DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 3/27/24. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2024-051584 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1, 3, 6 recite “failure sign monitoring unit” followed by recited functions.
The corresponding structure and algorithms for the recited functions is disclosed by the specification in paragraphs 0041-0043, et al.
Claims 1, 8, 9 recite “control unit” followed by recited functions.
The corresponding structure and algorithms for the recited functions is disclosed by the specification in paragraphs 0041, 0055, et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “velocity of recovery” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “velocity of recovery” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “certainty of the redundancy” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “certainty” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Hicken et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US2004/0153727A1.
As per claim 1, Hicken teaches a storage system comprising: a plurality of controllers each including a cache memory and having a redundant configuration; and a drive configured to allow cache data of the cache memory to be stored therein (¶ 0022-0023), wherein the controller includes a failure sign monitoring unit configured to acquire information on a state of the cache memory, and monitor and detect a sign of an irreparable failure in the cache memory based on the acquired information (¶ 0027), and a control unit configured to copy or move the cache data in which redundancy is lost to a predetermined saving destination when the failure sign monitoring unit detects the sign of the failure (¶ 0011, 0028).
As per claim 2, Hicken teaches the storage system according to claim 1, wherein the cache data in which the redundancy is lost is the cache data that is not duplicated because another controller having a redundant configuration with respect to the controller is in an inoperable state (¶ 0034).
As per claim 7, Hicken teaches the storage system according to claim 5, wherein the predetermined saving destination of the cache data in which the redundancy is lost is a cache data saving memory in an own controller, the cache memory of another controller in a second cluster having a redundant configuration with respect to a first cluster including the own controller and another controller having a redundant configuration with respect to the own controller, or the drive (¶ 0011, 0028, 0031).
As per claim 8, Hicken teaches the storage system according to claim 7, wherein when a velocity of recovery of the redundancy of the cache data is emphasized, the control unit preferentially selects first redundancy recovery processing that is processing of copying the cache data in which the redundancy is lost to the cache memory of the other controller of the second cluster (¶ 0011, 0028, 0031).
As per claim 10, Hicken teaches a method for controlling a storage system including a plurality of controllers each including a cache memory and having a redundant configuration, and a drive configured to allow cache data of the cache memory to be stored therein, the method comprising: by the controller, a procedure of acquiring information on a state of the cache memory, and monitoring and detecting a sign of an irreparable failure in the cache memory based on the acquired information; and a procedure of copying or moving the cache data in which redundancy is lost to a predetermined saving destination when detecting the sign of the failure (¶ 0022-0023, 0027, 0011, 0028, see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hichman in view of Alam et al. US2022/0139488A1
As per claim 3, Hickman teaches the storage system according to claim 2. Alam teaches wherein the failure sign monitoring unit acquires information on an occurrence pattern of a correctable error in the cache memory as the information on the state of the cache memory, and detects the sign of the failure when the occurrence pattern satisfies a condition defined in advance (¶ 0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Alam in the process of Hickman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Alam in the process of Hickman because using the process of Alam would yield the predictable result of performing detection and correction of data in a memory device, an explicit desire of Hickman.
As per claim 4, Alam teaches the storage system according to claim 3, wherein the occurrence pattern is a pattern indicated by the number of occurrences of the correctable error per unit time or a bit pattern of the correctable error (¶ 0086).
As per claim 5, Alam teaches the storage system according to claim 3, wherein the failure sign monitoring unit acquires information on a temperature of the cache memory as the information on the state of the cache memory, and detects the sign of the failure when the temperature exceeds a predetermined threshold range (¶ 0067).
As per claim 6, Alam teaches the storage system according to claim 3, wherein the failure sign monitoring unit acquires information on a supply voltage to the cache memory as the information on the state of the cache memory, and detects the sign of the failure when the supply voltage exceeds a predetermined threshold range (¶ 0093).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hickman in view of Takada et al. U.S. Patent 8,266,342.
As per claim 9, Hickman teaches the storage system according to claim 7. Takada teaches wherein when certainty of the redundancy of the cache data is emphasized, the control unit preferentially selects second redundancy recovery processing that is processing of moving the cache data in which the redundancy is lost to the drive (column 7, lines 4-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the process of Takada in the process of Hickman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process of Takada in the process of Hickman because using the process of Takada would yield the predictable result of ensuring cache data is written to persistent memory in case of a failure.
/CHRISTOPHER S MCCARTHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113