DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 09/03/2026, with respect to drawing and title objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the drawings and title have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 09/03/2026, towards art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument A:
“Mode A and Mode B are not distinct channels and do not operate at the same time” and “Feldkamp does not describe or show two distinct data channels transmitting distinct data simultaneously” [Reply; pages 9-10].
In response to applicant's argument:
The instant claim language states “data corresponding to one or more at least two channels associated with a control command”. The “two channels” are broadly tied to data and a command. The instant specification discloses “joystick mode (48) to provide two channel control with liner drive between top values (39) and bottom values (40) with snap back to center point value (41) upon release”[pages 8-9]. The channels for the joystick are not specifically disclosed in the instant claim language. The Instant Specification, also, states “there can be as many as 18 radio control channels each dedicated to a servomechanism control output (15) to a corresponding one motor 15 driven servomechanism (16)” and “pulse width modulated output (17) can be communicatively coupled to motor driven servomechanism (16)” [page 3]. The terminology of the servomechanism is not within the independent claims towards the newly added “two channels”. The Feldkamp reference discloses “encode a number of repeating pulse width modulation channels to serve a number of control channels (e.g. 7-channel)” [paragraph 0026] and “control receiver 210 breaks out control channels for a number of servos such as servo 220 and servo 225, and also places a throttle control signal on throttle port 217 sending the throttle control along cable 215 to telemetry transmitter 260 through port 221” [paragraph 0027]. The Feldkamp reference teaches multiple channels for the PWM signaling for multiple servomechanisms. As per the argument, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “at the same time” and “channels transmitting distinct data simultaneously”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the Feldkamp reference reads upon the newly amended independent claims 1, 9, and 11. The 102 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s Argument B:
“Jenkins does not disclose control data corresponding to at least two channels, as only one transmit/receipt message or data link is disclosed” [Reply; page 11].
In response to applicant's argument:
The Feldkamp reference and Jenkins reference disclose at least two channels [Feldkamp; para 0026-0027, 0029, and 0084] [ie. 5 available channels; Jenkins; fig 1, 15, and 16U-16W; column 7, lines 32-50, col 13, line 53 – col 14, line 16, and col 18, lines 24-67]. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Claims 4-7 do not specifically disclose using both channels simultaneously or any type of parallel transmission. Therefore, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The third claim limitation states “associate each of said one more channels”, which should be “one or more”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feldkamp et al. ("Feldkamp") [PGPUB 2012/0330481].
Regarding claim 1, the Feldkamp reference discloses a radio control system to control a radio control vehicle, comprising: a mobile device including a processor communicatively coupled to a non-transitory computer readable medium containing a program code [ie. mobile computing device; Feldkamp; figures 2-3; paragraphs 0025 and 0074] executable to:
wirelessly receive primary radio control data corresponding to at least two channels associated with a control command of said radio control vehicle [“corresponding” two channels “associated” is viewed very broadly; “a number of repeating pulse width modulation channels to serve a number of control channels”; ie. current operational data; Feldkamp; para 0026-0027, 0029, and 0084];
associate each of said at least two channels of said primary radio control data with a corresponding one or more user interface elements of a radio control vehicle user interface on said mobile device [the two channels are broadly tied to control data from an interface; Feldkamp; fig 8; para 0026-0027, 0075, 0085, and 0089-0090];
generate, by user indications in said radio control vehicle user interface, secondary radio control data corresponding to said at least two channels of said primary radio control data [ie. setting current operational variable settings; Feldkamp; para 0026-0029, 0058, and 0084];
transmit said secondary control signal data to said radio control vehicle; and wirelessly control said radio control vehicle with said secondary radio control data [Feldkamp; para 0029 and 0084].
Regarding claim 2, the Feldkamp reference further discloses said secondary radio control data enables or disables input of pulse width modulation of said one or more channels of said primary radio control data [“Brake Type (or Brake/Reverse Type), which specifies whether or not reverse will be enabled and how it will be accessed ( e.g. reverse lockout, Forward/Brake only, Forward/Brake/Reverse)”; Feldkamp; para 0026, 0027, 0037-0039, and 0073].
Regarding claim 3, the Feldkamp reference further discloses said secondary radio control data enables or disables output of pulse width modulation of said one or more channels of said primary vehicle control data [Feldkamp; para 0026, 0027, 0037-0039, and 0073].
