DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-15 are pending on this application. Claims 1 and 14-15 are in independent forms.
Priority
3. Foreign priority has been claimed to JP application # 2019122756 filed on 07/01/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 09/05/2024 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings filed on 09/05/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,792,206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1 and 14-15 of the instant application are encompassed by the limitations recited in claims 1 and 16 of US 11,792,206, respectively (see table below).
Instant Application 18/825,244
Patent No. 11,792,206
Claim 1: A relay method for relaying communication between a client terminal and a target terminal that is a communication destination of the client terminal, the method comprising:
a connection management apparatus acquiring a first connection request from the client terminal, the first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal;
the connection management apparatus storing the terminal identification information included in the first connection request and connecting information in a storage in association with each other, the connecting information identifying a relay apparatus which relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal;
the connection management apparatus notifying the client terminal of the connecting information; and
in response to receiving a second connection request based on the connecting information, the relay apparatus relaying communication between the target terminal and the client terminal, the target terminal being specified based on the terminal identification information stored in the storage in association with the connecting information.
Claim 14: A relay system for relaying communication between a client terminal and a target terminal that is a communication destination of the client terminal, wherein the relay system comprises a connection management apparatus and a plurality of relay apparatuses, the connection management apparatus is configured to:
acquire a first connection request from the client terminal, the first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal;
store the terminal identification information included in the first connection request and connecting information in a storage in association with each other, the connecting information identifying a relay apparatus which relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal; and
notify the client terminal of the connecting information, and
each of the plurality of relay apparatus is configured to in response to receiving a second connection request based on the connecting information, relay communication between the target terminal and the client terminal, the target terminal being specified based on the terminal identification information stored in the storage in association with the connecting information.
Claim 15: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising one or more computer programs, which when executed by a relay system for relaying communication between a client terminal and a target terminal that is a communication destination of the client terminal, cause the system to:
acquire a first connection request from the client terminal, the first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal;
store the terminal identification information included in the first connection request and connecting information in a storage in association with each other, the connecting information identifying a relay apparatus which relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal;
notify the client terminal of the connecting information; and
in response to receiving a second connection request based on the connecting information, relay communication between the target terminal and the client terminal, the target terminal being specified based on the terminal identification information stored in the storage in association with the connecting information.
Claim 1: A relay method performed by a relay system that relays communication between (i) a target terminal within a closed network and having a private address and (ii) a client terminal not within the closed network, the relay system including a first relay apparatus, a second relay apparatus that is connected to the target terminal, and a connection management apparatus for managing a connection at the time of relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal, the method comprising:
acquiring from the client terminal a first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal;
the connection management apparatus, responsive to the acquiring the first connection request, specifying a connecting information indicating one port number selected from among a plurality of port numbers of the first relay apparatus for relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal;
the connection management apparatus storing the connecting information and the terminal identification information in a storage in association with each other;
the connection management apparatus notifying the client terminal about the specified connecting information; and
the first relay apparatus, responsive to receiving a second connection request for communicating with the target terminal, addressed to the one port number indicated by the connecting information from the client terminal, relaying communication between the client terminal and the target terminal on the basis of the terminal identification information associated with the connecting information in the storage,
wherein said relaying comprises specifying the second relay apparatus to which the target terminal is connected on the basis of the terminal identification information stored in the storage, and relaying communication between the client terminal and the target terminal via the specified second relay apparatus.
Claim 16: A relay system including
a first relay apparatus that is configured to relay a communication between (i) a target terminal which is provided in a closed network and assigned a private address and (ii) a client terminal which is not provided in the closed network;
a second relay apparatus that is configured to connect to the target terminal; and
a connection management apparatus that is configured to manage a connection at the time of relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal, wherein
the connection management apparatus includes
an acquisition part configured to acquire a first connection request including terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal from the client terminal,
a specification part configured to specify, when the first connection request is acquired, connecting information for the client terminal to connect to the first relay apparatus, the connecting information indicating one port number selected from among a plurality of port numbers of the first relay apparatus that relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal,
a storage controller configured to store the connecting information in a storage in association with the terminal identification information, and
a notification part configured to notify the client terminal about the specified connecting information,
wherein the first relay apparatus includes
a relay part configured to relay, responsive to a receipt by the first relay apparatus of a second connection request for communicating with the target terminal, addressed to the one port number indicated by the connecting information from the client terminal, the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal on the basis of the terminal identification information associated with the connecting information in the storage,
wherein the first relay apparatus is further configured to:
specify the second relay apparatus to which the target terminal is connected on the basis of the terminal identification information stored in the storage, and
relay communication between the client terminal and the target terminal via the specified second relay apparatus.
