DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 22, 24-27, 29-31, and 33 were filed with the amendment dated 09/30/2026. Claims 6-8, 13-21, 23, 28, and 32 were canceled.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 8 and 31 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0356175 (“Doung”). Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 22, 24-27, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0356175 (“Doung”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0096806 (“Salzer”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0028956 (“Pangramuyen”).
With regard to claim 1, Doung discloses drain cleaning and maintenance system (Figs 1-2), comprising: (a) a drain trap (15), having a first inlet (where 14 meets top of 15) in fluid communication with a drain (14) of a plumbing fixture (12), and a second inlet (inlet at 150); and a cleaning and maintenance assembly (126, 130, 150, 122, 140), in fluid communication with the second inlet (at 150), the cleaning and maintenance assembly comprising:(i) a maintenance-assembly inlet (122), in fluid communication with a source of pressurized liquid (16; para [0022]); (ii) a maintenance-assembly outlet (two alternative options: at end of 130 or 126) in fluid communication with an interior of the drain trap (15) (see Figs 1-2);(iii) a pipe (130 or fluid pathway between 122 and 126) disposed between the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) and the maintenance- assembly outlet (outlet at end of 130); (iv) a valve (140) having an open state allowing flow of liquid, from the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) to the maintenance-assembly outlet (at end of 130 or 126), through the pipe (130 or fluid pathway between 122 and 126), and a closed state blocking flow of liquid from the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) to the maintenance-assembly outlet (end of 130 or 126) (paras [0021] [0025]); (vii) a nozzle (150, para [0026]) including a nozzle inlet (from 130 into 150) and a nozzle outlet (outlet of 150 into 15) wherein, when the valve (140) is in the open state, liquid flows from the source of pressurized liquid (16, para [0022]) to the drain trap (15) via the valve (140), through the nozzle inlet (left end of 150), and is redirected out of the nozzle-outlet into the drain trap (15) to impinge on the drain trap (15) (see Figs 1-2) (paras [0025] [0026]).
Doung discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the valve is an electronic valve or an electronic controller adapted to transition the electronic valve between the open state and the closed state; a power source adapted to power the electronic controller and the electronic valve; and a plurality of nozzle-outlets, the plurality of nozzle-outlets being oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet so liquid flows into the drain trap to impinge on the drain trap in a plurality of directions.
Salzer discloses a drain cleaning and maintenance system, similar to that of Doung, and teaches that the valve is an electronic valve (solenoid valve 133; paras [0051] [0052]); and further teaches an electronic controller (150) adapted to transition the electronic valve (133) between the open state and the closed state (paras [0054] [0055]); a power source adapted to power the electronic controller and the electronic valve (power source is inherent because an electronic solenoid and a controller requires power, so a power source must be provided).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an electronic valve and controller, with a power source, such as taught by Salzer in the system of Doung for the purpose of providing a programmable control of the valve and system allowing for faster control of the valve opening and closing and monitoring of the system (see Salzer at paras [0054] [0055] [0057]).
Doung (as modified by Salzer) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the plurality of nozzle-outlets are oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet.
Pangramuyen discloses a drain cleaning apparatus that includes a nozzle (19”) and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a nozzle for a drain cleaning apparatus to include a nozzle inlet (25’) and a plurality of nozzle-outlets (22”, 21”) that are oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet (25’) (see Fig 5). Fluid is redirected out of the plurality of nozzle-outlets (22”, 21”) into the drain trap to impinge on the drain trap in a plurality of directions (see Fig 5 and paras [0039] [0040] [0033]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle of Doung to include a plurality of nozzle-outlets that are oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet, such as taught by Pangramuyen, for the purpose of providing a wider dispersion of turbulent flow for cleaning as taught by Pangramuyen (see paras [0033]: “employing auxiliary oblique forwardly directed air-outlets effectively producing a wider dispersion of turbulent air-jetstream;”, [0040]). The provision of plurality of nozzle-outlets in different direction would cause fluid flow in different directions, thus causing fluid flow to impinge on the drain trap in a plurality of directions.
With regard to claim 2, Doung (as modified above) discloses that the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is connected to the source of pressurized liquid (16, para [0022]) and the electronic valve (valve 140 in Doung; 133 in Salzer).
Doung (as modified above) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that when the maintenance-assembly inlet is connected to the source of pressurized liquid and the electronic valve is in the open state, an absolute output-pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance-assembly outlet is at least 70% of an absolute input- pressure of the liquid when it flows into the maintenance-assembly inlet.
Doung does disclose that when the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is connected to the source of pressurized liquid (16) and the electronic valve (140/133) is in the open state, an output-pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance-assembly outlet (outlet from 130 into 150) is at least an amount of pressure of the liquid when it flows into the maintenance-assembly inlet. Doung also discloses that the pressure of the fluid is high with a high pressure nozzle (para [0021]).