Regarding claim 9, the Feldkamp reference discloses a method of making a radio control system to control a radio control vehicle, comprising: communicatively coupling a processor to a non-transitory computer readable medium containing a program code in a mobile device, said program code [ie. mobile computing device; Feldkamp; figures 2-3; paragraphs 0025 and 0074-0075] executable to:
wirelessly receive primary radio control data corresponding to at least two channels associated with a control command of said radio control vehicle [“corresponding” two channels “associated” is viewed very broadly; “a number of repeating pulse width modulation channels to serve a number of control channels”; ie. current operational data; Feldkamp; para 0026-0027, 0029, and 0084];
associate each of said at least two channels of said primary radio control data with a corresponding one or more user interface elements of a radio control vehicle user interface on said mobile device [the two channels are broadly tied to control data from an interface; Feldkamp; fig 8; para 0026-0027, 0075, 0085, and 0089-0090];
generate secondary control data based on selected user interface elements of said radio control interface [ie. setting current operational variable settings; Feldkamp; para 0027-0029, 0058, and 0084];
transmit said secondary control data to said radio control vehicle; and wirelessly control said radio control vehicle with said secondary control signal data based on said secondary vehicle control instructions [Feldkamp; para 0029 and 0084].
Regarding claim 11, the Feldkamp reference discloses a radio control system, comprising: a mobile device including a processor communicatively coupled to a non-transitory computer readable medium containing a program code [ie. mobile computing device; Feldkamp; figures 2-3; paragraphs 0025 and 0074] executable to:
wirelessly receive primary radio control data corresponding to at least two channels associated with a control command of a radio control device [“corresponding” two channels “associated” is viewed very broadly; “a number of repeating pulse width modulation channels to serve a number of control channels”; ie. current operational data; Feldkamp; para 0026-0027, 0029, and 0084];
associate each of said at least two channels of said primary radio control data with a corresponding one or more user interface elements of a radio control user interface on said mobile device [the two channels are broadly tied to control data from an interface; Feldkamp; fig 8; para 0026-0027, 0075, 0085, and 0089-0090];
generate secondary radio control data based on selected user interface elements of said radio control interface [ie. setting current operational variable settings; Feldkamp; para 0027-0029, 0058, and 0084];
transmit secondary radio control data to said radio control device; and wirelessly control said radio control device based on said secondary radio control data [Feldkamp; para 0029 and 0084].
Regarding claim 12, the Feldkamp reference further discloses said device comprises a radio control vehicle [Feldkamp; fig 1; para 0024].
Regarding claim 13, the Feldkamp reference further discloses said device comprises pulse width modulated components [Feldkamp; para 0028 and 0085-0086].
Regarding claim 14, the Feldkamp reference further discloses said width modulated components comprise one or more servomechanisms [Feldkamp; para 0028 and 0085-0086].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldkamp in view of Jenkins [USPAT 9,808,730] (cited in IDS, filed 11/15/2024).
Regarding claim 4, the Feldkamp reference further discloses said secondary radio control data alters the primary radio control data of one or more channels [ie. Brake Amount or Brake Delay; Feldkamp; para 0027, 0030-0035, 0041, 0068, and 0074-0075] but does not specifically disclose “to correspondingly trim a top value and/or a bottom value controlled by said at least two channels”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Jenkins reference discloses alters the primary radio control data of one or more channels to correspondingly trim a top value and/or a bottom value controlled by said at least two channels [ie. 5 available channels; Jenkins; fig 1, 15, and 16U-16W; column 7, lines 32-50, col 13, line 53 – col 14, line 16, and col 18, lines 24-67]. The Feldkamp and Jenkins references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area of controlling a wireless device. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of a alter trim value, taught by Jenkins, into the system, taught by Feldkamp. The motivation for doing so would have been to let the user change the steering/motor settings.
Regarding claim 5, the Feldkamp-Jenkins reference further discloses said secondary radio control data alters the primary radio control data of one or more channels to correspondingly trim center point associated with said at least two channels [Feldkamp; para 0027, 0030-0035, 0041, 0068, and 0074-0075] [Jenkins; fig 16U-16W; col 7, lines 32-50, col 13, line 53 – col 14, line 16, and col 18, lines 24-63].
Regarding claim 6, the Feldkamp-Jenkins reference further discloses said secondary radio control data toggles between a trim top value and a trim bottom value controlled by said at least two channels to drive a servomechanism between said trim top value and said trim bottom value [Feldkamp; para 0027, 0052-0055 and 0090; claim 19] [ie. move from max to min speed/brake; Jenkins; fig 16U-16W; col 7, lines 32-50, col 13, line 53 – col 14, line 16, and col 18, lines 24-63].
Regarding claim 7, the Feldkamp-Jenkins reference further discloses said secondary vehicle control data toggles between said trim top value and said trim bottom value controlled by said at least two channels to drive a servomechanism between said trim top value and said trim bottom value with corresponding trim center point [Feldkamp; para 0027, 0052-0055, and 0090; claim 19] [ie. move from max to min speed/brake; Jenkins; fig 16U-16W; col 7, lines 32-50, col 13, line 53 – col 14, line 16, and col 18, lines 24-63].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed, if the typo is corrected.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Menendez et al. [PGPUB 2023/0151690] describes setting limits for a servo motor.
Rees et al. [PGPUB 2014/0360399] describes controlling a toy train by either an in-line controller or a wireless smart phone.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458