problem resource conflict occurs and may not activate the multi-view function].
Regarding claim 5, YU discloses wherein the processor configured to: group at least one application to be disabled or removed from the first list, disable and display the application icon [see para. 0332 and figures 16a-16c; when the multi-view function menu item is selected, the digital device may reconfigure the second part. In the reconfigured second part, sub-menu items related to the multi-view function are provided around the selected multi-view function menu item the sub-menu items corresponding to channels are shown on the assumption that an application provided on a screen is an execution screen of a TV application for a broadcast program, for convenience. The sub-menu items may be a list of favorite channels or channels or broadcast programs belonging to the same genre or adjacent channels in relation to the broadcast program provided on the screen].
Park discloses corresponding to the grouped application around the first application icon, and remove the application icon corresponding to the grouped application from the first list [see para. 0193; the display device display application execution icons around a button. The application execution icons may respectively represent applications that are being executed or applications installed in the display device, the display device display application execution icons].
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to predict improvement using known multi-view UI to enhance usability and prevent invalid simultaneous executions in multi-region displays.
Regarding claim 6, YU discloses wherein the processor configured to: if at least one application to be disabled or removed from the first list is an application that was not displayed on the screen [see para. 0395; the PIP window may not be first provided as a blank screen, but, as a multi-view function menu item is selected, sub-menu items related thereto may be output and, when one sub-menu item (e.g., a menu item) is selected, the PIP window may be provided. Providing the single PIP window according to selection may distinguishably provide the first multi-view mode, the second multi-view mode and the third multi-view mode on the multi-view function menu items via icons, images, text, etc. to increase user selection convenience], remove after displaying around the first application icon the application icon corresponding to the application to be disabled or removed [see para. 0083; the multi-view menu items may be removed and the sound of the application executed in the second area may be output instead of the first area].
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to: when a selection signal is received for one of the view screens that does not provide a current application execution screen among the n view screens provided on the screen, at least one application icon among the application icons that are not selected in the first list is provided for selection [see para. 0472; a blank screen or a predetermined application may be automatically executed and provided in the PIP window generated according to entrance into the second multi-view mode. The predetermined application may mean any one of a previously executed application, an application related to an application which is being provided on the full screen, a predetermined application, a favorite application, a recording/scheduled recording application, a web browser application, etc..].
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to: when a selection signal is received for one of the view screens that does not provide a current application execution screen among the n view screens provided on the screen [see para. 0329; a channel banner, a first icon, a second icon, etc. are provided in the window for the area. The channel banner change to a title, etc. according to the application output in the window or area. In addition, the first icon may be a functional icon for window deletion, color change, size change, etc. The second icon may be a functional icon for requesting detailed information of the application provided in the window], at least one application icon among the application icons that are not selected in the first list is disabled or removed, and reconfigure the first list [see para. 0332, 0333; the digital device may reconfigure the second part. In the reconfigured second part, sub-menu items related to the multi-view function are provided around the selected multi-view function menu item, the sub-menu items corresponding to channels are shown on the assumption that an application provided on a screen is an execution screen of a TV application for a broadcast program, for convenience. The sub-menu items may be a list of favorite channels or channels or broadcast programs belonging to the same genre or adjacent channels in relation to the broadcast program provided on the screen].
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to: when a selection signal is received for one of the view screens that does not provide a current application execution screen among the n view screens provided on the screen [see para. 0337; as the screen is divided into two areas, the quality, size, etc. of the execution screen of the TV application provided via the first area are adjusted. The second area may be blank. At this time, in the second area , guide data “blank” or “Select a desired application/channel” may be provided. Alternatively, in the second area, one application having highest priority or any one application of an application list for a predetermined multi-view function may be provided while reconfiguring the screen, simultaneously with selection of the multi-view function menu item].
Park discloses display a recommendation probability of the application icons that are not selected in the first list [see para. 0102 and figure 3A; the display device may receive an input of dragging the button on a touch screen of the display device to a region that corresponds to an A application and a B application, when there are a plurality of applications that correspond to coordinates of the button that is moved, a user interface that corresponds to an application at the top of an activity stack may be displayed from among the plurality of applications of the display device displaying a user interface that corresponds to an application corresponding to coordinates of the button].
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to predict improvement using known multi-view UI to enhance usability and prevent invalid simultaneous executions in multi-region displays.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses wherein the processor configured to: if the first application icon is reselected from the first list in a state where the application execution screen corresponding to the first application icon is provided through the first view screen, stop provision of the application execution screen corresponding to the first application icon on the first view screen by determining that the first application icon is deselected [see para. 0154 and figure 6V; when an input of selecting the button is received, the icons, which represent operations related to the application execution windows displayed in the first region that is an active region, may be further displayed. The operations related to the application execution windows may include performing various additional functions related to the application execution windows. For example, an icon that represents an execution window related operation may include at least one selected from a close button for closing the execution window, a full screen button for displaying the execution window on an entire area of the touch screen, and a capture button for capturing the execution window].
