DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-4, drawn to a utility holder, classified in A47K 5/1217.
II. Claims 5-14, drawn to a liquid dispenser system, classified in B67D 1/0871.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because all of the limitations of Group II are not found in Group 1. The subcombination has separate utility such as a dispensing system that utilizes a sensing module, processing module, and communication module for displaying values associated with sensing signals for use in inventory control..
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or
--the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Mr. Ernest Buff on 23 June 2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group II, claims 5-14. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Figures 1B and 2B: Lines, numbers and letters not uniformly thick and well defined, clean, durable, and black (poor line quality).
- The structural components of the holder (100) appear to be missing from Figure 1B.
- The darkness of the figure makes it difficult to see details of the structure presented within Figure 2B.
Figures 2A-2E: Numbers, letters, and reference characters must be at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(3).
The numeral and text used with the figures are less than 1/8 inch in height.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “200” has been used to designate both a “liquid dispensing system”, as shown in Figures 2A, 2C, and 2D and a “liquid level sensing device/container”, also shown in Figures 2A, 2C, and 2D.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “200” has been used to designate both a “handheld liquid level sensing device”, as shown in Figure 2A and a “liquid level sensing device/container”, also shown in Figures 2C and 2D.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “202” has been used to designate both an “ultrasonic liquid level sensor”, as shown in Figure 2A and a “container”, as shown in Figure 3.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “204” has been used to designate both an “LED screen”, as shown in Figure 2A and a “communication module”, as shown in Figure 3.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “206” has been used to designate both a “battery slot”, as shown in Figure 2E and a “server”, as shown in Figure 3.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "206", as shown in Figure 3 and "209", as shown in Figure 2C-2D have both been used to designate a server.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [], line
Paragraph [0036], lines 4 and 7: The term – enclosure – should replace the term “Enclosure.”
Paragraph [0045], line 2: Reference numeral – 100 – should replace reference numeral “106.”
Paragraph [0048], line 3: Reference numeral “200” has been previously used to represent the liquid dispensing system (see Figure 2A). Should this numeral be corrected to read – 204 --?
Paragraph [0050], line 11: The term – hospitality – should replace the term “Hospitality.”
Paragraph [0052], line 3: A – comma – should be inserted prior to the term “such.”
Paragraph [0054], line 2: A – comma – should be inserted prior to the term “such.”
Paragraph [0057], lines 5 and 7: Reference numeral “202” has been previously used to represent a container (paragraph [0043], line 3).
Paragraph [0058], line 2: Reference numeral “204” has been previously used to represent a communication module (paragraph [0052], line 2).
Paragraph [0058], line 4: A – comma – should be inserted prior to the term “such.”
Paragraph [0059], line 4: Reference numeral “202” has been previously used to represent a container (paragraph [0043], line 3).
Paragraph [0059], line 5: Reference numeral “204” has been previously used to represent a communication module (paragraph [0052], line 2).
Paragraph [0059], line 7: Reference numeral “206” has been previously used to represent a server (paragraph [0052], line 2).
Paragraph [0061], line 2: Reference numeral “202” has been previously used to represent a container (paragraph [0043], line 3).
Paragraph [0061], line 4: Reference numeral “204” has been previously used to represent a communication module (paragraph [0052], line 2).
Paragraph [0063], line 5: Reference numeral “202” has been previously used to represent a container (paragraph [0043], line 3).
Paragraph [0063], line 6: Reference numeral “204” has been previously used to represent a communication module (paragraph [0052], line 2).
Paragraph [0059], line 7: Reference numeral “206” has been previously used to represent a server (paragraph [0052], line 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 5, claim line 8: The article – the – should be inserted prior to the term “at”; and the term “them” should be replaced with the term – the signals – to avoid confusion.
Re claim 5, claim line 9: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the values.
Re claim 5, claim line 10: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the network.
Re claim 6, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 6, claim line 1: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the transducers.
Re claim 7, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 8, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 9, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 10, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 11, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 12, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 12, claim line 1: The phrase “the handheld device” lacks antecedent basis. The handheld device was previously recited in claim 11, however, claim 12 does not depend from claim 11.
Re claim 13, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 13, claim line 2: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the mobile device.
Re claim 14, claim line 1: The article “A” should be replaced with – The --.
Re claim 14, claim line 1: The phrase “the handheld device” lacks antecedent basis. The handheld device was previously recited in claim 11, however, claim 14 does not depend from claim 11.
Re claim 14, claim line 2: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the mobile device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites that the liquid dispenser system is housed within a handheld device. Claim 5, which claim 11 depends from, recites, "A liquid dispenser system, comprising: a dispensing unit having a holder and a container to hold a liquid to be dispensed The written disclosure does not describe a handheld device that includes a dispenser, holder, and container to hold a liquid. Rather, what is described is a handheld device which communicates with a sensor connected to a container. Thus, it is the position of the Examiner of record that the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0336244 (Moore).
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Moore discloses a liquid dispenser system (300, [0021], [0033]), comprising:
a dispensing unit having a holder and a container to hold a liquid to be dispensed (housing 202 holds refill unit 204 which contains liquid soap – paragraphs [0019], [0021] and Figure 2);
at least one ultrasonic sensor coupled to a body of the holder to measure the amount of liquid within the container (sensor 226, which is housed within housing 202, is an ultrasonic sensor that detects a level of soap - paragraphs [0027], [0030], and Figure 2); and
an electronic unit coupled to the dispensing unit (processor 220 – paragraphs [0023] and Figure 2) and including a sensing module (to receive signals from sensor 226 - paragraph [0027]), a processing module (to make determinations based upon the sensed level - paragraph [0034]), and a communication module (for sending data via transceiver 302 - paragraph [0033]) which enable the electronic unit to receive signals from at least one ultrasonic sensor (receive signals from sensor 226 – paragraph [0027]), process them to provide values for display on a display device (display 224, - paragraphs [0023] and [0026]) and communicate the values to a remote server over a network for inventory management (sending data via transceiver 302 - paragraph [0033]).