Claim 16: A relay system including
a first relay apparatus that is configured to relay a communication between (i) a target terminal which is provided in a closed network and assigned a private address and (ii) a client terminal which is not provided in the closed network;
a second relay apparatus that is configured to connect to the target terminal; and
a connection management apparatus that is configured to manage a connection at the time of relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal, wherein
the connection management apparatus includes
an acquisition part configured to acquire a first connection request including terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal from the client terminal,
a specification part configured to specify, when the first connection request is acquired, connecting information for the client terminal to connect to the first relay apparatus, the connecting information indicating one port number selected from among a plurality of port numbers of the first relay apparatus that relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal,
a storage controller configured to store the connecting information in a storage in association with the terminal identification information, and
a notification part configured to notify the client terminal about the specified connecting information,
wherein the first relay apparatus includes
a relay part configured to relay, responsive to a receipt by the first relay apparatus of a second connection request for communicating with the target terminal, addressed to the one port number indicated by the connecting information from the client terminal, the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal on the basis of the terminal identification information associated with the connecting information in the storage,
wherein the first relay apparatus is further configured to:
specify the second relay apparatus to which the target terminal is connected on the basis of the terminal identification information stored in the storage, and
relay communication between the client terminal and the target terminal via the specified second relay apparatus
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0056305 (hereinafter Tanimoto) in view of Ishino et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0226953 (hereinafter Ishino).
Regarding claim 1, Tanimoto discloses a relay method for relaying communication between a client terminal (Fig. 1, client terminals 11, 21, 42, and 47) and a target terminal (Fig. 1, device 22 and 23) that is a communication destination of the client terminal, the method comprising:
“a connection management apparatus acquiring a first connection request from the client terminal, the first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal” (see Tanimoto par. 0011, the connecting-target apparatus acquisition control unit is configured and programmed to obtain the connecting-target apparatus to which an operator who has made a login request is able to connect, based on connection permission information that is information stored in itself (relay server) or another relay server to which the relay server is able to connect and that is information in which identification information of an operator who is able to log in to a relay communication system including the relay server and the connecting-target apparatus is associated with identification information of the connecting-target apparatus to which the operator is able to connect);
“the connection management apparatus storing the terminal identification information included in the first connection request and connecting information in a storage in association with each other, the connecting information identifying a relay apparatus which relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal” (see Tanimoto par. 0013, the relay server is configured as follows. The relay server includes a management-side information storage unit configured to store identification information of a relay server in a manager side that manages relay servers including itself (relay server). The connection permission information is stored in the relay server on the manager side. Upon reception of a login request from an operator, the control unit accesses the relay server on the manager side based on a content stored in the management-side information storage unit, to obtain the connecting-target apparatus to which the operator who has made the login request is able to connect);
“in response to receiving a second connection request based on the connecting information, the relay apparatus relaying communication between the target terminal and the client terminal, the target terminal being specified based on the terminal identification information stored in the storage in association with the connecting information” (see Tanimoto par. 0017, establish a routing session between the relay server and a selected relay server that is a relay server selected by an operator from the designated relay servers; and establish a routing session between the selected relay server and a designated apparatus that is designated, from client terminals belonging to the selected relay server, as an apparatus to which the operator is able to connect, based on operator connection control information that is information stored in the selected relay server and that is information in which identification information of the operator belonging to the operator group is associated with identification information of the designated apparatus);
Tanimoto does not explicitly discloses the connection management apparatus notifying the client terminal of the connecting information.
However, in analogues art, Ishino discloses the connection management apparatus notifying the client terminal of the connecting information (see Ishino par. 0042, the notification unit 36 transmits information indicating that the driver management unit 24 has newly acquired a printer driver, to the terminal device 50 connected to the communication path Na. For example, when the terminal device 50 having an OS corresponding to the printer driver acquired by the driver management unit 24 mounted therein is connected to the communication path Na, the notification unit 36 transmits the information to the terminal device 50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ishino into the system of Tanimoto to include when a terminal device is connected to the communication path Na, the notification unit transmits information indicating the presence of the new printer driver to the terminal device (see Ishino par. 0063).