Applicant has not disclosed that having the absolute output-pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance-assembly outlet is at least 70% of an absolute input- pressure of the liquid when it flows into the maintenance-assembly inlet is necessary or critical. Rather, the specification states that for some embodiments the pressure can be at least 70 percent (see Specification at page 11, lines 5-8). Furthermore, it is known that pressure will drop along a line/pipe, and that some minimum pressure will be needed in order to meet the necessary means of clearing debris.
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an absolute output-pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance-assembly outlet of Doung is at least 70% of an absolute input- pressure of the liquid when it flows into the maintenance-assembly inlet because the specific pressure amount does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
With regard to claim 3, Doung (as modified above) discloses that the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is connected to the source of pressurized liquid (16, para [0022]) and the electronic valve (valve 140 in Doung; 133 in Salzer).
Doung (as modified above) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that when the maintenance-assembly inlet is connected to the source of pressurized liquid and the electronic valve is in the open state, a pressure differential between an absolute pressure of liquid flowing into the maintenance-assembly inlet and an absolute pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance assembly outlet is at most 30%.
Doung does disclose that when the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is connected to the source of pressurized liquid (16) and the electronic valve (140/133) is in the open state, an output-pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance-assembly outlet (outlet from 130 into 150) is at least an amount of pressure of the liquid when it flows into the maintenance-assembly inlet. Doung also discloses that the pressure of the fluid is high with a high pressure nozzle (para [0021]).
Applicant has not disclosed that having the pressure differential between an absolute pressure of liquid flowing into the maintenance-assembly inlet and an absolute pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance assembly outlet is at most 30% is necessary or critical. Furthermore, it is known that pressure will drop along a line/pipe, and that some minimum pressure will be needed in order to meet the necessary means of clearing debris.
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a pressure differential between an absolute pressure of liquid flowing into the maintenance-assembly inlet and an absolute pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance assembly outlet is at most 30% because the specific pressure differential amount does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
With regard to claim 4, Doung (as modified above) discloses that the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is connected to the source of pressurized liquid (16, para [0022]) and the electronic valve (valve 140 in Doung; 133 in Salzer).
Doung (as modified above) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that when the maintenance-assembly inlet is connected to the source of pressurized liquid and the electronic valve is in the open state, an absolute pressure of liquid flowing into the maintenance-assembly inlet is at least 2 bar.
Doung does disclose that when the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is connected to the source of pressurized liquid (16) and the electronic valve (140/133) is in the open state, an output-pressure of liquid flowing out of the maintenance-assembly outlet (outlet from 130 into 150) is at least an amount of pressure of the liquid when it flows into the maintenance-assembly inlet. Doung also discloses that the pressure of the fluid is high with a high pressure nozzle (para [0021]).
Applicant has not disclosed that having absolute pressure of liquid flowing into the maintenance-assembly inlet is at least 2 bar is necessary or critical.
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make absolute pressure of liquid flowing into the maintenance-assembly inlet of Doung is at least 2 bar because the specific pressure amount does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
With regard to claim 5, Doung (as modified by Salzer above) discloses that that controller (150) is adapted to maintain the electronic valve (133) in the open state for a duration sufficient for flow of the pressurized liquid flow from the source of pressurized fluid (114) to the drain trap (104) to replace at least a majority (fills drain trap 104 – see para [0048]) of liquid within the drain trap (para [0048]: “When the jet stops, the water in the p-fill canister drains into an associated p-trap to ensure that the trap is filled and to prevent sewer gasses from traveling up an open p-trap and into the building.”).
With regard to claim 9, Doung discloses the second inlet (at 150 into 15) is angled (at 90 degree angle; horizontal) relative to a flow-path (vertical) from the drain (14) to the drain trap (15) or within the drain trap (see Figs 1-2 of Doung).
With regard to claim 10, Doung discloses that the maintenance-assembly outlet (end of 130) of the cleaning and maintenance assembly is connected directly to the second inlet (at 150; see Fig 2).
With regard to claim 11, Doung discloses the maintenance-assembly outlet (at 126) of the cleaning and maintenance assembly is connected to the second inlet (at 150) via a connector pipe segment (130) (see Fig 2).
With regard to claim 12, Doung discloses that the cleaning and maintenance assembly is integrally formed with the drain trap (15) and with the second inlet (at 150), as a unitary structure (the connections of 122, 140, 126, 130, 150 form one structure that is integral and unitary – unitary because all connected together into one).
With regard to claim 22, Doung (as modified above) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the maintenance assembly further includes a communication interface, functionally associated with the electronic controller and adapted to enable delivery of control inputs in at least one direction between a remote control unit and the electronic controller.
