Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant argues that the amended claim 1 is not taught by the combination of Kim in view of Naruse in further view of Woolmer. In their remarks, the Applicant points toward two features allegedly not taught respectively: the circumferential bobbins by Naruse and radially outer portions by Woolmer. Naruse, at least in figure 1, depicts multi-part bobbins engaged with the core piece. While quiet to the specific configuration of the core presented, the background art characterizes the stator and rotor configuration as largely circumferential, and the specification follows this interpretation. For at least the foregoing, the rejection with respect to Naruse is maintained. With respect to Woolmer, in at least the cited col. 6, ln 61-67 and figure 3, the bobbins sit within the pockets of the radial walls and therefore at least partially radially engage with the housing. For at least these reasons the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 13-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20140009022 A1) in view of Naruse et al (US 20160214291 A1) in further view of Woolmer et al (US 10608512 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches an axial flux permanent magnet (AFPM) motor stator, comprising: a plurality of stator cores in a circular arrangement (fig. 1, stator 30), each of the plurality of stator cores shaped in a tapered shape (fig. 2, split core 31 is tapered); a plurality of bobbins each divided to be coupled to an outer side of each of the plurality of stator cores (fig. 4, bobbin 41); a plurality of coils each wound along an outer circumferential surface of each of the plurality of bobbins (fig. 5, coil 33); an inner housing having a shape of a hollow cylinder and supporting radially-inner portions of the plurality of bobbins each wound by a coil of the plurality of coils (fig. 17, through hole 49a); and an outer housing surrounding and supporting radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins each wound by the coil (fig. 7, outer ring 49b).
Kim does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of bobbins comprises two pieces coupled to each other to form each of the plurality of bobbins in a circumferential direction with respect to the circular arrangement, and wherein the outer housing is configured to fittingly engage with the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins to support the plurality of bobbins.”
Naruse teaches each of the plurality of bobbins comprises two pieces coupled to each other to form each of the plurality of bobbins in a circumferential direction with respect to the circular arrangement (fig. 1, bobbins 1).
Naruse does not teach “wherein the outer housing is configured to fittingly engage with the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins to support the plurality of bobbins.”
Woolmer teaches the outer housing is configured to fittingly engage with the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins (col. 6, ln 61-67 “These clamshells have external cylindrical walls 44, internal cylindrical walls 46, and annular radially disposed walls 48. In the prior art example of FIG. 3 the radial walls 48 include internal pockets 50 to receive the shoes 18a,b of the stator bars 16 and serve to locate the stator coil assemblies 16, 22, 18a,b when the two clam shell housings 42a, b of the stator 12a are assembled together”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with the dividable bobbins of Naruse in order to increase the ease of stator assembly as the two-part clamshell requires less additional hardware such as injection molds to assemble on the stator with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator.
With respect to claim 3, Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of bobbins comprises two pieces coupled to each other to form each of the plurality of bobbins and wherein a dividing line divides the two pieces transverse to a width direction of the each of the plurality of stator cores.”
Naruse teaches each of the plurality of bobbins comprises two pieces coupled to each other to form each of the plurality of bobbins (fig. 1, bobbin 1 left and right of page), and wherein a dividing line divides the two pieces transverse to a width direction of the each of the plurality of stator cores (fig. 1, bobbin 1 is divided equally on each side of core 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with the dividable bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to increase the ease of stator assembly as the two-part clamshell requires less additional hardware such as injection molds to assemble on the stator.
With respect to claim 4, Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “, wherein each of the plurality of bobbins comprises a first half bobbin and a second half bobbin coupled to each other to form each of the plurality of bobbins with respect to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores”
Naruse teaches each of the plurality of bobbins comprises a first half bobbin and a second half bobbin coupled to each other to form each of the plurality of bobbins with respect to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores (fig. 1, bobbin 1 is divided into two parts, left and right of page, which form bobbin 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with the dividable bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to increase the ease of stator assembly as the two-part clamshell requires less additional hardware such as injection molds to assemble on the stator.
With respect to claim 5, Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “a dividing line of the first half bobbin and the second half bobbin is above a middle the each of the plurality of bobbins in the stacking direction.”
Naruse teaches a dividing line of the first half bobbin and the second half bobbin is above a middle the each of the plurality of bobbins in the stacking direction (see figure 1, bobbin 1 is above middle of each core parts 2 at least partially).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with the dividable bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to increase the ease of stator assembly as the two-part clamshell requires less additional hardware such as injection molds to assemble on the stator.
With respect to claim 6, teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the plurality of bobbins is coupled to the inner housing and the outer housing by a plastic fusion, the plastic fusion including any one of laser fusion, bonding, or ultrasonic fusion.”
Naruse teaches the plurality of bobbins is coupled to the inner housing and the outer housing by a plastic fusion (paragraph 59 “The fabrication of the motor bobbin in which the portion of the molded resin article and the insulating sheet are connected and fixed to each other as described above makes it possible to conduct the connection and fixation simultaneously with the fabrication of the molded resin article, while eliminating the need for the use of an adhesive agent.” The Examiner is interpreting molding as a type of plastic fusion), the plastic fusion including any one of laser fusion, bonding, or ultrasonic fusion (see at least paragraph 59 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with plastically fused bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to secure the bobbin halves to one another thereby fully insulating the stator cores and preventing unwanted electricity arcs.
With respect to claim 7, Kim in view of Naruse and Woolmer teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kim further teaches each of the plurality of bobbins is made from engineering plastic (paragraph 80 “the bobbin 41 is integrally formed by using an insert injection molding method using an insulating resin,” the Examiner is interpreting resin as a type of engineering plastic).
With respect to claim 8, Kiim teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “each of the plurality of bobbins is insert injection molded by a corresponding stator core being placed into a mold and by the engineering plastic being injected into the mold.”