Regarding claim 2, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto further discloses wherein the connecting information indicates an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the relay apparatus (see Tanimoto par. 0067, each of the relay servers 1 to 4 is connected not only to each of the LANs 10, 20, 30, 48 but also to the WAN 80. Not only a private IP address but also a global IP address is given to each of the relay servers 1, 2, 3, and 4. Therefore, each of the relay servers 1 to 4 is able to communicate not only with the client terminal connected to the same LAN as the LAN to which the relay server itself is connected but also with the relay servers arranged in the other LANs); and the second connection request is directed to the IP address indicated by the connecting information to transmit from the client terminal to the relay apparatus (see Tanimoto pars. 0119-0120, a process performed when the client terminal 47 receives a second packet (packet02) shown in FIG. 12 will be described. The second packet is transmitted by the file server 46, and the IP address (200.1.20.100) of the communication device 22 is designated as the destination address of the second packet. After receiving the second packet, the client terminal 47 performs the same process as described above, and detects that the destination address (200.1.20.100) of the second packet is designated by the address filter information associated with the relay server 2. Therefore, the client terminal 47 permits forwarding of the second packet, and transmits the second packet to the relay server 3 with the relay server 2 being set as the final destination via the routing session established between the client terminal 47 and the relay server 2).
Regarding claim 6, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto further discloses wherein in the relaying, the relay apparatus specifies, based on the terminal identification information, an additional relay apparatus connected to the target terminal, and relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal through the additional relay apparatus (see Tanimoto pars. 0084-0085, More specifically, when the operator2 (operator ID=Op2) operates the communication device 22 to thus access the relay server 2, and logs in to the relay communication system 100 via the relay server 2; the operator2 is able to use connection between the relay server 2 (used apparatus) and the connecting-target apparatus (to be specific, the client terminal 42 or the client terminal 47) associated with the operator2 in the connection permission information shown in FIG. 6. In this case, a routing session is established that starts at the relay server 2 (used apparatus) as a start point, routes through the relay server 3, and ends at the client terminal 42 or the client terminal 47 as an end point).
Regarding claim 7, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto further discloses wherein the target terminal is assigned a private address enabling access in a mobile network to which the target terminal is connected, and in the relaying, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the target terminal and the client terminal by communicating with the target terminal based on the private address of the target terminal (see Tanimoto par. 0067, each of the relay servers 1 to 4 is connected not only to each of the LANs 10, 20, 30, 48 but also to the WAN 80. Not only a private IP address but also a global IP address is given to each of the relay servers 1, 2, 3, and 4. Therefore, each of the relay servers 1 to 4 is able to communicate not only with the client terminal connected to the same LAN as the LAN to which the relay server itself is connected but also with the relay servers arranged in the other LANs).
Regarding claim 14, Tanimoto discloses a relay system for relaying communication between a client terminal and a target terminal that is a communication destination of the client terminal, wherein the relay system comprises a connection management apparatus and a plurality of relay apparatuses, the connection management apparatus is configured to:
“acquire a first connection request from the client terminal, the first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal” (see Tanimoto par. 0011, the connecting-target apparatus acquisition control unit is configured and programmed to obtain the connecting-target apparatus to which an operator who has made a login request is able to connect, based on connection permission information that is information stored in itself (relay server) or another relay server to which the relay server is able to connect and that is information in which identification information of an operator who is able to log in to a relay communication system including the relay server and the connecting-target apparatus is associated with identification information of the connecting-target apparatus to which the operator is able to connect);
“store the terminal identification information included in the first connection request and connecting information in a storage in association with each other, the connecting information identifying a relay apparatus which relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal” (see Tanimoto par. 0013, the relay server is configured as follows. The relay server includes a management-side information storage unit configured to store identification information of a relay server in a manager side that manages relay servers including itself (relay server). The connection permission information is stored in the relay server on the manager side. Upon reception of a login request from an operator, the control unit accesses the relay server on the manager side based on a content stored in the management-side information storage unit, to obtain the connecting-target apparatus to which the operator who has made the login request is able to connect);
each of the plurality of relay apparatus is configured to in response to receiving a second connection request based on the connecting information, relay communication between the target terminal and the client terminal, the target terminal being specified based on the terminal identification information stored in the storage in association with the connecting information” (see Tanimoto par. 0017, establish a routing session between the relay server and a selected relay server that is a relay server selected by an operator from the designated relay servers; and establish a routing session between the selected relay server and a designated apparatus that is designated, from client terminals belonging to the selected relay server, as an apparatus to which the operator is able to connect, based on operator connection control information that is information stored in the selected relay server and that is information in which identification information of the operator belonging to the operator group is associated with identification information of the designated apparatus);
Tanimoto does not explicitly discloses notify the client terminal of the connecting information.