Regarding claim 11, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to: display application icons to be disabled or removed among the unselected application icons are displayed around the first application icon according to the selection of the first application icon when the first application icon is pointed at in the first list, and display an application execution screen corresponding to the first application icon on the first view screen when the pointed first application icon is selected [see para. 0351, 0352 and figures 18a-18d; When a key button signal related to the multi-view function is received via an input unit or when a user points, hovers on or selects the second area, the screen may be provided in the form of multiple PIP windows. In this case, the first area does not change, but, in a second PIP window and a third PIP window excluding a first PIP window, a predetermined or related application may be executed to provide an execution screen or an application list for a screen to be provided in the PIP window provided. Alternatively, when a key button signal related to the multi-view function is received via an input unit or when a user points, hovers on or selects the second area, the digital device may separately provide the menu related to the multi-view function in the selected second region and configure and provide the screen according to selection].
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to: display at least one of a function button and an information providing button within the first view screen [see para. 0425 and figure 31; when any area of a main area for providing a first application execution screen is accessed, a banner UI for the first application is provided. At this time, the provided banner UI is mainly provided at the uppermost side of the screen, the banner UI may overlap the PIP window. In general, the banner UI is temporarily provided during a predetermined time and thus, even when the banner UI overlaps the PIP window as described above, the banner UI output at a higher layer. In other words, the banner UI output at a highest layer in the area of the screen, in which the banner UI is provided].
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to: arrange application icons whose recommended combination probability is greater than a threshold value in the first list, adjacent to each other, when forming the first list including a plurality of application icons [see para. 0337; as the screen is divided into two areas, the quality, size, etc. of the execution screen of the TV application provided via the first area are adjusted. The second area may be blank. At this time, in the second area , guide data “blank” or “Select a desired application/channel” may be provided. Alternatively, in the second area, one application having highest priority or any one application of an application list for a predetermined multi-view function may be provided while reconfiguring the screen, simultaneously with selection of the multi-view function menu item].
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses wherein the processor configured to:
further provide at least one of a second list including combinations of recommended
application icons and a third list including combinations of applications that were combined during a previous multi-view mode execution, when the multi-view mode is executed [see para. 0347, 0381; to selection of the menu item, the screen may be divided into two areas, a previously viewed channel 1 may be provided in the first area and a previously viewed channel 2 may be provided in the second area and the first application is being provided on the full screen and a smart share application or multi-view menu items are provided instead of the menu launcher].
Regarding claim 15, YU discloses an operating method of display device, comprising:
providing a screen [see para. 0061 and figure 1; digital device or system capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from client, and can also be referred to as a processor] :
providing a list including application icons [overlaid on a first application] executable in each view screen is provided in one area of the screen [see para. 0336, 0338, 0340 and figures 16b-16c, 17a-17c; a TV application (channel A) is executed on the screen of the digital device to provide an execution screen thereof and a launcher according to menu calling of a user is provided on the execution screen. When the multi-view function menu item of the second part is selected, the digital device reconfigures and provides the screen; when a menu item or a sub-menu item is selected from the second part of the menu, the digital device provides the execution screen of the TV application for a B channel corresponding to the menu item in the second area and the highlighted menu items show menus which may be activated in order to perform the multi-view function, that is, currently available menus among all menu items; which corresponds to the selected multi-view function menu item],
and when an application icon is selected in the first list, at least one application icon that is not selected in the first list is disabled or removed according to a selection of the first application icon [see para. 0340 and figures 17a-17c; the highlighted menu items show menus which may be activated in order to perform the multi-view function, that is, currently available menus among all menu items, for example. For example, according to the application which is being provided in the first area, the application to be provided in the second area may not be available due to resource problems of a tuner, a decoder and a memory. The digital device may first determine whether a problem such as resource conflict occurs and may not activate the multi-view function even though the multi-view function is previously set when it is difficult to solve the resource problem via a resource sharing method; which corresponds to the digital device may determine whether a problem resource conflict occurs and may not activate the multi-view function]; however, YU fails to explicitly teach providing an application execution screen corresponding to the application icon selected from the list.
Park discloses providing an application execution screen corresponding to the application icon selected from the list [see abstract, para. 0039; displaying a window for executing an application in each of a plurality of areas arranged on a touch screen; displaying a button on at least one boundary line dividing the plurality of areas; receiving an input for selecting the button; and displaying, in a predetermined area, on the basis of the received input, a list of at least one application executed in the predetermined area among the plurality of areas and a touch screen includes displaying an application execution window in each of a plurality of regions on the touch screen, displaying a button on at least one boundary line that divides the plurality of regions, displaying a list of at least one application execution icon on a portion of the touch screen, receiving an input of dragging an application execution icon in the list, determining a new application execution region based on a location where the input ends and a location of the button, and displaying an execution window of an application; which corresponds to the application execution icon on the determined new application execution region].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Park before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, multi-view list screen of Yu to include a display device having a touch screen, as taught by Park.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to predict improvement using known multi-view UI to enhance usability and prevent invalid simultaneous executions in multi-region displays.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Xiong (US 2022/0229624) discloses an electronic device displays M application interfaces on a display of the electronic device, where M is an integer greater than 1. The electronic device receives a first selection operation, and determines N application interfaces based on the first selection operation, where the first selection operation is performed on the electronic device to determine the N application interfaces from the M application interfaces, and N is a positive integer less than or equal to M. The electronic device sends first data to an external display device in response to the first selection operation, where the first data is used by the external display device to display the N application interfaces.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171