Naruse teaches each of the plurality of bobbins is insert injection molded by a corresponding stator core being placed into a mold and by the engineering plastic being injected into the mold (paragraph 80 “he bobbin 41 is integrally formed by using an insert injection molding method using an insulating resin, so as to surround a trench-shaped coil winding space 31a with the insulating resin, with the exception of both side surfaces of the fan-shaped split core 31.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to secure the bobbin halves to one another thereby fully insulating the stator cores and preventing unwanted electricity arcs.
With respect to claim 9, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the inner housing and the outer housing are formed of the engineering plastic.”
Woolmer teaches wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are formed of the engineering plastic (col. 4, ln 3-7 “In one preferred approach a radial wall for the stator housing is fabricated by placing a membrane of fibre-reinforced resin into the mould of an injection moulding machine, and injection moulding a set of reinforcing features on to the membrane using a thermoplastic polymer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to prevent unwanted electrical interference from the stator, such as arc, thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor due to the reduction in unwanted electrical behavior.
With respect to claim 10, Kim in view of Naruse and Woolmer teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Kim further teaches the inner housing comprises at least two parts coupled to each other to form the inner housing (fig. 7, connections portions 48c), and wherein the at least two parts are divided in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores (fig.7 connection portions 48c).
With respect to claim 11, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the outer housing comprises at least two parts coupled to each other to form the outer housing, and wherein the at least two parts are divided in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores and are configured to be coupled to the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins.”
Woolmer teaches the outer housing comprises at least two parts coupled to each other to form the outer housing (fig. 3, clamshells 42a), and wherein the at least two parts are divided in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores and are configured to be coupled to the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins (see figure 3, clamshells 42a are perpendicular to the stacking direction being at least partially radially outside the insulated stator cores 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator assembly via the interlocking clamshells.
With respect to claim 13, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the outer housing comprises: a first coupling portion configured to be coupled to one ends of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins; and a second coupling portion formed in a shape corresponding to that of the first coupling portion and configured to be coupled to the other ends of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins.”
Woolmer teaches the outer housing comprises: a first coupling portion configured to be coupled to one ends of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins (fig. 4, outer wall 428); and a second coupling portion formed in a shape corresponding to that of the first coupling portion and configured to be coupled to the other ends of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins (fig. 4, outer wall 426).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator assembly via the interlocking clamshells.
With respect to claim 14, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “ each of the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion comprises a protrusion protruding from one side of a top plate in a direction of the bobbin; and the protrusion includes a coupling portion formed in an area where the protrusion is coupled to the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins.”
Woolmer teaches each of the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion comprises a protrusion protruding from one side of a top plate in a direction of the bobbin (fig. 5a projection 502); and the protrusion includes a coupling portion formed in an area where the protrusion is coupled to the radially-outer portions of the plurality of the bobbins (col. 8 ln 4-7 “the pressure is applied to the end walls 422, 424, as schematically illustrated by arrows 506, and laser light is directed to the region where the projections 502, 504 contact the end walls.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator assembly via the interlocking clamshells.
With respect to claim 18, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “he outer housing comprises at least two parts coupled to each other to form the outer housing, and wherein the at least two parts are divided in a direction opposite to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores and are configured to be coupled to the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins.”
Woolmer teaches the outer housing comprises at least two parts coupled to each other to form the outer housing (fig. 3, clamshells 42a), and wherein the at least two parts are divided in a direction opposite to a stacking direction of the plurality of stator cores and are configured to be coupled to the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins (see figure 3, clamshells 42a are perpendicular to the stacking direction being at least partially radially outside the insulated stator cores 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator assembly via the interlocking clamshells.
With respect to claim 19, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “each of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins comprises a coupling protrusion, and wherein the outer housing comprises a coupling groove configured to be coupled to the coupling protrusion.”
Woolmer teaches each of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins comprises a coupling protrusion (fig. 5a projection 502), and wherein the outer housing comprises a coupling groove configured to be coupled to the coupling protrusion (col. 8 ln 4-7 “the pressure is applied to the end walls 422, 424, as schematically illustrated by arrows 506, and laser light is directed to the region where the projections 502, 504 contact the end walls.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing and protrusions of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator assembly via the interlocking clamshells.
With respect to claim 20, Kim in view of Naruse teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the outer housing comprises a coupling protrusion, and wherein each of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins comprises a coupling groove into which the coupling protrusion is inserted.”
Woolmer teaches the outer housing comprises a coupling protrusion (fig. 5a projection 502), and wherein each of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins comprises a coupling groove into which the coupling protrusion is inserted (col. 8 ln 4-7 “the pressure is applied to the end walls 422, 424, as schematically illustrated by arrows 506, and laser light is directed to the region where the projections 502, 504 contact the end walls.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor of Kim with injection molded bobbins of Naruse with the plastic housing and protrusions of Woolmer in order to both reduce unwanted electrical behaviors and further secure the housing to the stator assembly via the interlocking clamshells.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15- 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation “and a third coupling portion disposed between the first and second coupling portions and engaging with the first and second coupling portions by fitting” in combination disclosed are neither anticipated nor obvious over the prior art.
The closest available prior art is Kim in view of Woolmer.
Woolmer teaches the at least two parts comprise: first and second coupling portions facing each other and engaging with side ends of the radially-outer portions of the plurality of bobbins (see figure 5a, walls 426/428 face one another and engage with 422/424 and pole pieces 432a/b);
However, the prior art as exemplified by Kim in view of Woolmer, fails to teach, alone or in obvious combination “a third coupling portion disposed between the first and second coupling portions and engaging with the first and second coupling portions by fitting.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834