However, in analogues art, Ishino discloses notify the client terminal of the connecting information (see Ishino par. 0042, the notification unit 36 transmits information indicating that the driver management unit 24 has newly acquired a printer driver, to the terminal device 50 connected to the communication path Na. For example, when the terminal device 50 having an OS corresponding to the printer driver acquired by the driver management unit 24 mounted therein is connected to the communication path Na, the notification unit 36 transmits the information to the terminal device 50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ishino into the system of Tanimoto to include when a terminal device is connected to the communication path Na, the notification unit transmits information indicating the presence of the new printer driver to the terminal device (see Ishino par. 0063).
Regarding claim 15, Tanimoto discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising one or more computer programs, which when executed by a relay system for relaying communication between a client terminal and a target terminal that is a communication destination of the client terminal, cause the system to:
“acquire a first connection request from the client terminal, the first connection request including a terminal identification information for identifying the target terminal” (see Tanimoto par. 0011, the connecting-target apparatus acquisition control unit is configured and programmed to obtain the connecting-target apparatus to which an operator who has made a login request is able to connect, based on connection permission information that is information stored in itself (relay server) or another relay server to which the relay server is able to connect and that is information in which identification information of an operator who is able to log in to a relay communication system including the relay server and the connecting-target apparatus is associated with identification information of the connecting-target apparatus to which the operator is able to connect);
“store the terminal identification information included in the first connection request and connecting information in a storage in association with each other, the connecting information identifying a relay apparatus which relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal” (see Tanimoto par. 0013, the relay server is configured as follows. The relay server includes a management-side information storage unit configured to store identification information of a relay server in a manager side that manages relay servers including itself (relay server). The connection permission information is stored in the relay server on the manager side. Upon reception of a login request from an operator, the control unit accesses the relay server on the manager side based on a content stored in the management-side information storage unit, to obtain the connecting-target apparatus to which the operator who has made the login request is able to connect);
“in response to receiving a second connection request based on the connecting information, relay communication between the target terminal and the client terminal, the target terminal being specified based on the terminal identification information stored in the storage in association with the connecting information” (see Tanimoto par. 0017, establish a routing session between the relay server and a selected relay server that is a relay server selected by an operator from the designated relay servers; and establish a routing session between the selected relay server and a designated apparatus that is designated, from client terminals belonging to the selected relay server, as an apparatus to which the operator is able to connect, based on operator connection control information that is information stored in the selected relay server and that is information in which identification information of the operator belonging to the operator group is associated with identification information of the designated apparatus);
Tanimoto does not explicitly discloses notify the client terminal of the connecting information.
However, in analogues art, Ishino discloses notify the client terminal of the connecting information (see Ishino par. 0042, the notification unit 36 transmits information indicating that the driver management unit 24 has newly acquired a printer driver, to the terminal device 50 connected to the communication path Na. For example, when the terminal device 50 having an OS corresponding to the printer driver acquired by the driver management unit 24 mounted therein is connected to the communication path Na, the notification unit 36 transmits the information to the terminal device 50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ishino into the system of Tanimoto to include when a terminal device is connected to the communication path Na, the notification unit transmits information indicating the presence of the new printer driver to the terminal device (see Ishino par. 0063).
8. Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0056305 (hereinafter Tanimoto) in view of Ishino et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0226953 (hereinafter Ishino) in further view of Kusumoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0261464 (hereinafter Kusumoto).
Regarding claim 3, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein the connecting information indicates one port number selected from among a plurality of port numbers of the relay apparatus; and the second connection request is directed to the one port number indicated by the connecting information to transmit from the client terminal to the relay apparatus.