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, Moore further discloses that the liquid
within said container is liquid soap (housing 202 holds refill unit 204 which contains liquid soap - paragraphs [0019], [0021] and Figure 2).
Claims 5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102019110817 (Derichsweller et al.).
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Derichsweiler et al. disclose a liquid dispenser system, comprising:
a dispensing unit having a holder and a container to hold a liquid to be dispensed (beverage containers (6) containing a beverage/liquid are held in a receptacle/crate (2) – paragraph [0046] and Figure 1);
at least one ultrasonic sensor coupled to a body of the holder to measure the amount of liquid within the container (to determine fill level, fill level detectors (10), such as an ultrasonic sensor (30) are assigned to a receiving area (4) of the holder (2) (i.e., coupled to a body of the holder (2)) to measure the amount of liquid with the container (6) – paragraphs [0046]; [0051] and Figure 1); and
an electronic unit coupled to the dispensing unit (analysis arrangement (8/12) containing a control unit (16) is attached/coupled to the receptacle (2) – paragraphs [0046-0047] and Figure 2) and including a sensing module (receiving signals from detectors (10)- paragraph [0047]), a processing module (creating digital information signal I – paragraph [0059]), and a communication module (utilizing transponder (24) to transmit data – paragraph [0050]), which enable the electronic unit to receive signals from at least one ultrasonic sensor (fill level detectors (10) signal readings to the control unit (16) – paragraph [0057]), process them to provide values for display on a display device (digital fill level data is generated by control unit (16) and sent to local optical signal generator – paragraphs [0053]) and communicate the values to a remote server over a network for inventory management (information signal I can also be transmitted to a data processing device in the form of a data processing network DVN for purposes of determining consumption data – see description of Figures 5 and 6).
With respect to the limitations of claims 8-10, Derichsweiler et al. disclose that the liquid within the container is an alcoholic beverage (beverage whose fill level is being determined can be located within spirit bottles or wine or beer barrels).
With respect to the limitation of claim 11, Derichsweiler et al. further disclose that the liquid dispenser system is housed within a handheld device (some portion of the liquid dispenser system is housed within a handheld device as the data processing may be performed by a handheld device, such as a smartphone – paragraph [0060], and Figure 5).
With respect to the limitation of claim 12, Derichsweiler et al. further disclose a handheld device is configured to be associated with a beer keg to measure the remaining liquid level of beer therein (the fill level of beverage containers, such as beer barrels, is processed by a handheld device, such as a smartphone – paragraph [0025] and [0060] and Figures 5 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (Derichsweller et al.) in view of US 2022/0299354 Cunnah et al.
With respect to the limitations of claim 6, Derichsweiler et al. disclose all of the limitations of the base claim; but fail to disclose dual transducers for implementing a dual transducer measurement technique that provides accurate readings of the amount of said liquid with minimal resolution, whereby lower levels of said liquid within said container are accurately measured.
Cunnah et al. discloses dual transducers (both speaker (105) and microphone (107) are transducers, [0080]) for implementing a dual transducer measurement technique (using system (10) for the determination of the fill level of container (30) – paragraph [0079] and Figure 1) that provides accurate readings of the amount of a liquid with minimal resolution, whereby lower levels of said liquid within said container are accurately measured (determination of levels has improved accuracy – paragraph [0145]). Modifying Derichsweiler et al. with dual transducers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to introduce a technique that provides accurate readings of the amount of said liquid with minimal resolution, whereby lower levels of said liquid within said container are accurately measured as disclosed by Cunnah et al. in order to improve accuracy of level measurement (paragraph [0145]).
With respect to the limitations of claim 13, Derichsweiler et al. discloses all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims; but fail to disclose calibration means for selecting a specific container size and adjusting settings of said calibration means to match dimensions of said container.
Cunnah et al. discloses calibration means for selecting a specific container size and adjusting settings of said calibration means to match dimensions of said container (calibration means may be provided as a table of different container types, i.e. dimensions – paragraphs [0091] and [0124]). Modifying Derichsweiler et al. with using calibration means for selecting a specific container size and adjusting settings of said calibration means to match dimensions of said container would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention in order to allow the device to be able to determine the fill level of any given cylinder or tank (paragraph [0091]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0336244 (Moore) in view of US 2022/0306446 (Affan et al.).
With respect to the limitations of claim 14, Moore discloses all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims including calibration means for selecting a specific container size and adjusting settings of said calibration means to match dimensions of said container (input (227) receives information on the number of doses if more than one refill size is used - paragraph [0031]). Moore fails to disclose a mobile device.
Affan et al. discloses a liquid level measurement system comprising a mobile device (a smartphone may be used to input preferences into the system - paragraph [0051]). Modifying Moore with a mobile device would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention in order to receive input from a user (paragraph [0051] – Affan et al. and paragraph [0031] - Moore).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art discloses a consumption device utilizing an ultrasonic sensor.
/DANIEL S LARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855