Salzer discloses a drain cleaning and maintenance system, similar to that of Doung, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a drain cleaning and maintenance system to include a communication interface (195/165, para [0061]), functionally associated with the electronic controller (150) and adapted to enable delivery of control inputs in at least one direction between a remote control unit and the electronic controller (150) (para [0061]: “I/O devices 195 may include a console with an integrated keyboard and mouse to allow a user to input parameters associated with system 150. I/O devices 195 may also include a display including a text or graphical user interface (GUI) for outputting information on a monitor or screen. I/O devices 195 may also include peripheral devices, such as a user-accessible disk drive (e.g., a USB port, a floppy, CD-ROM, or DVD-ROM drive, etc.) to allow a user to input data stored on a portable media device, or any other suitable type of interface device.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a communication interface, such as taught by Salzer in the system of Doung (as modified above) for the purpose of providing a user interface for the controls of the valve and system based on user need.
With regard to claim 24, the combination of Doung/Salzer discloses that the electronic controller (150 of Salzer) is programmable (Salzer at para [0056]: “Processor 155 may be configured to execute sequences of computer program instructions to perform various processes, which will be described in more detail below. The computer program instructions may be loaded into RAM 160 for execution by processor 155.”).
With regard to claim 25, Doung (as modified above for claim 1) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a user interface including at least one of an input interface enabling a user to provide input to the electronic controller and an output interface enabling a user to perceive output of the electronic controller.
Salzer discloses a drain cleaning and maintenance system, similar to that of Doung, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a drain cleaning and maintenance system to include a user interface (195) including at least one of an input interface enabling a user to provide input to the electronic controller (150) (“I/O devices 195 may include a console with an integrated keyboard and mouse to allow a user to input parameters associated with system 150.” Para [0061]) and an output interface enabling a user to perceive output of the electronic controller (“I/O devices 195 may also include a display including a text or graphical user interface (GUI) for outputting information on a monitor or screen.” Para [0061]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a user interface, such as taught by Salzer in the system of Doung (as modified above) for the purpose of providing a user interface for the controls of the valve and system based on user need.
With regard to claim 26, Doung (as modified above for claim 1) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a timer, functionally associated with the electronic controller.
Salzer discloses a drain cleaning and maintenance system, similar to that of Doung, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a drain cleaning and maintenance system to include a timer (185), functionally associated with the electronic controller (150) (see Fig 15 and para [0059]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a timer, such as taught by Salzer, in the system of Doung for the purpose of tracking the time or date and using that information with the controller for control (see Salzer at para [0059]).
With regard to claim 27, Doung (as modified above for claim 1) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing at least one sensor adapted to sense at least one condition in the drain trap and to provide a sensor-input to the electronic controller, the sensor-input indicative of required maintenance of the drain trap.
Salzer discloses a drain cleaning and maintenance system, similar to that of Doung, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a drain cleaning and maintenance system to include at least one sensor (115) adapted to sense at least one condition (overflow 115) in the drain trap and to provide a sensor-input to the electronic controller, the sensor-input indicative of required maintenance of the drain trap (para [0133]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize at least one sensor, such as taught by Salzer, in the system of Doung for the purpose of detecting a clog and prevent additional water to further clog the system (see para [0133] of Salzer).
With regard to claim 29, Doung (as modified above for claim 1) discloses that the drain cleaning and maintenance assembly is devoid of a pumping mechanism (embodiment of Fig. 2 of Doung does not utilize a pumping mechanism. Figure 3 utilizes a pumping mechanism, but it is for a separate embodiment not relied upon) (see Fig. 2 of Doung).
With regard to claim 31, Doung discloses a drain device (Figs 1-2), comprising: (a) a drain trap (15), having a first inlet (at top of 15 connecting with 14; See Fig 1), adapted to be in fluid communication with a drain (14) of a plumbing fixture (12) and a second inlet (inlet at 150) (see para [0020]); and (b) a cleaning and maintenance assembly (122, 126, 140, 130, 150), integrally (integral because all are connected together to form one structure) formed with the drain trap (15, see Fig 2), and including:(i) a maintenance-assembly inlet (122), adapted to be in fluid communication to a source of pressurized liquid (16, para [0022]); (ii) a maintenance-assembly outlet (outlet at end of 130 leading to 150) in fluid communication with the second inlet (at 150 into 15); (iii) a pipe (130) disposed between the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) and the maintenance- assembly outlet (outlet at end of 130); (iv) a valve (140) having an open state allowing flow of liquid, from the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) to the maintenance-assembly outlet (end of 130), through the pipe (130), and a closed state blocking flow of liquid from the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) to the maintenance-assembly outlet (end of 130) (see figs 1-2 and para [0025]); and (vii) a nozzle (150, para [0026]) including a nozzle inlet (entrance of 150 at 130) and a nozzle outlet (exit of 150 into 15), the nozzle (150) being disposed within a flow-path from the maintenance-assembly outlet (end of 130) to the drain trap (15) (see Fig 2), wherein, when the maintenance-assembly inlet (122) is in fluid communication to the source of pressurized fluid (16; para [0022]) and the valve (140) is in the open state, liquid flows from the source (16) to the drain trap (15) via the second inlet (at 150), through the nozzle inlet (entrance of 150 from 130), and is redirected out of the nozzle outlet (outlet of 150 into 15) to impinge on the drain trap to clean the drain trap (paras [0025] [0026]).