However, in analogues art, Kusumoto discloses wherein the connecting information indicates one port number selected from among a plurality of port numbers of the relay apparatus (see Kusumoto par. 0052, the LAG management unit 117 selects, from among the ports of the relay apparatuses of the LAG to which the LAG identification information has been given (hereinafter referred to as “member ports”), one port representative of the member ports (hereinafter referred to as the “representative port”). The representative port may be selected, using an appropriate algorithm in view of equalization of traffic at each member port and a link cost); and the second connection request is directed to the one port number indicated by the connecting information to transmit from the client terminal to the relay apparatus (see Kusumoto par. 0053, the LAG using, as the member ports, the ports (ports PI of the relay apparatuses 1102 to 1104) of the relay apparatuses (e.g., the relay apparatuses 1102 to 1104 in FIG. 3) connected to a certain one of the terminal apparatuses (e.g., the terminal apparatus 110 1 in FIG. 3) is registered. The port P1 of the relay apparatus 1104 is selected as the representative port of this LAG).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Kusumoto into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to provide a link aggregation group management unit that groups ports of the plurality of relay apparatuses, having a physical link with an arbitrary node of the network topology, and manages the grouped ports as a port of a virtual logical link between the plurality of relay apparatuses and the arbitrary node (see Kusumoto par. 0014).
Regarding claim 8, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein in the acquiring, the connection management apparatus acquires a port number of the target terminal from the client terminal, in the storing, the connection management apparatus stores the port number of the target terminal acquired from the client terminal in the storage in association with the connecting information, and in the relaying, the relay apparatus establishes a connection to the target terminal further based on the port number of the target terminal stored in the storage in association with the connecting information.
However, in analogues art, Kusumoto discloses wherein in the acquiring, the connection management apparatus acquires a port number of the target terminal from the client terminal, in the storing, the connection management apparatus stores the port number of the target terminal acquired from the client terminal in the storage in association with the connecting information, and in the relaying, the relay apparatus establishes a connection to the target terminal further based on the port number of the target terminal stored in the storage in association with the connecting information (see Kusumoto par. 0046, the topology generation unit 112 requests connection information of each relay apparatus to each of the relay apparatuses 1102 to 1104 through the relay apparatus communication unit 111, generates a network topology based on a result of response of each of the relay apparatuses 1102 to 1104, and then records the generated network topology in the topology table 113. As a collection method of the connection information, a method may be pointed out where a specific one of the relay apparatuses is made to transmit a packet for arrival confirmation to all ports, a result of receiving the packet for arrival confirmation is stored in each relay apparatus, and then the control apparatus 1100 reads the connection information between the respective relay apparatuses, based on the stored result of receiving the packet).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Kusumoto into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to provide a link aggregation group management unit that groups ports of the plurality of relay apparatuses, having a physical link with an arbitrary node of the network topology, and manages the grouped ports as a port of a virtual logical link between the plurality of relay apparatuses and the arbitrary node (see Kusumoto par. 0014).
9. Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0056305 (hereinafter Tanimoto) in view of Ishino et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0226953 (hereinafter Ishino) in further view of Oh et al. US Patent No. 9,888,385 (hereinafter Oh).
Regarding claim 4, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein the terminal identification information includes a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) unique number.
However, in analogues art, Oh discloses wherein the terminal identification information includes a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) unique number (see Oh col. 2, lines 12-20, When a UE is connected to a new base station in a mobile communication system, the UE should be authenticated whether the UE is qualified to be provided a service from the corresponding mobile communication network. There can be various methods for the authentication procedure, but the procedure is performed fundamentally based on subscriber's unique ID which is called IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) stored in a SIM card or USIM card of the UE).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to include a use of SIM (subscriber identity module)/USIM (universal subscriber identity module) is essential, and the SIM card/USIM card should be independently separated for particularity and security of the mobile communication business (see Oh col. 2, lines 28-32).
Regarding claim 5, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein the target terminal is an Internet of Things (IoT) device.
