This is a first office action on the merits of application SN 18/825,280 and filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings include three dimensional shading (grayscale) and are not simply black line drawings, (see the cited references for examples)
2. The drawings are objected to because Black and white drawings are normally required in utility patent applications. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings. If shading is needed for explanation of the invention then it should be of one of the approved symbols/hatching. See MPEP 608.2 (VII, VII, IX).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,133,351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a cable management system with a pair of rail assemblies and cable management apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,327,139 to Champion in view of US Patent 2022/0125198 to Hancock.
Champion teaches
1. A cable management system for a server rack, comprising: an adapter bracket (inherently the structure between the server rack and the rail) coupled to the server rack; a rail assembly (101) coupled to the adapter bracket, the rail assembly including a plurality of apertures (vertically aligned openings as best seen in figure 1); a cable management apparatus (107,106) slideably coupled to the rail assembly, the cable management apparatus including: a plunger (bolts as best seen in figure 1); a plurality of tabs (one side of the 106b); and a plurality of retention devices (the other side of the 106b or 115 or 116), wherein, when the cable management apparatus is coupled to the rail assembly, the plunger extends through one of the apertures to define a position (as best seen in figure 1) of the cable management apparatus with respect to the rail assembly such that one or more cables (114) of the server rack are positioned between opposing tabs (as best seen in figure 1) of the plurality of tabs and coupled to the cable management apparatus by one or more of the retention devices.
Champion does not expressly disclose a second rail assembly with a second cable management apparatus.
Hancok teaches rail assemblies (101) with a pair of cable management arms (1a,1b) that engage a respective rail assembly. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Champion by adding a second rail assembly and second cable management arm as taught by Hancok to allow for more cable organization.
Regarding claim 9, Champion teaches
9. wherein the retention devices includes hook-and-loop members (115; Col 3, lnes 49-56).
Regarding claim 11, Hancok teaches
11. wherein the position of the cable management apparatus and the position of the additional cable management apparatus are substantially the same (as best seen in figure 1, the arms are at substantially the same elevation).
Regarding claim 12, Champion in view of Hancok teaches
12. wherein the one or more cables are hoses (the examiner considers that the cables of claim 1 are not positively claimed, therefore the rejection is required to have hoses, but must be capable. The examiner considers the system of Champion in view of Hancok would be capable of supporting hoses; US Patent 7,092,258 to Hardt supports that hoses, wires, and cables are equivalent for management arms Hardt, Col 3, lines 59 – 67).
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,327,139 to Champion in view of US Patent 2022/0125198 to Hancock as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 6,840,388 to Mayer.
Champion in view of Hancok discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the rail assembly with a slot.
Mayer teaches
2. a rail assembly (110) includes: a first side (figure 1a) positioned opposite to a second side (figure 1b), the first side including a plurality of apertures (108); top side including an opening (figure 1); and a rail side, including a slot (space between the sides) extending a length of the rail side and defining a first segment (figure 1a) and a second segment (figure 1b) on the rail side. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Champion in view of Hancok by using bent rail as taught by Mayer as a functional equivalent rail shape.
Regarding claim 3, Mayer teaches
3. wherein the cable management apparatus further includes: a pair of flanges (1506, 112) extending from a first end () of the cable management apparatus; the plunger (102) coupled thru a first flange (1506) of the pair of flanges; and a coupling element (1502) coupled to the first end of the cable management apparatus and extending away from the first end, the coupling element including a stub (1502), wherein a gap is defined between the stub and the first end.
Regarding claim 6, Hancock and Mayer teaches
6. wherein the rail assembly further includes a coupling side (Hancock figure 1 and Mayer figure 1, left side portion with holes and slots not attached to the slide or cable arm) that is coupled to the adapter bracket, the coupling side opposite to the rail side.
Regarding claim 7, Mayer teaches
7. wherein the rail assembly includes a first member and a second member (left side and right side as seen in figure 1 of Mayer), the first member coupled to the second member, wherein the second member includes the rail side and the first member includes the coupling side.
Regarding claim 8, Mayer teaches
8. wherein both the first member and the second member include the plurality of apertures (as best seen in figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims, 4, 5, and 10 would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer was filed or rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/Examiner, Art Unit 3637