Doung discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the valve is an electronic valve; and an electronic controller adapted to transition the electronic valve between the open state and the closed state; a power source adapted to power the electronic controller and the electronic valve; and a plurality of nozzle-outlets, the plurality of nozzle-outlets being oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet so liquid flows into the drain trap to impinge on the drain trap in a plurality of directions.
Salzer discloses a drain cleaning and maintenance system, similar to that of Doung, and teaches that the valve is an electronic valve (solenoid valve 133; paras [0051] [0052]); and further teaches an electronic controller (150) adapted to transition the electronic valve (133) between the open state and the closed state (paras [0054] [0055]); a power source adapted to power the electronic controller and the electronic valve (power source is inherent because an electronic solenoid and a controller requires power, so a power source must be provided).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an electronic valve and controller, with a power source, such as taught by Salzer in the system of Doung for the purpose of providing a programmable control of the valve and system allowing for faster control of the valve opening and closing and monitoring of the system (see Salzer at paras [0054] [0055] [0057]).
Doung (as modified by Salzer) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the plurality of nozzle-outlets are oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet.
Pangramuyen discloses a drain cleaning apparatus that includes a nozzle (19”) and teaches that it is known in the art to modify a nozzle for a drain cleaning apparatus to include a nozzle inlet (25’) and a plurality of nozzle-outlets (22”, 21”) that are oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet (25’) (see Fig 5). Fluid is redirected out of the plurality of nozzle-outlets (22”, 21”) into the drain trap to impinge on the drain trap in a plurality of directions (see Fig 5 and paras [0039] [0040] [0033]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle of Doung to include a plurality of nozzle-outlets that are oriented in a plurality of directions relative to the nozzle inlet, such as taught by Pangramuyen, for the purpose of providing a wider dispersion of turbulent flow for cleaning as taught by Pangramuyen (see paras [0033]: “employing auxiliary oblique forwardly directed air-outlets effectively producing a wider dispersion of turbulent air-jetstream;”, [0040]). The provision of plurality of nozzle-outlets in different direction would cause fluid flow in different directions, thus causing fluid flow to impinge on the drain trap in a plurality of directions.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0356175 (“Doung”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0096806 (“Salzer”) and U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0028956 (“Pangramuyen”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2020/144603 (“Nahum”).
With regard to claim 33, Doung (as modified above for claim 1) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a unidirectional valve disposed upstream of the drain trap and adapted to be disposed, when the drain trap is installed, between the drain trap and a drain portal of a plumbing fixture drained by the drain trap, the unidirectional valve being adapted to be opened by pressure applied thereto by liquid draining into the unidirectional valve, and to be normally closed, wherein, when the unidirectional valve is closed, the unidirectional valve is sealed to fluid flow out of the drain trap, thereby preventing backflow of bacterial and/or contaminated aerosol from the drain trap.
Doung does disclose a valve (110), but does not disclose that it is unidirectional valve adapted to be opened by pressure.
Nahum teaches that it is known in the art to modify a drain pipe and drain cleaning apparatus to include a unidirectional valve (“unidirectional valve 240”) disposed upstream of the drain trap (220) (See Fig 2A) and adapted to be disposed, when the drain trap (220) is installed, between the drain trap (220) and a drain portal (202) of a plumbing fixture drained by the drain trap (220), the unidirectional valve (240) being adapted to be opened by pressure applied thereto by liquid draining into the unidirectional valve (240) (page 17, lines 28-31), and to be normally closed (page 17, line 24), wherein, when the unidirectional valve (240) is closed, the unidirectional valve (240) is sealed to fluid flow out of the drain trap (220), thereby preventing backflow of bacterial and/or contaminated aerosol from the drain trap (220) (page 17, lines 18-24).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a unidirectional valve, such as taught by Nahum, in the drain pipe apparatus of Salzer, for the purpose of allowing “water to flow from the fixture into the drainage system, and seals the passage between the fixture and the drain trap when no water is flowing, thereby preventing release of back-flowing bacteria and contaminated aerosol” as taught by Nahum (page 15, lines 16-21).
Conclusion
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753