However, in analogues art, Oh discloses wherein the target terminal is an Internet of Things (IoT) device (see Oh. Col. 4, lines 32-42, an Internet of Things (IoT)) device for a subscriber authentication based on mobile communication is provided. The IoT device includes a memory configured to store a unique identity (ID) of the IoT device, a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a wireless signal, and a processor configured to be coupled with the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to use a measurement value, which becomes a unique characteristic of the IoT device, for the subscriber authentication without using a SIM (subscriber identity module) card or a USIM (universal subscriber identity module) card).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to provide a method of authenticating a subscriber of an Internet of Things (IoT) device based on mobile communication (see Oh col. 3, lines 31-33).
10. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0056305 (hereinafter Tanimoto) in view of Ishino et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0226953 (hereinafter Ishino) in further view of Tanimoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0164637 (hereinafter Tanimoto II).
Regarding claim 9, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein in the storing, the connection management apparatus stores validity period information indicating a period in which the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal is available, in the storage in association with the connecting information in the storage, and in the relaying, when the relay apparatus receives an access based on the connecting information from the client terminal, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined based on the validity period information associated with the connecting information in the storage that the communication is available, and stops relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the communication is not available.
However, in analogues art, Tanimoto II discloses wherein in the storing, the connection management apparatus stores validity period information indicating a period in which the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal is available, in the storage in association with the connecting information in the storage, and in the relaying, when the relay apparatus receives an access based on the connecting information from the client terminal, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined based on the validity period information associated with the connecting information in the storage that the communication is available, and stops relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the communication is not available (see Tanimoto II par. 0164-0165, a process of automatically deleting, in response to the elapse of the valid time period, the message that is automatically added as described above will be described. Having automatically created and added the message as described above, the relay server R1 monitors the message information 127 every prescribed period of time, and checks whether or not any automatic message has the prescribed valid time period elapsed from its creation date. When there is an automatic message that has its valid time period elapsed, as illustrated in FIG. 16, a deletemessage method is executed in the relay server R1. The relay server R1 sends the deletemessage command to the client terminal 11. Having received the command, the client terminal 11 deletes the message information 127 regarding the message from the shared resource information 120).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tanimoto II into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to include a message information regarding a message valid time period. When the valid time period elapses, the message is automatically deleted (see Tanimoto II par. 0155).
Regarding claim 10, Tanimoto in view of Ishino in further view of Tanimoto II discloses the relay method according to claim 9,
Tanimoto II further discloses wherein in the acquiring, the connection management apparatus further acquires the validity period information from the client terminal, and in the storing, the connection management apparatus further stores the acquired validity period information in association with the connecting information in the storage (see Tanimoto II pars 0170-0172, A process of acquiring the valid time period of the message based on the table of FIG. 18 is also performed in the message creating process of S105. Then, the relay server 1 adds the message information 127 regarding the created automatically sent message to the shared resource information 120 (S106 of FIG. 17), and distributes the shared resource information 120 including the added message information 127 to the other relay servers 1 or to the client terminals 5 connected to the relay server 1 that distributes the shared resource information 120 (S107)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tanimoto II into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to include a message information regarding a message valid time period. When the valid time period elapses, the message is automatically deleted (see Tanimoto II par. 0155).
Regarding claim 11, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein in the acquiring, the connection management apparatus further acquires, from the client terminal, address information indicating an address of the client terminal when communicating with the target terminal, in the storing, the connection management apparatus further stores the acquired address information in association with the connecting information in the storage, and in the relaying, when the relay apparatus receives an access based on the connecting information from the client terminal, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the address of the client terminal corresponds to the address information associated with the connecting information in the storage, and the relay apparatus stops relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the address of the client terminal does not correspond to the address information associated with the connecting information in the storage.
However, in analogues art, Tanimoto II discloses wherein in the acquiring, the connection management apparatus further acquires, from the client terminal, address information indicating an address of the client terminal when communicating with the target terminal, in the storing, the connection management apparatus further stores the acquired address information in association with the connecting information in the storage, and in the relaying, when the relay apparatus receives an access based on the connecting information from the client terminal, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the address of the client terminal corresponds to the address information associated with the connecting information in the storage, and the relay apparatus stops relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the address of the client terminal does not correspond to the address information associated with the connecting information in the storage (see Tanimoto II pars. 0059-0070, The client terminal 5 is a terminal that can be directly operated by a user, and includes a Personal Computer (PC) or other similar devices used by the user, for example, on a daily basis. Accordingly, a great number of client terminals 5 typically exist in the LAN. In the present preferred embodiment, as illustrated in FIG. 1, client terminals 11, 12 are connected to the LAN 91, client terminals 21, 22 are connected to the LAN 92, client terminals 31, 32 are connected to the LAN 93, and client terminals 41, 42 are connected to the LAN 94. Each client terminal 5 is preferably provided with a private IP address uniquely managed in the same LAN. the client terminal 5 preferably includes a LAN interface 601, a control unit 602, a resource storage unit 603, and a shared resource information database 604 as a primary configuration).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tanimoto II into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to include a message information regarding a message valid time period. When the valid time period elapses, the message is automatically deleted (see Tanimoto II par. 0155).
Regarding claim 12, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein in the relaying, the relay apparatus further acquires client information indicating that the client terminal is eligible when the relay apparatus receives an access based on the connecting information from the client terminal, relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined based on the client information that the client terminal is eligible, and stops relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the client terminal is not eligible.
However, in analogues art, Tanimoto II discloses wherein in the relaying, the relay apparatus further acquires client information indicating that the client terminal is eligible when the relay apparatus receives an access based on the connecting information from the client terminal, relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined based on the client information that the client terminal is eligible, and stops relaying the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal in a case where it is determined that the client terminal is not eligible (see Tanimoto II par. 0178, even when the client terminal 5 frequently handles the shared resources, resulting in a great number of notifying messages, the old notifying message having its appropriate time period elapsed is automatically deleted by the relay server R1. As a result, a great number of messages having less importance due to the elapse of the long time period can be prevented from being accumulated, thereby complication can be avoided).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tanimoto II into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to include a message information regarding a message valid time period. When the valid time period elapses, the message is automatically deleted (see Tanimoto II par. 0155).
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0056305 (hereinafter Tanimoto) in view of Ishino et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0226953 (hereinafter Ishino) in further view of Fujiwara et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0104687 (hereinafter Fujiwara).
Regarding claim 13, Tanimoto in view of Ishino discloses the relay method according to claim 1,
Tanimoto in view of Ishino does not explicitly discloses wherein in the relaying, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal by communicating with the client terminal while encrypting data and communicating with the target terminal without encrypting data.
However, in analogues art, Fujiwara discloses wherein in the relaying, the relay apparatus relays the communication between the client terminal and the target terminal by communicating with the client terminal while encrypting data and communicating with the target terminal without encrypting data (see Fujiwara par. 0028, This is a communication system wherein the communication terminal 130 and the Web server 160 exchange messages using plaintext, without employing encryption. In consonance with an access request, received from a communication terminal 130, that includes communication system designation information specifying the performance of non-encrypted communication with a Web server 160, the relay apparatus 100 relays non-encrypted communications).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Fujiwara into the system of Tanimoto and Ishino to include inter-server encrypted communication, normal non-encrypted communication is performed between a communication terminal and a relay apparatus, and encrypted communication is performed between the relay apparatus and a server (see Fujiwara par. 0005).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 2018/0041433 A1): discloses A method for relaying packets in a network system with the aid of network address translation and an associated apparatus are provided. The method includes: controlling a relay server to receive a first packet from a client device, wherein the first packet carries a source Internet Protocol (IP) address and a destination IP address; controlling the relay server to change the destination IP address carried by the first packet in order to relay the first packet to a peer device, wherein the peer device obtains the source IP address from the first packet; and controlling the relay server to receive a second packet from the peer device and relay the second packet to the client device.
Ishizuka (US 2015/0110107 A1): discloses A packet forwarding system includes: a plurality of first relay apparatuses connected to one another; a plurality of second relay apparatuses that include a plurality of ports and that are connected to the plurality of first relay apparatuses; and a control apparatus that configures a plurality of trunks, each serving as a virtual logical link, by using a plurality of physical links between the first relay apparatuses and the second relay apparatuses. The control apparatus determines a designated port for each of the plurality of trunks from among constituent ports of the each trunk. When one of the plurality of first relay apparatuses receives a predetermined control target packet from one of the plurality of second relay apparatuses, the control apparatus causes the plurality of first relay apparatuses to transmit the predetermined control target packet via a first relay apparatus including a designated port for one of the plurality of trunks, to which a port of the one first relay apparatus receiving the predetermined control target packet belongs.
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433